Millennium Entertainment | Release Date: October 5, 2012
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 48 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
22
Mixed:
17
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
smijatovOct 5, 2012
What a mess of a film. After "Precious" this just does not seem quite right coming from Daniels. Visually, the film is not bad. The cinematography is great, with a definite 60s glare to it, which works to truly transform your vision and makeWhat a mess of a film. After "Precious" this just does not seem quite right coming from Daniels. Visually, the film is not bad. The cinematography is great, with a definite 60s glare to it, which works to truly transform your vision and make it seem as if it were shot in the 60s itself. The original score is pretty decent too, with some good tunes, especially "That man is dangerous." The storyline, however, is rather weak and the dialogue at times makes no sense. A lot is also left unexplained -- like McConaughey's love life and events surround that. It is rather gory and out there, which might repeal some viewers, but overall it is definitely an interesting film visually. What stood out to me (in a positive light) were the performances. Efron, though contained, was decent in his performance, as was McConaughey. John Cusack was excellent as the vicious murderer Hillary. His manic look and twitches really brought Hillary to life, as a credible character. The absolute best thing about the film, however, was Nicole Kidman. She shines as the sultry, sexy, yet a bit dim-witted Charlotte Bless, who has a thing for prison convicts (i.e. Cusack in the film). She steals every scene she is in, and that is quite an achievement considering the cast. With her platinum wig, short/tight outfits, and fake tan, she embodies her character perfectly. Another exceptional performance comes from Macy Gray, who unfortunately doesn't get too much screen time, but she does amazingly well with the little she's been given. It is the Viola Davis in 'Doubt' moment for 'The Paperboy'. Overall, a rather underwhelming film that, despite excellent performances, leaves you wondering what the point of the whole film was. Daniel's does seem to be at the top of his game directorially in many ways, but he has definitely missed the mark here. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
AlecCowanApr 28, 2015
It's not a crowd-pleasing movie; it's just and excellent movie. So dark, "black as the pit from pole to pole", so unforgiving about human flaws. McConaughey, Kidman, Cusack and Gray teach an acting lesson. Don't pay attention to the averageIt's not a crowd-pleasing movie; it's just and excellent movie. So dark, "black as the pit from pole to pole", so unforgiving about human flaws. McConaughey, Kidman, Cusack and Gray teach an acting lesson. Don't pay attention to the average score but to the huge spread among both critics and public. It tells you it isn't a movie for everyone. Zac Efron is here to show he has also an acting range, not to provide entertainment, good looks and a happy ending. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
LISTEN2MEJan 24, 2013
One hot mess. A few moments of enlightenment provided by Ms. Kidman in this murky, meandering noir film. Not a lot to love here. I needed a shower after watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
lasttimeisawJan 24, 2013
Three years after his Oscar-nominated dark horse Precious (2009, 8/10), Lee Daniels doesn
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
It's dark and steamy, but all too profound to ignore. Nicole Kidman gives one of the best performances of the year. The Paperboy is not an easy film to watch--which makes it all the more intriguing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
lahaine2012Jan 4, 2013
The Paperboy was an interesting film that falls flat due to misdirection. This murky crime drama was going in with a possibly decent story, but it was ultimately told in the messiest way possible, from the moment Macy Gray started narrating.The Paperboy was an interesting film that falls flat due to misdirection. This murky crime drama was going in with a possibly decent story, but it was ultimately told in the messiest way possible, from the moment Macy Gray started narrating. Disastrous and divulging; the plot dissolves in the sea (or swamp, rather) of visual style the director tries to accentuate. Shot and edited with a lot of panache, there Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
foxgroveMar 25, 2013
Watching the Paperboy is a bit like being an observer watching a car wreck. One is inappropriately fascinated by the whole thing. Lee Daniels direction is very uneven (although not without its moments of style), and he seems to subscribe toWatching the Paperboy is a bit like being an observer watching a car wreck. One is inappropriately fascinated by the whole thing. Lee Daniels direction is very uneven (although not without its moments of style), and he seems to subscribe to the notion that nothing succeeds like excess. It doesn't! The film is handicapped from the start by voiceover narration that alienates the viewer quickly rather than getting them involved. The grainy and amateurish photography is also at first a distraction, even though as the film progresses it does seem to fit perfectly with the increasingly steamy and violent setting. Where Daniels has succeeded most is with the performances of his cast. John Cusack is suitably nasty as the killer on death row; Zac Efron perfect as the pretty boy maturing by events surrounding him, and the currently ever improving Matthew McConaughey is just great as the newspaper reporter with a secret. Shining above all these, however, is Nicole Kidman in the role of the trashy Charlotte. She steals the film. Even by her own high standards this versatile and accomplished actress is truly amazing. If the Paperboy was judged soley on the performance Daniels has drawn from Miss Kidman it would certainly be no mean achievement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sanyrubJan 4, 2014
Interesting film with lots of great acting: Nicole Kidman, John Cusack, Matthew, everybody, including Zac Efron, I discovered that he is a real actor with this film. Can´t wait to see more roles from him. The biggest problem is the same thatInteresting film with lots of great acting: Nicole Kidman, John Cusack, Matthew, everybody, including Zac Efron, I discovered that he is a real actor with this film. Can´t wait to see more roles from him. The biggest problem is the same that all Lee Daniels films have: too many things going on without completely going for it. He should focus on one particular issue in each of his films, the results would be better. But still, I really liked this one, the cinematography is great and many of the topics they handled were very interesting. Yes it´s a bit disturbing but it´s this director´s style. It´s like an American Almodovar. people should get over it. Just learn to embrace human nature. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GF_GF_GFFeb 16, 2013
This film is messy just like everyone is saying. It's also a little thin in some places but this thinness works because it keeps the story light and fun despite its periodic lurid/grisly bubbling over it is nearly perfect in what it wants toThis film is messy just like everyone is saying. It's also a little thin in some places but this thinness works because it keeps the story light and fun despite its periodic lurid/grisly bubbling over it is nearly perfect in what it wants to do; nothing appears forced or rings false (a credit to daniels) and of course the acting (even efron, whose blankness is necessary) is amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
greygooseMay 22, 2013
One of those movies you watch until the credits roll, and are only left with a bad feeling in your stomach.
Should have turned this one off a bit sooner!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KivaJun 25, 2013
This is an interesting film but only some people will like it. It has many things to say and show but the director doesn't achieve to show them in a good way. i like the movie though i expected more. Nicole Kidman impressed me with her sexualThis is an interesting film but only some people will like it. It has many things to say and show but the director doesn't achieve to show them in a good way. i like the movie though i expected more. Nicole Kidman impressed me with her sexual appearance-scene and the ending it's a little bit of dull and not what you would expect. However, i liked the movie and as I said in the begining some people may not like for different reasons. I liked it anyway Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
AliBenzekriJun 17, 2013
Very big fail Kidman is the only one good thing in it i love how she's risky when it comes to choosing her projects but she better choose interesting roles in a better movies
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
pl4tinumJun 18, 2013
Just a gross, creepy movie all around. Not enjoyable in the least. I can't believe Matt McConaghey accepted this role because he comes across pretty disgusting in this role and I will never look at that dude the same again. Nicole KidmanJust a gross, creepy movie all around. Not enjoyable in the least. I can't believe Matt McConaghey accepted this role because he comes across pretty disgusting in this role and I will never look at that dude the same again. Nicole Kidman looks like a typical plastic-surgery-face nasty hoe and Efron is completely head over heels for her. Its pretty unrealistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"The Paperboy" 10 Scale Rating: 4.0 (Bad) ...

The Good: Despite a weak script Efron, McConaughey, and Oyelowo do an excellent job. Initially an interesting story, you can't help but wonder what could have been. The Bad: Tries way too
"The Paperboy" 10 Scale Rating: 4.0 (Bad) ...

The Good: Despite a weak script Efron, McConaughey, and Oyelowo do an excellent job. Initially an interesting story, you can't help but wonder what could have been.

The Bad: Tries way too hard. It is odd because it is an obvious drama, but at times gets really corny and attempts to be comical. Those scenes seem so random and out of place that you wonder if you're still watching the same film. Nicole Kidman received several accolades for her performance, but I'm not sure why. She was decent at best.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
semirachanAug 17, 2015
Reading the reviews of this film I can see the point of view of why it might be trashy and "camp", though I would say this is a great exaggeration. There are one or two scenes that may be labeled as such but overall this movie containsReading the reviews of this film I can see the point of view of why it might be trashy and "camp", though I would say this is a great exaggeration. There are one or two scenes that may be labeled as such but overall this movie contains beautiful shots, amazing acting from all 4 title names and a compelling story.

This is not my genre of film at all and I wouldn't call myself a Lee Daniels fan, though I wouldn't say I don't like him either, but the story, cinematography and of course the acting hooked me in the first 5 mins and it was non stop till the end- the very end I assure you.

I highly recommend this film. Zac Efron proves himself if that's what may deter you from the film.

Great.. very pleasantly surprised at how well done this was. 8 for sure.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews