The Passion of the Christ

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 811 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. HarrisonO.
    Feb 25, 2004
    0
    "Blood and Gore" and "Place The Blame" is the message sent by Gibson. Jesus knowingly suffered for the sins of mankind. Gibson takes this to a new low as he sensationalizes the torture as HE thought it to be? All of us who believe in the Son of God are devoted and did not need scapegoats to confirm our faith? Once you get by the hoopla that this film has created, it is quite apparent that "Blood and Gore" and "Place The Blame" is the message sent by Gibson. Jesus knowingly suffered for the sins of mankind. Gibson takes this to a new low as he sensationalizes the torture as HE thought it to be? All of us who believe in the Son of God are devoted and did not need scapegoats to confirm our faith? Once you get by the hoopla that this film has created, it is quite apparent that it is antisemtic. Others have also suffered great acts of inhumanity, The Holocaust being just one example. This point has been completely lost on Mr. Gibson. Expand
  2. JerradH.
    Mar 2, 2004
    3
    You know, for a movie that's supposedly incredibly accurate, I find it a bit odd that Jesus is clearly a white European looking fellow, whereas the real Jesus would have considerably darker skin with a slightly more Middle Eastern look. I'm not a Christian, and as a result I didn't get as much out of it as a Christian would. I liked the quality of the scenery and music, and You know, for a movie that's supposedly incredibly accurate, I find it a bit odd that Jesus is clearly a white European looking fellow, whereas the real Jesus would have considerably darker skin with a slightly more Middle Eastern look. I'm not a Christian, and as a result I didn't get as much out of it as a Christian would. I liked the quality of the scenery and music, and the fact that nothing was sugarcoated (though the slow motion was thoroughly unecessary), but it simply came off to me as more of a tool for propoganda and punishment rather than a movie that could stand alone as something entertaining and worthwhile to watch without the need to be a Christian. To those who knock the critics for having a problem with scripture or Christianity, remember that not everyone shares your views, and its highly ignorant to judge others for such a thing. Expand
  3. DavidM.
    Feb 29, 2004
    1
    Horribly bloody and not full of love but relentless hatred for the audience
  4. TheresaL.
    Mar 2, 2004
    0
    Brutalality in its most ugly form. The purpose of this film is simply propoganda to blame others for Jesus suffering. Mel read the bible. Jesus knew that this was his fate. What would happen to anyone who preached against the majority as it is the same today as it was then?
  5. NikT.
    Mar 1, 2004
    0
    Clearly, this is a propoganda film to haul in some new believers. "Look what JC had to endure.....and he did it for us!"
  6. Ce
    Mar 2, 2004
    3
    The Passion is a deeply saddening, but moreover vile experience. For those of you that want to reaffirm and confirm your faith please stay home and study your bible again, and again, and again. For those of you who do not know much of the Judean - Christian belief, and are yearning for supplementary clarification of the Christian faith, DO NOT see this motion picture. The Passion is The Passion is a deeply saddening, but moreover vile experience. For those of you that want to reaffirm and confirm your faith please stay home and study your bible again, and again, and again. For those of you who do not know much of the Judean - Christian belief, and are yearning for supplementary clarification of the Christian faith, DO NOT see this motion picture. The Passion is inappropriately frail on the foremost purpose of Jesus? existence, his exalted wisdom. The film demonstrates what Gibson knows best from his numerous years in the film industry, that being blood, guts, action, and nudity, and a minority of years studying his new found Christian faith. Gibson?s past intense films Brave Heart, and The Patriot display the brutality of the human psyche, and in this sense The Passion does the same. However, as religious experiences, these movies are not. The Passion IS AN INADEQUATE 2hr lesson on the importance of Jesus? being and morality, The Passion IS NOT ENTAINMENT, The Passion DOES NOT TEACH OR SHOW Anti Semitism. Mournfully, The Passion is definitively what drives US culture and the US film industry, which is unequivocally unbridled debauchery. Retrospectively, those of us residing with in the US have the privilege to adore the God of our choice without harassment, have the right to question, the right to like or dislike, and the right to follow our own passions, and for that, I applaud Gibson for following his, however misguided it may be. Expand
  7. MoK.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    My respect for Prophet Jesus (May God's peace and blessings be upon him) increased multi-fold after I watched the movie.
  8. WilliamM.
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    This film enables one to comprehend graphically the torture and agony that Jesus endured for ALL mankind.
  9. NormaI.
    Apr 10, 2009
    10
    This movie depicts some of the events that happened to Jesus Christ. It is in no way anti-semitic, Jesus came to die,so regardless of who killed him i.e Jew or otherwise. This film was beautifully made and it touches the soul,so for all those people who are saying it doesn't touch the soul, it is because you do not understand. This film is not about the violence, but about redemption This movie depicts some of the events that happened to Jesus Christ. It is in no way anti-semitic, Jesus came to die,so regardless of who killed him i.e Jew or otherwise. This film was beautifully made and it touches the soul,so for all those people who are saying it doesn't touch the soul, it is because you do not understand. This film is not about the violence, but about redemption and grace through the suffering of Christ. Jesus said father forgive them for they know not what they do, with this he meant the Romans, Jews and every other persons today. So believe and be saved! Expand
  10. EmmyB
    Nov 23, 2004
    1
    It's sad that after all this time, we are still focusing on Jesus's death and not all the good things he did while he was alive. I'm not a Christian, but it seems a little sacreligous to make such a violent and distrubing movie about someone who's basic philosophy was "Love thy neightbor, love thy friend, and love thy enemy."
  11. Rico
    Sep 7, 2004
    1
    I only give it a 1 for the elaborate production. The concept is to separate Christians from their money. Rather than see this movie I think people should look at the teachings of Jesus. That is the basis of Christianity, not gory suffering. Mel Gibson should be ashamed.
  12. TareumL.
    Sep 7, 2004
    1
    ... And before you see this movie, remember that God is only an idea.
  13. DebraH.
    Feb 25, 2004
    1
    This is a dangerous mix of film technique and one man's interpretaion of the Gospel. He assumes one knows Jesus' message of forgivness and love before entering the theater. What is portrayed is his torture and the destructin of the Jewish Temple as an immediate divine result of his death. Troubling
  14. SubashP.
    Feb 26, 2004
    0
    I am a practicing Hindu. My exposure to Jesus Christ has been through the remarkable presence he had within the Hebrew community of the time - the radiance and charismatic nature of his preaching - the consummate rabbi. What nonsense to underscore his death when it was his life that attracted so many disciples. This film is rubbish.
  15. JamesL.
    Feb 28, 2004
    3
    I'm disappointed that a movie that purports to be as true to the Gospels as possible ignores one significant detail: Jesus was not a white guy! He was a Jew living before the Diaspora. We don't know what exact shade of brown his skin colour was... but he was a Semite, and definitely not European. I'm not saying that someone like Oded Fehr would have been a better choice for I'm disappointed that a movie that purports to be as true to the Gospels as possible ignores one significant detail: Jesus was not a white guy! He was a Jew living before the Diaspora. We don't know what exact shade of brown his skin colour was... but he was a Semite, and definitely not European. I'm not saying that someone like Oded Fehr would have been a better choice for the role, but it would have been nice for Gibson to point out that our image of a Nordic Jesus is purely a meme of European invention brought about by generation after generation of those preferring to follow in the footsteps of tradition rather than truth. Quite disappointed, am I. Expand
  16. MariaHoffman
    Feb 24, 2004
    1
    Sensatonalizing the violence, brutality and gore seems to be the theme.
  17. KelR.
    Mar 1, 2004
    5
    This movie was okay. I think if you are Catholic you will like it more than protestant, but I think that anyone who believes in Jesus Christ will take something from the movie. What is surprising is the people who are "Jesus Bashing." Well, I guess this shouldn't surprise me. Basically Jesus Christ's blood was shed for US. We all deserve the most severe punishment from God for This movie was okay. I think if you are Catholic you will like it more than protestant, but I think that anyone who believes in Jesus Christ will take something from the movie. What is surprising is the people who are "Jesus Bashing." Well, I guess this shouldn't surprise me. Basically Jesus Christ's blood was shed for US. We all deserve the most severe punishment from God for the Sin's (going against the will of God) we commit. Yet, Jesus (the Son of God) accepted that punishment on our behalf, if we accept, and follow him, God will spare us the punishment we deserve if we do not we WILL suffer for those sins. This is the basic Christian philosophy. Expand
  18. MaryEllenW.
    Feb 24, 2004
    0
    So Mel was there to see Jesus crucified? And Mel knows exactly who to blame? The movie is violent to let us know that Jesus suffered extreme cruelty at the hands of his murderers. We learned this in Bible Study. But for Mel to place the blame equally on the Romans and the Jews is totally unfair. The Vatican exonerated the Jewish nation many years ago. Now Mel has decided that HE does not. So Mel was there to see Jesus crucified? And Mel knows exactly who to blame? The movie is violent to let us know that Jesus suffered extreme cruelty at the hands of his murderers. We learned this in Bible Study. But for Mel to place the blame equally on the Romans and the Jews is totally unfair. The Vatican exonerated the Jewish nation many years ago. Now Mel has decided that HE does not. This movie will only inflame the ignorant and divide religious fanatics even further. Way too violent and made in poor taste. Expand
  19. CameronK.
    Mar 3, 2004
    4
    Man, I didn't get it. I mean it was aight, Jesus got killed and stuff but that doesn't mean anything about 3000 miles to Graceland. Everybody says its so brutal but man did you see Final Destination 2, where was the controversy during this one.
  20. KonK.
    Apr 9, 2004
    1
    First bloody blunder.... perhaps Gibson needs to return to history lesson. During Jesus era, the common lanuage was Greek, not Hebrew.
  21. DavidG.
    Mar 5, 2004
    1
    Mel ought to be ashamed of himself. This film uses hot-button subject matter as an excuse for blah cinematography, clichéd overacting, and "how-far-can-we-push-it" special effects. The only memorable character in the film is Simon of Cyrene, who fails brilliantly to be caught up in the furor of "spozed-to-be" hysteria and offers a singularly genuine performance. A bad, bad movie Mel ought to be ashamed of himself. This film uses hot-button subject matter as an excuse for blah cinematography, clichéd overacting, and "how-far-can-we-push-it" special effects. The only memorable character in the film is Simon of Cyrene, who fails brilliantly to be caught up in the furor of "spozed-to-be" hysteria and offers a singularly genuine performance. A bad, bad movie wearing holy sheep's clothing. Expand
  22. FlipperFoot
    Mar 4, 2004
    5
    Can't wait for the action fgures!
  23. AlS.
    Mar 7, 2004
    1
    A very sad attempt at exploiting a religious story and turning it into nothing less than two hours of bashing. More could have been done by trying to show who jesus was and what he actually died for rather than illustrate excessive violence that becomes rediculous at times.
  24. RichardD.
    Mar 8, 2004
    0
    Exploitation at its lowest common denominator. No matter who was tortured, let alone Jesus, the audience reaction would have been the same. Why not show someone from Iraq who lost his life at the hands of the Butcher Of Baghdad? As a matter of fact Sadam tortured his people as badly as a crucification. Passion rips at our emotions but teaches us nothing about the man? Blame and Hate only. Awful.
  25. SueM.
    Apr 11, 2004
    3
    Poorly edited, didn't flow, emphasis should have been on Jesus word not his Passion, what is point of dwelling on that? Stole from Gladiator and repetitive of Braveheart in certain scenes.
  26. JeroenV.
    May 5, 2004
    1
    This movie claims to represent the actual facts of what happened to christ. Well, hmmm, first of the latin spoken in this movie is hilarious for anyone who knows a bit of latin. I can't understand how this should evoke anny religious feelings to annyone. Do we live in the middle ages? I mean I always thought the core of christianity was love and not the dead of the Christ. But anyway This movie claims to represent the actual facts of what happened to christ. Well, hmmm, first of the latin spoken in this movie is hilarious for anyone who knows a bit of latin. I can't understand how this should evoke anny religious feelings to annyone. Do we live in the middle ages? I mean I always thought the core of christianity was love and not the dead of the Christ. But anyway it fits in this era of terror i guess, a sign of the times that says more about the twisted way religion is used today then annything else. Ok, off to see breaking the waves to remind me what love is about. Greetings from Belgium ;-) Expand
  27. MatouC.
    Mar 5, 2004
    2
    Absolutely platitude!
  28. FrancineG.
    Feb 26, 2004
    0
    I thought this movie was about Jesus Alou, the late, great baseball player. Gosh, was I disappointed!!!
  29. Dec 31, 2011
    8
    Mel Gibson's "The Passion of the Christ" depicts the last 12 hours of Jesus Christ's life before his crucifixion. As a christian myself I really couldn't find much of his teachings and theories of love and forgiveness because movie's pretty much torture porn in a nutshell. However leaving the fact that whenether you're a christian or not, the movie's realistically portrayed as the bibleMel Gibson's "The Passion of the Christ" depicts the last 12 hours of Jesus Christ's life before his crucifixion. As a christian myself I really couldn't find much of his teachings and theories of love and forgiveness because movie's pretty much torture porn in a nutshell. However leaving the fact that whenether you're a christian or not, the movie's realistically portrayed as the bible describes it, where he was beaten up by the Romans and was crucified for us. As Roger Ebert says, take it or leave it. Expand
  30. SheilaD.
    Feb 16, 2009
    5
    I have read quite a few of the comments. It's very much the case of you liked it or you didn't. I am a Christian but I found it left me slightly emotionless. But the boy tried his best. What I do find offensive is the crowd who didn't enjoy it are very free with their opinions. They feel they need to denigrate anybody who did enjoy it as a moron and that they are I have read quite a few of the comments. It's very much the case of you liked it or you didn't. I am a Christian but I found it left me slightly emotionless. But the boy tried his best. What I do find offensive is the crowd who didn't enjoy it are very free with their opinions. They feel they need to denigrate anybody who did enjoy it as a moron and that they are uneducated, numbskulls etc etc. Personnally I don't give a dam what you think of Christians or any other religion for that matter, but don't try and make out we are stupid and you are they great informed of this world. Your are not. Every time you open your mouth you exhibit to the whole world what a pathetic numbskull you are. Keep the gob shut and maybe someone might think you have a brain. Expand
  31. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Im sorry but 47/100 on Critic Reviews? C'mon people! This was, and still remains, as a classic film about the true nature of the crucifixion of Jesus Christ. This film will not only bring you to tears, but put a smile on your face once you realize that one man put his own life on the line for us. Christian or non-Christian, you need to see this film. Now.
  32. StephenO.
    Mar 3, 2004
    0
    Mr. Gibson compeletely misses the point. Jesus is about love, not hate. He did not blame anyone for his death as he asked his father (God) to forgive them for they know not what they do? Instead of focusing on his teachings, and explaining the narrowmindedness that still exists today about why Jesus was considered a threat (politically) to society, Mr. Gibson went over the top to teach us Mr. Gibson compeletely misses the point. Jesus is about love, not hate. He did not blame anyone for his death as he asked his father (God) to forgive them for they know not what they do? Instead of focusing on his teachings, and explaining the narrowmindedness that still exists today about why Jesus was considered a threat (politically) to society, Mr. Gibson went over the top to teach us hatred against others for his suffering. This is a total disgrace as Jesus life and death is taken out of context. Jesus stood for love and compassion for his fellow man. I just wonder why Mr. Gibson did not take on Jesus holy alliance with his Apostles who betrayed him? Makes you think doesn't it? Were they any less guilty than the Jews and the Romans? The point being is that corrupt political government(s) place no value on human life. Take a look at the Middle East today? What has changed? Expand
  33. Aug 25, 2011
    1
    The film is so focused on Christ's death and how violent and terrible it was, that the film loses any kind of heart and simply becomes about guilt. Essentially, The Passion is the biggest guilt trip in history. The film offers no insight as to what Christ's death taught any of his followers, and simply tells it's viewer that Christ died for them, and now they have to earn it like in SavingThe film is so focused on Christ's death and how violent and terrible it was, that the film loses any kind of heart and simply becomes about guilt. Essentially, The Passion is the biggest guilt trip in history. The film offers no insight as to what Christ's death taught any of his followers, and simply tells it's viewer that Christ died for them, and now they have to earn it like in Saving Private Ryan. Nothing is learned, and only guilt is felt. Expand
  34. TonyB.
    Apr 8, 2006
    9
    As a power considerably higher than the rest of us is said to have commented: "It is as it was." What it was I cannot say, but what it is is a magnificent achievement."
  35. ReallyBored
    Jun 3, 2004
    0
    This movie is weeeirrd. talk about lame. i want it to go away and for all the god loving freaks to stop buying out cinemas to keep it at the top of the movie lists. i also hate mel gibson. if he really was so god-loving he wouldn't make a movie about it to show everybody. and he has never been in a good movie. go see harry potter instead... p.s god doesn't exist.
  36. BobH.
    May 4, 2004
    0
    Mel's next project will be the Crusades. Let's see how he portrays that? I never knew that Mel was a regular CNN reporter?
  37. ShlomoY.
    Feb 26, 2004
    0
    Not a very good portrayal of Jews. I felt so small and offended.
  38. BertB.
    Feb 28, 2004
    0
    I went to see this film with my friends - some who are Jewish, some who are not. I am indeed Jewish. I was so pained watching this film. It was an horrific experience in viewing. My parents were Holocaust survivors. So many of my aunts and uncles and cousins taken from them - I never had a chance to meet any of them. No loss of life taken by violence should ever be condoned. But one human I went to see this film with my friends - some who are Jewish, some who are not. I am indeed Jewish. I was so pained watching this film. It was an horrific experience in viewing. My parents were Holocaust survivors. So many of my aunts and uncles and cousins taken from them - I never had a chance to meet any of them. No loss of life taken by violence should ever be condoned. But one human is worth no more than the next, no matter who or what he purports to be. There was no lesson to be learned from this film. Only abject anguish. Mel Gibson - Grow up! Expand
  39. ConanR.
    Feb 28, 2004
    0
    Absolutely amazing how bigoted and single minded Mr. Gibson is. He made this violent sombering movie to demonstrate the suffering Jesus did for all of us which is true. What he failed to reveal is that Jesus, the son of God, was responsible for his own crucification as he knew the most minute detail of what was going to happen to him? If Jesus was alive today and preached against the Absolutely amazing how bigoted and single minded Mr. Gibson is. He made this violent sombering movie to demonstrate the suffering Jesus did for all of us which is true. What he failed to reveal is that Jesus, the son of God, was responsible for his own crucification as he knew the most minute detail of what was going to happen to him? If Jesus was alive today and preached against the teachings of Sadam in Iraq what do you think his fate would have been? It is the same no matter what the time period. When Jesus walked the Earth, any man who preached against the accepted norm was crucified - not just Jesus. It is unbelievable that instead of teaching us about the LOVE Jesus tried to instill in us by orchestrating his own crucification, Mr. Gibson wants to place the blame for this hideous crime. Well, all he has succeeded in is makng a violent bloody movie and presenting a blood wrenching period similar to what happened during the Holocaust. Mel, Jesus is about LOVE not HATE. Expand
  40. KevinW.
    Feb 26, 2004
    0
    Exploitation cinema at its lamest. Not nearly as powerfully gutwrenching as critics are proclaiming, nor as offensive either. The film, alas, is nothing more than an over the top shock fest designed to titialte the emotional spectrum of Christian across the country (not to mention open their wallets.) What were left with is a cheap, cable ready porno depicting the final hours of Jesus as Exploitation cinema at its lamest. Not nearly as powerfully gutwrenching as critics are proclaiming, nor as offensive either. The film, alas, is nothing more than an over the top shock fest designed to titialte the emotional spectrum of Christian across the country (not to mention open their wallets.) What were left with is a cheap, cable ready porno depicting the final hours of Jesus as a lame, drawn out event. Don't waste your money, the hype wasn't worth it. If your looking for a spiritual event, read a Bible, if your looking for blood and guts, check out films like Texas Chainsaw Massacre or Showgirls, both of them strive for the same effet. Expand
  41. BriannaFunicella
    Feb 26, 2004
    0
    A sad epistle from a sick mind.
  42. SamR.
    Mar 20, 2004
    9
    Mel Gibson has filmed his Christian perspectives about Man's insanity against man, and against (his) God within the context of the Passion Play. Yes it's gory, unbelievibly gory. But it's also illuminating, and affecting: it got in my bones. Well cast, and beautifully photographed, this film is also an intensly personal work of cinematic art. (My only quibble is Mel's Mel Gibson has filmed his Christian perspectives about Man's insanity against man, and against (his) God within the context of the Passion Play. Yes it's gory, unbelievibly gory. But it's also illuminating, and affecting: it got in my bones. Well cast, and beautifully photographed, this film is also an intensly personal work of cinematic art. (My only quibble is Mel's use of slow motion. It's like a straight A student who knows the subject inside and out, and still needs to cheat to make his point. Slow motion isn't needed, the statement this movie makes is powerfull enough.) Expand
  43. LamontC.
    Mar 3, 2004
    0
    "For those of you who do not comprehend the movie?s real message, there is a reason for this. The natural man [mind] does not understand spiritual things, for they seem foolish to him (1Corinthians 2:14). The solution - Seek first the Kingdom of God, and all these things (including divine understanding) shall be added to you (Matthew 6:33)." Oh, great, now we have Brian R. AND Saint Mel "For those of you who do not comprehend the movie?s real message, there is a reason for this. The natural man [mind] does not understand spiritual things, for they seem foolish to him (1Corinthians 2:14). The solution - Seek first the Kingdom of God, and all these things (including divine understanding) shall be added to you (Matthew 6:33)." Oh, great, now we have Brian R. AND Saint Mel telling us how we should relate to Jesus' death, the world! We don't get it, but YOU do because you've got a direct line to God! Gimme a break . . . Expand
  44. Lucy
    Apr 17, 2004
    0
    Mel Gibson loses as his attempt at revisionist history is appalling. Mel must think he is a regular CNN. Oh Jesus! At least now we know where the phrase came from? the movie teaches us nothing about the man or his beliefs but instead subjects the audience to over an hour of propaganda as we watch Jesus become a human punching bag. Of course the jokes on us because Jesus knew everything Mel Gibson loses as his attempt at revisionist history is appalling. Mel must think he is a regular CNN. Oh Jesus! At least now we know where the phrase came from? the movie teaches us nothing about the man or his beliefs but instead subjects the audience to over an hour of propaganda as we watch Jesus become a human punching bag. Of course the jokes on us because Jesus knew everything that was going to happen but of course that fact is totally omitted by Mel. Can't wait for Mel's version of The Crusades to be brought to the Silver Screen. Probably Mel would have us believe that the Christians asked "Pretty Please" for people to convert and if they didn't they walked away politely. Yeah, and I have a bridge I would like to sell you. The Crusades were probably one of the most violent periods in all of history but Mel I'm sure will have a different spin on what really happened. It is very sad to see Jesus portrayed as a cash cow for Mel to line his pockets with fools gold. Why not take the profits and tell the real story of his teachings and why he is so admired and revered? Mel? Expand
  45. BrianK.
    Feb 24, 2004
    0
    Perhaps the most violent -- and gratuitously violent -- movie ever made. So what's the point? Faith in Christ because he suffered? So have many others.
  46. LarryO.
    Mar 7, 2004
    0
    This movie is not about religion. It is about man's inhumanity and indifference to human suffering. It existed then, and it still exists today. Mel Gibson only knows how to portray violence to get his point across. This is very sad because Jesus was about love and not hate. Yet, Mr. Gibson says nothing about his life, but demonstrates his torture and death in scenes that are This movie is not about religion. It is about man's inhumanity and indifference to human suffering. It existed then, and it still exists today. Mel Gibson only knows how to portray violence to get his point across. This is very sad because Jesus was about love and not hate. Yet, Mr. Gibson says nothing about his life, but demonstrates his torture and death in scenes that are absolutely gruesome. Is it any different today then it was then? The answer sadly is "No" as politics kill and torture all who stand oppossed to a regime. Jesus stood up for what he believed in, but then again so have many mortals for centuries. I wonder if his next project will be about The Crusades fostering Christianity. In that one, Mel would probably have us believe that this period wasn't barbarian in promoting Christianity, when in fact, we all know it was. Who should we blame and hate for that one, Jesus? Passion is ridiculous as it is sensationilized to capitalize on the almighty dollar that Mel covets the most. Why not donate the profits to the Church Mel? Expand
  47. J.Cinnante
    Mar 9, 2004
    0
    Absolutely horendous. This is not what Jesus was about? Mel has made one too many Lethal Weapons.
  48. KevinT.
    Mar 3, 2004
    0
    Eeewww! Sickening and violent.
  49. CathiM.
    Mar 3, 2004
    0
    One of the worst movies I've seen in quite a while. I'm amazed that no one comments on the little "joke" about Jesus creating the modern dinette set! Plus did no one else notice that all of the "evil" people had terrible teeth, while all of the "pious" ones had perfect ones. I guess Jesus had a dental plan...
  50. JenniferB.
    Mar 6, 2004
    0
    Simply deplorable in every sense of the word. I guess that Jesus was THE ONLY ONE ever crucified? Simply ridiculous as no matter who was staked to that CROSS all humans would be aghast at the torture he suffered. What is so terrible is that Jesus was not a mortal and knew full well what was about to happen to him? This is as true today as it was then. If you preach against the RULING Simply deplorable in every sense of the word. I guess that Jesus was THE ONLY ONE ever crucified? Simply ridiculous as no matter who was staked to that CROSS all humans would be aghast at the torture he suffered. What is so terrible is that Jesus was not a mortal and knew full well what was about to happen to him? This is as true today as it was then. If you preach against the RULING POWERS who dictate today's society, what do you think your fate would be? Ask those who lived under the rule of Sadam? Jesus was about love not hate. And Mel's powerful portrayal of the ugly Roman's and Jew's plays the blame game instead of explaining why Jesus died for all of mankind. Sad, very very sad. We should all know that there are GOOD and BAD human beings in this world. It has nothing to do with race, color, creed or religious beliefs. Sorry Mel, but your not number one. Religion is always entwined with politics. If anyone should be aware of that it is Me. Everyone is entitled to have faith in what ever religion you believe in. But, this movie is propaganda vis-a-vis Hollywood style. It is exploitation at its lowest common denominator. See Private Ryan and The Pianist making us hate German's. See Pearl Harbor teaching us to hate the sneaky Japanese. And Mel did the same thing with Braveheart and the American Revolution. Perhaps we should now hate our closest allie and friend in Great Britain. People and times change. Jeus orchestrated his own death for the birth of Christianity. And dare I say it, he was born and died a Jew. Expand
  51. Jul 20, 2013
    0
    For once, the average score based on critic reviews have it right. This movie is sensationalist garbage made by Mel Gibson to appease and ingratiate himself with his fundamentalist holocaust denier father.
  52. Andy
    May 31, 2007
    3
    Don't most anthropologists and historians believe that Jesus was in fact not this long-haired, white guy and more of a man that looks like...what people from the Middle East actually look like? Also; exploitative, boring, sensationalist, and unimportant. We allow our kids to see a movie of a man being tortured and beaten for two hours but we won't let them see a hint of nudity Don't most anthropologists and historians believe that Jesus was in fact not this long-haired, white guy and more of a man that looks like...what people from the Middle East actually look like? Also; exploitative, boring, sensationalist, and unimportant. We allow our kids to see a movie of a man being tortured and beaten for two hours but we won't let them see a hint of nudity when it comes up in film ratings. Expand
  53. TimM.
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    I believe the movie showed just how much God loves us. Why is so hard for some too believe? We all know about hatred, but when it comes to love we try to explain it away. God loves us and sent his son to die for us. This movie captures the last hours of our Lord Jesus life and why we should worship him.
  54. CliffUrbanas,Jr.
    Mar 1, 2004
    10
    One of the most well done movies I've ever seen. It was violent but the Bible tells it the same way...how could the film do any less? I felt throughout the film: how could someone love and forgive as this Man did! A lesson for us all.
  55. JoshW.
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    Those of you who question the accuracy of this movie clearly haven't read the Bible all that closely. And as far as a complaint that the movie ignores Jesus' message of love, well that doesn't really hold up either. The movie shows us the price Jesus paid for his love of humanity. It isn't necessary to show us his whole life, there have been other movies before that Those of you who question the accuracy of this movie clearly haven't read the Bible all that closely. And as far as a complaint that the movie ignores Jesus' message of love, well that doesn't really hold up either. The movie shows us the price Jesus paid for his love of humanity. It isn't necessary to show us his whole life, there have been other movies before that have done that, and we still have the Bible as a direct source now don't we. This movie was accurate down to the whips used and the number of strikes administered (these facts are included in the Bible). I am not a Christian but I do have a true love for anyone who teaches us about love, and I've noticed that we have a societal trend of killing these people. Ghandi, The Rev. King are two more examples. The beauty of this movie is that it shows us the sacrifice Jesus made. Although we are not all familiar enough with his teachings, we are aware of them, Gibson's film was made with this in mind. I am proud that this film was made. It is a true work of art. I am also proud that a film was finally made that shows us, with brutal honesty the price our very finest are willing to pay for us all. Expand
  56. Dan
    Apr 19, 2004
    0
    Hey Get Real, maybe YOU SHOULD. Saving Private Ryan was different: The violence in THAT film had a point. The violence in THIS film serves NO PURPOSE. This is an absolute bloodfest with no artistic value to speak of. Oh but It's about the lord so I should give it a 10. But I won't.
  57. TonyF
    Jan 7, 2008
    1
    Those in extreme fringe Christian sects, living in isolated compounds, arming themselves with military weaponry in preparation for the Rapture, will love this movie. Just in case you were considering doing it, showing this film to your kids is child abuse. In fact, to do so would not be much different from beating your child's brand new puppy to death on Christmas morning screaming Those in extreme fringe Christian sects, living in isolated compounds, arming themselves with military weaponry in preparation for the Rapture, will love this movie. Just in case you were considering doing it, showing this film to your kids is child abuse. In fact, to do so would not be much different from beating your child's brand new puppy to death on Christmas morning screaming "This is what Jesus did for YOU! This is how Jesus died for YOU!" Expand
  58. EC
    Jun 13, 2008
    0
    An exploitive, piece-of-shit of a snuff film. It has no religious or emotional value at all and yes, it is blatantly anti-semetic. Mel Gibson has no talent as a director, he just has a laughable amount of money and a wacked out outlook on religion and culture. You should be ashamed of yourself if you claim this movie reaffirmed your relgious values. Go read a fucking Bible to learn about An exploitive, piece-of-shit of a snuff film. It has no religious or emotional value at all and yes, it is blatantly anti-semetic. Mel Gibson has no talent as a director, he just has a laughable amount of money and a wacked out outlook on religion and culture. You should be ashamed of yourself if you claim this movie reaffirmed your relgious values. Go read a fucking Bible to learn about what Jesus taught, not how he brutally died. If Mel Gibson had done so, we may not of had this hateful lowest-common-denominator crap. An artless and soulless low point in American cinema and pop culture. Expand
  59. Terrible
    Jul 11, 2008
    1
    Why?!?!?!?!?! This movie was just bad. Good ole Mel Gibson, spots off a good old fashioned hunk of garbage. I had to go see this "delightful" movie in theaters. It sickened me to no end. I didn't enjoy it in the slightest. I know it's not really meant to be enjoyed, but it's a movie for Christ sakes...haha, see what I did there? Anywho, I simply couldn't stand the Why?!?!?!?!?! This movie was just bad. Good ole Mel Gibson, spots off a good old fashioned hunk of garbage. I had to go see this "delightful" movie in theaters. It sickened me to no end. I didn't enjoy it in the slightest. I know it's not really meant to be enjoyed, but it's a movie for Christ sakes...haha, see what I did there? Anywho, I simply couldn't stand the movie. I think I may have vomited a bit. Expand
  60. JasonS
    Oct 6, 2008
    0
    Mel Gibson continues his fascination with extreme violence. In essence this is pornography for christians.
  61. ChrisT.
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    I would like to say this is the best Jesus movie ever. Secondly to comments made by the person named CG, the purpose of Jesus life was to die for our sins so the death, burial and resurrection of Christ is Christianity. All must believe in Jesus to have a relationship with God, even Jews, or they will die and go to Hell like all other unbelievers.
  62. JoeP.
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    Great movie, Wish non-believers would understand it more and not put it down.
  63. lexl.
    Jul 26, 2005
    0
    Turgid, boring, and self-important.
  64. CamN.
    Sep 9, 2005
    0
    I have said for years that Mel Gibson is a self-absorbed Alpha-male wannabe. Follow this pied piper to church and flagellate yourselves if you want. This film is worthless.
  65. JustinA.
    Oct 10, 2005
    1
    A. What does it mean that Jesus "invented the tables and chairs we use today." Did I miss that in my readings of the gospels? B. When I saw the Passion, a preview for The Day After Tomorrow was screened. The large family behind me from rural Maine responded, when asked "where will you be the day after tomorrow" by exclaiming "I'll be in the rapture!" They loved the Passion. C. In A. What does it mean that Jesus "invented the tables and chairs we use today." Did I miss that in my readings of the gospels? B. When I saw the Passion, a preview for The Day After Tomorrow was screened. The large family behind me from rural Maine responded, when asked "where will you be the day after tomorrow" by exclaiming "I'll be in the rapture!" They loved the Passion. C. In contemplating the bizzare claims to authenticity this film makes, it might be a good idea to watch Passolini's The Gospel According to St. Matthew (which received official papal blessings pre-Vatican II, so it should be kosher for Gibsonians). Strange how estranged different claims to authenticity can be. Expand
  66. BobE.
    Dec 29, 2005
    0
    For those of you prasing this movie as a breakthrough, I hate to say this, but you have only been manipulated. Gibson did not make this movie to state a point or get a message across, he simply took a controversial subject matter and made a very controversial movie out of it to get your money. For those of you who say this movie is true, it is not. You weren't there, Gibson For those of you prasing this movie as a breakthrough, I hate to say this, but you have only been manipulated. Gibson did not make this movie to state a point or get a message across, he simply took a controversial subject matter and made a very controversial movie out of it to get your money. For those of you who say this movie is true, it is not. You weren't there, Gibson wasn't there, nobody involved in any way with the creation of this movie was there. For those of you who say us athiests dont understand this movie due to lack of faith, you need to learn that christianity is not the only religion, and that you have to have respect for all beliefs. I dont care that Jesus died, Im sure he didn't care about me, and Im sure he didn't care about you. He probably only did it for the attention. Expand
  67. JoeB.
    Dec 29, 2005
    0
    Believer or non-believer, it doesn't take much to understand that the only reason for this film's existence was purely commercial. Cinematography was good, everything else was Gibson capitalizing on people's beliefs. Faith has nothing to do with this movie, any religious person who considers this a good movie is a true hypocrite.
  68. MarkG.
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    Gibson stepped out on a limb to portray the story of Christ outside the civilized norm of consumer religion. For those that prefer a cross-less Christ, this is not the movie to watch. The event is historically documented by secular and religious sources and yet is scandalized as gratutious and sadistic. To accept the event, as Gibson portrays it, is an indictment of the human condition; Gibson stepped out on a limb to portray the story of Christ outside the civilized norm of consumer religion. For those that prefer a cross-less Christ, this is not the movie to watch. The event is historically documented by secular and religious sources and yet is scandalized as gratutious and sadistic. To accept the event, as Gibson portrays it, is an indictment of the human condition; one that most defiintely needs rescuing. Gibson leaves the viewer with a perplexing question: what to do with a Christ that claimed to suffer on the behalf of humanity? Expand
  69. DanK.
    Dec 11, 2006
    3
    Let me explain several misconceptions of the Christian faith. First of all, if you believe in this stuff than you would know that nobody is responsible for Jesus's death other than GOD. Jesus was SENT to die bottom line. Secondly, as far a historical accuracy, the bible was edited by the Catholic Church far before any of us read it so, unless someone who was actually alive 2000 years Let me explain several misconceptions of the Christian faith. First of all, if you believe in this stuff than you would know that nobody is responsible for Jesus's death other than GOD. Jesus was SENT to die bottom line. Secondly, as far a historical accuracy, the bible was edited by the Catholic Church far before any of us read it so, unless someone who was actually alive 2000 years ago is still alive please explain how anyone can KNOW this is actually how it happened. Now that I have gotten that out of the way I can actually review the movie. And I know someone will be upset at me for saying this but as far as the plot goes, there isn't really one. And that is why the critics panned this movie for its violence. It doesn't serve to move the plot. It's just there. The cinematography is execellent as well as the use of subtitles instead of having them speak a language foreign to them. The problem is that people aren't reviewing this as a movie they are reviewing it as a religous experiment. When I go to see a show I want to be entertained I don't want to see someone get the crap beat out of them for two hours. Say what you want about Pulp Fiction but the violence in that movie moved the plot and it was more than just blood and gore. If it isn't Jesus than nobody would give a damn about this movie. Expand
  70. MarcS.
    Dec 26, 2006
    0
    Manipulative, over-the-top, sensationalist, ugly, pretentious GARBAGE!!
  71. JamesM.
    Apr 7, 2007
    0
    "A depiction of the last 12 hours in the life of Jesus Christ as he is crucified in Jerusalem." This monotonous movie relied on people finding this 12 hour period interesting; in reality who really cares? If the Bible or the story of Jesus was slightly believable I would of enjoyed this. However, as it is an insult to anyone remotely educated, I'd rather label this movie "The last "A depiction of the last 12 hours in the life of Jesus Christ as he is crucified in Jerusalem." This monotonous movie relied on people finding this 12 hour period interesting; in reality who really cares? If the Bible or the story of Jesus was slightly believable I would of enjoyed this. However, as it is an insult to anyone remotely educated, I'd rather label this movie "The last 120 minutes of Mel Gibson's directing career." Expand
  72. DarrylD.
    Dec 13, 2004
    10
    Your life depends on how you treat this truth.
  73. SunnieC.
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    What most people seem to miss is that the crucifixion of Jesus was not a tragedy. It was an accomplishment! He could have stopped it at any time. The torture He endured, he endured willingly, because of His great love for us. Without it, we would all be lost. His torture and death allowed for us to be reunited with a Holy God, that cannot look upon sin, but loved us enough to provide a What most people seem to miss is that the crucifixion of Jesus was not a tragedy. It was an accomplishment! He could have stopped it at any time. The torture He endured, he endured willingly, because of His great love for us. Without it, we would all be lost. His torture and death allowed for us to be reunited with a Holy God, that cannot look upon sin, but loved us enough to provide a way to be with Him. Expand
  74. WatchingW.
    Sep 5, 2004
    0
    Nothing could be more dangerous than a Snuff Film parading around in the visage of a religious experience. Possibly the absolute worst movie ever commited to film. Stay away at ALL costs.
  75. ShannaR.
    Sep 28, 2004
    9
    He stepped out on a limb, and wasn't afraid of what the critics may say. first biblical movie that was correct. thanks mel for stepping out. it has controversery but, it made you want to see it, just to judge it. and i say if you don't want it out, don't see it. i don't see movies i disagree with. and passion wasn't gory, many movies are much more sick and He stepped out on a limb, and wasn't afraid of what the critics may say. first biblical movie that was correct. thanks mel for stepping out. it has controversery but, it made you want to see it, just to judge it. and i say if you don't want it out, don't see it. i don't see movies i disagree with. and passion wasn't gory, many movies are much more sick and perverted, this showed truth. believe it, or not. Expand
  76. NicholasA.
    Aug 20, 2004
    10
    Anyone who gives this movie a low rating or criticises it is either an atheist or someone who just doesn't have enough faith in God to understand. This film showed what really happened at the time of Christ's crucifixtion and Gibson rightfully had no intention on holding back anything from the audience. For us to visually see the pain Jesus had to endure to save us from our sins Anyone who gives this movie a low rating or criticises it is either an atheist or someone who just doesn't have enough faith in God to understand. This film showed what really happened at the time of Christ's crucifixtion and Gibson rightfully had no intention on holding back anything from the audience. For us to visually see the pain Jesus had to endure to save us from our sins is what had the most powerful effect on most people. To see how much Christ had to suffer in order to save us deepened my faith and I thank fellow Catholic Mel Gibson for bravely making this movie. To all the atheists in the world, this night and every night that follows I will pray for your safe deliverance from hell and your entrance into heaven. Expand
  77. EfeB.
    Jul 30, 2004
    0
    If you have a choice of seeing either a real life slaughter house or this film, go with the first one. it will do you less harm. having said that, mel gibson does well what he seeks to get, which is excitement in the cinema world. however, one could argue that lighting up your hair in flames is also exciting, yet it does very little good. if there is a "behind the scenes" dvd i would like If you have a choice of seeing either a real life slaughter house or this film, go with the first one. it will do you less harm. having said that, mel gibson does well what he seeks to get, which is excitement in the cinema world. however, one could argue that lighting up your hair in flames is also exciting, yet it does very little good. if there is a "behind the scenes" dvd i would like to see, it would be for this film. because i have never seen production assistants carry vomit bags before. too bad the audiences werent as prepeared. during the film, i forgot what i was looking at because i wanted to forget that i was looking at a simulated human mutilation. i realized that the film would have been more powerfull if mel gibson played jesus and they actually DID beat him up beyond sense. i mean, if you are willing to go all the way, why not reach all the way to heavenly bottom. this way gibson could have been the saviour of cinema, but he falls a bit short. i have no boundaries in cinematic creation, and have a very wide open mind...but i DO draw the line between film and crap, based upon a single rule. if it makes me wanna puke during and months after viewing...it's crap. Expand
  78. NunoP.
    May 20, 2004
    10
    This movie is a masterpiece. Anti-Semitism? Well, why don´t you people stop whining and accept with humility that you have shamed us all in the past. Don´t rate this movie badly just because you can´t handle the truth... And those of you who thought this movie was too violent, please grow up someday and get out of that fairy tale world of yours.
  79. HarryS.
    Apr 30, 2004
    10
    Mel Gibson is the greatest man alive.... this movie was very very very good... its what us christians believe in and that is why it is so good... if you think that this movie is wrong or bad then maybe you should watch it again and don't think of your own religon.. watch it as you would any other movie and realize that Jesus died for all of us... he could have fled but he didn't Mel Gibson is the greatest man alive.... this movie was very very very good... its what us christians believe in and that is why it is so good... if you think that this movie is wrong or bad then maybe you should watch it again and don't think of your own religon.. watch it as you would any other movie and realize that Jesus died for all of us... he could have fled but he didn't because he loved us all too much... i would give this movie a 1,000,000,000 out of 10 if i could... and once again you go mel! Expand
  80. SelenaJ.
    May 7, 2004
    10
    I think that this movie is great. This movie shows everything that Jesus did for us and that was only the last 12 hours. Jesus loved us so much that he went through that much longer than shown in the movie. This movie showed be how grateful I should be for all he has done for me and you. If people don't like this movie, you don't believe in Jesus. You must not be saved.
  81. Roman
    May 24, 2004
    0
    What a garbage! mel gibson is a smart guy and makes a fortune with a subtitled horror flick!there are much better movies about jesus out there (William Dafoe plays jesus and also Harvey Keitel plays a part.do not know the title?)!!!!!
  82. Dudley
    Jun 3, 2004
    0
    Awful propaganda reduced to the lowest element. Jesus was great but he would never permit this to be the message of what he was about. He was about love not hatred and blame.
  83. MingL.
    Feb 25, 2004
    0
    As a non-Christian, and a non-Western, I watch with amusement the vehemently different views expressed on this board. It is clear that this movie is pure propaganda, just like any movie made about Chairman Mao in the Cultural Revolution. Those who put religious faith on Jesus or Mao like the propaganda. These movies are not devoid of artistic values, but they are crap anyway.
  84. JohnC.
    Feb 25, 2004
    0
    Awful. Terrible. The worst story ever told. This film has no redeeming qualities whatsoever. It cannot be saved. It is damned for all eternity. I am a devout Christian--and I saw nothing of the spiritual mystery of the Holy of Holies anywhere in this story. It was an orgy of violence--it was pornography. Yes, there is an element of the Ultimate Sacrifice of our Lord that is reminiscient Awful. Terrible. The worst story ever told. This film has no redeeming qualities whatsoever. It cannot be saved. It is damned for all eternity. I am a devout Christian--and I saw nothing of the spiritual mystery of the Holy of Holies anywhere in this story. It was an orgy of violence--it was pornography. Yes, there is an element of the Ultimate Sacrifice of our Lord that is reminiscient of the Birth Trauma everyone of us goes through in our resurrection into Life, but the upside of Christian teaching is completely eclipsed by the blood and flesh and gore flying off the body of the Christ. Mel Gibson is a severly disturbed man. I want nothing whatsover to do with his crazy, twisted vision of Christian love and salvation. Expand
  85. ChristineP.
    Feb 25, 2004
    0
    I am shocked that someone who was as well liked as Mel Gibson was would make something this hateful. Jesus gave his own life as he knew he would rise again. Mel failed to grasp this fact, and instead fans the flames of hatred against Jews and Romans. The question we must ask ourselves is why? If this isn't an antisemitic message then I don't know what is? This film is deplorable I am shocked that someone who was as well liked as Mel Gibson was would make something this hateful. Jesus gave his own life as he knew he would rise again. Mel failed to grasp this fact, and instead fans the flames of hatred against Jews and Romans. The question we must ask ourselves is why? If this isn't an antisemitic message then I don't know what is? This film is deplorable in every sense of the word. It make me embarassed as a Catholic when I see cheap shots taken at good people who have also suffered attrocities over the centuries. Mel, you should be ashamed of yourself. Expand
  86. RichardG.
    Feb 25, 2004
    8
    This was a great movie, It showed the last 12 hrs of Christ's life. Everyone should see this movie. This is definately not an AntiSematic movie, the is the story as told in the Bible, the true story, so for people to call this movie antiSematic would be terrible. The Movie is too bloody at times, which is why it lost 2 points, I think that Mel Gilson could have let Christ show more This was a great movie, It showed the last 12 hrs of Christ's life. Everyone should see this movie. This is definately not an AntiSematic movie, the is the story as told in the Bible, the true story, so for people to call this movie antiSematic would be terrible. The Movie is too bloody at times, which is why it lost 2 points, I think that Mel Gilson could have let Christ show more of his soul to the camera, relative to the gore that was displayed. people saying that this is an AntiSemetic movie is absurd, after all Christ was a Jew himself. Expand
  87. KevinK.
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    The reason why the suffering of Jesus is more significant than "others" who suffer is because he is GOD, he committed no wrong, no sin, was completely blameless in everyway, yet he was savaged by man - his own creation. This incredible film gives life to that.
  88. BillyBobJoe
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    It escapes me how stupid people can be. This movie is not anti-Semitic, it's the history found in the Bible. If this movie is anti-Semitic, I guess Schindler's List is totally anti-German, yet I didn't hear people complain about that movie.
  89. ChaninderB.
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    Nothing is wrong with this movie, you have to respect how well it was made, and how well of a movie it was.
  90. NathanT.
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    Jesus was the greatest thing to ever happen and this movie shows why. He died for the Jews and Muslims and Buddists and even them people who does yoga. I like all the blood, it makes it real and it's all true just read the Bible.
  91. EmilioR.
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    Great movie.
  92. NicolasD.
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    All the bad critics i read have nothing to do with the movie. I'm pretty sure those people haven't seen the film. With those kind of people, i'm pretty sure that Jesus suffered this way now. So it's not so violent, "it is as it was" ;) The movie is brilliant!
  93. WarrenT.
    Feb 29, 2004
    0
    I have long liked Mel Gibson as an actor because he appealed to me as a person. To make something this hateful and vile is beyond all human comprehension. Mel, completely does not fathom that in all societies when people speak out against the ruling powers that those in charge always take brutal action to put down the "so-called" threat. It is the same today as it was when Jesus was alive I have long liked Mel Gibson as an actor because he appealed to me as a person. To make something this hateful and vile is beyond all human comprehension. Mel, completely does not fathom that in all societies when people speak out against the ruling powers that those in charge always take brutal action to put down the "so-called" threat. It is the same today as it was when Jesus was alive as this can be documented all the way through history. Was "The Crusades" for Christianity any less brutal than the Crucification of Jesus? Of course not. But Mel has taken brutality to a new low in presenting this terrible violent film that can only outrage us mortals. Were ordinary men also crucified like Jesus? Absolutely, but Mel doesn't present this point of view. If you or a loved one were going to be crucified, burned at the stake, electrified or dismembered, what do you think you would have done if these things were pointed at you? History has shown over a thousand examples of these type attrocities happening. The point is Jesus was aware of everything he was doing, was fully capable of stoping his own crucification, but instead chose not to. Why? Because he was placed on this Earth to pay for the then sins of all mankind so that he could be resurrected. Is there anyone else on Earth who would act in a similar mannner? The answer is yes as throughout history, brave mortal men have given their own lives to protect or support their idealogy. The saddest thing that I took away from this film is that Mel does not understand that being a Christian is all about peace, family, love, understanding and compassion for all men regardless of race, creed or color. Mel, you need to get back to bible study class and learn your own faith. Expand
  94. MelissaH.
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    People need to realize that the "passion" depicts how much torture the Son of God would endure because he loved us all enough to endure. That was the point Gibson was trying to make, everyone is to blame for His crucifixion because He put himself through that torture for all of us. To make us believe, have faith, and show us how to behave when under persecution for our beliefs.
  95. DaveA.
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    This was a very difficult movie to see. If you are christian or catholic this movie puts all what you learned into visual aspects. It is very graphic and moving. People need to see this film. It has changed me for the better and I believe it will change many others. I will live for Jesus more now than I have previously in my life. The simple teachings of loving your neighbors is brought This was a very difficult movie to see. If you are christian or catholic this movie puts all what you learned into visual aspects. It is very graphic and moving. People need to see this film. It has changed me for the better and I believe it will change many others. I will live for Jesus more now than I have previously in my life. The simple teachings of loving your neighbors is brought to the forefront in this movie. if people are walking away from this movie with negative feelings, like jews for example, then they must feel guilty for what has happened, otherwise they shouldnt be worrying at all about this film. Im a christian and I feel guilty for what happened. I will do my best to be kind to each person I meet in my life. Thats the message here people. The outward message is that Jesus died for us, but I think the real message Mel Gibson wanted people to find from this movie is to love one another no matter of color or creed. BRAVO Mr Gibson!! Expand
  96. YoriD.
    Feb 26, 2004
    8
    Well i thought this was gonna be a musical...so you can imagine my shock. ....... i really don't get the uproar from any side.actually i get it,i'm just shocked every time this kind of thing happens. obviously we all have different insecurities that lead to different ways of seeing,translating or transmitting things in our brain or heart. i could go into my beliefs and try toWell i thought this was gonna be a musical...so you can imagine my shock. ....... i really don't get the uproar from any side.actually i get it,i'm just shocked every time this kind of thing happens. obviously we all have different insecurities that lead to different ways of seeing,translating or transmitting things in our brain or heart. i could go into my beliefs and try to explain what i mean a lot further but from the reaction and the offence felt by so many i feel it would be pointless.there is such black and white reactionnary outbursts about this film that i can't help but compare it to the mob mentality portrayed in this film.there is no place for dialogue,"i am right so that means you are wrong"............... after all we've seen and experienced we have learnt nothing as a race and that is the true crime and blasphemy. i'm not a fan of gore but there is a crucifixion in the story!i want to feel sick to my stomach.i want to be reminded of how cruel and inhuman it is to kill someone,anyone!then,now and in the future.i want to be shaken at my core at the sight of torture and death.look around you.how can the world still be this messed up.people are still dying from hunger and desease and the world as a whole has "washed it's hands".yes we all "feel bad" and "empathize" but it's obviously not enough.... it doesn't directly affect us.we are desensitized.and if you believe in Jesus or not matters not.this is a horendous thing that happened to an innocent person.it does not diminish the impact or message.violence and death are what i consider a great sin to the spirit of life and love,no matter your beliefs. i will NOT start hating people because of this film.i will not hate people cause they are or believe different things than me.i will never be insecure enough to jump down people throats that believe in a different form of god and love.that's what i got from the movie.that's what i felt.my belief system does not depend on what i consider unauthorized biographies of Jesus.and i believe. i would have given this movie a 10 if the last scene was cut out.if you are not a believer i feel the message(i got) loses it's purity and impact.the rest of the movie should serve as a reminder or wake up call.... Expand
  97. Honest_Mabely
    Feb 26, 2004
    0
    Sad to say, I resented the relentless gore and torture. I came to be enlightened and uplifted. Instead, frankly, this movie led me to rethink my faith and consider conversion to a more reformed version of Christianity, away from my Baptist upbriniging. I was told it would have the opposite effect. What went wrong?
  98. JoelB.
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    The Passion Of The Christ is easily one of the best films I've seen in a couple of years. It was stirring emotional, yet also physically as I couldn't help but wince whenever Jesus was beaten. To say this movie is Anti-Semitic it to say any movie that has a protagonist is anti-whatever can be labelled upon that protagonist. Its like saying court movies or any movie that involves The Passion Of The Christ is easily one of the best films I've seen in a couple of years. It was stirring emotional, yet also physically as I couldn't help but wince whenever Jesus was beaten. To say this movie is Anti-Semitic it to say any movie that has a protagonist is anti-whatever can be labelled upon that protagonist. Its like saying court movies or any movie that involves people wanting "justice" done anti-prosecution. It is ridiculous to use the word pornographic with this film. Pornographic material has only to do with things that are to make you think of sex. I'm not sure why somebody would use this word. There are far better ones to use for what they are trying to say. Any of which I would not agree, because none of the violence is gratuitous. Its not like Jesus or any other criminal in that era would've been given rights like they do today. This movie is, granted, hard to stomach, but it is something most people should see for the same reason they should see Schindler's List and Saving Private Ryan. Expand
  99. MiguelZ.
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    Greatest film about Christ, I have ever seen. No words can describe my true feeling about this film. I never been speechless in how Christ (God) died for my sins. It's like I was actually there. In actuality, it reminds me how bad our sins really are. Every drop of blood from his body was for my every sin, such as lies, deciets, scolding, mocking, and malice. All our sins were Greatest film about Christ, I have ever seen. No words can describe my true feeling about this film. I never been speechless in how Christ (God) died for my sins. It's like I was actually there. In actuality, it reminds me how bad our sins really are. Every drop of blood from his body was for my every sin, such as lies, deciets, scolding, mocking, and malice. All our sins were exposed and were brought upon Jesus Christ (God). This film will be in my liberary (DVD) and might just be the greatest story on film ever told. Expand
  100. Meat
    Feb 26, 2004
    6
    Doesn't matter if yer a Jesus Freak or an everyday plain Joe, dude said it best with "More spirit and grace and less blood and guts may be what Passion needs..." Absolutely!
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 43
  2. Negative: 9 out of 43
  1. 75
    It's a strange kind of spiritual movie -- one that aims for the gut more often than the heart.
  2. 88
    A gripping, powerful motion picture -- arguably the most forceful depiction of Jesus' death ever to be committed to film. It leaves an indelible imprint on the psyche; viewers of this movie may never look at a crucifix in quite the same way.
  3. Expertly made, thanks largely to Jim Caviezel's fervent portrayal of Jesus and Caleb Deschanel's skillful camera work. But the film contains little to learn from, unless one is unfamiliar with basic Christian history.