Summit Entertainment | Release Date: September 21, 2012
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 576 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
526
Mixed:
36
Negative:
14
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
LynMar 8, 2013
If only EVERY screwed-up kid starting high school would connect on the very first weekend with a fun group of quirky, smart hipsters who would welcome him as one of their own! Overall, just too many cliches: The out-of-reach girl who's just aIf only EVERY screwed-up kid starting high school would connect on the very first weekend with a fun group of quirky, smart hipsters who would welcome him as one of their own! Overall, just too many cliches: The out-of-reach girl who's just a friend, the high school meanies, the brilliantly individualistic gay guy. Nothing you haven't seen before in "The Wonder Years" or a Michael Cera movie or more heavy-duty films like "Ordinary People." However I found all of the young actors pretty appealing. The lead actor's emotional fragility was palpable and Emma Watson was fine as well. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Jugasauresrex15Jan 2, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am going to keep it short and simple and say that this film is beautiful, it's a comfortable length long, you can grow to love the main character Charlie but this film will also make you cry, the sadness and depression Charlie has through his life is so moving but in the end this film is a real heart warmer Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
BradySmithSep 5, 2014
Although the characters are well drawn, and evident care went into the screenplay, as well as the whole production, I was really irked by this movie. I did feel sympathy for the main character, but the movie's politics and ideals areAlthough the characters are well drawn, and evident care went into the screenplay, as well as the whole production, I was really irked by this movie. I did feel sympathy for the main character, but the movie's politics and ideals are seriously muddled. It's a very left winged movie, supporting homosexual relationships, casual drug use, and teenage sex. I'm unsure of whether or not it's acceptable for a dating couple to engage in breast fondling, but just so you know, it's in here too. Yes, bullying is wrong, but that does not mean that teenage boys having sex with each other is condonable. It's not shown, but it is discussed and supported in the movie. Sometimes I feel like I'm the last conservative on Earth, but I'm not changing my stance on these issues, even if a movie is engaging and emotionally affecting. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Guyrunje15Jun 23, 2013
This movie was beautiful.
It brought tears to my eyes.
And if you know me,
this is very hard to do.
Rating: 10/10
If you want to ask me any questions about this movie,
Or any movie, please e-mail me at.....
guyrunje@hotmail.com
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
imilhoferDec 26, 2013
Is this the most overrated film of the decade so far? Yes. I was expecting a witty and dry comedy with insight and warmth, as reviews and the feel of this indie film indicated. I was presented with melodrama, a flat plot, unimaginativeIs this the most overrated film of the decade so far? Yes. I was expecting a witty and dry comedy with insight and warmth, as reviews and the feel of this indie film indicated. I was presented with melodrama, a flat plot, unimaginative teenage cliches and a devastating American accent from Emma Watson. What's all the fuss about? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
Mforrest0726Jan 3, 2015
Though I'll admit it didn't make me feel as unclean or as angry as the book, it still had more than enough scenes that either made me queesie at the awkwardness, or just plain angry at character's stupidity to make it a bad movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
mohamad91hkSep 3, 2016
in a few words, this movie like all high-school movies, not bad but not amazing, perfect performance by Logan, if you like high school movies you can watch it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TheFilmGuruOct 4, 2012
Brilliant film, funny uplifting and a real feel good heart warmer.
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
10
illusiognarlySep 27, 2012
infinite... that's what this movie will be. A new cult classic! Charlies journey to find himself is a wonderful uplifting struggle against the days of high school i was instantly transported to the days i both hated and loved. Go see it withinfinite... that's what this movie will be. A new cult classic! Charlies journey to find himself is a wonderful uplifting struggle against the days of high school i was instantly transported to the days i both hated and loved. Go see it with a good friend Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
10
brubobbioAug 24, 2013
Great movie!!!!!!! Delicate pure and modern!
Awesome soundtrack!!! And Charlie such a sweetheart!!
Shows the anxiety of an adolescent with sensibility
A new cult movie!!!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ShiiraDec 11, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Seated at a cafe table for one, a beautiful, young woman, unaccountably lonely, peruses and pines over a comic book, and its handsome male hero. The music video for A-ha's "Take on Me" is the ultimate geek fantasy: the blond seems to have a fondness for an illustrated world over the real one, just like any introverted fanboy. The protagonist, as it turns out, a Norwegian protagonist, without explanation, blinks at the Londoner single, as the comic panel loses its static purpose, when the graphic hero reciprocates the customer's **** of the crush object with a crush of his own, and extends an open invitation to the startled reader, who nevertheless, grabs the hand protruding from the ephemeral page, and enters the diegesis of pencil sketches, suddenly made fluid by the alchemic properties of synth-pop music. In 1985, every sad, maladjusted boy wanted to be A-ha frontman Morten Harket, because that's how a wallflower could be heroic, by saving a damsel in distress from rival motorcyclists armed with pipe wrenches from the safety of a debauchery-free bedroom, alone with his Martha Quinn sex fantasies. Wallflowers get older. Some survive their awkward teenage years, and bloom, like Charlie undoubtedly will, in The Perks of Being a Wallflower, while others, such as Jorge, a morbidly shy dishwasher, will not, ever, in Steve Barron's Choking Man, a micro-indie that shows how ostracized children grow up to be ostracized children. Barron, the filmmaker who helmed "Take on Me", references his music video past, in a scene where Jorge's enemy, the restaurant manager, who delights in torturing the monosyllabic dishwasher about his aloofness, breaks into a mocking rendition of Kajagoogoo's "Too Shy", another early MTV classic. Again, animation is employed, but this time, the optimism, in regard to love, found in "Take on Me" has given way to resignation, and finally, vehemence. No wallflower, struggling through his adolescence, would want to co-opt Jorge's constipated ideas about love. His cartoon bunny rabbits won't even rub noses. Jorge doesn't dare, perhaps, since he knows the cute Chinese waitress could never love him back. For sure, the schizophrenia doesn't help, but the real reason that prevents him from competing with Steve for Aimee's heart is his ramshackle appearance, whereas Charlie, despite being saddled with PSTD, earns Sam's love because the unformed freshman more than offsets his emotional problems with an appealing visage. Charlie is less a nerd than unathletic. At the outset, he suffers the indignity of eating alone in the school cafeteria, but you're never worried for him. That's why the budding writer comes off as whiny and disingenuous when he expresses a concern about not making friends to his teacher. He's good-looking.. Soon enough, Sam, and her half-brother Patrick, take Charlie under their wing, and introduces him to people, self-described as castaways on "the island of misfit toys", wallflowers all. He finds his tribe. The film, and the Steven Chbosky novel it's based on, thankfully, avoids the shortcut of outfitting the nerd with glasses, like, for instance, Dawn Wiener, the president of the Special People Club, in Welcome to the Dollhouse. Whereas the misfits find each other and stick together at Charlie's school, in the Todd Solondz film, the estranged outcasts at Dawn's junior high estrange themselves from each other, choosing to go it alone rather than garner strength in numbers. Here, the weak pick on the weaker, like when Troy, pinned against his locker by the resident 7th grade bullies, lashes out at Dawn for defending him. "Leave me alone, Wiener Dog," he grumbles, humiliated, doubly, since the girl who saves him is perceived as ugly. But even the consensus school pariah, the plucked to death wallflower, has a cruel streak, evoking Groucho Marx's famous quote: "I don't care to belong to any club that will have me as a member," when Ralphie, a charter, and only member of Dawn's social organization, hears himself being called an "a**hole" and a host of other obscenities, as Missy tries to get her older sister to take his phone call. Unlike Charlie, there is no midnight screenings of The Rocky Horror Picture Show" with friends, or being told by a girl that your first kiss should come from somebody who really loves you. Dawn has to settle for a sad night in her clubhouse with a boy, who in the way of introduction, tells her that he's going to rape her, as they stare at the night sky while Debbie Gibson's "Lost in Your Eyes" plays on a cheap tape recorder. Sam kisses Charlie because he has a naif-like animal magnetism. His predecessor, Lucas(from the 1986 film starring Corey Haim), does not, and as a result, Maggie, a cheerleader, rebuffs the younger boy's clumsy attempt at romance, by turning her lips away from his. When you're a wallflower that often gets confused for a weed, there are no perks. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
CreativitaJan 1, 2013
In the days following The Perks of Being a Wallflower, I simply could not grasp its brilliance, to the extent that I was left gasping for air in a semi-depressive/happy state. The scripting and dialogue were beautiful, and theIn the days following The Perks of Being a Wallflower, I simply could not grasp its brilliance, to the extent that I was left gasping for air in a semi-depressive/happy state. The scripting and dialogue were beautiful, and the characterisation and casting came together so perfectly it was suffocating. An incredible package of quirky humour, original themes and general splendor, all topped off by the bow that was the incredible 70's soundtrack. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
UnfundedFeb 20, 2013
I love this movie, I honestly cannot find anything I hate about it.

