User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 783 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CliffUrbanas,Jr.
    Mar 1, 2004
    10
    One of the most well done movies I've ever seen. It was violent but the Bible tells it the same way...how could the film do any less? I felt throughout the film: how could someone love and forgive as this Man did! A lesson for us all.
  2. MarkG.
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    Gibson stepped out on a limb to portray the story of Christ outside the civilized norm of consumer religion. For those that prefer a cross-less Christ, this is not the movie to watch. The event is historically documented by secular and religious sources and yet is scandalized as gratutious and sadistic. To accept the event, as Gibson portrays it, is an indictment of the human condition; Gibson stepped out on a limb to portray the story of Christ outside the civilized norm of consumer religion. For those that prefer a cross-less Christ, this is not the movie to watch. The event is historically documented by secular and religious sources and yet is scandalized as gratutious and sadistic. To accept the event, as Gibson portrays it, is an indictment of the human condition; one that most defiintely needs rescuing. Gibson leaves the viewer with a perplexing question: what to do with a Christ that claimed to suffer on the behalf of humanity? Expand
  3. MelissaH.
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    People need to realize that the "passion" depicts how much torture the Son of God would endure because he loved us all enough to endure. That was the point Gibson was trying to make, everyone is to blame for His crucifixion because He put himself through that torture for all of us. To make us believe, have faith, and show us how to behave when under persecution for our beliefs.
  4. JeromeV.
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    This violence contained in this film is one of the factors that made this movie so powerful. Yes, at times the scenes were too gory. All the buzzes that is surrounding this movie, the audience should already know that they're going to be seeing a very violent film. Also I don't consider this an anti-Semitic film. Gibson focused more on how Jesus suffered and that's what the This violence contained in this film is one of the factors that made this movie so powerful. Yes, at times the scenes were too gory. All the buzzes that is surrounding this movie, the audience should already know that they're going to be seeing a very violent film. Also I don't consider this an anti-Semitic film. Gibson focused more on how Jesus suffered and that's what the audience is supposed to be focusing about because that's the film's essence. Expand
  5. JoshW.
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    Those of you who question the accuracy of this movie clearly haven't read the Bible all that closely. And as far as a complaint that the movie ignores Jesus' message of love, well that doesn't really hold up either. The movie shows us the price Jesus paid for his love of humanity. It isn't necessary to show us his whole life, there have been other movies before that Those of you who question the accuracy of this movie clearly haven't read the Bible all that closely. And as far as a complaint that the movie ignores Jesus' message of love, well that doesn't really hold up either. The movie shows us the price Jesus paid for his love of humanity. It isn't necessary to show us his whole life, there have been other movies before that have done that, and we still have the Bible as a direct source now don't we. This movie was accurate down to the whips used and the number of strikes administered (these facts are included in the Bible). I am not a Christian but I do have a true love for anyone who teaches us about love, and I've noticed that we have a societal trend of killing these people. Ghandi, The Rev. King are two more examples. The beauty of this movie is that it shows us the sacrifice Jesus made. Although we are not all familiar enough with his teachings, we are aware of them, Gibson's film was made with this in mind. I am proud that this film was made. It is a true work of art. I am also proud that a film was finally made that shows us, with brutal honesty the price our very finest are willing to pay for us all. Expand
  6. MarkN.
    Mar 6, 2004
    10
    Mel has created his masterpiece. This film will go down in history as the most powerful biblical epic ever witnessed on the big screen. Will be the box offices biggest moneymaker for a film based on religion and for a film in subtitles, and it could even challenge Titanic for the all-time box office champ. To not feel the emotions of this movie is to not have a soul, which is why so many Mel has created his masterpiece. This film will go down in history as the most powerful biblical epic ever witnessed on the big screen. Will be the box offices biggest moneymaker for a film based on religion and for a film in subtitles, and it could even challenge Titanic for the all-time box office champ. To not feel the emotions of this movie is to not have a soul, which is why so many people will see this movie multiple times and keep it rising up the all time charts. Expand
  7. ChristianG.
    Apr 1, 2004
    10
    The main message of this story is... when u got home u will feel emotionally wrecked!! it keeps my faith in God.
  8. HarryS.
    Apr 30, 2004
    10
    Mel Gibson is the greatest man alive.... this movie was very very very good... its what us christians believe in and that is why it is so good... if you think that this movie is wrong or bad then maybe you should watch it again and don't think of your own religon.. watch it as you would any other movie and realize that Jesus died for all of us... he could have fled but he didn't Mel Gibson is the greatest man alive.... this movie was very very very good... its what us christians believe in and that is why it is so good... if you think that this movie is wrong or bad then maybe you should watch it again and don't think of your own religon.. watch it as you would any other movie and realize that Jesus died for all of us... he could have fled but he didn't because he loved us all too much... i would give this movie a 1,000,000,000 out of 10 if i could... and once again you go mel! Expand
  9. ChrisT.
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    I would like to say this is the best Jesus movie ever. Secondly to comments made by the person named CG, the purpose of Jesus life was to die for our sins so the death, burial and resurrection of Christ is Christianity. All must believe in Jesus to have a relationship with God, even Jews, or they will die and go to Hell like all other unbelievers.
  10. RoyT.
    Feb 24, 2004
    10
    Powerful
  11. JoelB.
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    The Passion Of The Christ is easily one of the best films I've seen in a couple of years. It was stirring emotional, yet also physically as I couldn't help but wince whenever Jesus was beaten. To say this movie is Anti-Semitic it to say any movie that has a protagonist is anti-whatever can be labelled upon that protagonist. Its like saying court movies or any movie that involves The Passion Of The Christ is easily one of the best films I've seen in a couple of years. It was stirring emotional, yet also physically as I couldn't help but wince whenever Jesus was beaten. To say this movie is Anti-Semitic it to say any movie that has a protagonist is anti-whatever can be labelled upon that protagonist. Its like saying court movies or any movie that involves people wanting "justice" done anti-prosecution. It is ridiculous to use the word pornographic with this film. Pornographic material has only to do with things that are to make you think of sex. I'm not sure why somebody would use this word. There are far better ones to use for what they are trying to say. Any of which I would not agree, because none of the violence is gratuitous. Its not like Jesus or any other criminal in that era would've been given rights like they do today. This movie is, granted, hard to stomach, but it is something most people should see for the same reason they should see Schindler's List and Saving Private Ryan. Expand
  12. DaveA.
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    This was a very difficult movie to see. If you are christian or catholic this movie puts all what you learned into visual aspects. It is very graphic and moving. People need to see this film. It has changed me for the better and I believe it will change many others. I will live for Jesus more now than I have previously in my life. The simple teachings of loving your neighbors is brought This was a very difficult movie to see. If you are christian or catholic this movie puts all what you learned into visual aspects. It is very graphic and moving. People need to see this film. It has changed me for the better and I believe it will change many others. I will live for Jesus more now than I have previously in my life. The simple teachings of loving your neighbors is brought to the forefront in this movie. if people are walking away from this movie with negative feelings, like jews for example, then they must feel guilty for what has happened, otherwise they shouldnt be worrying at all about this film. Im a christian and I feel guilty for what happened. I will do my best to be kind to each person I meet in my life. Thats the message here people. The outward message is that Jesus died for us, but I think the real message Mel Gibson wanted people to find from this movie is to love one another no matter of color or creed. BRAVO Mr Gibson!! Expand
  13. MarcosP.
    Feb 29, 2004
    10
    This movie was very, very powerful and moving, so go in expecting tears on multiple scenes. It still amazes me when people talk about how anti-Semitic this film is. I can't help but think how foolish a thought that is considering ANYONE could have killed Jesus and the point would not change. Jesus died in fulfillment of the scriptures, NOT because anyone got the better of him. It was This movie was very, very powerful and moving, so go in expecting tears on multiple scenes. It still amazes me when people talk about how anti-Semitic this film is. I can't help but think how foolish a thought that is considering ANYONE could have killed Jesus and the point would not change. Jesus died in fulfillment of the scriptures, NOT because anyone got the better of him. It was His choice to die, so how can the Jews be at fault? Sorry, but that's a very silly argument against this amazingly well-made movie... Expand
  14. JayW.
    Mar 1, 2004
    10
    It is more than a movie; it is a life-changing ecperience! It raises one's awareness of the ultimate sacrifice that Jesus made for all mankind! God so loved the world that He gave His only Begotten Son! Jesus gave His life for you and for me! The movie is an awesome display of the willingness of Christ to give His life for mankind!
  15. RussP.
    Mar 1, 2004
    10
    I say to the people who hated this film, because it was graphic or anti-semetic, let me tell you something. First of all, the violence is necessary for the film, because Christain Doctrine says that Jesus was brutally beaten and died for everyone's sins. Jesus came to earth to die for us and many critic's and people don't know this. Second, this movie is NOT ANTI-SEMETIC. I say to the people who hated this film, because it was graphic or anti-semetic, let me tell you something. First of all, the violence is necessary for the film, because Christain Doctrine says that Jesus was brutally beaten and died for everyone's sins. Jesus came to earth to die for us and many critic's and people don't know this. Second, this movie is NOT ANTI-SEMETIC. Jesus was a Jew. Mary was a jew. The person who played Mary in the film was a jew and if this movie was anti-semetic why was she in the film? Jews aren't responsible for Jesus's death, we all are. this movie was very powerful and moving to me. I now have an even larger respect for Mel Gibson for making a wonderful film. I also have a greater respect for Rogar Ebert for being the only critic on the list to give the film 4 stars. I hope this movie becomes even more successful then it already is. **** out of **** Expand
  16. DaleC.
    Mar 15, 2004
    10
    The film is timely and timeless regardless of its religious moorings. Its central theme illustrates the essential element in the human/faith interface-stoic resolve in the face of mortal passion(s). Were Christ only a man, wouldn't the sacrifice be even more precious (if foolish)? Clearly, Christianity (at least protestant Christianity) is a religion of "the common man", allowing no The film is timely and timeless regardless of its religious moorings. Its central theme illustrates the essential element in the human/faith interface-stoic resolve in the face of mortal passion(s). Were Christ only a man, wouldn't the sacrifice be even more precious (if foolish)? Clearly, Christianity (at least protestant Christianity) is a religion of "the common man", allowing no "deocracy" between man and his God. The Gibson film accurately depicts the tendency in all human deocracies (perhaps all species) to PASSIONATELY respond to the "New Kid in Town". I buy the story. Expand
  17. ChadW.
    Mar 1, 2004
    10
    To call this a "movie" is almost insulting; it was more of an experience. Jesus' love and forgiveness are seen in the one act that demonstrated them both better than any other; His substitutionary death for the sins of mankind.
  18. JeffN.
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    Jesus died for us. We killed him. Not just the Jews, not just the Romans. Everyone killed him. I believe that is what Mel Gibson is trying to convey in this film. Those that see hate need to find Jesus.
  19. MattB.
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    I only gave this movie a 10 because there is nothing higher. I myself am a Catholic and to see this movie put my faith and religion into perspective. It was an amazing movie and should be hailed as the best movie ever.
  20. ArthurP.
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    It is an amazing portrayal of part of the Bible. I am baffled how anyone could call it anti-Semitic.
  21. WalterV.
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    Parts of the movie were rather violent, I had to avert my eyes during parts of the whipping scene. Ancient historians eg Josephus confirm the whole thing actually happened, the only part that is debatable is if he really rose from the dead or not, in the last minute or so of the film; belieiving he did is one of the main things that separate christians from non- christians. It was very Parts of the movie were rather violent, I had to avert my eyes during parts of the whipping scene. Ancient historians eg Josephus confirm the whole thing actually happened, the only part that is debatable is if he really rose from the dead or not, in the last minute or so of the film; belieiving he did is one of the main things that separate christians from non- christians. It was very powerful, i cried twice, something i haven't done since Bambi's mother died. I liked how the film showed the human side of Jesus. If you're into studying the Bible but find it hard to visualize what you're reading about, the movie really helps, giving the whole book a kind gothic, fantasy feel, that makes it that much more interesting, and also makes it easier to visualize. Suddenly we can picture what the Pharisees looked like, or the landscapes, Roman's etc. I wonder if there will be a sequel, focusing on the adventures of the apostles. Expand
