Newmarket Films | Release Date: February 25, 2004
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 403 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
247
Mixed:
46
Negative:
110
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MoK.Jan 6, 2008
My respect for Prophet Jesus (May God's peace and blessings be upon him) increased multi-fold after I watched the movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NormaI.Apr 10, 2009
This movie depicts some of the events that happened to Jesus Christ. It is in no way anti-semitic, Jesus came to die,so regardless of who killed him i.e Jew or otherwise. This film was beautifully made and it touches the soul,so for all This movie depicts some of the events that happened to Jesus Christ. It is in no way anti-semitic, Jesus came to die,so regardless of who killed him i.e Jew or otherwise. This film was beautifully made and it touches the soul,so for all those people who are saying it doesn't touch the soul, it is because you do not understand. This film is not about the violence, but about redemption and grace through the suffering of Christ. Jesus said father forgive them for they know not what they do, with this he meant the Romans, Jews and every other persons today. So believe and be saved! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WilliamM.Feb 17, 2009
This film enables one to comprehend graphically the torture and agony that Jesus endured for ALL mankind.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndresLunaAug 8, 2016
Brilliant! I have watched this film several times. It's a work of art. If you pay close attention, from the very beginning it's going to teach you a lot of good things. It will show you the profound and endless love that Jesus has for you. :)
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Dec 31, 2011
Mel Gibson's "The Passion of the Christ" depicts the last 12 hours of Jesus Christ's life before his crucifixion. As a christian myself I really couldn't find much of his teachings and theories of love and forgiveness because movie's prettyMel Gibson's "The Passion of the Christ" depicts the last 12 hours of Jesus Christ's life before his crucifixion. As a christian myself I really couldn't find much of his teachings and theories of love and forgiveness because movie's pretty much torture porn in a nutshell. However leaving the fact that whenether you're a christian or not, the movie's realistically portrayed as the bible describes it, where he was beaten up by the Romans and was crucified for us. As Roger Ebert says, take it or leave it. Expand
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
10
mbrowndJul 15, 2011
Im sorry but 47/100 on Critic Reviews? C'mon people! This was, and still remains, as a classic film about the true nature of the crucifixion of Jesus Christ. This film will not only bring you to tears, but put a smile on your face once youIm sorry but 47/100 on Critic Reviews? C'mon people! This was, and still remains, as a classic film about the true nature of the crucifixion of Jesus Christ. This film will not only bring you to tears, but put a smile on your face once you realize that one man put his own life on the line for us. Christian or non-Christian, you need to see this film. Now. Expand
11 of 16 users found this helpful115
All this user's reviews
9
TonyB.Apr 8, 2006
As a power considerably higher than the rest of us is said to have commented: "It is as it was." What it was I cannot say, but what it is is a magnificent achievement."
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DorfoOct 21, 2013
It's a must see movie. The movie show us Jesus suffering for all of our sins, to save our lives and give us the Salvation. There are some shocking scenes, but many things that Christ suffered don't be on the movie. But in the end, we all knowIt's a must see movie. The movie show us Jesus suffering for all of our sins, to save our lives and give us the Salvation. There are some shocking scenes, but many things that Christ suffered don't be on the movie. But in the end, we all know that Jesus Christ lives and has saved us unto the eternity. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
RegOzApr 5, 2012
As some of the critics argue, this is not a movie that is meant to be a sermon, or to teach you something. It is not focused in Jesus's life, and I don't believe it attempts to be a religious film. It focuses in the last 12 hours of JesusAs some of the critics argue, this is not a movie that is meant to be a sermon, or to teach you something. It is not focused in Jesus's life, and I don't believe it attempts to be a religious film. It focuses in the last 12 hours of Jesus life as they could have been. Of course by those times many other people were brutally tortured and killed on this way but there is no much mentioned about them because they were just common people. Jesus was different, and either if you believe in what he praised or not , he was a historical figure that changed the life of many, and the spiritual face of the Western World. Back to the film, the acting was certainly good! The Art direction of this movie was amazing, yet the images were extremely violent, and I had difficulty watching them, but in spite of it, I did. An observation: a few comments below, the user called ANDY mentioned that Anthropologists believe that Jesus looked different and blah, blah. Well, ANDY, curiously, I happen to have a PhD in Anthropology and Sociology, and I also have some education in history and in my 20's I used to be a theatre performer,(now I am just my 30's, and not, I am not at all a nerd or a nerd looking, quite the opposite) so my answer to you Andy is: Don't talk what you don't really know! You are just repeating what the mass-media say! Research in journals and serious academic publications if you really aim to increase your knowledge on the matter. There are many different approaches about Jesus's life. It is also impossible to know how Jesus looked or not or how did he lead his private life! Therefore, we should stop referring to petty stuff as arguments against this film, for that is senseless criticism. If Jesus had long hair or not, if he was really the Son of God, or not, who cares...! This film is not a proselyist one! Finally, let's be fair, just because people do not like religion-and most of people here probably not- it doesn't mean the movie is bad or old fashion! I am not religious myself, but I can still see and appreciate this film for what it is. Guys, this may not be your cup of tea, but objetively, it is a magnificent work! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
nazarenecMar 21, 2013
This film depicts what Jesus went through to be the final sacrifice for mankind. Jesus was tortured and crucified so man could be forgiven of sin. Jesus died so man could once again have a personal relationship with God. John 3:16 says itThis film depicts what Jesus went through to be the final sacrifice for mankind. Jesus was tortured and crucified so man could be forgiven of sin. Jesus died so man could once again have a personal relationship with God. John 3:16 says it all:

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
TimM.Feb 5, 2006
I believe the movie showed just how much God loves us. Why is so hard for some too believe? We all know about hatred, but when it comes to love we try to explain it away. God loves us and sent his son to die for us. This movie captures the I believe the movie showed just how much God loves us. Why is so hard for some too believe? We all know about hatred, but when it comes to love we try to explain it away. God loves us and sent his son to die for us. This movie captures the last hours of our Lord Jesus life and why we should worship him. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
jc15Oct 3, 2011
47% really??? I guess if its not about 2 men kissing on a mountain, it's not worth watching. Bottom line is, this is a very good movie. Yes I liked the message too, but if you just look at it for the quality of the picture you still come47% really??? I guess if its not about 2 men kissing on a mountain, it's not worth watching. Bottom line is, this is a very good movie. Yes I liked the message too, but if you just look at it for the quality of the picture you still come away with a 10. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
MarkG.Jun 7, 2006
Gibson stepped out on a limb to portray the story of Christ outside the civilized norm of consumer religion. For those that prefer a cross-less Christ, this is not the movie to watch. The event is historically documented by secular and Gibson stepped out on a limb to portray the story of Christ outside the civilized norm of consumer religion. For those that prefer a cross-less Christ, this is not the movie to watch. The event is historically documented by secular and religious sources and yet is scandalized as gratutious and sadistic. To accept the event, as Gibson portrays it, is an indictment of the human condition; one that most defiintely needs rescuing. Gibson leaves the viewer with a perplexing question: what to do with a Christ that claimed to suffer on the behalf of humanity? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RoyT.Feb 24, 2004
Powerful
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MattC.Sep 2, 2004
It's virtually impossible to get a balanced and objective view about this film. Cynical yes, but I've no doubt that many people will have decided what they think about this film before actually watching it. Caviezel is excellent as It's virtually impossible to get a balanced and objective view about this film. Cynical yes, but I've no doubt that many people will have decided what they think about this film before actually watching it. Caviezel is excellent as Jesus and although theres very little dialogue he's an actor who can say a great deal without speech. Elsewhere, the rest of the casting/acting is rather sterile, Pilate manages to hold his ground but otherwise it's all rather uninspired. Maybe it's a fear of taking the limelight from the charachter of Jesus, maybe it's just poor direction. Speaking of which, Gibson is a rather inconsistant director; some scenes are excellent whilst others are horribly amateurish. Also, no matter how sincere his intentions may be, this film has a thick layer of Hollywood not far under the surface and as a result whatever sincerity intended is degraded somehow. Watching it on the big screen I just couldn't get involved and found myself whistling 'Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life' in my head at the end. I also found myself being irritated by the assertion that Jesus had seemingly invented high tables with chairs. Watching the film on my television set I found that I was much more able to become absorbed. This is a film that you need to watch alone for full intensity and when the connection is there it is a rewarding film, this is a good, if not a little inconsistant, take on the greatest story ever told. It's also worth noting that accusations of this films Anti-Semitism are unfounded, some Jewish priests do try and stick up for Jesus during his 'trial', this is something that is conveniently ignored by some reviewers. At the end of the day, Jesus was put to death by his own people and had this not have occured then Christianity wouldn't have existed as we know it now. Therefore, in regards to this, any intelligent person would know not to judge a religion as ancient and established as Judaism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilioR.Jul 5, 2005
Great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VanessaB.Jul 5, 2005
I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleeS.Jul 5, 2005
Passionate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Dec 7, 2006
The Passion of the Christ was the most powerfully realistic rendering of the crucifixion I have ever seen. Absolutely amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickL.May 17, 2006
Good movie! Mel Gibson is laughing all the way to the bank.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CathyL.Apr 20, 2007
This movie is moving, sad and a magnificent depiction of the wonderful gift Christ gave us through his crucifixion. Those who do not believe or refuse to recognize the horrific pain and suffering that Jesus Christ endured for us are typical This movie is moving, sad and a magnificent depiction of the wonderful gift Christ gave us through his crucifixion. Those who do not believe or refuse to recognize the horrific pain and suffering that Jesus Christ endured for us are typical of the liberalism and lack of faith that has become a cancer not only in the United States but across the enire world and may one day spell our doom!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AstridL.Mar 22, 2008
This movie is hard to bear but is a moving peace of cinema in its own right. There has been much criticism on why only showing all the violence and suffering and nothing of Jesus Christs life before and also after the depictioned last 12 This movie is hard to bear but is a moving peace of cinema in its own right. There has been much criticism on why only showing all the violence and suffering and nothing of Jesus Christs life before and also after the depictioned last 12 hours in his life. We should see the movie as one piece in the bigger picture of films about the life of jesus, and this one focuses on the hardest part of it and it is legitimate to do so. If you think of the movie pretending to show Jesus in all his aspects and everything which derived from him the movie is well critizisable but if you consider it as coming with a message more special and beyond this it is well worth seeing if you can bear it especially as it probably shows realistically how not only Jesus but thousands of people have come to death in the ancient Rome, only that he was the first to pray for his tormentors and so redeemed mankind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NamelessOneApr 18, 2008
This movie is truly a work of art that has no match! I am surprised (and angered) from all the people that perceive this movie as a political statement and fail to look at all the time and work that has been invested in this amazing This movie is truly a work of art that has no match! I am surprised (and angered) from all the people that perceive this movie as a political statement and fail to look at all the time and work that has been invested in this amazing movie.The photography,costumes,acting...etc have all been reduced to trivialities in order to favour of political statements.The fact is that there is no other movie that the actors are speaking ARAMAIC and LATIN and that alone is enough for me to give it a favorable review.I am a Christian and I was very touched by this movie...the Jews were solely responsible for the torment of Jesus - they DEMANDED his crucifixion,so I really cannot find any trace of anti-semitism in this movie (only truth).Furthermore Jesus was (indeed) tortured and humiliated so I cannot understand why people are so critical to the violent scenes.What did they expect to see?Everyone says the movie is violent but no one is willing to say HOW the movie ought to portray Jesus's crucifixion!!!Thats just MORONIC!If I 'shoot' a violent and very graphic documentary about the war in Darfur will you call me deranged? The way I see it every review that judges this movie either on the grounds of anti-semitism or violence is redundant and false because the Jews were indeed responsible and because Jesus was indeed tortured. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterB.Apr 24, 2008
To begin with, I have to say that this is a VERY violent movie (keep children away from this movie at all costs). Having said that, I must admit that this violence DOES serve a purpose - it shows the suffering Jesus endured from the time he To begin with, I have to say that this is a VERY violent movie (keep children away from this movie at all costs). Having said that, I must admit that this violence DOES serve a purpose - it shows the suffering Jesus endured from the time he was captured by the JEWISH temple guard to the point he 'died' on the cross. Gibson does not make any compromise on any level everything has been prepared down to the last detail -the costumes are amazing, so are the locations, the LANGUAGE (Aramaic for the Jews, Latin for the Romans)and last but not least the acting was very good. I would imagine the Jews would look fiercer but they are presented quite subtly - considering the fact that they were 'brain-washed' by their priests and the 'revolutionaries' to a point were the term 'fanatic' looks funny. I really do not understand why there is so much fuss in relation to anti-semitism with this movie. The Jews 'delivered' Jesus to the Romans and the only reason the Romans crucified Jesus was because they were afraid of an uprise and because under Roman rule no one could be punished by death unless the Roman 'administrator' (in this case Pontius Pilate) said so. If the law was different the Jews would have done it themselves...its that simple. The teachings of Jesus about love are CLEARLY shown in the movie...Jesus is tormented and humiliated to the point where no HUMAN could, without reacting the slightest...this is because of the LOVE Jesus has for his children (get it?).To the people that were expecting to see Jesus creating balloon animals in Jewish children parties to show us His love - please STAY AWAY from this movie! This movie is brilliantly made and I recommend it for all people above 17years old :)Oh! a couple things before I 'go'...First, I cannot see anything bad with Mel making a lot of money from this movie...isn Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulAFeb 9, 2009
One of the most moving movies ever made. The critics are wrong on this one. It's not the type of movie you can watch every day because of the violence. But it it's accurate and moving. Once you see it you will never forget it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickFeb 25, 2004
I was one of the fortunate people to actually see this movie, and this has to be the most powerful movie i have ever seen(or has ever been made), its like I stopped breathing 20 minutes to the end. The movie takes you from such subtleness to I was one of the fortunate people to actually see this movie, and this has to be the most powerful movie i have ever seen(or has ever been made), its like I stopped breathing 20 minutes to the end. The movie takes you from such subtleness to engaging scenes, which is to me so beautifully done and extremely powerful. Roger Ebert was dead on in his review, giving this movie 100. I was disgusted and appalled that David Edelstein said this movie was snuff... Lets face it, if you're walking into the theater without a ounce of faith or a proper understanding of religion, your gonna come out feeling as though some guy has just been horribly killed(and certain people were responsible) and Mel is to blame for all of this. But if you go as i did, your gonna come out with water in your eyes, can?t swallow or say a word, but will have better a understanding and sorrow for Christ. This film was not intended for you to feel pleased but to give you an experience and a powerful one at that. Other people are gonna moan and complain(you know), and I couldn?t care less, why, cuz Mel did exactly what he was suppose to do, try and make you feel the experience of Christ, being there watching Christ go through all this. Rick Groen called(or ask) this movie a ?definition of pornography?. Ok lets see, is Kill Bill pornography, is City of God pornography, Why doesn?t someone fire this guy. Why are ignorant people going to this movie, i could prob name 25 films that are more violent than this film, but yet people are condemning it. There have been countless movies portraying different races unfairly, example: Lost In Translation, a widely regarded comedy, but yet japan isn?t full of boring, bumbling, fools, as portrayed in the movie. Ok then the Romans and Jews didn?t kill Christ, ok, now everyone is happy right?. So who killed Christ? Hindus, Christians?. Yea lets change the old(and new) testament and say the Jews had absolutely nothing to do with Christ or his crucifixion. The bloodshed was for a purpose, after watching The Passion, that purpose is up to you. Ignorant people should not go and see this movie, if you go with an Open Mind you will appreciate and Love this film. I felt know one was portrayed evil or unfairly in this film, the only person that matters in this film is Christ , people should look at this movie as what he endured rather than who did it to him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SJ.Feb 28, 2004
To reply to all that have said that this film is an invalid depiction of the death of christ; I have found that the movie follows scripture and does not stray from the fact that man is cruel and selfish. It allows the viewer to see the hate To reply to all that have said that this film is an invalid depiction of the death of christ; I have found that the movie follows scripture and does not stray from the fact that man is cruel and selfish. It allows the viewer to see the hate in man for what it is. There is no glorifying, nor downplaying what happened to Jesus, it is as it was written. Unfortunatley we are snobby little brats that take what we want from a "movie" and criticize each part for own "choice" of what happens next. As for the Jewish communities reply; this wouldnt be the first time something happened that anyone in the jewish religion couldnt stand up and admit to. It is as it written, this isnt a fairytale kids....... John 19 :: New International Version (NIV)...| This chapter | Next chapter John 19 Jesus Sentenced to be Crucified 1Then Pilate took Jesus and had him flogged. 2The soldiers twisted together a crown of thorns and put it on his head. They clothed him in a purple robe 3and went up to him again and again, saying, "Hail, king of the Jews!" And they struck him in the face. 4Once more Pilate came out and said to the Jews, "Look, I am bringing him out to you to let you know that I find no basis for a charge against him." 5When Jesus came out wearing the crown of thorns and the purple robe, Pilate said to them, "Here is the man!" 6As soon as the chief priests and their officials saw him, they shouted, "Crucify! Crucify!" But Pilate answered, "You take him and crucify him. As for me, I find no basis for a charge against him." 7The Jews insisted, "We have a law, and according to that law he must die, because he claimed to be the Son of God." 8When Pilate heard this, he was even more afraid, 9and he went back inside the palace. "Where do you come from?" he asked Jesus, but Jesus gave him no answer. 10"Do you refuse to speak to me?" Pilate said. "Don't you realize I have power either to free you or to crucify you?" 11Jesus answered, "You would have no power over me if it were not given to you from above. Therefore the one who handed me over to you is guilty of a greater sin." 12From then on, Pilate tried to set Jesus free, but the Jews kept shouting, "If you let this man go, you are no friend of Caesar. Anyone who claims to be a king opposes Caesar." 13When Pilate heard this, he brought Jesus out and sat down on the judge's seat at a place known as the Stone Pavement (which in Aramaic is Gabbatha). 14It was the day of Preparation of Passover Week, about the sixth hour. "Here is your king," Pilate said to the Jews. 15But they shouted, "Take him away! Take him away! Crucify him!" "Shall I crucify your king?" Pilate asked. "We have no king but Caesar," the chief priests answered. 16Finally Pilate handed him over to them to be crucified. The Crucifixion 17So the soldiers took charge of Jesus. Carrying his own cross, he went out to the place of the Skull (which in Aramaic is called Golgotha). 18Here they crucified him, and with him two others--one on each side and Jesus in the middle. 19Pilate had a notice prepared and fastened to the cross. It read:|sc JESUS OF NAZARETH, THE KING OF THE JEWS. 20Many of the Jews read this sign, for the place where Jesus was crucified was near the city, and the sign was written in Aramaic, Latin and Greek. 21The chief priests of the Jews protested to Pilate, "Do not write 'The King of the Jews,' but that this man claimed to be king of the Jews." 22Pilate answered, "What I have written, I have written." 23When the soldiers crucified Jesus, they took his clothes, dividing them into four shares, one for each of them, with the undergarment remaining. This garment was seamless, woven in one piece from top to bottom. 24"Let's not tear it," they said to one another. "Let's decide by lot who will get it." This happened that the scripture might be fulfilled which said, "They divided my garments among them and cast lots for my clothing."[1] So this is what the soldiers did. 25Near the cross of Jesus stood his mother, his mother's sister, Mary the wife of Clopas, and Mary Magdalene. 26When Jesus saw his mother there, and the disciple whom he loved standing nearby, he said to his mother, "Dear woman, here is your son," 27and to the disciple, "Here is your mother." From that time on, this disciple took her into his home. The Death of Jesus 28Later, knowing that all was now completed, and so that the Scripture would be fulfilled, Jesus said, "I am thirsty." 29A jar of wine vinegar was there, so they soaked a sponge in it, put the sponge on a stalk of the hyssop plant, and lifted it to Jesus' lips. 30When he had received the drink, Jesus said, "It is finished." With that, he bowed his head and gave up his spirit. 31Now it was the day of Preparation, and the next day was to be a special Sabbath. Because the Jews did not want the bodies left on the crosses during the Sabbath, they asked Pilate to have the legs broken and the bodies taken down. 32The soldiers therefore came and broke the legs of the first man who had been crucified with Jesus, and then those of the other. 33But when they came to Jesus and found that he was already dead, they did not break his legs. 34Instead, one of the soldiers pierced Jesus' side with a spear, bringing a sudden flow of blood and water. 35The man who saw it has given testimony, and his testimony is true. He knows that he tells the truth, and he testifies so that you also may believe. 36These things happened so that the scripture would be fulfilled: "Not one of his bones will be broken,"[2] 37and, as another scripture says, "They will look on the one they have pierced."[3] The Burial of Jesus 38Later, Joseph of Arimathea asked Pilate for the body of Jesus. Now Joseph was a disciple of Jesus, but secretly because he feared the Jews. With Pilate's permission, he came and took the body away. 39He was accompanied by Nicodemus, the man who earlier had visited Jesus at night. Nicodemus brought a mixture of myrrh and aloes, about seventy-five pounds.[4] 40Taking Jesus' body, the two of them wrapped it, with the spices, in strips of linen. This was in accordance with Jewish burial customs. 41At the place where Jesus was crucified, there was a garden, and in the garden a new tomb, in which no one had ever been laid. 42Because it was the Jewish day of Preparation and since the tomb was nearby, they laid Jesus there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidC.Mar 8, 2004
True! the movie was heart wrenching and you did feel you were beat up at the end. Though, it truly put the visual aspects to the words of the Bible. Everyone that I know that has seen the movie agrees that you will "Never" look at a True! the movie was heart wrenching and you did feel you were beat up at the end. Though, it truly put the visual aspects to the words of the Bible. Everyone that I know that has seen the movie agrees that you will "Never" look at a crucifixion the same way. Oh, as far as being Anti-Semitic YOU ARE WRONG! I left the movie, NOT angry at the Jewish people, NOT angry at the Romans, but thankful for what Christ has done! Thankful for What Jesus Has Done! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Apr 14, 2004
The gospels were not written for the screen, so all films about Jesus tend to lack the plot and character development elements generally considered necessary for a great film. The one notable exception, which involved Jesus only The gospels were not written for the screen, so all films about Jesus tend to lack the plot and character development elements generally considered necessary for a great film. The one notable exception, which involved Jesus only tangentially, was Ben Hur. Many Jesus flicks have been made, and recent depictions (Superstar, Last Temptation) invoke more realism, but now Gibson has trumped them all. Regardless of viewer sensibilities, Gibson is apparently the first filmmaker without a reading comprehension disorder to have read the gospels. As with all Gibson films, the characters are polarized. And the film relies heavily on presumed knowledge from other mediums in its focus on the hours of Jesus's death. Yet the Pope himself found this movie to be an authentic depiction of events, and he carries a staff from which hangs the road kill Jesus had been tortured into. This is not an anti-semitic film, although it is certainly anti-Pharisee. Apparently the Pharisee lobby is still alive, well, and very concerned about its image. Since the alleged events depicted occurred, the world has consisted of two kinds of people, those who find validity in the sacrifice Jesus made, and those who don't. From a secular viewpoint, this photoplay comes across as obsessive, brutal and pointless. For the believers, most will see this film as a masterpiece. I choose to consider it so, as no one has provided me a better explanation of my place in the scheme of things. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardK.Apr 7, 2004
Great Movie. And for all the atheist posting and getting angry at a great film, Live with it, you go through it daily. Anyway, I think this movie was spot on, it is the truth, it is what happened. People definitely deserve to see a movie Great Movie. And for all the atheist posting and getting angry at a great film, Live with it, you go through it daily. Anyway, I think this movie was spot on, it is the truth, it is what happened. People definitely deserve to see a movie like this. This is one for the history books. Mel Gibson is a genius. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RayB.Oct 19, 2005
I am not religious at all but this film was excellent a brave and brilliant piece of filming.. I was that absorbed in the film that I didn't notice the subtitles after a few mins. The film will not be to everybodys taste but for people I am not religious at all but this film was excellent a brave and brilliant piece of filming.. I was that absorbed in the film that I didn't notice the subtitles after a few mins. The film will not be to everybodys taste but for people with an open mind in regards to religion I urge you to watch this at least once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.TSep 25, 2005
One of the best movies ever seen. One of the greatest epic films ever made. It depicts the last hours of our Lord and how he suffered for us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulF.Dec 2, 2006
Overall I felt the Passion was a powerful movie that got me all teary eyed several times, especially the love Mary felt for her son and the grief she had to bare watching him suffer the way he did. I was also very impressed that the movie Overall I felt the Passion was a powerful movie that got me all teary eyed several times, especially the love Mary felt for her son and the grief she had to bare watching him suffer the way he did. I was also very impressed that the movie was entirely made in Aramaic and I believe it was Latin the Romans were speaking. WOW, to trust the general public with subtitles shows a lot of faith in us. I deeply respect the vision and hard work it took to make the movie all that more authentic to the feel of the times. One of my few points of critique were that it seemed overly gory. I cannot say how historic this was or not but they really laid it on thick. It was pretty much non-stop from his floggings all the way to his death. I was a bit mixed on how they portrayed the Devil. I liked the way they portrayed the devil all bald headed and mysteriously quiet. It was interesting to see how the demons disguised themselves as children or the Devil using the mother and child as a cloak. However for some reason the devils anguish in hell when Jesus died seemed hokey to me. I was also disappointed that more wasn't shown after Jesus left the tomb. I thought it a bit hokey you could see right through his hand. I loved the characters of Jesus, Mary, Mary, and Pilot. They really stood out in their performances. Pilot's reason and compassion but compromisingly worldly position was an interesting conflict. He also was quite existential in his philosophical outlook. In many ways I identified with his character the most. On a theological interpretive level I thought the way one of the condemned men on the cross and especially Judas was treated in a unduly harsh way. It really seemed Judas was grieved by what he had done. He even tried to make amends by offering the money back in exchange for Jesus release. Ultimately he did not even take the money (in the movie) and even threw it at the priests feet when they refused to release Jesus. It also seemed strange that he hanged himself as if I recall rightly in Acts 1:18 Judas falls "headlong" I presume over a cliff. I thought the rope might break and then he would either fall from this or throw himself over a cliff after failing to hang himself. But the movie makes his hanging seem like the end which seems out of sync with Acts 1:18. My biggest beef with the theology presented is that some are eternally spiritually condemned which IMO is not a compassionate theological positions. It creates conflict within our souls which says some at some point and to never be loved again. I'm sorry but Godliness is Love, unconditionally. Still the Passion was a powerful movie that I am sure will affect many lives. It was good that Jesus teachings were flashed back to from time to time. The juxtaposition of his extreme suffering with his teachings on loving ones enemies was quite profound. I just wish there was a bit more of this movie which would have made the experience more well rounded. But what there was of it I can definitely say this is a good movie to see that I would recommend any adult to see at some point in their lives. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidA.Dec 3, 2006
A serious film, not taken seriously by critics because of prejudice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DCpApr 15, 2006
This movie touched me in a way no other has ever done. Magnificent, graphic, believable, and horrible treatment given by Romans and Jews to Jesus, just terrible. Yet, he forgives and we can easily see how we should forgive others for This movie touched me in a way no other has ever done. Magnificent, graphic, believable, and horrible treatment given by Romans and Jews to Jesus, just terrible. Yet, he forgives and we can easily see how we should forgive others for commiting far less sins. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HouseMay 22, 2006
Obviously, everyone has differing views and beliefs relating to this story. But as no sane moviegoer cares for gangland violence, most would agree "The Godfather's I & II" are timeless masterpieces. "In Cold Blood" is terrifyingly real Obviously, everyone has differing views and beliefs relating to this story. But as no sane moviegoer cares for gangland violence, most would agree "The Godfather's I & II" are timeless masterpieces. "In Cold Blood" is terrifyingly real and uncompromising and not the least bit uplifting but still fabulous film making, dealing with controversial and important topics. To appreciate "Passion of the Christ" many must lay aside views as to the truth of this story as well as the avalanch of hype that surrounded it's director, Mel Gibson. Yet if these sacrifices are made what is uncovered is a film that represents everything that is great about independant film making. A film that skillfully and beautifully expresses the view point of the film makers free of any outside spin from "big Hollywood". As the digital revolution continues to develope, altering Hollywood's method of dealing with "independent film", "the Passion" is a film that will stand the test of time as a major achievement in film, encouraging indie film makers to take bold, unpopular chances and express their deepist concerns and feelings without hesitation or compromise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisK.May 22, 2007
A graphic vision of what it was believably like. A bold film that makes few concessions for the viewer which is part of what draws you in. In some ways alienating, in other ways extremely refreshing. This attention that went into this film A graphic vision of what it was believably like. A bold film that makes few concessions for the viewer which is part of what draws you in. In some ways alienating, in other ways extremely refreshing. This attention that went into this film exposes for me the lack of credability the vast majority of filmakers and studios have. This film goes against the grain of holywood film making and rubs many small minded thinkers the wrong way which is why it is so welcomed by me. If this film was blasphemous or anti-semetic I compeletly failed to notice and believe me I was watching pretty closely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RadovanGerekOct 16, 2008
Its a misjudged film, because its simply great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AaronH.Apr 17, 2008
Watched it in a university class, and again at home with my family during Easter. Not my favorite Christian movie (that would be the 1950's "The Ten Commandments"), but does the job. Jesus's crucifixion (his name was never Watched it in a university class, and again at home with my family during Easter. Not my favorite Christian movie (that would be the 1950's "The Ten Commandments"), but does the job. Jesus's crucifixion (his name was never "Christ"), is stunningly portrayed and overlaid in a veneer of sorrow. The hearts of the people rating the movie lower might just be Jesus himself quietly seeking their attention. And yet there were some things I did not like-the blood and gore, certainly-no real need for that much of it. And really the movie had two stars, Caviezel (who's pretty good) and Gibson (barely so). Basically, you know what to do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NamelessOneApr 22, 2008
This movie is truly a work of art that has no match! I am surprised (and angered) from all the people that perceive this movie as a political statement and fail to look at all the time and work that has been invested in this amazing This movie is truly a work of art that has no match! I am surprised (and angered) from all the people that perceive this movie as a political statement and fail to look at all the time and work that has been invested in this amazing movie.The photography,costumes,acting...etc have all been reduced to trivialities in order to favour of political statements.The fact is that there is no other movie that the actors are speaking ARAMAIC and LATIN and that alone is enough for me to give it a favorable review.I am a Christian and I was very touched by this movie...the Jews were solely responsible for the torment of Jesus - they DEMANDED his crucifixion,so I really cannot find any trace of anti-semitism in this movie (only truth).Furthermore Jesus was (indeed) tortured and humiliated so I cannot understand why people are so critical to the violent scenes.What did they expect to see?Everyone says the movie is violent but no one is willing to say HOW the movie ought to portray Jesus's crucifixion!!!Thats just MORONIC!If I 'shoot' a violent and very graphic documentary about the war in Darfur will you call me deranged? The way I see it every review that judges this movie either on the grounds of anti-semitism or violence is redundant and false because the Jews were indeed responsible and because Jesus was indeed tortured. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristinaP.Apr 29, 2008
it was a very good movie,amazing direction,close to the real facts of what happened the last days of Christ on Earth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewMApr 10, 2009
First of all I am very disappointed in some of the comments being posted on this board... just because you may not believe does NOT give you the right to attack Catholicism or any other faith. This movie was made to display, with First of all I am very disappointed in some of the comments being posted on this board... just because you may not believe does NOT give you the right to attack Catholicism or any other faith. This movie was made to display, with excruciating detail, the last 12 hours of Jesus' life. This movie was not meant to be the "feel good movie of the year", but rather to show the pain that one man endured for the sake of our salvation. He endured that pain that we would not have to. I'm apologize to anyone who thinks that I am trying to preach my religious beliefs, but I am not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GetRealApr 17, 2004
People! A nun (Emmerich) who died in 1824 saw this in her dream "just the way it was", and wrote it down. What did you expect? you went in to see a movie about Christ's tortutre and crucifiction as seen in Sr. Emmerich's Dream? I People! A nun (Emmerich) who died in 1824 saw this in her dream "just the way it was", and wrote it down. What did you expect? you went in to see a movie about Christ's tortutre and crucifiction as seen in Sr. Emmerich's Dream? I bet all the ZEROs never read the book or even heard of it. How come no one cried "gory" or "anti-Aryan" about Saving Private Ryan, even the camera lens had blood on it. What does this say about all the ZEROs who will never know why christ suffered: Inmates were shown the movie in jails got its message and cried thier souls out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamE.Mar 12, 2006
If I were Catholic, I would give it a 10, but I am Baptist. I am excited that someone is brave enough to create a film that is this religious, but why focus the camera on The Virgin Mary and name the movie about Jesus Christ.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TheQuietGamerApr 3, 2016
Part of what works with the movie is that it's not a sermon. It's just a graphic depiction of (arguably) the most important moment in Christian faith. Yes, there is a message going on, but it's more of a "this is what happened" sort of thingPart of what works with the movie is that it's not a sermon. It's just a graphic depiction of (arguably) the most important moment in Christian faith. Yes, there is a message going on, but it's more of a "this is what happened" sort of thing as opposed to "Jesus suffered through this so you need to get saved!"

It's a very graphic and violent movie. Realism is the theme so no punch is really pulled. At times it even reaches "Saw" levels of torture porn. There's no mutilation, but we see a great deal of pain being inflicted on Jesus. Realistic wounds appear as a result and every ounce of agony is excellently captured by Jim Caviezel.

For Christians this is going to be a tough, but powerful reminder of what Jesus went through for our salvation. It will speak to our faith and makes us feel. For non-believers it's evident that Mel Gibson is trying to reach you by hoping that the gut punch of the films brutal nature hits you hard enough to touch your heart. The results may vary.

Outside of some embellishments and acts of what I guess you could call "artistic flair" this is an almost completely accurate depiction of the death of Jesus as the Bible tells it. The thing that sets it apart from other tellings of the same story is that this one does not shy away from any depiction of the violence that went on. It's brutal, violent, and bloody. Thankfully it also manages to be powerful. Not just for the Christian audience either. Those who don't believe, yet have an open mind can find this movie to be a respectable telling of the of the death of Christ almost exactly as the Bible says it happened.

The at times downright savage nature of it could be a turn off or even downright offensive to some. Mel Gibson has embarrassed Christianity a lot over the years. However this he got right.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Commen0136Mar 6, 2011
The Passion of the Christ is a very violent way of showing Jesus' crucifixion. I know this film is old and my review is pretty late but I still want to spread my thoughts on this film. There may be some scenes that are really disturbing butThe Passion of the Christ is a very violent way of showing Jesus' crucifixion. I know this film is old and my review is pretty late but I still want to spread my thoughts on this film. There may be some scenes that are really disturbing but this shows how much Jesus' loves us, he went through all of that to save us from our sins. I think the filmmakers are trying to convey that message and they succeeded. This film is really well done and shouldn't be missed (unless you're young because its really violent) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
saccyindJul 29, 2011
James Caviezel Was The Best Jesus EVER EVER.Music By John Debney Was Beyond Brilliant.Mel Gibson is A Filmmaker On Par With Scorcese Overall The Passion Of Christ Is Truly A Great Film .The Greatest

10/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
aaronpaul121May 26, 2012
I love how the movie stayed true to the events in the Bible. But sadly as a Roman Catholic, it didn't move me the way I wanted it to be and it really disappoints me. But nevertheless, it really teaches me that we must appreciate what JesusI love how the movie stayed true to the events in the Bible. But sadly as a Roman Catholic, it didn't move me the way I wanted it to be and it really disappoints me. But nevertheless, it really teaches me that we must appreciate what Jesus Christ did, because all he did is to sacrifice for the sake of the human race. Also, because of the brutal events of the Crucifixion of Jesus Christ in the movie, it made me realize that we need to give Him something in return by US following His Commandments and by loving one another even your mortal enemies............... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 28, 2014
Religion aside, what Mel Gibson was able to create with The Passion is extraordinary. One of the most violent, honest and brutal tellings of the crucifixion. Jim Caviezel's performance is beyond passionate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleMar 8, 2016
Bordering on torture porn at times, The Passion of the Christ may very well be one of the most divisive films of all-time. Personally, I loved it. Though brutal, the film showcases Mel Gibson brilliantly using extreme violence to provideBordering on torture porn at times, The Passion of the Christ may very well be one of the most divisive films of all-time. Personally, I loved it. Though brutal, the film showcases Mel Gibson brilliantly using extreme violence to provide visual evidence of pain and suffering that sin brings. The prolonged scenes of torture were obviously a little much, but further exemplified this suffering and the price Christ paid for us to have salvation. Where The Passion of the Christ overcomes this extreme violence is in its portrayal of Jesus. Easily the best portrayal of Jesus that I have ever seen, Jim Caviezel was brilliant. The dialogue for Christ was on point, as was Caviezel's delivery and, to me, mannerisms. I was frequently almost moved to tears as I watched Caviezel's Jesus truly exemplify what I believe Jesus to be. Additionally, though she had no dialogue, Rosalinda Celentano was brilliant. A menacing and evil presence, she captured the true visual essence of Satan and every time she was around, it sent chills down your spine. Now, I should mention that the film is unabashedly anti-semitic. While a drawback, this is not something that deterred me from truly enjoying this film, though I am unsure that I ever want to watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AloyApr 8, 2014
Intense, Brutal and heart-piercing! Hats off to the painstaking work done by the cast and crew! Mel Gibson has pleasantly surprised me, and i truly respect him for this! ...all in all Great stuff!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMasterLFeb 5, 2015
Una increíble producción cinematográfica, Mel Gibson no creo una película, creo una obra de arte, me atrevo a decir que es la mejor adaptación de todos los tiempos y de las mejores películas que e visto en toda mi vida. Es poderosa,Una increíble producción cinematográfica, Mel Gibson no creo una película, creo una obra de arte, me atrevo a decir que es la mejor adaptación de todos los tiempos y de las mejores películas que e visto en toda mi vida. Es poderosa, artísticamente perfecta, cualquier aspecto cinematográfico es llevado excelente, una joya del cine.
10/10
★★★★★
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nicolerickyFeb 6, 2015
I loved this movie so much i went to see it twice and i went out and bought it too. The first time i went to watch the movie i went with my friends at school one the boys in my grade father bought over a hundred tickets for his friends andI loved this movie so much i went to see it twice and i went out and bought it too. The first time i went to watch the movie i went with my friends at school one the boys in my grade father bought over a hundred tickets for his friends and asked not pay him back. The second time i went with my youth group. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews