Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: After their mother passes away, sisters Nicole and Annie reluctantly return to their childhood home to pay their last respects. While staying overnight in the house, the sisters sense a mysterious presence in their midst: noises startling them in the night, objects moving about, a fallenAfter their mother passes away, sisters Nicole and Annie reluctantly return to their childhood home to pay their last respects. While staying overnight in the house, the sisters sense a mysterious presence in their midst: noises startling them in the night, objects moving about, a fallen picture of an unknown woman posed next to their mother. Annie begins experiencing a series of intense and disturbing dreams – visions that lead her to uncover something terrible about her mother’s past that is finally revealing itself. (IFC Films) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Jul 4, 2012
    83
    More horror movies set in the 21st century ought to integrate technology into their scares as well as Nicholas McCarthy's The Pact.
  2. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Jul 2, 2012
    63
    When The Pact descends, finally, from suggestion to explication, the scares regrettably slink away.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jul 6, 2012
    63
    Familiar elements such as a dark family secret, a ghost and a Ouija board start to seem trite after a while, and the third act is a little ridiculous, but debut writer-director Nicholas McCarthy does a lot with a little and seems fully prepared to handle a big-studio horror project.
  4. Reviewed by: Paul Bradshaw
    Jul 1, 2012
    60
    It works hard, and the first half hour is textbook creepy, but the oldschool grab-bag of shocks struggles to jolt a dour script to life.
  5. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Jul 1, 2012
    50
    The Pact demonstrates both why people respond to horror and why it's so routinely scorned.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jul 1, 2012
    40
    Nicholas McCarthy's The Pact is a horror film developed from a short, and unfortunately it splits apart while being stretched out to feature length.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jul 3, 2012
    40
    A musty ghost story that morphs into a sluggish serial-killer mystery, Nicholas McCarthy's film tries to distinguish itself by minimizing dialogue and settings, a stripped-down approach that extends to sketchy characters and a script rife with convenient, easy-to-assemble clues.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    Scared me so much I had to stop watching and finish it in the morning. Granted, I was watching alone in the dark after midnight. But still,Scared me so much I had to stop watching and finish it in the morning. Granted, I was watching alone in the dark after midnight. But still, I'm a horror junkie in my 30s and haven't been scared like that in years! Good movie! Collapse
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    The Pact. This film scared me to the point that I had to stop watching it twice. Seriously, when the camera is directed towards a pitch darkThe Pact. This film scared me to the point that I had to stop watching it twice. Seriously, when the camera is directed towards a pitch dark room, you can feel evil lurking. The great lead actress was easy to identify with. The very naturalistic house -just an average old house- made the supernatural elements even more effective. Man, it was too scary, that is my only problem. Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2015
    8
    Summary: The Pact is spooky, well acted and just a bit slow. 78/100 [B]

    The Pact is an indie horror film directed by Nicholas McCarthy. It
    Summary: The Pact is spooky, well acted and just a bit slow. 78/100 [B]

    The Pact is an indie horror film directed by Nicholas McCarthy. It is a small flick and it has a decent running time, eighty-nine suspenseful and terrifying minutes. Moving on, it starts very well, the opening scene has lots of suspense and some lean scares. It delivers suspense, chills and a sense of anxiety. The movie boasts great performances by Haley Hudson and Caity Lotz, their performances were genuine and believable. Lotz and Hudson did a good job with their roles, but for me the star of the film is Hudson. She was terrific. Anyway, The Pact is such a good horror film that doesn't even need gore or violence to be good. It is a slow movie but it requires patience.

    The movie has enough blood and violence to satisfy discerning horror fans. Also, the special effects are surprisingly well done in spite of being a low-budget film. On the downside, the camera movements are annoying at times, the director wants to show you all, it's a very explicit movie, it shows you all the shadows and 'spectrums' with an unnecessary camera zoom, he thinks that you're blind or something. All those 'zoom' moments are so ineffective and not scary. I wish it could be more implicit. In addition, sometimes the camera moves stupidly and makes a scene funnier than scary, for example that scene in the trailer where Caity Lotz is attacked from behind by a ghost, was kinda funny.

    Leaving aside its flaws, I highly recommend it for horror fans. You can watch it online with some friends or rent it, it's a very spooky flick. The premise is intriguing, it has a good script and the performances are believable. Thumbs up for the loud-chilling screams, the excellent acting (Haley Hudson you were awesome) and the interesting premise of the film. Thumbs down for a few boring scenes, cliches of the genre and the crappy camera direction. In conclusion, it is a must see if you love the horror genre, I'm pretty sure that you'll love it. Just don't see it if you have very high expectations or if you think that it will be a masterpiece. The Pact is just a little horror gem. [B]
    Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2012
    7
    "The Pact" is a tautly engrossing thriller/horror flick, playing down the special effects you'll see in most of its peers and relying almost"The Pact" is a tautly engrossing thriller/horror flick, playing down the special effects you'll see in most of its peers and relying almost entirely on quiet suspense and scares most of the time. When Annie returns to her deceased mother's home, she soon finds herself trying to track down the secret behind a disturbing supernatural presence. The plot twists are a lot of fun, and the climax itself is superb. Overall a very watchable choice for the horror/suspense fan. Expand
  5. May 14, 2015
    6
    The Pact is a horror movie that's done in a way that makes it different to other horror movies at that time, and I'm talking about slow buildThe Pact is a horror movie that's done in a way that makes it different to other horror movies at that time, and I'm talking about slow build up and suspense.

    The story is about a Nicole (Bruckner) and Annie (Lotz) reluctantly return to their childhood home to pay their last respects. While staying overnight in the house, the sisters sense a mysterious presence in their midst: noises startling them in the night, objects moving about, a fallen picture of an unknown woman posed next to their mother. Annie begins experiencing a series of intense and disturbing dreams visions that lead her to uncover something terrible about her mothers past that is finally revealing itself.

    Before seeing The Pact I looked at some of the reviews that the movie got and some was mostly positive, some alright but a lot of negative feedback from people who said the movie wasn't scary or even that well written. After seeing I can that the movie isn't flawless but it isn't bad as some pointed out, the movie dose have it's suspenseful moments and not the jump scare bullsh*t.

    The Pact is a slow burner horror film with some scenes that don't come off scary just more like trying to be scary, but there are scenes in this that do come off creepy and at least the movie has a sense of atmosphere so it will be easy to build up something. All the performances in the movie was solid, the director did a fine job directing, the movie is a bit slow at times and some scenes that could have been scary but came off not that scary could have been effective with a little more work into it.

    Overall The Pact is a okay horror movie that's worth checking out if your bored or it's a rainy day.
    Expand
  6. Dec 17, 2014
    4
    A very choppy isolated film with a disordered story and unintended unresolved sub plots a few cheap jump scares with no genuine atmosphere,A very choppy isolated film with a disordered story and unintended unresolved sub plots a few cheap jump scares with no genuine atmosphere, forced character's and disappointing ending. Expand
  7. Jan 4, 2015
    0
    I wish it was possible to give negative points because this was at least -3.
    I seriously don't know where to begin, and the 11 positive
    I wish it was possible to give negative points because this was at least -3.
    I seriously don't know where to begin, and the 11 positive reviews are absolutely mind boggling. It never scared me. The acting was terrible. The atmosphere sucked and didn't fit a horror movie. The plot was unequivocally pathetic. The special effects sucked. It all sucked... BAD.
    Expand

Trailers