User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 91
  2. Negative: 28 out of 91
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Aug 25, 2005
    10
    Thanks for a great time, watching someone "learn" how to have a great time with kids.
  2. MikeH.
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    Apparently everyone on this site is an idiot!!! One of the greatest family movies I've ever seen!
  3. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    Although the plot in this movie is cheesy, I thought this movie was hilarious and surprisingly charming, one you and your family will enjoy, just don't expect a deep plot backing it up.
  4. AnsonG
    Oct 30, 2006
    6
    It was a decent movie. It has moments, touching moments, it gives u chuckles and even a few laughs. It isnt trying to win awards or stun the audience with special effects. You sit down, watch it, laugh a little, think about how cute the kids are, then go on with rest of your day. Alot of action stars have taken a turn at comedy to soften their image, Stallone and Arnold S. to name a It was a decent movie. It has moments, touching moments, it gives u chuckles and even a few laughs. It isnt trying to win awards or stun the audience with special effects. You sit down, watch it, laugh a little, think about how cute the kids are, then go on with rest of your day. Alot of action stars have taken a turn at comedy to soften their image, Stallone and Arnold S. to name a matinee viewing. The kids are charmers, Vin Diesel doesnt seem to mind being the but of jokes, and most of the acting is good. And ladies, he spends most of the movie in tight t-shirts. Guys u have to settle for Lauren Graham's sweet smile. Expand
  5. CJO.
    May 8, 2006
    2
    This excuse for a cute family movie is your classic piece-of-junk movie unfitting of...Vin Diesel??? I'M basically a kid and I found this movie atrocious
  6. Jan 18, 2011
    5
    Great family movie, but not one that I enjoyed otherwise. I do like Vin Diesel but I kept wondering what he was thinking when he read this script and agreed to do this movie. If you can get over the childish jokes and bland acting you realize that there are worse option than The Pacifier, but their are far better options as well.
  7. Jun 17, 2013
    5
    Childish and stupid but The Pacifier is surprisingly rather entertaining that I some-what enjoyed watching. My opinion of it varies at times but overall, It wasn't that bad.
  8. MJS.
    Mar 4, 2005
    0
    A total waste of time and money.
  9. Fantasy
    Mar 7, 2005
    0
    Pure unadulterated garbage.
  10. Hellboy
    May 3, 2005
    10
    This Movie Waz Great Loved It Every Part It Waz So Funny When The Duck Went Up To That Guy And Bit His Balls Now That Waz Funny Overall Good Movie Though Fun For Family And Mostly Kids But Great Movie A Must See.
  11. Kacey
    Jul 5, 2005
    5
    Its good for little kids, but thats it, otherwise this movie really wasnt that great. Diesel isnt quite the right actor for this kind of movie.
  12. SusanM.
    Mar 15, 2005
    8
    Cute movie, great flick to take the family to. My 10 year old neice laughed her head off, she really loved Gary the Duck, and I loved seeing Vin in a tight shirt!
  13. georgel.
    Mar 18, 2005
    8
    It is a great and fun family film mostley made for children but a great movie overall
  14. JoeR.
    Mar 4, 2005
    0
    Terrible.
  15. Swest
    Mar 4, 2005
    0
    The worst movie of 2005 thus far.
  16. Cmarsby
    Mar 4, 2005
    0
    An early contender for a razzie. a total bust.
  17. LaurenceH.
    Mar 4, 2005
    0
    It sucks soo bad! i thought it would be funny but hell that it's not!
  18. Peter
    Apr 1, 2005
    8
    The ending is a bit weak, but otherwise a very good movie. I liked it, but my kid absolutely loved it and had great fun. Worth going to.
  19. JennD.
    Apr 1, 2005
    7
    It was Hilarious!! I loved it and cant wait till it come out on dvd.
  20. MovieGoer
    Jun 13, 2005
    0
    Oh no. Not another Dim Deisel movie. Vin must be sitting on some home porno movies of several big wigs in Hollywood. How else could anyone even think of puting him in a movie. He is to acting what the Edsall was to fine car building.
  21. WO
    Jun 16, 2005
    0
    You can't think this one is good, come on. I thought it was funny, but there's no storyline, no surprise all was predictable. And even worse Vin Diesel... He can act (fast and furious) but in this movie it was no acting. Avoid this movie.
  22. donks
    Jun 7, 2005
    0
    Seriously...no seriously, how in the world did this get ONE good user review, much less several. it makes me very, very scared.
  23. StephanN
    Jul 11, 2005
    1
    It was an awful movie for adults or teenagers, but an excellent movie for little kids.
  24. ZZ
    Jul 8, 2005
    1
    Quite simply...it stinks. Smarmy, tries to be cute, failing miserably on all counts.
  25. RashidCarlosJamilMarcanoR.
    Mar 12, 2005
    5
    Kinda mediocre, don't ya think?
  26. AmandaP.
    Mar 13, 2005
    10
    I thought this movie was gonna be boring but it was actually very funny and entertaining, loved it!
  27. Dublin
    Mar 13, 2005
    0
    Puke City as it was awful.
  28. R.AnthonyS.
    Mar 28, 2005
    7
    One of the funniest *family* films I've seen in quite awhile. Don't let the overly negative comments of other users fool you. If you like Vin Diesel, and if you are looking for family entertainment, then this is a good solid film to see.
  29. PhilTetrault
    Mar 3, 2005
    4
    Not worth the money, and if you get free tickets like I did throw them in the trash or give them to young kids, they might enjoy it.
  30. Morgan
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    The best movie of the year! It is even more funny than my favorite film from last year, Sideways. I expect this one to be remembered come awards season.
  31. JFrenzy
    Mar 6, 2005
    10
    Wow. I am in complete awe of this shocking masterpiece. i had such low expectations going in, but left feeling more rewarded then I have in years. Vin Diesel's performance resembles the late Marlon Brando in its brilliance, and can easily be called the defining performance from an actor of our generation. first there was citizen kane, then there was the godfather, and now the pacifier.
  32. BigD
    Mar 6, 2005
    0
    Worse than terrible.
  33. VinceH.
    Mar 7, 2005
    1
    Sloppy, sloppy filmmaking. There are so many things wrong with this film I'd take up the whole page listing them, so here's a summary. Adam Shankman is responsible for some of the unfunniest "comedies" of the past 5 years. With The Wedding Planner, Bringing Down the House, and now The Pacifier, he is sort of like the polar opposite of a talented director. The guy has no idea how Sloppy, sloppy filmmaking. There are so many things wrong with this film I'd take up the whole page listing them, so here's a summary. Adam Shankman is responsible for some of the unfunniest "comedies" of the past 5 years. With The Wedding Planner, Bringing Down the House, and now The Pacifier, he is sort of like the polar opposite of a talented director. The guy has no idea how to stage and block comedy scenes or action scenes. The editing is abrupt and awkward. The script is so by-the-books and cliched that I knew pretty much every angle, scene, line of dialogue, before it happened. Even as an enjoyable time-waster it fails since it insults its audience intelligence at each turns and has absoultely NO faith that the audience will be able to figure anything out with being banged on the nose with every single little point and each emotional moment being maxed out to syrupy weepiness. Collapse
  34. MichaelaA
    Apr 28, 2005
    9
    Really funny! Vin Diesal is actually quite a hottie in this movie toO!! But it has a good message and its real funny!
  35. ChadS.
    May 29, 2005
    4
    "The Pacifier" is the sort of film Lorelai Gilmore might use as evidence for the end of western civilization when she's cracking wise with her daughter Rory. Lorelai might concede that Vin Diesel is funnier that Sylvester Stallone in drag, ("Spy Kids 3D: Game Over") but "The Pacifier" is no "Jingle All the Way". Arnold, in film and in real life, is always funny. The only time Diesel "The Pacifier" is the sort of film Lorelai Gilmore might use as evidence for the end of western civilization when she's cracking wise with her daughter Rory. Lorelai might concede that Vin Diesel is funnier that Sylvester Stallone in drag, ("Spy Kids 3D: Game Over") but "The Pacifier" is no "Jingle All the Way". Arnold, in film and in real life, is always funny. The only time Diesel ever made me laugh was when he admitted to being a Dungeons & Dragons enthusiast on "Late Night w/Conan O'Brien". But to be fair, there's not a single situation in which there's even the slightest potential for comedy gold. The screenplay was, predictably, as we could gauge by the trailer, never going to surprise us. Yes, a loaded diaper smells. Let's move on, please. That old "chestnut" of haphazards in domesticity hasn't been funny since Bill Cosby riffed on it twenty-five years ago. The only remotely interesting story element that "The Pacifier" has going for it is the older boy's participation in musical theater as a way of coping with his father's death. But since the film doesn't treat this ongoing tragedy with any seriousness, "You are 16 Going on 17" is greeted with derision rather than compassion. Expand
  36. shaoiba.
    Jun 18, 2005
    8
    Da movie is jokz i really like this comedy movie.
  37. GeraldW
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    That was a really funny movie dudes or dudetts.
  38. DonaldB.
    Jul 18, 2005
    8
    Good family movie. Lots of holes in the plot, but good for kids to see and not too bad for adults.
  39. MaddieS.
    Sep 27, 2005
    9
    I thought this was a cool movie. It was very funny. Can't think of anything else. But it was good.
  40. ShelliJ
    Mar 28, 2005
    8
    I hate movies that end in a love story. I would of gave it a 10 butt!! They all turn into a love story. This is a kids movie give us funny stuff not puke kissing? We already know Vin is hott and every mom wants to be with him!
  41. MarkB.
    Mar 29, 2005
    6
    Even if you've seen no more than five movies in your entire lifetime, it's not hard to predict that Special Ops Agent Vin Diesel's relationship with the children he's assigned/forced to protect in this Disney comedy will chart a standard course from hate/hate to tolerate/tolerate to love/love. Less predictable for some is that this role gives Diesel his first bonafide Even if you've seen no more than five movies in your entire lifetime, it's not hard to predict that Special Ops Agent Vin Diesel's relationship with the children he's assigned/forced to protect in this Disney comedy will chart a standard course from hate/hate to tolerate/tolerate to love/love. Less predictable for some is that this role gives Diesel his first bonafide box office hit in a career that has proven to be less than overwhelming in the four years following his breakthrough 'career film',the enjoyable updated B-movie The Fast and the Furious. (XXX, his followup to that, did OK but was considered an expensive underperformer...and the returns of the latest James Bond thriller Die Another Day a few months later completely buried it.) Actually, I'm not all that surprised: I vastly prefer Diesel's tough-guy-with-a-heart-of-gold roles (not only in Fast/Furious, where viewers wanted his charismatic chop-shop operator to get away with it, but also Saving Private Ryan,where he played the member of Tom Hanks' troop who wanted totake the French orphans with him) over his hedonistic roles (XXX) and his totally heartless ones (the Pitch Black movies). And truth be told, Diesel is so much fun to watch in The Pacifier that he makes the movie bearable. (Not good, mind you, but bearable: the reminder on the poster that this is fromthe director of Bringing Down the House is less a selling point than a consumer advisory.) To be completely fair, Lauren Graham is charming and appealing as the kids' school principal and a possible romantic interest; the movie has fewer pee, poo and spit-up jokes than are expected of this genre (but more groin punches), and there are a few scattered good gags...although one of them, involving possible student neo-Nazis, was unexpectedly soured completely by the recent Minnesota tragedy. On the debit side, any family movie that opens with the murder of the father is a dodgy proposition at best; Faith Ford, playing the widowed mom, has far greater comic talents than the movie seems remotely aware of (and she doesn't seem to miss her husband at all!) and the great Carol Kane is brutalized and wasted. Worst of all is Everybody Loves Raymond's Brad Garrett, who's just terrible in the completely misconceived and misguided role of a creepy vice-principal; the idea of a public school hiring such a loathsome character is all the argument that proponents of school vouchers ever need to have. If this role is the vision of what Garrett's post-Raymond career is going to be like (and I hope it isn't, because he really is good on that show) then Garrett would be wise to get down on his hands and knees right next to the CBS executives and beg Ray Romano to let it run another six or seven years. Expand
  42. BenR.
    Jun 29, 2005
    1
    This is one of th emovies Disney should have sent straight to cable, honestly, i like Diesel as an actor, but even his name on this movie could not get me to admit that this was money well spent.
  43. Josh
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    That was a very funny movie.The funniest part to me was when the duck pecked the guy in the nuts.
  44. JeffH.
    Jul 12, 2005
    7
    While not a classic it does have its moments and is great for lite entertainment.
  45. katies.
    Jul 14, 2005
    9
    It was a good movie...just not the best!
  46. ArshdeepS.
    Mar 19, 2009
    6
    It was just another family drama but vin diesel had given a boost to the film.
  47. Sep 12, 2014
    7
    This movie is not to be taken too seriously. Not perfect, but a very good one still. It is hilarious to see Vin Diesel messing with two genres that really shouldn't collide: he is a soldier, and this is a comedy. We know how that goes.

    This is sweet and funn, to watch: how the children tempt their fate with a well trained SEAL officer. This setting actually works, believe it or not, and
    This movie is not to be taken too seriously. Not perfect, but a very good one still. It is hilarious to see Vin Diesel messing with two genres that really shouldn't collide: he is a soldier, and this is a comedy. We know how that goes.

    This is sweet and funn, to watch: how the children tempt their fate with a well trained SEAL officer. This setting actually works, believe it or not, and some of the scenes are outrageously fun!

    But is there really a hope to restore any bit of order into the house, and still keep everyone safe? Watch and find out.
    Expand
  48. Nov 9, 2012
    4
    An immature comedy that tries to keep us watching with a few different approaches entertainment-wise. They all fail, and Diesel is poorly cast in his role.
  49. Dec 25, 2012
    2
    I used to always hate this movie, but now there are pros and cons. There are more cons than pros. I still don't like this movie but i like that they play Good Charlotte "The Anthem" in the song. That is the only pro. But i hated this movie originally because the girl scouts got back at the boy scouts. But now i just dont like it because of the humor. Vin Diesel is a great actor though, heI used to always hate this movie, but now there are pros and cons. There are more cons than pros. I still don't like this movie but i like that they play Good Charlotte "The Anthem" in the song. That is the only pro. But i hated this movie originally because the girl scouts got back at the boy scouts. But now i just dont like it because of the humor. Vin Diesel is a great actor though, he was in XXX. Expand
  50. Nov 13, 2013
    3
    The Pacifier left me needing morphine.
    It has moments of good, but is overwhelmingly bad to anyone over the age of about six, who can see what a ludicrous plot surrounds it.
  51. Apr 20, 2014
    5
    The actors were bad,the story stupid.The movie was not even a little bit funny.The only reason i gave a score that high is of Vin Diesel.If you have something else to watch then watch it because you are going to loose the time you have with this movie.
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 27
  2. Negative: 16 out of 27
  1. Here's a bizarre hodgepodge of influences: "Kindergarten Cop" meets "Sound of Music," filtered through the Hulk Hogan movie "Mr. Nanny." The formula, by now so overused it's actually formless, is pure Disney
  2. Vin Diesel is out of his element in this lame family comedy.
  3. Cheerful but mind-numbing.