Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: After discovering her boyfriend is married, a woman (Cameron Diaz) tries to get her ruined life back on track. But when she accidentally meets the wife he’s been cheating on (Leslie Mann), she realizes they have much in common, and her sworn enemy becomes her greatest friend. When yet another affair is discovered (Kate Upton), all three women team up to plot mutual revenge on the cheating, lying, three-timing SOB. [Twentieth Century Fox] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 35
  2. Negative: 12 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 24, 2014
    75
    Audiences looking for a nonstop laugh riot may be disappointed, but the big laughs are there, and they benefit from the movie's underlying sincerity.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Apr 24, 2014
    63
    Written by newcomer Melissa K. Stack, The Other Woman offers roughly equal parts wit and witlessness, casual smarts and jokes, lingering and detailed, regarding explosive bowel movements. Based on that ratio, I'd say the screenwriter's future in Hollywood looks pretty good.
  3. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Apr 22, 2014
    60
    Instead of updating the genre, The Other Woman rehashes it, bringing little more than a few giggles and a dash of glamour to the table.
  4. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Apr 24, 2014
    40
    Slyness, slapstick and sex can often be mixed to amusing effect whatever the specifics — the original "Hangover," for example, did a credible job of it — but The Other Woman is ultimately undone by its indecision.
  5. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Apr 28, 2014
    40
    A few lowbrow laughs… but far too many one-note characters, performances, and plot points to make them worth showing up for.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Apr 24, 2014
    37
    Although The Other Woman nibbles around the edges of revealing truths about relationships, it leaves most of that potential behind, instead pursuing easy, exhausted cliches about zip-less marriages, upper class suburban drudgery, cynical careerism and dumb-but-sweet blondes.
  7. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Apr 24, 2014
    20
    So instead of the rom-com, we now have the “non-com.” The cardboard characters and predictable rhythms remain. But this time, we get all the comic cliches with none of the romance.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 31
  2. Negative: 11 out of 31
  1. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    Great, fun film (even if the plot has been done different ways numerous times already). Surprisingly Nicki Minaj's small role as Diaz's assistant is a scene stealer. I wish that she had played a bigger role. Expand
  2. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    best revenge movie ever !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  3. Jul 20, 2014
    7
    As much as the movie has been down before, there is a difference. The actors are devoted. The movie feels like a complete fantasy. The outfits, the houses, the restaurants, the vacation spots are hugely expensive and fun to look at. Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2014
    5
    A lot of moments were cringe-worthy. Stale cliches throughout make the few funny moments not worth much. The casting had huge names in it, and I was wrong to expect more from it. The movie tries its best to be a feel-good romantic comedy where the good guys win and the bad guy sees his rightful demise to a smattering of applause. Of course, they all lived happily ever after. Unpolished, slapstick and bodily functions make it too mature for younger audiences, yet too stupid for adults. If you are looking for something to sit down to without a whole lot of thinking, give this a shot. Otherwise, this is not worth your time. Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2014
    4
    I'm not afraid to admit the fun I had with these ladies. Even still, a typical romantic-ish-comedy. Oh, but, Kate Upton should never act again. That's one thing I know for sure. Expand
  6. Aug 15, 2014
    2
    Another obnoxious, dumb and ridiculous female garbage film. Not funny, not interesting, and uses every cliché in the book and top it off with one of the most irritating characters I've seen in awhile, Leslie Mann. The Other Women desperately tries to be funny, but fails miserably. Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2014
    0
    The Other Woman is bad movie there are so many clichés is made very poorly . I do not recommend anyone to see this movie.Leslie Mann seems to do the best. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers