Newmarket Films | Release Date: February 25, 2004
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 822 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
489
Mixed:
70
Negative:
263
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
The film is so focused on Christ's death and how violent and terrible it was, that the film loses any kind of heart and simply becomes about guilt. Essentially, The Passion is the biggest guilt trip in history. The film offers no insight asThe film is so focused on Christ's death and how violent and terrible it was, that the film loses any kind of heart and simply becomes about guilt. Essentially, The Passion is the biggest guilt trip in history. The film offers no insight as to what Christ's death taught any of his followers, and simply tells it's viewer that Christ died for them, and now they have to earn it like in Saving Private Ryan. Nothing is learned, and only guilt is felt. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
AndyMay 31, 2007
Don't most anthropologists and historians believe that Jesus was in fact not this long-haired, white guy and more of a man that looks like...what people from the Middle East actually look like? Also; exploitative, boring, Don't most anthropologists and historians believe that Jesus was in fact not this long-haired, white guy and more of a man that looks like...what people from the Middle East actually look like? Also; exploitative, boring, sensationalist, and unimportant. We allow our kids to see a movie of a man being tortured and beaten for two hours but we won't let them see a hint of nudity when it comes up in film ratings. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful
0
TNathan475Jul 20, 2013
For once, the average score based on critic reviews have it right. This movie is sensationalist garbage made by Mel Gibson to appease and ingratiate himself with his fundamentalist holocaust denier father.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
DanApr 19, 2004
Hey Get Real, maybe YOU SHOULD. Saving Private Ryan was different: The violence in THAT film had a point. The violence in THIS film serves NO PURPOSE. This is an absolute bloodfest with no artistic value to speak of. Oh but It's about Hey Get Real, maybe YOU SHOULD. Saving Private Ryan was different: The violence in THAT film had a point. The violence in THIS film serves NO PURPOSE. This is an absolute bloodfest with no artistic value to speak of. Oh but It's about the lord so I should give it a 10. But I won't. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
JamesM.Apr 7, 2007
"A depiction of the last 12 hours in the life of Jesus Christ as he is crucified in Jerusalem." This monotonous movie relied on people finding this 12 hour period interesting; in reality who really cares? If the Bible or the story of Jesus "A depiction of the last 12 hours in the life of Jesus Christ as he is crucified in Jerusalem." This monotonous movie relied on people finding this 12 hour period interesting; in reality who really cares? If the Bible or the story of Jesus was slightly believable I would of enjoyed this. However, as it is an insult to anyone remotely educated, I'd rather label this movie "The last 120 minutes of Mel Gibson's directing career." Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JasonSOct 6, 2008
Mel Gibson continues his fascination with extreme violence. In essence this is pornography for christians.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
TonyFJan 7, 2008
Those in extreme fringe Christian sects, living in isolated compounds, arming themselves with military weaponry in preparation for the Rapture, will love this movie. Just in case you were considering doing it, showing this film to your kids Those in extreme fringe Christian sects, living in isolated compounds, arming themselves with military weaponry in preparation for the Rapture, will love this movie. Just in case you were considering doing it, showing this film to your kids is child abuse. In fact, to do so would not be much different from beating your child's brand new puppy to death on Christmas morning screaming "This is what Jesus did for YOU! This is how Jesus died for YOU!" Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ECJun 13, 2008
An exploitive, piece-of-shit of a snuff film. It has no religious or emotional value at all and yes, it is blatantly anti-semetic. Mel Gibson has no talent as a director, he just has a laughable amount of money and a wacked out outlook on An exploitive, piece-of-shit of a snuff film. It has no religious or emotional value at all and yes, it is blatantly anti-semetic. Mel Gibson has no talent as a director, he just has a laughable amount of money and a wacked out outlook on religion and culture. You should be ashamed of yourself if you claim this movie reaffirmed your relgious values. Go read a fucking Bible to learn about what Jesus taught, not how he brutally died. If Mel Gibson had done so, we may not of had this hateful lowest-common-denominator crap. An artless and soulless low point in American cinema and pop culture. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