I can honestly admit, I'm a guy and I cried during this movie. PLEASE EVERYONE GO WATCH THIS IT'S PERFECT 10/10
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
LetzTalkMoveezOct 21, 2012
It's often quite hilarious while also hard-hitting, heartfelt, visually stunning, and completely engaging - the most honest, genuine John Hughes movie that John Hughes never made, seemingly pieced together (almost perfectly) with hot tipsIt's often quite hilarious while also hard-hitting, heartfelt, visually stunning, and completely engaging - the most honest, genuine John Hughes movie that John Hughes never made, seemingly pieced together (almost perfectly) with hot tips from big names in the indie spotlight. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
AwesomeReviewerFeb 26, 2013
“The Perks of Being a Wallflower” is a film about living life and not letting fear bind you. There also so many more underlining themes and messages within the film, such as lying, being more involved, loyalty, and so much more. It also deals“The Perks of Being a Wallflower” is a film about living life and not letting fear bind you. There also so many more underlining themes and messages within the film, such as lying, being more involved, loyalty, and so much more. It also deals with the complications of high school and the needing to fit in. It felt a lot of these themes are handled well, but the film tends to gloss over some of it. While not a big problem, it would just allow more depth to the story.

The writing in the film is fairly strong. Like I said it handles a lot of themes, but again the film tends to gloss over some tiny things that could have made it better. For example, early on in the film the character talks about a friend he recently lost, which causes him to become so introverted, but we don’t get any real back story. On the other hand the three main characters are fairly well developed and they truly make the film. The directing is good and I like the ambiance that is created. We get a good sense of high school and the life of a teenager. A really great thing the director manages to accomplish is making us feel what the main character is feeling. When he’s shy, we’re shy, when he’s awkward, we feel awkward, and when he’s happy, we feel his happiness.

The characters and acting are what makes this movie so good. Logan Lerman as Charlie is the awkward teenager with a troubled past. Logan does a good job of capturing the insecurities the character feels, He has little twitches and subtle body language that speaks volumes about the character. I really like how we see this character gradually changes and opens up. Emma Watson as Sam is the girl with the bad rep that’s trying to reinvent herself. She’s kind of loud at first, but when we pull away her facade we get a girl that really cares and needs some guidance. Ezra Miller as Patrick is the loud gay friend at least on the surface. As we pull back his carefree attitude we see just how much trouble he has as well. The thing about the characters in this movie is that they all have more depth to them. We learn more about them and fall in love with them.

Overall “The Perks of Being a Wallflower,” is a pretty good film with a positive message. The writing is fairly strong, but I just wish that they would have gone more in depth with certain issues. However, the characters are likable and well performed. I give it a very high 4/5, good story with strong characters, but it just needed to go deeper into its themes.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
amboyOct 31, 2012
This is a broken back film--its first hour plus is a typical high school story about an in group of jocks and cheerleader types versus the sensitive or flamboyantly odd rebels; its last forty minutes is a case history about a severelyThis is a broken back film--its first hour plus is a typical high school story about an in group of jocks and cheerleader types versus the sensitive or flamboyantly odd rebels; its last forty minutes is a case history about a severely disturbed young man and the beginnings of his cure. The main reason to see it is a young actor named Logan Lerman who gives an astounding performance. He has the combination of vulnerability, intelligence, and tensile strength that Toby Maguire has, and he makes the movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleDec 24, 2014
God, I loved this film. Rarely do I watch a film and be left sitting there with chills and nothing but a stupid smile as I think of how this one film re-affirmed my love for film and showed me truly how powerful a medium it can be at times.God, I loved this film. Rarely do I watch a film and be left sitting there with chills and nothing but a stupid smile as I think of how this one film re-affirmed my love for film and showed me truly how powerful a medium it can be at times. Brilliantly acted by Logan Lerman, Emma Watson, and Ezra Miller, The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a marvelous look at those of us who are quiet and lonely. While I do not fully identify with Lerman's character, certainly a good portion of his life resembled mine and for that, it completely touched my heart and struck me to my core. However, even the parts I did not identify with did this. As a whole, it is truly just a powerful and moving film that is leaving me speechless right now. Brilliantly written, directed, and acted, the only problem I can truly think of for this one that keeps it from being a perfect film for me is that as honest a portrayal of life for wallflowers as it is, it can become a little...idealistic and, as such, unrealistic. Beyond that minor complaint though, this is an amazing coming age drama that should touch your heart and if it does not, I do not know what is wrong with you. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
axelkochMar 20, 2013
This film is so beautiful. It's perceptibly different from the novel, but I think it's a perfect adaption probably because of the fact that the author of the TPOBAW novel, Stephen Chbosky, did write the screenplay to the movie as well andThis film is so beautiful. It's perceptibly different from the novel, but I think it's a perfect adaption probably because of the fact that the author of the TPOBAW novel, Stephen Chbosky, did write the screenplay to the movie as well and even directed it. And he was successful. The cast is so right and the dialogues are fantastic. There are so many magnificent things about this movie, i.e. the awesome soundtrack or the beautiful pictures of the night, but my tiny issue with this film is the same that I had with the novel: the ending does seem a bit out of place. Though I have to say that the ending was way better than in the novel mainly because it just appears better with flashbacks and this wonderful score in the background. It's one excellent movie and not only for wallflowers. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
jnova80Oct 17, 2012
Going into this film I was a little hesitant by some people calling it "The Breakfast Club for a new generation". Not that I have a problem with that film, it's a classic, I just can't stand it when people try to compare new films to classicsGoing into this film I was a little hesitant by some people calling it "The Breakfast Club for a new generation". Not that I have a problem with that film, it's a classic, I just can't stand it when people try to compare new films to classics just because of a few similarities. But after seeing Perks I felt that both films have a lot in common. I think it's very easy to connect with the main character, especially if you weren't one of the "cool" kids in high school. You really feel for this guy and everything he's going through. It definitely helps that the author of the book is also the director of this film. Perks is worth checking out. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
davomtz11Nov 28, 2012
This movie is just perfect. The music, the acting, the script, the plot, the way they decided to make it, just everything. Just in a few parts you can feel it a little slow, but in the end everything worth it. Emma and Logan have chemestryThis movie is just perfect. The music, the acting, the script, the plot, the way they decided to make it, just everything. Just in a few parts you can feel it a little slow, but in the end everything worth it. Emma and Logan have chemestry and that is seen. But by far, the one who just made it absolutely perfect, was Ezra Miller. He showed us he can make us hate him in "We Need To Talk About Kevin", but in this movie you just cannot love him. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
tommiedineenFeb 5, 2013
The movie works hand in hand with the novel; as the novel is written in first person accounts in letter format, it lacks in dialogue. This movie brilliantly directed by the author gets to give you those moments and let you live them firstThe movie works hand in hand with the novel; as the novel is written in first person accounts in letter format, it lacks in dialogue. This movie brilliantly directed by the author gets to give you those moments and let you live them first hand, whilst still keeping the persona's of the characters true. Brilliant film/direction/cast/soundtrack. all we need now is a directors cut to live through the entire novel. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
RencheldMay 29, 2013
This is my favorite movie. It shows the progression of a kid in high school who goes from having no friends and going unnoticed by everyone to someone who has great friends that he enjoys and cares about. My favorite character was CharlieThis is my favorite movie. It shows the progression of a kid in high school who goes from having no friends and going unnoticed by everyone to someone who has great friends that he enjoys and cares about. My favorite character was Charlie because of how much he reminded me of me. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
You feel the love and joy and emotion that Charlie goes through during the film. Fabulous acting and was very relatable to my own life and struggles.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
GMTRJun 23, 2013
This movie's Beautiful.
It brought Tears to my eyes.
And if you know me,
That is very hard to do.
Rating: 10/10
If you would like to contact me,
And ask me about this movie
Or any other movie e-mail me at.....
guyrunje12@gmail.com
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
ScraperNov 24, 2012
People acting weird and spacy when they're high on weed is one of the biggest cliches of all time. Perks pretty much revisits every single teen cliche and painfully offers no new perspective. I guess I just came here to warn anyone thinkingPeople acting weird and spacy when they're high on weed is one of the biggest cliches of all time. Perks pretty much revisits every single teen cliche and painfully offers no new perspective. I guess I just came here to warn anyone thinking about wasting money on this stinkbomb that it will make your skull explode with boredom if you've ever seen or done anything ever. Gave it a one because I'm glad the gay kid from This Boy's Life is getting work. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
1
NavyBeanFeb 19, 2013
I am sorry I disliked this movie so much. I liked the music and the first 10 minutes are quite promising. But there's never anything at stake and the characters all come across as shallow cliches of characters we've seen a million timesI am sorry I disliked this movie so much. I liked the music and the first 10 minutes are quite promising. But there's never anything at stake and the characters all come across as shallow cliches of characters we've seen a million times before.

Everything is underdeveloped and I especially disliked the scene where he was supposed to be high and saying interesting things. They weren;t interesting and if that kid has ever been high in his life prior to this scene he did NOT do a good job calling from experience.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
36thoughtlessMar 12, 2013
The issue with "Perks" is that it represents the same tired argument that this generation (probably *my* generation) trots out with ever-increasing arrogance. The system is wrong; and these "free" individuals are fighting, striving againstThe issue with "Perks" is that it represents the same tired argument that this generation (probably *my* generation) trots out with ever-increasing arrogance. The system is wrong; and these "free" individuals are fighting, striving against it to liberate the world from conformity and materialism. Never mind that all these kids live above-average white privileged lives, EXACTLY the kind of thing postmodernism would have targeted before complaining about how capitalism and the "Top 40" ruined music. And the victories at the end of the movie don't redeem its narcissistic pessimism and misunderstood, "coming of age" angst. It would be notable for its terribleness were it not so derivative dullness. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
MarcDoyleSep 23, 2012
The trailer makes this movie look like a quirky and light teen flick a la Juno, but it's a serious movie that deals with important issues elegantly. The writer/director introduced the film to my theater, which, to my surprise, included aboutThe trailer makes this movie look like a quirky and light teen flick a la Juno, but it's a serious movie that deals with important issues elegantly. The writer/director introduced the film to my theater, which, to my surprise, included about 50 younger people who had read his book. I had no idea it was so popular. I can see this movie having a similar appeal to teenagers to today that a film like Dead Poets Society had for my generation. Emma Watson and Ezra Miller are outstanding, and the supporting actors including Melanie Lynskey and Paul Rudd are perfectly cast. It's one of the better movies I've seen this year. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
akrasiaSep 29, 2012
The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a great coming of age film. Those that have read the book will not be disappointed (I wasn't and I've read this book more than I can count.) Stephen Chbosky makes obvious cuts where needed to make the filmThe Perks of Being a Wallflower is a great coming of age film. Those that have read the book will not be disappointed (I wasn't and I've read this book more than I can count.) Stephen Chbosky makes obvious cuts where needed to make the film flow more consistently but still hits all the major plot points within the book. Emma Watson and Logan Lerman do a great job portraying these characters. Logan Lerman blew me away in his best performance yet. As many others have said, this film will be a cult classic for those who haven't read the book Those who have will be glad they saw the film to really appreciate Chbosky's story in all forms of art. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
Landon012Sep 29, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow this movie was amazing! It captures what's its like to be a freshman in high school. About trying to fit in and enjoy life! Charlie(main character) is a freshman that had a rough childhood and recently his best friend kills himself. He's lonely. Then he meets Sam & Patrick(Sam's step brother) are 2 seniors that take him under their wing and accept him for who he is. Charlie eventually falls for Sam which is his first crush. The movie shows how their relationship unfolds throughout the film. This movie isn't your typical high school movie. Anyone can relate to this movie which makes it so great. Go see it! You definitely won't be disappointed. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews