The Perfect Storm

The Perfect Storm Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The film follows a sudden and violent storm -- the emotional ups and downs of the six stranded fishermen, the surviving families and the rescue crews. Based on a true story.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. 100
    This is one perfectly terrifying movie, an instant classic.
  2. 88
    A well-crafted example of a film of pure sensation. I do not mind admitting I was enthralled.
  3. The problem with The Perfect Storm is that while its roiling collision of weather systems is pulled off with cinematic deftness, the actors who stand there getting lashed and splashed don't have anything terribly interesting to say.
  4. 63
    The movie is "Twister" on the high seas, a spectacular-looking, spectacularly hollow tale about foolhardy men vs. imperious nature.
  5. Petersen gives us monumental images of waves and rain and wind, but the editing is so choppy that the images don't build and crest.
  6. The Perfect Storm is no "Titanic."
  7. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    30
    It's like a memorial service with killer special effects.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 21
  2. Negative: 7 out of 21
  1. YvetteG.
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    A truly inspring and touching movie that has great themes in it. It is about courage and responsibility. I have been spritually lifted by the A truly inspring and touching movie that has great themes in it. It is about courage and responsibility. I have been spritually lifted by the film. I can't understand how people can not appreciate the beauty of it. Maybe thsoe who do not possess those qualities are prevented from seeing them. Expand
  2. May 11, 2011
    9
    The Perfect Storm is movie based on a true story, about a skipper (captain) and his crew of a sword fishing boat going out and fishing in oneThe Perfect Storm is movie based on a true story, about a skipper (captain) and his crew of a sword fishing boat going out and fishing in one of the worst storms to hit New England. The crew goes through trials of will and character when many things go wrong on the boat throughout the trip. The movie is based off a true story that actually happened about a boat that was lost to a freak accident of nature creating what meteorologists call the perfects storm. Overall the perfect storm was a great movie in my eyes had great acting, good visuals, awesome story and fantastic realism all mixed in one. I would recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys movies based on true events.
    The perfect storm was overall a great movie for it being based off real events. The story was great, I would give it a 9 out of 10. The acting was fantastic I had no problem believing that George Clooney Mark Walberg and the rest of the crew were fisherman. When George Clooney says â
    Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2016
    8
    This is a touching story, the choice of actors in this movie was spot on, they did a great job and the movie overall followed the story lineThis is a touching story, the choice of actors in this movie was spot on, they did a great job and the movie overall followed the story line well.

    Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-1487-The-Perfect-Storm-online-free
    Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The thing that really irks me about THE PERFECT STORM is that I had read that it was a disaster film (and it's made pretty much clear in the title), but the actual disaster didn't get started for a whole forty minutes, which almost brought me to the point of thinking that "Perfect Storm" was some kind of metaphor. The basic layout is as follows: 1-30 minutes - characters are introduced with enough relationship statuses, innuendos, overly charismatic drama to create an entire soap opera; 31-40 minutes - the characters leave their spouses/fiancées, board the ship, but continue with the non sequiturs and double entendres that make you groan, "Enough already!"; 41-120 minutes - over an hour of TITANIC-esque intensity and dazzling (but terrifying, considering this is based on a true story) disaster scenes--which is exciting, but it makes you think, "We go from soap opera...to disaster?", because the beginning does NOT make sense to the rest of the film; 121-128 minutes - the film is coming to an end, with slightly less intensity, but thankfully no "return of the soap opera"; 129 minutes - the film's over, folks, you can go home now. That's the gist of this mediocre movie. It's just what you expect of a shipwreck film. Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2014
    5
    The Perfect Storm is a an overlong, pointless washout that never connects with us emotionally. It takes forever to get going, and each sceneThe Perfect Storm is a an overlong, pointless washout that never connects with us emotionally. It takes forever to get going, and each scene is dragged out until the viewer reaches wits end. Even after all of that, the movie never rewards us for our troubles, instead giving us cliché after cliché in the script and very static characters. It may have great special effects, but they're wasted in this movie. Expand
  6. May 18, 2013
    5
    The Perfect Storm is a fine disaster movie. It suffers from all the usual schmaltz, but when the waves start ramping up, so does theThe Perfect Storm is a fine disaster movie. It suffers from all the usual schmaltz, but when the waves start ramping up, so does the excitement. That said, a bit more character depth and a few less extraneous characters (like the helicopter or sail boat crew) would have served this movie better. Collapse
  7. Jun 23, 2014
    0
    Hollywood did it again, what a crap movie. the most irritating thing about this movie was the bloody music.
    so in appropriate! I literally
    Hollywood did it again, what a crap movie. the most irritating thing about this movie was the bloody music.
    so in appropriate! I literally had to stop watching this crap. Now I know why I watch foreign film and arthouse cinema. Hollywood never did it for me. Occasionally a good one comes out but it certainly AINT this one.
    Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best (and Worst) Movies of 2016 So Far

    The Best (and Worst) Movies of 2016 So Far Image
    Published: July 1, 2016
    We reveal the 50 best-reviewed films of 2016 so far ... as well as the 10 worst.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  4. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.