The Passion of the Christ

The Passion of the Christ Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 812 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A depiction of the last 12 hours in the life of Jesus Christ as he is crucified in Jerusalem.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 43
  2. Negative: 9 out of 43
  1. 100
    This is not a sermon or a homily, but a visualization of the central event in the Christian religion. Take it or leave it.
  2. 75
    A highly personal, provocative and in some ways riveting vision with an inspired performance by Jim Caviezel as Jesus.
  3. 75
    It's a strange kind of spiritual movie -- one that aims for the gut more often than the heart.
  4. 50
    Mel Gibson may have changed the face of cinema forever. I think he has: He's made the first true Jesusploitation flick, a picture that, despite its self-righteous air of grave religiosity, is barely spiritual at all.
  5. Did it move me? And the answer is no. I thought it has a certain ghoulish, voyeuristic fascination, but I found it strangely remote and uninvolving on both emotional and spiritual levels.
  6. What I do know is that I was gripped for a while by the strength of Mr. Gibson's filmmaking, only to be repelled and eventually excluded by his literalist insistence on excruciation. There is watching in horror, and there is watching in horror.
  7. If I were a Christian, I'd be appalled to have this primitive and pornographic bloodbath presume to speak for me.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. DCp
    Apr 15, 2006
    10
    This movie touched me in a way no other has ever done. Magnificent, graphic, believable, and horrible treatment given by Romans and Jews to This movie touched me in a way no other has ever done. Magnificent, graphic, believable, and horrible treatment given by Romans and Jews to Jesus, just terrible. Yet, he forgives and we can easily see how we should forgive others for commiting far less sins. Expand
  2. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    James Caviezel Was The Best Jesus EVER EVER.Music By John Debney Was Beyond Brilliant.Mel Gibson is A Filmmaker On Par With Scorcese OverallJames Caviezel Was The Best Jesus EVER EVER.Music By John Debney Was Beyond Brilliant.Mel Gibson is A Filmmaker On Par With Scorcese Overall The Passion Of Christ Is Truly A Great Film .The Greatest

    10/10.
    Expand
  3. Jul 15, 2011
    10
    Im sorry but 47/100 on Critic Reviews? C'mon people! This was, and still remains, as a classic film about the true nature of the crucifixionIm sorry but 47/100 on Critic Reviews? C'mon people! This was, and still remains, as a classic film about the true nature of the crucifixion of Jesus Christ. This film will not only bring you to tears, but put a smile on your face once you realize that one man put his own life on the line for us. Christian or non-Christian, you need to see this film. Now. Collapse
  4. Dec 31, 2011
    8
    Mel Gibson's "The Passion of the Christ" depicts the last 12 hours of Jesus Christ's life before his crucifixion. As a christian myself IMel Gibson's "The Passion of the Christ" depicts the last 12 hours of Jesus Christ's life before his crucifixion. As a christian myself I really couldn't find much of his teachings and theories of love and forgiveness because movie's pretty much torture porn in a nutshell. However leaving the fact that whenether you're a christian or not, the movie's realistically portrayed as the bible describes it, where he was beaten up by the Romans and was crucified for us. As Roger Ebert says, take it or leave it. Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2016
    6
    It's stories like these that normally keep me entertaining and make me love it, but just fails to do so at around the ending. This is possiblyIt's stories like these that normally keep me entertaining and make me love it, but just fails to do so at around the ending. This is possibly the best Christian movie you can possibly see despite the R rating. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2012
    4
    Yo...my man got his ass whooped! For hours! Non-stop! But seriously this is a big steaming pile of unrealized potential.
  7. CamN.
    Sep 9, 2005
    0
    I have said for years that Mel Gibson is a self-absorbed Alpha-male wannabe. Follow this pied piper to church and flagellate yourselves if I have said for years that Mel Gibson is a self-absorbed Alpha-male wannabe. Follow this pied piper to church and flagellate yourselves if you want. This film is worthless. Expand

See all 507 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.