MattS.Feb 29, 2004
This was solely a string of slowmo scenes tied together with some cheap brutality. Overall the movie should have lasted about 15 minutes but is drawn out over 2 hours because of the frequent flashbacks and slow motion. Near the end you are This was solely a string of slowmo scenes tied together with some cheap brutality. Overall the movie should have lasted about 15 minutes but is drawn out over 2 hours because of the frequent flashbacks and slow motion. Near the end you are pleading for Jesus not to fall anymore. Also it is clear that the film used cheap brutality in order to have some effect on the audience. A pig being tortured like that would have had the same gut-wrenching effect. Overall the film didn't have much content and Gibson tries to manipulate the Bible and the audience to make it somewhat interesting, but he fails. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JustinA.Oct 10, 2005
A. What does it mean that Jesus "invented the tables and chairs we use today." Did I miss that in my readings of the gospels? B. When I saw the Passion, a preview for The Day After Tomorrow was screened. The large family behind me from rural A. What does it mean that Jesus "invented the tables and chairs we use today." Did I miss that in my readings of the gospels? B. When I saw the Passion, a preview for The Day After Tomorrow was screened. The large family behind me from rural Maine responded, when asked "where will you be the day after tomorrow" by exclaiming "I'll be in the rapture!" They loved the Passion. C. In contemplating the bizzare claims to authenticity this film makes, it might be a good idea to watch Passolini's The Gospel According to St. Matthew (which received official papal blessings pre-Vatican II, so it should be kosher for Gibsonians). Strange how estranged different claims to authenticity can be. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
CamN.Sep 9, 2005
I have said for years that Mel Gibson is a self-absorbed Alpha-male wannabe. Follow this pied piper to church and flagellate yourselves if you want. This film is worthless.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DanK.Dec 11, 2006
Let me explain several misconceptions of the Christian faith. First of all, if you believe in this stuff than you would know that nobody is responsible for Jesus's death other than GOD. Jesus was SENT to die bottom line. Secondly, as Let me explain several misconceptions of the Christian faith. First of all, if you believe in this stuff than you would know that nobody is responsible for Jesus's death other than GOD. Jesus was SENT to die bottom line. Secondly, as far a historical accuracy, the bible was edited by the Catholic Church far before any of us read it so, unless someone who was actually alive 2000 years ago is still alive please explain how anyone can KNOW this is actually how it happened. Now that I have gotten that out of the way I can actually review the movie. And I know someone will be upset at me for saying this but as far as the plot goes, there isn't really one. And that is why the critics panned this movie for its violence. It doesn't serve to move the plot. It's just there. The cinematography is execellent as well as the use of subtitles instead of having them speak a language foreign to them. The problem is that people aren't reviewing this as a movie they are reviewing it as a religous experiment. When I go to see a show I want to be entertained I don't want to see someone get the crap beat out of them for two hours. Say what you want about Pulp Fiction but the violence in that movie moved the plot and it was more than just blood and gore. If it isn't Jesus than nobody would give a damn about this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BobE.Dec 29, 2005
For those of you prasing this movie as a breakthrough, I hate to say this, but you have only been manipulated. Gibson did not make this movie to state a point or get a message across, he simply took a controversial subject matter and made a For those of you prasing this movie as a breakthrough, I hate to say this, but you have only been manipulated. Gibson did not make this movie to state a point or get a message across, he simply took a controversial subject matter and made a very controversial movie out of it to get your money. For those of you who say this movie is true, it is not. You weren't there, Gibson wasn't there, nobody involved in any way with the creation of this movie was there. For those of you who say us athiests dont understand this movie due to lack of faith, you need to learn that christianity is not the only religion, and that you have to have respect for all beliefs. I dont care that Jesus died, Im sure he didn't care about me, and Im sure he didn't care about you. He probably only did it for the attention. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MarcS.Dec 26, 2006
Manipulative, over-the-top, sensationalist, ugly, pretentious GARBAGE!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
TerribleJul 11, 2008
Why?!?!?!?!?! This movie was just bad. Good ole Mel Gibson, spots off a good old fashioned hunk of garbage. I had to go see this "delightful" movie in theaters. It sickened me to no end. I didn't enjoy it in the slightest. I know Why?!?!?!?!?! This movie was just bad. Good ole Mel Gibson, spots off a good old fashioned hunk of garbage. I had to go see this "delightful" movie in theaters. It sickened me to no end. I didn't enjoy it in the slightest. I know it's not really meant to be enjoyed, but it's a movie for Christ sakes...haha, see what I did there? Anywho, I simply couldn't stand the movie. I think I may have vomited a bit. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JoeB.Dec 29, 2005
Believer or non-believer, it doesn't take much to understand that the only reason for this film's existence was purely commercial. Cinematography was good, everything else was Gibson capitalizing on people's beliefs. Faith has Believer or non-believer, it doesn't take much to understand that the only reason for this film's existence was purely commercial. Cinematography was good, everything else was Gibson capitalizing on people's beliefs. Faith has nothing to do with this movie, any religious person who considers this a good movie is a true hypocrite. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AtTheMoviesApr 11, 2014
Review deleted. .
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
1
CooterPatooterMar 17, 2012
An empty husk of a film who's only goal is to depict an extended act of torture and execution. Unbelievably, families who would run screaming from films like Texas Chainsaw Massacre brought their children to watch a man have his flesh rippedAn empty husk of a film who's only goal is to depict an extended act of torture and execution. Unbelievably, families who would run screaming from films like Texas Chainsaw Massacre brought their children to watch a man have his flesh ripped from his body and nails hammered through his hands. This disgusting piece of exploitative torture-porn was screened in churches, schools and just about anywhere for reasons I cannot fathom. None of the teachings attributed to the Christ character exist here, none of the good things he supposedly did... just his gruesome, bloody demise. Halfway through this highly exaggerated beat down on film, I became convinced that Mel Gibson actually relished in depicting his savior being brutalized. The Passion of the Christ does nothing more than reveal Christian hypocrisy and expose children to some of the most hideous torture imagery ever conceived with no redeeming value whatsoever. Way to go, Mel! Way to go, parents! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
Nova_shinoDec 3, 2013
to quote south park "if you wanna be Christian, that's cool but you should focus on what jesus taught instead of how he got killed. focusing on how he got killed is what people did in the dark ages, and it ends up with really bad results." soto quote south park "if you wanna be Christian, that's cool but you should focus on what jesus taught instead of how he got killed. focusing on how he got killed is what people did in the dark ages, and it ends up with really bad results." so I don't recommend this movie- actually no its not a movie. its torture porn. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
RockMetalDudeOct 10, 2014
I'm sorry... I just can't give this movie a good review. While the cinematography and acting may be good, the way gibson treats the subject matter in such a graphic, disturbing, and horrific light is just unbearable. This is definitely aI'm sorry... I just can't give this movie a good review. While the cinematography and acting may be good, the way gibson treats the subject matter in such a graphic, disturbing, and horrific light is just unbearable. This is definitely a movie for the devout believers. All those who do not belong to that category need not expose themselves to this disgusting carnival of blood and violence. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
retkimunaJun 13, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this is one of the most boring movie ever. it's 2 hour movie and it's only watching torture. i like more godfather 3. this is horrible don't watch this movie. and now spoilers this is 2 hour movie where Jesus dies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Iky009Nov 29, 2016
No big deal, what turns out to be a great appeal to the drama about the boring story of Jesus .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
DrastreApr 30, 2014
What I learned from this movie: Jews are bad, feel bad for Jesus and Jesus is awesome. Mel Gibson.... go **** yourself. Just a glorified snuff film. Go watch Saw instead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews