User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 758 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Im sorry but 47/100 on Critic Reviews? C'mon people! This was, and still remains, as a classic film about the true nature of the crucifixion of Jesus Christ. This film will not only bring you to tears, but put a smile on your face once you realize that one man put his own life on the line for us. Christian or non-Christian, you need to see this film. Now.
  2. Dec 31, 2011
    8
    Mel Gibson's "The Passion of the Christ" depicts the last 12 hours of Jesus Christ's life before his crucifixion. As a christian myself I really couldn't find much of his teachings and theories of love and forgiveness because movie's pretty much torture porn in a nutshell. However leaving the fact that whenether you're a christian or not, the movie's realistically portrayed as the bible describes it, where he was beaten up by the Romans and was crucified for us. As Roger Ebert says, take it or leave it. Expand
  3. Aug 25, 2011
    1
    The film is so focused on Christ's death and how violent and terrible it was, that the film loses any kind of heart and simply becomes about guilt. Essentially, The Passion is the biggest guilt trip in history. The film offers no insight as to what Christ's death taught any of his followers, and simply tells it's viewer that Christ died for them, and now they have to earn it like in Saving Private Ryan. Nothing is learned, and only guilt is felt. Expand
  4. Jul 20, 2013
    0
    For once, the average score based on critic reviews have it right. This movie is sensationalist garbage made by Mel Gibson to appease and ingratiate himself with his fundamentalist holocaust denier father.
  5. Oct 26, 2010
    6
    this movie tells the life of Jesus Christ in the most gory way, but this isn't a bad movie. the score was good and the acting was decent.
  6. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    The Passion of the Christ is a very violent way of showing Jesus' crucifixion. I know this film is old and my review is pretty late but I still want to spread my thoughts on this film. There may be some scenes that are really disturbing but this shows how much Jesus' loves us, he went through all of that to save us from our sins. I think the filmmakers are trying to convey that message and they succeeded. This film is really well done and shouldn't be missed (unless you're young because its really violent) Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    James Caviezel Was The Best Jesus EVER EVER.Music By John Debney Was Beyond Brilliant.Mel Gibson is A Filmmaker On Par With Scorcese Overall The Passion Of Christ Is Truly A Great Film .The Greatest

    10/10.
  8. May 26, 2012
    7
    I love how the movie stayed true to the events in the Bible. But sadly as a Roman Catholic, it didn't move me the way I wanted it to be and it really disappoints me. But nevertheless, it really teaches me that we must appreciate what Jesus Christ did, because all he did is to sacrifice for the sake of the human race. Also, because of the brutal events of the Crucifixion of Jesus Christ in the movie, it made me realize that we need to give Him something in return by US following His Commandments and by loving one another even your mortal enemies............... Expand
  9. Feb 22, 2012
    6
    Its Jesus getting tortured for 2 hours, but its a very intense movies. I loved the stares between people, acting is generally amazing, Which is really what carried this movie.
  10. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    47% really??? I guess if its not about 2 men kissing on a mountain, it's not worth watching. Bottom line is, this is a very good movie. Yes I liked the message too, but if you just look at it for the quality of the picture you still come away with a 10.
  11. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    It's a must see movie. The movie show us Jesus suffering for all of our sins, to save our lives and give us the Salvation. There are some shocking scenes, but many things that Christ suffered don't be on the movie. But in the end, we all know that Jesus Christ lives and has saved us unto the eternity.
  12. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    As some of the critics argue, this is not a movie that is meant to be a sermon, or to teach you something. It is not focused in Jesus's life, and I don't believe it attempts to be a religious film. It focuses in the last 12 hours of Jesus life as they could have been. Of course by those times many other people were brutally tortured and killed on this way but there is no much mentioned about them because they were just common people. Jesus was different, and either if you believe in what he praised or not , he was a historical figure that changed the life of many, and the spiritual face of the Western World. Back to the film, the acting was certainly good! The Art direction of this movie was amazing, yet the images were extremely violent, and I had difficulty watching them, but in spite of it, I did. An observation: a few comments below, the user called ANDY mentioned that Anthropologists believe that Jesus looked different and blah, blah. Well, ANDY, curiously, I happen to have a PhD in Anthropology and Sociology, and I also have some education in history and in my 20's I used to be a theatre performer,(now I am just my 30's, and not, I am not at all a nerd or a nerd looking, quite the opposite) so my answer to you Andy is: Don't talk what you don't really know! You are just repeating what the mass-media say! Research in journals and serious academic publications if you really aim to increase your knowledge on the matter. There are many different approaches about Jesus's life. It is also impossible to know how Jesus looked or not or how did he lead his private life! Therefore, we should stop referring to petty stuff as arguments against this film, for that is senseless criticism. If Jesus had long hair or not, if he was really the Son of God, or not, who cares...! This film is not a proselyist one! Finally, let's be fair, just because people do not like religion-and most of people here probably not- it doesn't mean the movie is bad or old fashion! I am not religious myself, but I can still see and appreciate this film for what it is. Guys, this may not be your cup of tea, but objetively, it is a magnificent work! Expand
  13. Mar 17, 2012
    1
    An empty husk of a film who's only goal is to depict an extended act of torture and execution. Unbelievably, families who would run screaming from films like Texas Chainsaw Massacre brought their children to watch a man have his flesh ripped from his body and nails hammered through his hands. This disgusting piece of exploitative torture-porn was screened in churches, schools and just about anywhere for reasons I cannot fathom. None of the teachings attributed to the Christ character exist here, none of the good things he supposedly did... just his gruesome, bloody demise. Halfway through this highly exaggerated beat down on film, I became convinced that Mel Gibson actually relished in depicting his savior being brutalized. The Passion of the Christ does nothing more than reveal Christian hypocrisy and expose children to some of the most hideous torture imagery ever conceived with no redeeming value whatsoever. Way to go, Mel! Way to go, parents! Expand
  14. Nov 9, 2012
    4
    Yo...my man got his ass whooped! For hours! Non-stop! But seriously this is a big steaming pile of unrealized potential.
  15. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    This film depicts what Jesus went through to be the final sacrifice for mankind. Jesus was tortured and crucified so man could be forgiven of sin. Jesus died so man could once again have a personal relationship with God. John 3:16 says it all:

    For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.
  16. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    to quote south park "if you wanna be Christian, that's cool but you should focus on what jesus taught instead of how he got killed. focusing on how he got killed is what people did in the dark ages, and it ends up with really bad results." so I don't recommend this movie- actually no its not a movie. its torture porn.
  17. Apr 8, 2014
    9
    Intense, Brutal and heart-piercing! Hats off to the painstaking work done by the cast and crew! Mel Gibson has pleasantly surprised me, and i truly respect him for this! ...all in all Great stuff!
  18. Apr 30, 2014
    2
    What I learned from this movie: Jews are bad, feel bad for Jesus and Jesus is awesome. Mel Gibson.... go **** yourself. Just a glorified snuff film. Go watch Saw instead.
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 43
  2. Negative: 9 out of 43
  1. 75
    It's a strange kind of spiritual movie -- one that aims for the gut more often than the heart.
  2. 88
    A gripping, powerful motion picture -- arguably the most forceful depiction of Jesus' death ever to be committed to film. It leaves an indelible imprint on the psyche; viewers of this movie may never look at a crucifix in quite the same way.
  3. Expertly made, thanks largely to Jim Caviezel's fervent portrayal of Jesus and Caleb Deschanel's skillful camera work. But the film contains little to learn from, unless one is unfamiliar with basic Christian history.