Warner Independent Pictures (WIP) | Release Date: December 20, 2006
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 116 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
102
Mixed:
8
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
wendysMay 2, 2009
Incredible movie. One of the best I've seen. Beautiful imagery and moving stoy. I loved this one.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
KathylMar 21, 2009
I thought this movie was very, very good. The relationship between the two characters was believable and moving. Their passions and emotions were real. The acting was superb and the cinematography was excellent. I can't understand why I thought this movie was very, very good. The relationship between the two characters was believable and moving. Their passions and emotions were real. The acting was superb and the cinematography was excellent. I can't understand why this movie did not do better--it is a gem. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
SusanS.Dec 16, 2008
Captivating, a well acted period piece that was engaging enough to require further reading and research after the movie credits ran. Completely engrossing...the characters were multi-dimensional and well layered. The depths of each character Captivating, a well acted period piece that was engaging enough to require further reading and research after the movie credits ran. Completely engrossing...the characters were multi-dimensional and well layered. The depths of each character kept me interested in their demons and wanting to know more. Wonderful film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarianneH.Dec 24, 2006
A beautiful love story set in 1925 China with breath-taking nature and exotic production and costume design. A feast for the eyes and the heart. Naomi Watts and Edward Norton are both excellent and together create lovely onscreen chemistry.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
LindaL.Jun 5, 2007
I just watched two of the old B&W films made of Maugham's short stories ("Quartet" and "Trio") and this movie made for a really nice continuation of that whole repressed British era -- only in gorgeous, panoramic color. I think Watts is I just watched two of the old B&W films made of Maugham's short stories ("Quartet" and "Trio") and this movie made for a really nice continuation of that whole repressed British era -- only in gorgeous, panoramic color. I think Watts is pretty much always excellent, and the not-really-handsome Norton was perfect in this part. Somehow the denouement and ending weren't that satisfying, though. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JasonP.Feb 25, 2008
A very good movie that slipped under the radar. The cinematography was excellent, as was the acting. Anthony Wong is always a face I'm glad to see in a film. To Evie B. : how can Watts' accent be bad if she IS English?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
miriamk.Jul 9, 2008
One of edward norton's best performance. long drawn out affair between himself and kitty fane. no better job could of been done. portrays most of somerset's ideas. Two thumbs up.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JoanneG.Jan 16, 2007
The movie had the potential to be an important love story and period piece, but failed due to a weak ending. Just as it was getting started, the movie ended abruptly leaving the viewer feeling rather empty. This chilly feeling was due to a The movie had the potential to be an important love story and period piece, but failed due to a weak ending. Just as it was getting started, the movie ended abruptly leaving the viewer feeling rather empty. This chilly feeling was due to a poorly scripted conclusion rather than the acting ability of Norton and Watts who gave strong performances. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KathleenJan 7, 2007
Stunningly beautiful to watch with a terrific musical score, this movie is perfect for people who enjoy period films. It was painful to watch Norton's character at times--he delivered an inspired performance. Naomi Watts captured my Stunningly beautiful to watch with a terrific musical score, this movie is perfect for people who enjoy period films. It was painful to watch Norton's character at times--he delivered an inspired performance. Naomi Watts captured my attention far more in this film than any other I've seen her in. I didn't expect to enjoy it so much. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TonyB.Apr 26, 2008
Genuine atonement for one's sin can lead to full redemption. That is the theme of this beautifully designed, photographed, edited and scored film. Naomi Watts and Edward Horton are extremely effective in two challenging and complex Genuine atonement for one's sin can lead to full redemption. That is the theme of this beautifully designed, photographed, edited and scored film. Naomi Watts and Edward Horton are extremely effective in two challenging and complex roles and are complemented by some admirable work from the film's fine supporting cast. It is unfortunate that one of the best pictures of 2006 did not get the attention it deserved. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KittyH.May 13, 2008
This beautiful, moving film has become one of my favorites. The splendid cast lifts Maugham's story off the page. A film with something to say about love and commitment and a gorgeous score to boot.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChristineM.Jan 21, 2007
Romantic , both contemporary and retro. Glorious photography and exquisite acting by all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
J.S.Feb 4, 2007
I may have to read the original story to determine if the affair of the heroine is the catalyst to both her personal growth and her new found understanding of what her husband lacks, the tools to elicit better behavior from him and the I may have to read the original story to determine if the affair of the heroine is the catalyst to both her personal growth and her new found understanding of what her husband lacks, the tools to elicit better behavior from him and the ultimate, tragic revenge she wrecks on him. The beauty and the pathos of the film are exquiste. I, also, wonder of the significance of the title. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulieS.Apr 30, 2007
Despite the poor reviews on TV and in newspapers we went to see this film. I think the reviewers need to have a more positive attitude to films like this - they can really put people off and many many people will love this film. The scenery Despite the poor reviews on TV and in newspapers we went to see this film. I think the reviewers need to have a more positive attitude to films like this - they can really put people off and many many people will love this film. The scenery was fabulous and acting brilliant. I enjoyed every minute - it was a change from the usual blockbusters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NancyEMay 22, 2007
The Painted Veil should have been nominated for best film in 2006. The story of how a married couple finally come to love and respect each other with grace is haunting. Edward Norton, Naomi Watts, and Diana Rigg gave beautifully modulated The Painted Veil should have been nominated for best film in 2006. The story of how a married couple finally come to love and respect each other with grace is haunting. Edward Norton, Naomi Watts, and Diana Rigg gave beautifully modulated performances. The music weaves gently throughout. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KimAJan 16, 2008
This is what happens when really great actors tell a sensitively filmed story written by a great writer. As I recall, Somerset Maugham doesn't do "happy" at the end, but something that feels more true.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulK.Dec 13, 2006
Great film...Edward Norton, Naomi Watts, and Toby Jones all gave impeccable performances...the final scene wasn't the strongest way to end the film, but an ending nevertheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CinBuffMar 23, 2007
Well done with nice touches making the characters viable and very human. Slightly deceptive early in the plot, but it works none the less. Photography is very .. well ... visual. Color could have been a bit more sumptious but it is carried Well done with nice touches making the characters viable and very human. Slightly deceptive early in the plot, but it works none the less. Photography is very .. well ... visual. Color could have been a bit more sumptious but it is carried along by the story line, the characters, and the visuals. a solid 8.5 if not a 9. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathleenG.Apr 3, 2007
I loved this movie. I had no idea how great it would be. Edward Norton gives a stunning performance; the locales are breathtaking; and the humanity painfully poignant. It should have been the best picture of 2006 instead of the weak slate of I loved this movie. I had no idea how great it would be. Edward Norton gives a stunning performance; the locales are breathtaking; and the humanity painfully poignant. It should have been the best picture of 2006 instead of the weak slate of movies nominated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BarbaraB.Jun 30, 2007
This was a beautiful movie with complex characters, beautiful scenery and a haunting score. It was simply a pleasure to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuliaBJul 28, 2007
Amazing, literally. Great acting from every actor and beautiful scenery with an actual REALISTIC romance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanM.Sep 18, 2007
Thoroughly enjoyable from beginning to end and so refreshing to see a film whose pace respects the characters, the story and the scenery. The acting is excellent and, despite what one user wrote, the accents were spot on. I'm English, Thoroughly enjoyable from beginning to end and so refreshing to see a film whose pace respects the characters, the story and the scenery. The acting is excellent and, despite what one user wrote, the accents were spot on. I'm English, by the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShelleyX.Feb 24, 2008
A most compelling story about love and forgiveness, perfectly portrayed by a wonderful cast. Its heartaching beauty will bring me back to see it again and again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElenaMMar 9, 2008
It was compelling and sad. It was a journey of love, forgiveness and tolerance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennyR.May 1, 2008
This is Naomi Watts' best role yet. She is one of the greatest actor's of our time. Edward Norton was surprisingly excellent in this film and has turned me into a fan of his. Sad but realistic love story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RatC.Sep 18, 2008
Great Movie! Deep, thoughtful, inspiring, heartbrokenly romantic, another excellent performance from ED and NW! 100% positive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JehanzebFeb 11, 2009
Very touching story with good pace. beautiful sceneries, lush photography..excellent acting. The sceneries and emotions were given due time and regard. Slowliness was necessary to maintain quality. Must see phenomenon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteandricD.Dec 17, 2006
Avery good movie with excellent acting and great cinematography. Naomi Watts should be nominated for the Academy Award.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NathanDec 21, 2006
Saw this last night at a screening. What a remarkable and subtle film. It delves deep into classic hollywood and pulls off a melodramatic story with great aplumb. The acting was excellent. Naomi Watts is especially moving and Edward Norton Saw this last night at a screening. What a remarkable and subtle film. It delves deep into classic hollywood and pulls off a melodramatic story with great aplumb. The acting was excellent. Naomi Watts is especially moving and Edward Norton puts meat to a character that, in the novel, had none. I was startled by how beautiful the film was. The scenery is gorgeous and the music becomes almost another character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SarahMNov 18, 2007
Except for the rather predictable ending, I thought this movie was top-notch. Excellent acting, great story-line, thought-provoking. Those who have deemed it as "slow" may not appreciate the period-piece drama, but I thought it was one of Except for the rather predictable ending, I thought this movie was top-notch. Excellent acting, great story-line, thought-provoking. Those who have deemed it as "slow" may not appreciate the period-piece drama, but I thought it was one of the best of this genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Jan 14, 2007
I woke up thinking about this movie, which is generally my arbiter for whether something is good or not. Sumptuously filmed and acted (although some of the same scenes got repetitive; you could tell they were filming in a constrained I woke up thinking about this movie, which is generally my arbiter for whether something is good or not. Sumptuously filmed and acted (although some of the same scenes got repetitive; you could tell they were filming in a constrained location), this movie will linger with you. My only complaint is that after watching a film where so much is portrayed through a glance or gesture, why did the director end with the puerile dialogue he did? He could have filmed the same scene with just music and no dialogue and it would have had more impact. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnC.Apr 16, 2007
Wonderful movie! See it on the big screen if you still can, it has such a wonderful atmosphere and sense of place. Best movie I've seen all year, really stuck with me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
avaLJul 22, 2007
I really liked how the couple in the movie met, and married for the wrong reasons, but after time grew so much in love until they couldn't live without each other!! Plus Norton and Watts are great actors!!This movie is a must see!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PokyM.Jul 13, 2008
This is a welcome change from the usual stuff coming from Hollywood. The ending came on rather abruptly just as the viewer has setteled down to enjoy the slow pace. A pleasurable way to while away time while peeking into the social life, This is a welcome change from the usual stuff coming from Hollywood. The ending came on rather abruptly just as the viewer has setteled down to enjoy the slow pace. A pleasurable way to while away time while peeking into the social life, customs and traditions of early 20th century England and the wide ranging effects and repercussions of the presence of the British Empire in China. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanBApr 12, 2009
This really is a superb film, meant for an adult, educated audience, lacking car chases and kung foo fights. Great acting by leading roles and a gentle but powerful story development. It's nice to know there are still movies like this This really is a superb film, meant for an adult, educated audience, lacking car chases and kung foo fights. Great acting by leading roles and a gentle but powerful story development. It's nice to know there are still movies like this being made in spite of the needs of our age for instant amusement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CarlosRJul 27, 2009
Beautiful photography, astounding music and very good acting from Norton and Naomi.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardM.Dec 15, 2006
Best movie of the year. best performance by naomi watts and edward norton. it should be a multiple oscar awards winner.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sinaMar 18, 2012
Excellent, emotionally moving story. The intellectual growth of the main character is nicely portrayed. Gorgeous scenery perfectly, profesionally captured.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Apr 7, 2013
A solid classic love story. Terrific performances and scenery. However, never really seems like the movie fulfills would it could have achieved. It had all the elements, but never reached its potential.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJun 18, 2014
This film certainly has a lot going for it. First off, the cinematography is gorgeous. Every shot is more beautiful than the next, thanks in large to the beautiful and picturesque scenery. The acting from leads Edward Norton and Naomi WattsThis film certainly has a lot going for it. First off, the cinematography is gorgeous. Every shot is more beautiful than the next, thanks in large to the beautiful and picturesque scenery. The acting from leads Edward Norton and Naomi Watts is top-notch and their chemistry is very good with one another. Toby Jones also has a good supporting role here. For all of them, they got to play very well developed and multi-faceted characters, a bonus for them and a key element to what makes this one a success, as the script is very well done. In addition, the love story is well done. I am not typically overly into romantic films, but this one is definitely different as the romance feels real and not cheesy at all. All of these elements also feel realistic for the time period depicted and really makes it feel like an authentic portrayal of a man and a wife who are going through troubled times with one another. Finally, the film is very interesting, it never really failed to have my interest. Yes, it is slow and methodic, but it is a gorgeous film to watch and take in and never really heads towards "boring" for me. Overall, "The Painted Veil" is a very well done period piece that is almost melodic in its portrayal of this love story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GayatreeMay 24, 2013
A movie that captures you with its poignant imagery and characterizations. The performances are subtle, yet strong they are all believable in their characters. The quiet beauty of the story is somewhat undone by some elements of the ending,A movie that captures you with its poignant imagery and characterizations. The performances are subtle, yet strong they are all believable in their characters. The quiet beauty of the story is somewhat undone by some elements of the ending, thus keeping it from fully realizing its potential. However, that does not detract much from its overall appeal as a really well crafted romantic drama. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FilmQueenNov 28, 2015
Wow, this was great! I was pleasantly surprised, because I am not a big fan of romances and these dramatically slow and depressing films about relationships. But this film is definitely an exception, it did not make me vomit, not for a singleWow, this was great! I was pleasantly surprised, because I am not a big fan of romances and these dramatically slow and depressing films about relationships. But this film is definitely an exception, it did not make me vomit, not for a single moment. In fact, I think I love this film.
The scenery is beautiful and it creates a perfect atmosphere, so does the music composed by Alexandre Desplat. The french song at the end of the film is especially beautiful and fitting. It's a very good period drama and realistic in every way. Both Edward Norton and Naomi Watts are superb. The pacing is quite perfect. All in all, a great film!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31May 20, 2016
Good film. The nuanced performance by Edward Norton and Naomi Watts renders this film apart from other films of this genre.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-12069-The-Painted-Veil
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews