The Other Guys

Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 369 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Two mismatched New York City detectives seize an opportunity to step up like the city's top cops whom they idolize -- only things don't quite go as planned.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. It's a comedy of manhood for the age of emasculation.
  2. 83
    This summer's funniest movie.
  3. 75
    So hilarious that even longtime Ferrell haters (me) can't resist it.
  4. For the most part, The Other Guys is seriously silly stuff, in the best sense.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    63
    Like a padded "Saturday Night Live" sketch. What would have been very funny for 15 minutes, and pretty funny for 45, doesn't maintain the standard over the course of a feature-length film.
  6. Wahlberg is surprisingly committed to the ridiculousness.
  7. 50
    Following the clues, The Other Guys turns more hectic than antic, and somebody didn't pack enough comedy for this long trip.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 126
  2. Negative: 24 out of 126
  1. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    O wow this movie was funny. That's just it. It was funny. Also i think more movies are coming out in the future with the same type of oppositeO wow this movie was funny. That's just it. It was funny. Also i think more movies are coming out in the future with the same type of opposite actor cast type thing that this movie did(i don't know wat you wana call it). For example, i saw a preview of a movie when i went to see the other guys, and it was staring robert downy jr. And the bearded guy from the hangover. So i think were going to see alot more movies like this one. Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2010
    9
    The main comedic style of this movie is to set up standard cop movie stereotypes and situations, and then resolve them in utterly unexpectedThe main comedic style of this movie is to set up standard cop movie stereotypes and situations, and then resolve them in utterly unexpected and/or out of character ways. It may not always make sense, but it's always hilarious.

    Also much more comedy dense than recent movies, there aren't that many 'slow' parts, and the ones that were there didn't last long. Definitely held interest the entire running time.

    -1pt for an incomplete plot. The Wahlberg character just isn't given much of a back story outside of a single high-profile screwup, and too much of the main villain's plot happens offscreen.
    Expand
  3. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was pretty funny. Some parts had my girlfriend and I cracking up, which is noteworthy, since she doesn't find stupidity funny. In other words, the movie was not stupid. It was mostly pretty funny (although a joke or two can be ruined by the seriousness of the situation). The Other Guys served its purpose well. There was just one misstep. We didn't understand the story. And we are both highly intelligent. I know I'm putting that assertion on the line, when I admit this, but I don't know HOW a company can cover their losses using the state lottery. And I have no idea how someone can steal a cop's pension. So we were in the dark when it came to a majority of the story, which is honestly pretty irritating. Regardless, It's funny. The characters work well together and some funny dialogue happens. See this movie if you have a desire to laugh (and preferably extensive knowledge of finances.) Expand
  4. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    While I do not think this is a great comedy by any means, I still think it is an enjoyable film with good humor and good acting, which makesWhile I do not think this is a great comedy by any means, I still think it is an enjoyable film with good humor and good acting, which makes it worth a watch. Expand
  5. Aug 11, 2010
    6
    Definitely not McKay and Ferrel's best, but it kept a smile on my face the whole time. Marky mark also did a fine job but i don't think thisDefinitely not McKay and Ferrel's best, but it kept a smile on my face the whole time. Marky mark also did a fine job but i don't think this is his comeback. I went to a bad screening because no one was laughing but me, but it didn't matter. Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2011
    5
    There aren't that many jokes in this film, it tries to be one long joke but it doesn't work for me. I'm a fan of Will Ferrell since AnchormanThere aren't that many jokes in this film, it tries to be one long joke but it doesn't work for me. I'm a fan of Will Ferrell since Anchorman and Mark Wahlberg tries his best to make this film work (he's the funniest thing in it I think), it just doesn't quite pop thats all. Not bad, not a classic. Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2011
    0
    This is a terrible movie. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your time. It gets mediocre reviews only because Will Ferrell and MarkThis is a terrible movie. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your time. It gets mediocre reviews only because Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg are in it, but they're pretty lousy too. Expand

See all 126 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered

    Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg: All Films Considered Image
    Published: August 3, 2010
    The co-stars of this week's "The Other Guys" are hoping that the new action-comedy breaks them out of a slump. We look at the best and worst films of their careers to date.