Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 403 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Oct 3, 2012
    100
    I adore The Perks of Being a Wallflower for its honest, unsentimental feel, which gets stretched a bit in the revelatory finale, but by then I didn't mind.
  2. Reviewed by: Kevin Jagernauth
    Sep 14, 2012
    91
    Touching and brimming with the energy, enthusiasm and tides of teenage love and life, 'Perks' could very well be the next classic of the genre.
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Oct 1, 2012
    80
    An honest, affection-hooking, coming-of-age drama which proves that there is life beyond Hogwarts for Emma Watson.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Sep 21, 2012
    67
    As Sam, the wayward stepsister of Charlie's sardonic friend Patrick (Ezra Miller), Watson doesn't lose her cool, or her warmth, in a role that might easily have devolved into terminal sappiness.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Sep 20, 2012
    63
    While there are humorous and poignant moments, this angst-filled story of tender kisses, awkward dances, friends drifting apart, kindly English teachers, unrequited crushes and drug-addled partying has a nagging sense of deja vu.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    Sep 13, 2012
    60
    First-time writer-director Stephen Chbosky adapts his young-adult bestseller with far more passion than skill, which suits familiar scenes of adolescent awkwardness aptly enough.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 16, 2012
    25
    A risible, somewhat revolting piece of pop martyrdom, made for and isolated to the damaged middle class.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 90
  2. Negative: 8 out of 90
  1. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Just when I started thinking how different a teenage drama could be; how complicated things could be; how many topics could be adjusted in aJust when I started thinking how different a teenage drama could be; how complicated things could be; how many topics could be adjusted in a single plot; how much emotional a teenage movie could be; a person named Stephen Chbosky came up and blew my mind away with his surprising vision. Written and directed by Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower is an exceptional coming-of-age film, even one of the best I have watched this year. Why do I consider it one of the best? Film's storyline, its characters and their brilliant performances, the narration and those funny, emotional and uplifting moments spread throughout the film. Talking about the characters, the main characters include Charlie Kelmeckis (played by Logan Lerman) who is a shy, socially awkward and unpopular high school student who lost his best friend recently but he is also sensitive and a serious thinker which makes him different from others. Logan Lerman has played the role really well, regardless of your age, you can feel connected to him and feel his emotions, making it the best peformance of Logan so far. His friends Patrick (played by Ezra Miller) and Sam (played by Emma Watson) are the ones who change his life in a certain way. Both of them give wonderful performances, Watson never disappoints me, whatever role is given to her, she does it extremely well. Ezra Miller's performance is also quite strong, I liked it a lot. He is funny, he makes everyone laugh but deep down, he is depressed and not a lot of people know about it. All of the characters in the film are likeable, whether they are positive or negative, the film's environment is wonderful, I felt really great while watching it. I haven't read the novel so I don't know how much both the movie and the novel vary from each other but I'm completely satisfied as a movie lover, it did the magic for me, it moved me emotionally, it is powerful and soft at the same time. I have decided that the Perks of Being a Wallflower is one of the best films of the year. Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    I can not put into words, is such a great feeling that any compliment he shall not be entitled to all that it means, is so sensitive, innocentI can not put into words, is such a great feeling that any compliment he shall not be entitled to all that it means, is so sensitive, innocent and profound is a perfect movie. Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    infinite... that's what this movie will be. A new cult classic! Charlies journey to find himself is a wonderful uplifting struggle against theinfinite... that's what this movie will be. A new cult classic! Charlies journey to find himself is a wonderful uplifting struggle against the days of high school i was instantly transported to the days i both hated and loved. Go see it with a good friend Collapse
  4. Dec 18, 2012
    9
    Really, this is a great film; it revolves around a high school freshman who has trouble gaining friends, due to his introverted nature. WhenReally, this is a great film; it revolves around a high school freshman who has trouble gaining friends, due to his introverted nature. When he makes an effort to try and change this, he meets our 2 other main characters; classy extroverts, who find out about his troubles, and take it upon themselves to improve his life.

    The movie explores the nature of psychology, and social structures, and unless you're bigoted or can't enjoy anything, the characters that are meant to be likeable, are very much so. Better yet, the movie even has you on your toes at least once.

    Not movie of the year or anything of that sort, but still a very good film, and something that is quite enjoyable to watch.
    Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    It is honest, sweet and heartbreaking, it is a masterpiece about what life is at high school, it shows how people are different and alwaysIt is honest, sweet and heartbreaking, it is a masterpiece about what life is at high school, it shows how people are different and always hide dark secrets, as a movie it is great with acting and plot and don't forget the soundtrack, the classics, it is really amazing, but it is imperfect, still some glitches won't harm this wonderful movie! Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2012
    7
    This is a broken back film--its first hour plus is a typical high school story about an in group of jocks and cheerleader types versus theThis is a broken back film--its first hour plus is a typical high school story about an in group of jocks and cheerleader types versus the sensitive or flamboyantly odd rebels; its last forty minutes is a case history about a severely disturbed young man and the beginnings of his cure. The main reason to see it is a young actor named Logan Lerman who gives an astounding performance. He has the combination of vulnerability, intelligence, and tensile strength that Toby Maguire has, and he makes the movie. Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2014
    0
    I was looking for a teenage movie I could relate to. How hard is it to make a movie about teenagers who anyone can relate to? Not that hard asI was looking for a teenage movie I could relate to. How hard is it to make a movie about teenagers who anyone can relate to? Not that hard as almost everyone in high school walks down some path after joining a click which there are a limited number of.
    Instead of that what I saw was a **** awful movie about a teenage ... wisdom. How that poor teenager who goes to an elite school and has his parents pamper him yet is so deep and troubled even thought he has no idea what hardship is. It tries to sell the idea that being a teenager is some kind of insurmountable challenge.... the **** It also stabs at gay issue which is so ever high on every schools agenda. Drugs make people more interesting apparently and all teenagers listen to vinyl ... Also there is some sick and wired love going on that is expressed I kid you not in form of letters to a girl who is right **** next to him. If the character portrayed would be an actual person he should be locked up in mental institution.
    Expand

See all 90 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Fall Film Festival Roundup: The Verdict on Films Screening at TIFF, Telluride, and Venice

    2012 Fall Film Festival Roundup: The Verdict on Films Screening at TIFF, Telluride, and Venice Image
    Published: September 17, 2012
    Find out what critics are saying about over two dozen key movies that debuted at fall's three major film festivals, including "Silver Linings Playbook," "Argo," "To the Wonder," "Cloud Atlas," "Frances Ha," and more.