  22. NickolasR.
    Mar 29, 2004
    10
    This was the best movie that I ever saw. All the people that saw the movie and didn't like it are all wrong. The only reason they didn't like is because there was too much truth to it, and it was about something that they are all scared of. They had no right to say that about a movie that is just portraying the life and the death of the Son of God. Like I said, the only reason This was the best movie that I ever saw. All the people that saw the movie and didn't like it are all wrong. The only reason they didn't like is because there was too much truth to it, and it was about something that they are all scared of. They had no right to say that about a movie that is just portraying the life and the death of the Son of God. Like I said, the only reason they made a big deal about it was the fact the fact it was about Christ. They said it was all too bloody. Oh well. If you ask me, it was not gruesome enough. They could of went into even more detail about the things that he went through. They never made a big deal about movies like "American History X." Expand
  23. SimonP.
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    This is the best movie since Braveheart and shows very well the life of christ.
  24. EmyrE.
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    Being a christian myself I think mel gibson has made an amazing movie showing the love that God had for us, that he sent his only son to die on the cross for our sins. this movie is truely powerful.
  25. RobertM.
    Mar 5, 2004
    10
    Nothing worse than those reviewers that either haven't seen the movie or the reviewer who submitted a bunch of one liner reviews rated 0 or 1 to falsely lower the overall rating (brianna funicella, shlomo y. murray the l. etc - read them together, starting at John S., it reads like one review!). Obviously one person wrote them all. Metacritic should delete those silly fake reviews. Nothing worse than those reviewers that either haven't seen the movie or the reviewer who submitted a bunch of one liner reviews rated 0 or 1 to falsely lower the overall rating (brianna funicella, shlomo y. murray the l. etc - read them together, starting at John S., it reads like one review!). Obviously one person wrote them all. Metacritic should delete those silly fake reviews. As an Agnostic who used to be a Catholic I was moved to tears throughout. I want to read more about Jesus now. The Passion Of The Christ should eventually go down as a classic film once all the negative publicity has died down. Yes there is a lot of blood shed in this film but in today's world would we still be affected by the near bloodless version of Jesus' death that is presented in older movies? I don't believe so. This is a movie for today, not the 1950s or 1960s. Expand
  26. ShaW.
    Mar 7, 2004
    10
    A shocking and moving movie!!!!!! Also very intense with the violence but it demonstrates what Jesus went through in the last 12 hours of his life!!! He stood up for what he believed in even when they were beating him to death!!!! Any body who believes in JESUS and his ways should see this movie!!!! See what he endured just to save other people!!! No one should criticize this movie!!!
  27. R.C.
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    Some people just don't get it... Most movies about Jesus or religion are about His love and teachings. Including the Passion--the brutal way HE died is because HE loved inspite of mankind's sins. That was the purpose. Just like one comment made out there, when a movie like the Passion makes people uncomfortable, they trash it....Get real...not all things in life are comfortable. Some people just don't get it... Most movies about Jesus or religion are about His love and teachings. Including the Passion--the brutal way HE died is because HE loved inspite of mankind's sins. That was the purpose. Just like one comment made out there, when a movie like the Passion makes people uncomfortable, they trash it....Get real...not all things in life are comfortable. Stop making excuses for what you are or not.....No movie maker has as much guts as Mel Gibson. That I commend...HIGHLY! Expand
  28. NunoP.
    May 20, 2004
    10
    This movie is a masterpiece. Anti-Semitism? Well, why don´t you people stop whining and accept with humility that you have shamed us all in the past. Don´t rate this movie badly just because you can´t handle the truth... And those of you who thought this movie was too violent, please grow up someday and get out of that fairy tale world of yours.
  29. SelenaJ.
    May 7, 2004
    10
    I think that this movie is great. This movie shows everything that Jesus did for us and that was only the last 12 hours. Jesus loved us so much that he went through that much longer than shown in the movie. This movie showed be how grateful I should be for all he has done for me and you. If people don't like this movie, you don't believe in Jesus. You must not be saved.
  30. NicholasA.
    Aug 20, 2004
    10
    Anyone who gives this movie a low rating or criticises it is either an atheist or someone who just doesn't have enough faith in God to understand. This film showed what really happened at the time of Christ's crucifixtion and Gibson rightfully had no intention on holding back anything from the audience. For us to visually see the pain Jesus had to endure to save us from our sins Anyone who gives this movie a low rating or criticises it is either an atheist or someone who just doesn't have enough faith in God to understand. This film showed what really happened at the time of Christ's crucifixtion and Gibson rightfully had no intention on holding back anything from the audience. For us to visually see the pain Jesus had to endure to save us from our sins is what had the most powerful effect on most people. To see how much Christ had to suffer in order to save us deepened my faith and I thank fellow Catholic Mel Gibson for bravely making this movie. To all the atheists in the world, this night and every night that follows I will pray for your safe deliverance from hell and your entrance into heaven. Expand
  31. JoeP.
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    Great movie, Wish non-believers would understand it more and not put it down.
  32. TimM.
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    I believe the movie showed just how much God loves us. Why is so hard for some too believe? We all know about hatred, but when it comes to love we try to explain it away. God loves us and sent his son to die for us. This movie captures the last hours of our Lord Jesus life and why we should worship him.
  33. DarrylD.
    Dec 13, 2004
    10
    Your life depends on how you treat this truth.
  34. SunnieC.
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    What most people seem to miss is that the crucifixion of Jesus was not a tragedy. It was an accomplishment! He could have stopped it at any time. The torture He endured, he endured willingly, because of His great love for us. Without it, we would all be lost. His torture and death allowed for us to be reunited with a Holy God, that cannot look upon sin, but loved us enough to provide a What most people seem to miss is that the crucifixion of Jesus was not a tragedy. It was an accomplishment! He could have stopped it at any time. The torture He endured, he endured willingly, because of His great love for us. Without it, we would all be lost. His torture and death allowed for us to be reunited with a Holy God, that cannot look upon sin, but loved us enough to provide a way to be with Him. Expand
  35. BillyBobJoe
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    It escapes me how stupid people can be. This movie is not anti-Semitic, it's the history found in the Bible. If this movie is anti-Semitic, I guess Schindler's List is totally anti-German, yet I didn't hear people complain about that movie.
  36. ChaninderB.
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    Nothing is wrong with this movie, you have to respect how well it was made, and how well of a movie it was.
  37. NicolasD.
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    All the bad critics i read have nothing to do with the movie. I'm pretty sure those people haven't seen the film. With those kind of people, i'm pretty sure that Jesus suffered this way now. So it's not so violent, "it is as it was" ;) The movie is brilliant!
  38. KevinK.
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    The reason why the suffering of Jesus is more significant than "others" who suffer is because he is GOD, he committed no wrong, no sin, was completely blameless in everyway, yet he was savaged by man - his own creation. This incredible film gives life to that.
  39. EmilioR.
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    Great movie.
  40. Freakky105
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    The Passion of the Christ was perhaps one of the most violent, brutal, and shocking movies I have ever seen, but on the other hand, is one of the greatest telling of the life of Jesus Christ. What many will find gross and disgusting, as well as overdone and excessive, Gibson's portrayal of Jesus's last hours are probably in all manners speaking what actually happened. Jesus was The Passion of the Christ was perhaps one of the most violent, brutal, and shocking movies I have ever seen, but on the other hand, is one of the greatest telling of the life of Jesus Christ. What many will find gross and disgusting, as well as overdone and excessive, Gibson's portrayal of Jesus's last hours are probably in all manners speaking what actually happened. Jesus was not spared a bit a sympathy b/c there were women and children around, he was not whipped, lashed, and beaten a few times, but numerous times times, in the hundreds. Gibson portrays his last few hours as they truly were, UNIMAGINABLY PAINFUL. This is not a movie about the message of Jesus, or about his life. This is a movie about his sacrifice, his willingness to leave this earth, and his willingness to bear the sin of man. This movie was not made to draw anti-semitism from those who see it, but to bring people together. The greatest sacrifice of all time, and what does it do, nothing but cause problems. This movie is a vivid and stunning portrayal of the world that was and the world that is, and all b/c of one man. Instead of disregarding this tale and telling of perhaps the greatest story of all time, we should embrace it, use it, learn from it. Do not find its faults, but learn from its message. Embrace it. This is as powerful as they come, no other telling has been so clear as to what happened. Expand
  41. NathanT.
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    Jesus was the greatest thing to ever happen and this movie shows why. He died for the Jews and Muslims and Buddists and even them people who does yoga. I like all the blood, it makes it real and it's all true just read the Bible.
  42. MiguelZ.
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    Greatest film about Christ, I have ever seen. No words can describe my true feeling about this film. I never been speechless in how Christ (God) died for my sins. It's like I was actually there. In actuality, it reminds me how bad our sins really are. Every drop of blood from his body was for my every sin, such as lies, deciets, scolding, mocking, and malice. All our sins were Greatest film about Christ, I have ever seen. No words can describe my true feeling about this film. I never been speechless in how Christ (God) died for my sins. It's like I was actually there. In actuality, it reminds me how bad our sins really are. Every drop of blood from his body was for my every sin, such as lies, deciets, scolding, mocking, and malice. All our sins were exposed and were brought upon Jesus Christ (God). This film will be in my liberary (DVD) and might just be the greatest story on film ever told. Expand
  43. MikeC.
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    An outstanding movie about a narrowly defined historical event. It is about the 12 most painful hours in the life of Christ. To minimize the gore would have minimized the sacrifice. To have expanded the focus would have reduced the impact. Take it for what it is, not what others wish it was.
  44. GeorgeT.
    Feb 28, 2004
    10
    A movie, both disturbing but deeply stirring. Those that find it violent or anti-semetic are fooling themselves. This is a realistic and historically accurate portrayal of what Jesus had to go through during his final hours on Earth.
  45. DavidL.
    Feb 28, 2004
    10
    Oh my. this is the most powerful, profound, deep, amazing, wonderful, and stirring movie i have ever watched in my life. thats all there is too it. anti-semetic? too bloody? no. not at all. it was simply reality. simply what actually happened to Jesus. Mel Gibson has really made an amazing movie.
  46. MarkA.
    Feb 28, 2004
    10
    The movie in overall presentation is an accurate depiction of the "passion" or the "sufferings" of the Christ. This movie is NOT about the entire life of Jesus, but a 12 hour window. The criticisms of overdone violence by film critics only prove their personal ignorance of the event. a Jewish prophet over 2,000 years before the actual event predicted that Jesus would suffer more than any The movie in overall presentation is an accurate depiction of the "passion" or the "sufferings" of the Christ. This movie is NOT about the entire life of Jesus, but a 12 hour window. The criticisms of overdone violence by film critics only prove their personal ignorance of the event. a Jewish prophet over 2,000 years before the actual event predicted that Jesus would suffer more than any man saying, "Just as there were many who were appalled at him- his appearance was so disfigured beyond that of any man, and his form marred beyond human likeness." (Prophet Isaiah) How do get to that place without EXTREME BRUTALITY? There are some "Hollywood" moments in the movie not found in the Bible. But I don't believe they dilute the overall powerful production. Expand
  47. KathyH.
    Feb 29, 2004
    10
    It's about time someone should what christ did for all of us thank you.
  48. Houseman
    Feb 29, 2004
    10
    Nothing will be the same after this.
  49. LoydovikosG.
    Feb 29, 2004
    10
    At last one true movie of how Our Lord Jesus Christ suffered all this pain for us and for our sins. The best movie i have ever seen in my entire life. Of course all the credits goes to Mel Gibson ,who made a fantastic movie of how the true facts were, and to James Caviezel who plays the role of Jesus Christ so well. I had a vision of how Jesus Christ would be and James Caviezel looks At last one true movie of how Our Lord Jesus Christ suffered all this pain for us and for our sins. The best movie i have ever seen in my entire life. Of course all the credits goes to Mel Gibson ,who made a fantastic movie of how the true facts were, and to James Caviezel who plays the role of Jesus Christ so well. I had a vision of how Jesus Christ would be and James Caviezel looks exactly how i imagined HIM. Once again BRAVO MEL AND JAMES !!! Expand
  50. RobertN.
    Feb 29, 2004
    10
    The most disgusting and the most beautiful movie I have ever seen.
  51. TerryA.
    Mar 1, 2004
    10
    Congrats to Mr. Gibson for sticking with his vision.
  52. MichaelS.
    Mar 1, 2004
    10
    This movie was a wonderful depiction of Christ's final hours before the crucifixion. It was hard to watch someone go through what Jesus went through but I believe it is necessary to see. The Bible tells us Jesus suffered through this so that we don't have to suffer in hell. Mel didn't suger-coat the story either, this is not your Sunday-school, brown hair, blue-eyed Jesus. This movie was a wonderful depiction of Christ's final hours before the crucifixion. It was hard to watch someone go through what Jesus went through but I believe it is necessary to see. The Bible tells us Jesus suffered through this so that we don't have to suffer in hell. Mel didn't suger-coat the story either, this is not your Sunday-school, brown hair, blue-eyed Jesus. This is the real thing, brought to real life. Please understand this is not a fictional event, this is really what happened. Expand
  53. RebeccaR.
    Mar 1, 2004
    10
    This is a movie on the gospel account of the crucifixion of Christ. To have made it less violent would have been a lie. People who object to the movie object to Christian scriptures. Extremely moving and well done.
  54. GerardoG.
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    This movie was excellent we?ll interpreted look at the bible lots of blood and violence but it happened we can?t forget that.
  55. KobeeH.
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    Alright. I can't continue to sit by and watch this movie get slaughtered over and over again by truly ignorant people. First off, the violence. This movie is violent yes, but it only adds to the movie and takes nothing away. I believe Gibson decided to make the scenes so graphic, so we can feel the pain also. It is NOT overdone, it is surreal and vivid. Anyone who wants watered down Alright. I can't continue to sit by and watch this movie get slaughtered over and over again by truly ignorant people. First off, the violence. This movie is violent yes, but it only adds to the movie and takes nothing away. I believe Gibson decided to make the scenes so graphic, so we can feel the pain also. It is NOT overdone, it is surreal and vivid. Anyone who wants watered down Christ movies, see all of them that came before.Second, this movie CONSTANTLY show you Christ the teacher, the messenger, the shepard.As well as Christ the man. Thirdly, this movie is NOT anti-Jew!A Jew helped him carry the cross, a Jew defended him, Jews cried for him. Some, and I mean SOME Jews called for his death. Not ALL. Beyond all that. This movie is a true achievement in cinema. I was truly moved. Gibson and everyone involved in the making of this movie are true pioneers. I am truly grateful to all of them for the experience. If anyone reading this even has a slight interest in seeing this movie, do it. Don't think about it.Even if you don't have an interest.See it.I promise you and experience that will not be forgotten. Expand
  56. Brandon
    Mar 27, 2004
    10
    Wow, either you hate this movie or you love it. in all fairness, it was really a good jesus film...it isn't anti- semetic and all you who think so are just jumping on the bandwagon and can't think for themselves. A mighty ten.
  57. Rich
    Mar 29, 2004
    10
    A masterpiece. Though violent it is not gratuitous an awe inspiring glimpse into the resolve, faithfulness and love of Jesus the Messiah. The most beautiful and poignant scene is when, on the walk to golgotha Jesus meets his mother and is shown to us as the man who is "making all things new".
  58. WilliamL.
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    Finally a movie about religion that isnt afraid to go places. I really liked this movie even though i had to read it lolol. Very powerful everyone should take something from this movie. It will definitely make you think.
  59. M.Z.
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    Very well made movie...Yes, the scourging was a little too excessive. i'm a surprised by the criticism cause people applauded after the film was over; as for all this anti-semetic accusations, not true. see the movie as a movie--great cinematography, score, art, costume ; good acting by Caviezel and Morgenstern....it's a movie with images that will stick with you.
  60. NorbertJ.
    Mar 31, 2004
    10
    Amazing, but sad i saw a lot of movies, I mean a lot,I can watch few times again, but I can't see twice the passion, because my heart can't handle this story. I was sad, mad about the romanist peoples, they were barbarian. Congratulation Mr. Gibson.
  61. TamarK.
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    Absolutely wonderful...Mel Gibson is a genius...I congratulate u for ur braveness to step up and share your vision...Everyone see it!
  62. DanaP.
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    I must say, this is the most powerful and moving movie I have ever seen, and will ever see again. Yes, this movie is extremely, horrendously violent, but this is to demonstrate the most important point of the gospels: Jesus sacrificed himself to save us from our sins. It shows who he truly was. Would you go through that torment to save the world? Probably not. He could have easily saved I must say, this is the most powerful and moving movie I have ever seen, and will ever see again. Yes, this movie is extremely, horrendously violent, but this is to demonstrate the most important point of the gospels: Jesus sacrificed himself to save us from our sins. It shows who he truly was. Would you go through that torment to save the world? Probably not. He could have easily saved himself from his gruesome death, but he chose not to because he loved us enough to pave the way to Heaven. The violence is not to arouse guilt, but to show Jesus' love. One of the best parts, in my opinion, is when Jesus is on the cross, praying for his enemies. What is love if not that? For those saying that Jesus is about love and not violence, yes this is true, but Jesus showed his love through his suffering. How could you depict his love without showing his pain and sacrifice? This movie does not promote anti-Roman or anti-Semetic feelings. The movie follows the Bible almost exactly: the Jews condemned Jesus to death and the Romans carried out their desire. It is simply history. To me, being outraged at the what is construed as blame placed on the Jews and Romans is like being outraged at the blame placed on the Germans from watching Schindler's list. Just as not all of the Germans supported the Jewish genocide, not all Jews supported Jesus' crucifixion. The Natzis were instigators just as the Pharisees were. Those people were to blame, but not their whole race. If you are shocked at the violence, what could you expect? If you saw anything or read anything about this you knew upfront that it was meant to be an accurate representation of the last 12 hours of Christ. Though the Bible doesn't have the gory details, you know whipping and crucifixion are ugly and brutal. This movie is not the little children and sheep Jesus movies typically made. No holding back. It was purposely made to be intense and heart-wrenching in order to make the visual connection between Christ's suffering and his love. I attend a Christian high school, and the entire high school took a field trip to see this movie. Its message is so powerful that silence filled the theater even after the movie and the credits were finished. And you know that it is almost completely impossible to shut up 100-some-odd high school students all in the same room. Few could honestly say that they did not tear up at least a little bit. I know I did. It's almost inconceivable that someone would sacrifice so much. The movie clearly portrays the weight of his sacrifice for our salvation, and it has definitely brought a whole new perspective about Jesus' death to me. This movie is about truth, and the truth should be exposed as it is. Anything else is only partial truth, and what good is that? For those saying that there is a lack of conflict, I thought it quite obvious that the conflict was spiritual. The opening scene at Gethsemane with Jesus praying and Satan tempting clearly defines this. It's a conflict far too deep to express simply in a movie. Those familiar with the Bible know this. And you cannot judge this movie on the usual standards because it is not for entertainment. Anyway, now that I'm done with my short novel there, I must say that the costumes, the casting, the realism, everything was wonderfully well done. Yes, perhaps the slow-mo was a bit overdone, but that did not matter to me. I love how they speak in Latin and Aramaic-- it brings a whole new facet to the portrayal. I only wish there had been a bit more leading up to everything, though it was done quite well through the flashbacks. I applaud Mel Gibson for having the courage and audacity to create a religious movie of this magnitude. P.S.-- If you can't take the movie, I suggest reading the book. It's even better=0) Expand
  63. ShirleyJ.
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    Mel Gibson's movie is a depiction of the greatest love story ever told, and I thank God a more accurate depiction of that story has finally been told. No more the neat and tidy crucifixion scenes with a few trickles of blood. No more the delicate, fragile looking Jesus. This was a strong man in the prime of His life. This was a man who came to this earth with a purpose that included Mel Gibson's movie is a depiction of the greatest love story ever told, and I thank God a more accurate depiction of that story has finally been told. No more the neat and tidy crucifixion scenes with a few trickles of blood. No more the delicate, fragile looking Jesus. This was a strong man in the prime of His life. This was a man who came to this earth with a purpose that included all of humanity. He did not flinch, did not falter, and did not quit until His destiny was fulfilled. The violence moved me to tears. The finale moved me to cheers. I do not understand how some people can feed on and favorably watch filth and violence streaming through our television sets and across our movie screens every day, and then look at a factual movie with an un-escapable depiction of overwhelming love and find fault in it? The Passion of The Christ is a love story. It is the greatest story ever told. Thank you Mel Gibson. Jesus thanks you too. Expand
  64. KevinF.
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    I don't see how one can view this film and not be changed, for the better.
  65. WendyV.
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    I loved it and you guys will love it too.
  66. KristyH.
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    I do not understand the arguments over this movie being either anti-Jew or Anti-Roman. All one has to do is read the scriptures and see that the movie follows the storyline very closely. Just read John 18 in your Bible. It states very clearly that they Jews turned Jesus over to the Romans, and the Romans flogged him. I don't understand why so many are missing the point of the story, I do not understand the arguments over this movie being either anti-Jew or Anti-Roman. All one has to do is read the scriptures and see that the movie follows the storyline very closely. Just read John 18 in your Bible. It states very clearly that they Jews turned Jesus over to the Romans, and the Romans flogged him. I don't understand why so many are missing the point of the story, looking too hard to find fault? Expand
  67. BenL.
    Mar 5, 2004
    10
    Great movie. Ebert sums it up best.
  68. KittyP.
    Mar 7, 2004
    10
    This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. There are some technical oops in it, which may keep it from winning the Best Picture Oscar, and keep Mel from winning Best Director. (Disregarding Hollyweird's pro-Satan stance.) But an important warning: THIS IS A GORY MOVIE! Like "Scarface" was originally going to be rated, this movie should have been rated X, for extreme violence. This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. There are some technical oops in it, which may keep it from winning the Best Picture Oscar, and keep Mel from winning Best Director. (Disregarding Hollyweird's pro-Satan stance.) But an important warning: THIS IS A GORY MOVIE! Like "Scarface" was originally going to be rated, this movie should have been rated X, for extreme violence. And, yes, Jesus went through what is depicted in "The Passion" for you. And who killed Jesus?? Jesus allowed himself to be killed. Is this movie anti-Semitic? What ethnicity were the Marys? What ethnicity was Jesus? Peter? The rest of the Apostles? Expand
  69. NickM.
    Apr 11, 2004
    10
    A sacrifice...for us. Beautiful.
  70. MaxF.
    Apr 1, 2004
    10
    This movie really showed me how the world and myself are quick to judge and put the blame on and belittle someone else. Mel you get a 2 big thumbs up down here in Texas. I know that we all have our own opinions, but those of you who gave this movie don't know and don't understand Jesus and the major sacrifice he rid us of sin. Also this film was in no way anti semetic. Our sins This movie really showed me how the world and myself are quick to judge and put the blame on and belittle someone else. Mel you get a 2 big thumbs up down here in Texas. I know that we all have our own opinions, but those of you who gave this movie don't know and don't understand Jesus and the major sacrifice he rid us of sin. Also this film was in no way anti semetic. Our sins were was crucified Jesus not the Jews. T H A N K S M E L. Expand
  71. ElieK
    Apr 16, 2004
    10
    As if you were there. His Last words "Ilahi, Ilahi, lima chabaktani", destroyed the easter bunny and brought back Resurrection to Easter.
  72. JasonD.
    Apr 2, 2004
    10
    The low scores critics give this validate the power this movie has. It makes you uncomfortable, therefore, rather than acknowledge you might be wrong, you trash it or even make fun of it. Look for the deeper meaning of the word "passion." Critics praise movies like Gladiator and Braveheart and even respect the "realism" of the violent lifestyle these movies portray. However, make a movie The low scores critics give this validate the power this movie has. It makes you uncomfortable, therefore, rather than acknowledge you might be wrong, you trash it or even make fun of it. Look for the deeper meaning of the word "passion." Critics praise movies like Gladiator and Braveheart and even respect the "realism" of the violent lifestyle these movies portray. However, make a movie that goes beyond just violence, one that has greater meaning than any other, ever...one that FORCES you to acknowledge the reality of what happened, suddenly the story changes. Get past those who would put something down because it makes them uncomfortable with themselves. Don't confuse uncomfort with a churning stomach. Sure it's a bloody movie, but this uncomfort stems from a different source. The moral issues one has to deal with as a result of watching this movie have people squirming in there seats. It made me uncomfortable with myself, because it accomplished its goal in showing me what Christ went through. Let me suggest another way to deal with the uncomfort...change. Hollywood and the media aren't used to having to deal with a movie that demands a change, so they trash it. Not all movies are made for entertainment, some are made for a higher purpose. Expand
  73. OtepA.
    Apr 4, 2004
    10
    It is a great movie that manifests the love Christ gave us. He endured a lot of suffering because he wants to save not only the good ones but also the ones who crucified him. It is really a good movie that would show the world how Jesus love us because he has the power to end his suffering but he still chose to suffer because of us.
  74. SandyM.
    Apr 7, 2004
    10
    I really thank Mel for making a movie and really showing what Christ had to go through for us in order for us to be saved!!! Thank you Mel Gibson.
  75. FrancisP.
    May 5, 2004
    10
    It was the best documentary i have ever seen!!!!
  76. SofiaP.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    This film is a masterpiece, a true work of art. It is a movie about love and redemption. It is the story of Jesus Christ's love for us! Thank you Mel Gibson for having the courage to make such a controversial film.
  77. EiriniM.
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    An absolute masterpiece !!! Bravo Mel and James !!! You're the best and you gave us the best !!!
  78. GabrielD.
    Jan 15, 2005
    10
    That movie was a true story and who ever that that was a bad movie the must have mental problems!!
  79. ElenaE.
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Beautifully & artistically filmed with alot of thought, soul, spirit, heart and talent....Mel's, in fact. Not to mention his own money. His goal was not profit, but an important message delivered through art. This film speaks about love. Would you die for anyone you know? Thank you, Mel.
  80. RyanA.
    Apr 8, 2005
    10
    The film suggests that the power of love is best demonstrated when one willingly endures extreme sufferring for others who would never be so willing. The more Jesus suffers and the more graphically it's depicted, the more sorrow we are meant to feel for abusing the gift of his sacrifice, the more appreciation we are meant feel for his desire to be tortured and die for us. The The film suggests that the power of love is best demonstrated when one willingly endures extreme sufferring for others who would never be so willing. The more Jesus suffers and the more graphically it's depicted, the more sorrow we are meant to feel for abusing the gift of his sacrifice, the more appreciation we are meant feel for his desire to be tortured and die for us. The Scourging or Flagellation of Jesus at the Pillar is the single most violent scene ever put on film, so brutal that some alot of viewers will be hard-pressed to believe that a man could actually carry a 200-pound cross, let alone stand on his feet after such a scene. But there must've been some spark in the mind of Jesus that compelled him to get back up and climb to the top of Golgotha, a spark of realization that if he died merely from the scourging, without fulfilling the destiny to be crucified, he would would not have created the one image, symbolic and powerful enough to sustain a religious faith for two millinieums. The Crucifixion has become the central and most impressionable image or symbol of the Christian faith. Without it, who is to say that Christianity would have survived as long? Expand
  81. AshleeS.
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    Passionate.
  82. EmilioR.
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    Great movie.
  83. VanessaB.
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    I loved it!
  84. AshleeS.
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    Passionate.
  85. JaredB.
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    The Passion of the Christ was the most powerfully realistic rendering of the crucifixion I have ever seen. Absolutely amazing.
  86. NickL.
    May 17, 2006
    10
    Good movie! Mel Gibson is laughing all the way to the bank.
  87. CathyL.
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    This movie is moving, sad and a magnificent depiction of the wonderful gift Christ gave us through his crucifixion. Those who do not believe or refuse to recognize the horrific pain and suffering that Jesus Christ endured for us are typical of the liberalism and lack of faith that has become a cancer not only in the United States but across the enire world and may one day spell our doom!!!
  88. MoK.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    My respect for Prophet Jesus (May God's peace and blessings be upon him) increased multi-fold after I watched the movie.
  89. PaulA
    Feb 9, 2009
    10
    One of the most moving movies ever made. The critics are wrong on this one. It's not the type of movie you can watch every day because of the violence. But it it's accurate and moving. Once you see it you will never forget it.
  90. NormaI.
    Apr 10, 2009
    10
    This movie depicts some of the events that happened to Jesus Christ. It is in no way anti-semitic, Jesus came to die,so regardless of who killed him i.e Jew or otherwise. This film was beautifully made and it touches the soul,so for all those people who are saying it doesn't touch the soul, it is because you do not understand. This film is not about the violence, but about redemption This movie depicts some of the events that happened to Jesus Christ. It is in no way anti-semitic, Jesus came to die,so regardless of who killed him i.e Jew or otherwise. This film was beautifully made and it touches the soul,so for all those people who are saying it doesn't touch the soul, it is because you do not understand. This film is not about the violence, but about redemption and grace through the suffering of Christ. Jesus said father forgive them for they know not what they do, with this he meant the Romans, Jews and every other persons today. So believe and be saved! Expand
  91. CharetonS.
    Nov 8, 2004
    10
    Wonderful.
  92. BradM
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    I dont know why people think such poorly of this film. This is portaying what Christ went throuh for us. Its what actually happened.
  93. BrianB.
    Feb 24, 2004
    10
    Intense. yes. bloody. yes. but let's remember, this is the most significant event in the history of the world. i would trade my stomach for truth any day. and then i have the question that puzzles me: schindlers list, private ryan, kill bill (not that the substance of this film is comparable to the others by any means) - the critics seem to like these. equally bloody and gruesome.Intense. yes. bloody. yes. but let's remember, this is the most significant event in the history of the world. i would trade my stomach for truth any day. and then i have the question that puzzles me: schindlers list, private ryan, kill bill (not that the substance of this film is comparable to the others by any means) - the critics seem to like these. equally bloody and gruesome. i'm having a hard time understanding why. Expand
  94. [Anonymous]
    Feb 24, 2004
    10
    I think that Mel Gibson has done a excellent job of trying to depict Christs last days on earth as it is written in the Bible and I don't believe that he has meant to harm or insult anyone.
  95. SuzyS.
    Feb 24, 2004
    10
    I thought the movie was amazing....tho very disturbing.
  96. Kevin
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    If you don't understand what it means to be Christian, or maybe even have some anti-Christian tendencies, you probably wont understand this movie. If you are Christian, and understand what this movie is all about (mankind killing God), you will be extremely compelled. Jews didn't kill Jesus, Romans didn't kill Jesus, ...Man did.
  97. KevinB
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    To start off I thought this movie was very moving. Christ was portrayed very well. The story was also very carefully handled. I do agree that it was a very graphic and violent movie, but keep in mind that this was Christ's last 12 hours, and plus it is a crucifixion, it will be very violent and messy (we shouldn't try to shelter ourselves from the truth that forms of justice To start off I thought this movie was very moving. Christ was portrayed very well. The story was also very carefully handled. I do agree that it was a very graphic and violent movie, but keep in mind that this was Christ's last 12 hours, and plus it is a crucifixion, it will be very violent and messy (we shouldn't try to shelter ourselves from the truth that forms of justice (even false justice) were very barbaric, they were not clean and sugar coated like most of the things we see in today's world). Plus I thought the violence was on the level of Saving Private Ryan, but does anyone complain about that movie's violence? No, because it doesn't deal with religion. Another thing I find is that this film is in no form or way anti-semetic or anti Roman. Think about it, Jesus himself was a Jew, also he taught (as he does in the movie) to love those who love you as well as your enemies (so hating the jews would be going against the teachings). Plus think about it mostly Jews were prevalent in the crucixion of Christ because they thought he was a heretic (anyone who says that they are the son of your God and you dont believe, obviously you'd think the person was insane), but in no way do I feel that these people are responsible for his death, we all are. After seeing this movie I actually love Jews more than ever, as well as anyone else. And the deal with the whole anti-roman sentiment, its garbage as well, I mean think about it, "Roman-Catholic" didn't come from non-romans, and the vatican is located in Rome as well. One last thing, this movie is indeed violent, but, speaking from a Christian's point of view, I didn't find it graphic, instead it shared huge visual insite on the great amounts of torture Jesus had to go through in order to save our souls (and the thing is, He is the Son of God, so he could have easily killed those that were persecuting, but he didn't, he WILLFULLY endured these tortures so that we may enter into Heaven, now thats committment to one's people). Thats pretty much the message to love your enemies and those around you as well as to realize the pain Christ went through, WILLFULLY, during his last 12 hours. Also I honestly think that many critics and hollywood are slamming the film due to it being a film based on religion. As I said Saving private Ryan was graphic and violent, as much as the passion, yet they had no problem with it (with Saving Private Ryan), and obviously many of these critics don't want to see more movies like this produce, niether does hollywood because hollywood is what produces tons of exsessive filth filled with pro-sex, pro-drug, pro-violence,etc. This movie is pretty much like an anti violent movie. Its just that I think the media and society have made open religion a very taboo thing (except if your athiest, I feel these beliefs are getting shoved down my throat). And from what I see many average people like you and me (those who have no real control over the media) are saying this movie has a real positive message and it is spiritual, this makes hollywood afraid in my opinion, because if, due to this movie, many people may get closer to their faith and may no longer want to see the debachery that is show in hollywood (or MTV, etc.), this way hollywood (and other debached companies) would lose tons of profits. but anyways to end it simply, dont just catagorize this movie as garbage if you have not seen it. See the film first (eventhough I think it will have more of a positive impact on Christians instead of non-believers (due to these individuals not understanding/caring the logic behind why Jesus died). If you dont like it, fine thats ok, every man his own, just try to keep an open mind. Expand
  98. Elliott
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    What is REALLY disturbing is that a lot of critics who are condemning this film embraced the far more pornographic, though more subtle, Elephant, which uses the impending dread of several teens as a form of entertainment. Shame on all of you critics. This film is gorgously executed, and raises some serious questions. It is supposed to be a reminder, which is exactly what it does.
  99. JakeW.
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    Perhaps more people should appreciate this film for what it is. It is first and foremost, a story. It is the story of Christ's crucifixtion. If you actually paid money for a ticket to this film, did you expect to see anything less? This is, for the most part, how it happened people.. and for people to claim that Gibson blames the Jews for the death of Jesus is absurd. We are all Perhaps more people should appreciate this film for what it is. It is first and foremost, a story. It is the story of Christ's crucifixtion. If you actually paid money for a ticket to this film, did you expect to see anything less? This is, for the most part, how it happened people.. and for people to claim that Gibson blames the Jews for the death of Jesus is absurd. We are all responsible for his death. We are all sinners, and we remain sinners. His death was a necessary tragedy in order that we may be cleansed of those sins. No single man, or race of men is to blame. Expand
  100. Rob
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    Historically accurate. If you think this movie is anti-semitic - "New York Daily News / Jami Bernard: Mel Gibson's The Passion of the Christ is the most virulently anti-Semitic movie made since the German propaganda films of World War II. It is sickening. " Like this "smart" guy did your wrong. Jesus was a jew...so how can this be anti-semitic? I rest my case.
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 43
  2. Negative: 9 out of 43
  1. 75
    It's a strange kind of spiritual movie -- one that aims for the gut more often than the heart.
  2. 88
    A gripping, powerful motion picture -- arguably the most forceful depiction of Jesus' death ever to be committed to film. It leaves an indelible imprint on the psyche; viewers of this movie may never look at a crucifix in quite the same way.
  3. Expertly made, thanks largely to Jim Caviezel's fervent portrayal of Jesus and Caleb Deschanel's skillful camera work. But the film contains little to learn from, unless one is unfamiliar with basic Christian history.