User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 37
  2. Negative: 7 out of 37

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 4, 2014
    7
    Interesting film with lots of great acting: Nicole Kidman, John Cusack, Matthew, everybody, including Zac Efron, I discovered that he is a real actor with this film. Can´t wait to see more roles from him. The biggest problem is the same that all Lee Daniels films have: too many things going on without completely going for it. He should focus on one particular issue in each of his films, the results would be better. But still, I really liked this one, the cinematography is great and many of the topics they handled were very interesting. Yes it´s a bit disturbing but it´s this director´s style. It´s like an American Almodovar. people should get over it. Just learn to embrace human nature. Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    This is an interesting film but only some people will like it. It has many things to say and show but the director doesn't achieve to show them in a good way. i like the movie though i expected more. Nicole Kidman impressed me with her sexual appearance-scene and the ending it's a little bit of dull and not what you would expect. However, i liked the movie and as I said in the begining some people may not like for different reasons. I liked it anyway Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    3
    Just a gross, creepy movie all around. Not enjoyable in the least. I can't believe Matt McConaghey accepted this role because he comes across pretty disgusting in this role and I will never look at that dude the same again. Nicole Kidman looks like a typical plastic-surgery-face nasty hoe and Efron is completely head over heels for her. Its pretty unrealistic.
  4. Jun 17, 2013
    2
    Very big fail Kidman is the only one good thing in it i love how she's risky when it comes to choosing her projects but she better choose interesting roles in a better movies
  5. May 22, 2013
    2
    One of those movies you watch until the credits roll, and are only left with a bad feeling in your stomach.
    Should have turned this one off a bit sooner!
  6. May 22, 2013
    5
    Acting was pretty good, I thought Macy Gray stole the show with her character imo. I agree that the plot was all over the place and never really stuck to one thing but instead branched off into multiple areas, Each ending in a very unsatisfying way. I was rather disappointed when it branched off into the Homosexual sub-plot (not going to spoil it but it was rather stupid and pointless), From that point on the movie took a nose down and never recovered. Worth giving a chance but can't say that I'd strongly recommend it. Expand
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    6
    Watching the Paperboy is a bit like being an observer watching a car wreck. One is inappropriately fascinated by the whole thing. Lee Daniels direction is very uneven (although not without its moments of style), and he seems to subscribe to the notion that nothing succeeds like excess. It doesn't! The film is handicapped from the start by voiceover narration that alienates the viewer quickly rather than getting them involved. The grainy and amateurish photography is also at first a distraction, even though as the film progresses it does seem to fit perfectly with the increasingly steamy and violent setting. Where Daniels has succeeded most is with the performances of his cast. John Cusack is suitably nasty as the killer on death row; Zac Efron perfect as the pretty boy maturing by events surrounding him, and the currently ever improving Matthew McConaughey is just great as the newspaper reporter with a secret. Shining above all these, however, is Nicole Kidman in the role of the trashy Charlotte. She steals the film. Even by her own high standards this versatile and accomplished actress is truly amazing. If the Paperboy was judged soley on the performance Daniels has drawn from Miss Kidman it would certainly be no mean achievement. Expand
  8. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    This film is messy just like everyone is saying. It's also a little thin in some places but this thinness works because it keeps the story light and fun despite its periodic lurid/grisly bubbling over it is nearly perfect in what it wants to do; nothing appears forced or rings false (a credit to daniels) and of course the acting (even efron, whose blankness is necessary) is amazing.
  9. Jan 24, 2013
    6
    Three years after his Oscar-nominated dark horse Precious (2009, 8/10), Lee Daniels doesn
  10. Jan 24, 2013
    4
    One hot mess. A few moments of enlightenment provided by Ms. Kidman in this murky, meandering noir film. Not a lot to love here. I needed a shower after watching it.
  11. Jan 4, 2013
    5
    The Paperboy was an interesting film that falls flat due to misdirection. This murky crime drama was going in with a possibly decent story, but it was ultimately told in the messiest way possible, from the moment Macy Gray started narrating. Disastrous and divulging; the plot dissolves in the sea (or swamp, rather) of visual style the director tries to accentuate. Shot and edited with a lot of panache, there Collapse
  12. Oct 5, 2012
    4
    What a mess of a film. After "Precious" this just does not seem quite right coming from Daniels. Visually, the film is not bad. The cinematography is great, with a definite 60s glare to it, which works to truly transform your vision and make it seem as if it were shot in the 60s itself. The original score is pretty decent too, with some good tunes, especially "That man is dangerous." The storyline, however, is rather weak and the dialogue at times makes no sense. A lot is also left unexplained -- like McConaughey's love life and events surround that. It is rather gory and out there, which might repeal some viewers, but overall it is definitely an interesting film visually. What stood out to me (in a positive light) were the performances. Efron, though contained, was decent in his performance, as was McConaughey. John Cusack was excellent as the vicious murderer Hillary. His manic look and twitches really brought Hillary to life, as a credible character. The absolute best thing about the film, however, was Nicole Kidman. She shines as the sultry, sexy, yet a bit dim-witted Charlotte Bless, who has a thing for prison convicts (i.e. Cusack in the film). She steals every scene she is in, and that is quite an achievement considering the cast. With her platinum wig, short/tight outfits, and fake tan, she embodies her character perfectly. Another exceptional performance comes from Macy Gray, who unfortunately doesn't get too much screen time, but she does amazingly well with the little she's been given. It is the Viola Davis in 'Doubt' moment for 'The Paperboy'. Overall, a rather underwhelming film that, despite excellent performances, leaves you wondering what the point of the whole film was. Daniel's does seem to be at the top of his game directorially in many ways, but he has definitely missed the mark here. Expand
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 38
  2. Negative: 11 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    Mar 11, 2013
    60
    A superb Kidman takes off the handbrake, and most everything else, in Daniels' southern-fried follow-up to "Precious." Watch it with "Killer Joe" for the ultimate sweaty, twisted double-bill.
  2. Reviewed by: Jamie Graham
    Feb 16, 2013
    60
    A grindhouse mix of "Wild Things," "Killer Joe" and "Streetcar Named Desire," The Paperboy won’t be for all. But it boasts a soupy atmosphere and Kidman’s best turn for years.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Nov 2, 2012
    20
    This is the kind of film that feels like a dream - but not in the good way. Rather, it resembles a dream in that it is made up of disjointed, loosely connected bits of surrealist craziness - ideas that might have seemed interesting in the twilight hours but that don't come close to standing up to the light of day.