Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 331 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Oct 3, 2012
    100
    I adore The Perks of Being a Wallflower for its honest, unsentimental feel, which gets stretched a bit in the revelatory finale, but by then I didn't mind.
  2. Reviewed by: Kevin Jagernauth
    Sep 14, 2012
    91
    Touching and brimming with the energy, enthusiasm and tides of teenage love and life, 'Perks' could very well be the next classic of the genre.
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Oct 1, 2012
    80
    An honest, affection-hooking, coming-of-age drama which proves that there is life beyond Hogwarts for Emma Watson.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Sep 21, 2012
    67
    As Sam, the wayward stepsister of Charlie's sardonic friend Patrick (Ezra Miller), Watson doesn't lose her cool, or her warmth, in a role that might easily have devolved into terminal sappiness.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Sep 20, 2012
    63
    While there are humorous and poignant moments, this angst-filled story of tender kisses, awkward dances, friends drifting apart, kindly English teachers, unrequited crushes and drug-addled partying has a nagging sense of deja vu.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    Sep 13, 2012
    60
    First-time writer-director Stephen Chbosky adapts his young-adult bestseller with far more passion than skill, which suits familiar scenes of adolescent awkwardness aptly enough.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 16, 2012
    25
    A risible, somewhat revolting piece of pop martyrdom, made for and isolated to the damaged middle class.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 82
  2. Negative: 8 out of 82
  1. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Just when I started thinking how different a teenage drama could be; how complicated things could be; how many topics could be adjusted in a single plot; how much emotional a teenage movie could be; a person named Stephen Chbosky came up and blew my mind away with his surprising vision. Written and directed by Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower is an exceptional coming-of-age film, even one of the best I have watched this year. Why do I consider it one of the best? Film's storyline, its characters and their brilliant performances, the narration and those funny, emotional and uplifting moments spread throughout the film. Talking about the characters, the main characters include Charlie Kelmeckis (played by Logan Lerman) who is a shy, socially awkward and unpopular high school student who lost his best friend recently but he is also sensitive and a serious thinker which makes him different from others. Logan Lerman has played the role really well, regardless of your age, you can feel connected to him and feel his emotions, making it the best peformance of Logan so far. His friends Patrick (played by Ezra Miller) and Sam (played by Emma Watson) are the ones who change his life in a certain way. Both of them give wonderful performances, Watson never disappoints me, whatever role is given to her, she does it extremely well. Ezra Miller's performance is also quite strong, I liked it a lot. He is funny, he makes everyone laugh but deep down, he is depressed and not a lot of people know about it. All of the characters in the film are likeable, whether they are positive or negative, the film's environment is wonderful, I felt really great while watching it. I haven't read the novel so I don't know how much both the movie and the novel vary from each other but I'm completely satisfied as a movie lover, it did the magic for me, it moved me emotionally, it is powerful and soft at the same time. I have decided that the Perks of Being a Wallflower is one of the best films of the year. Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    This movie was done perfectly. The fact that the author of this fantastic book also directed this movie, made the movie a lot like the book which I love. This movie is great for all ages especially students. This movie displays touchy subjects such as severe depression, bullying and suicide. These subjects in the movie don't encourage these behaviors like other movies, they simply show people that these do happen but being a good person and being kind to people helps. This movie is great, it was brilliantly done, I highly encourage everyone to go see it. Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    infinite... that's what this movie will be. A new cult classic! Charlies journey to find himself is a wonderful uplifting struggle against the days of high school i was instantly transported to the days i both hated and loved. Go see it with a good friend Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    "And in this moment I swear, we are infinite."

    Charlie (Lerman) is a wallflower. About to start his first day of high school he begins
    writing letters to an unknown "friend," unleashing his fears and worries, most of which can be summed up with the revelation that the only people he's spoken to all summer are his family. In addition to being a wallflower, Charlie is also a person with no friends. That all changes when Charlie meets two seniors, Patrick (Miller) and Sam (Watson), who invite him into their group of friends. Each member, like Charlie, is eccentric and has their own slew of issues, with The Perks of Being a Wallflower detailing the way in which they come to deal with at least some of them.

    Perks is so much more than your typical coming of age drama or teen romance. It's a dark film, based on a dark book, and nicely handles the many themes present within it. I don't really want to go into the details too much, because I think if I did I would risk spoiling the movie, but I will say that while Perks deals with typical high school issues - school, fitting in, first love, etc - it also deals with much more adult issues - death and abuse being the big ones. Each of the younger characters is struggling to figure themselves out, be they a major character or a more minor one. At first it's a bit hard to realize this, that even the "popular" kids - portrayed primarily through Charlie's elder sister, Candace (Nina Dobrev), and football player Brad (Johnny Simmons) - are struggling to figure themselves out, but by the end of the movie it's clear that they're all in the same position, even if they haven't all been through the same things.

    The thing that really makes this movie great, however, is the acting in itself. There's kind of two divisions in this movie; the group that gets more focus and the group that is more sidelined - this can also be seen as Charlie's friends versus Charlie's family. Lerman portrays his role absolutely perfectly. I read an interview of Chbosky's where he said "It
    Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    Per un adulto e visto da fuori, ‘Noi siamo infinito’ un lavoro da prendere con le molle. I film sui liceali sono sempre a rischio di scatenare l'orticaria, basta vedere quelli che ammannisce Italia 1, e il fatto che alla regia ci sia Chbosky che, praticamente all'esordio, segue la sua sceneggiatura tratta da un suo libro, può solo acuire i sospetti. Beh, non necessario attendere la conclusione dei cento minuti di durata per rendersi conto che, questa volta, i pre-giudizi sono del tutto infondati: la storia dell'introverso Charlie e della sua amicizia con i fratellastri Sam(antha) e Patrick conquista da subito grazie al disegno preciso e delicato dei personaggi e a un ritmo che non viene mai meno pur raccontando un'evoluzione psicologica che si sviluppa attraverso i piccoli fatti di ogni giorno. Tra lezioni, feste da ballo e azzardate reinterpretazioni del ‘Rocky horror picture show’, Chbosky segue con affetto i suoi personaggi che, per un modo o per l'altro, sono figure ai margini del loro piccolo liceo di provincia: per questo, appena arrivato, Charlie si trova subito in sintonia con Sam, che ha fama di ragazza facile con la tendenza a mettersi con l'uomo sbagliato, e Patrick, omosessuale innamorato di uno dei giocatori della squadra di football, che sono invece all'ultimo anno (uno dei pochi difetti del film che la differenza d'età non si nota e, infatti, Lerman e Miller sono quasi coetanei) e insieme cercano di darsi una mano a superare i rispettivi problemi. Oltre alla naturale ritrosia e a una passione per i libri alimentata dal professor Anderson (immancabile ‘Il giovane Holden’), il protagonista si porta a spasso anche un trauma infantile: il rapporto con la zia Helen un po' pretestuoso in verità, tanto che la sua assenza avrebbe reso più omogeneo il racconto, ma viene utilizzato come catalizzatore della crisi che, dopo lo spavento, aiuta tutti quanti a crescere, adulti (forse) compresi. Con tali premesse, quasi superfluo sottolineare come tutto il film sia permeato di una diffusa tristezza, che del resto una caratteristica costante nelle migliori opere legate all'adolescenza: risulta perciò assai azzeccato che la prima svolta nel racconto sia legata ad ‘Asleep’ degli Smiths, le cui splendide perle pop sono immancabilmente immerse nella malinconia che evoca gli ‘anni importanti’ della crescita. Del resto, tutta la colonna sonora molto ben curata, inanellando una serie di brani per la maggior parte di provenienza ‘indie’ come quelli che i ragazzi si scambiano con insistenza su cassetta (l'ambientazione all'inizio degli anni Novanta): ci sono la contagiosa ‘Come on Eileen’, gli Xtc in principio sorge un sospetto di anglofilia poi dissipato i Pavement, i Cracker e altri che elencare sarebbe troppo lungo, ma tra i quali trova posto persino Joey Ramone alle prese con la spectoriana ‘Christmas (Baby please come home)’. Si riesce così anche ad accettare che, in quel periodo, dei diciottenni appassionati di musica non conoscessero ‘Heroes’ di David Bowie, canzone che, da parte sua, conferma ancora una volta la fascinosa cinematograficità nelle belle scene del tunnel. Queste ultime sono le uniche costruite allo scopo di aggiungere pathos al momento, mentre il resto del film si mantiene allineato alla semplicità delle situazioni in modo ammirevole, caratteristica che, assieme a una fotografia che predilige i toni caldi, amplifica l'empatia dello spettatore: il resto lo fanno gli interpreti, con i maschietti che forse si fanno preferire trascinati dal faccino pulito del bravo Lerman e al più problematico Patrick di Miller, ma anche con una Emma Watson capace di regalare a Sam le giuste sfumature a testimonianza che forse c’è vita oltre Hermione Granger. Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2012
    7
    This is a broken back film--its first hour plus is a typical high school story about an in group of jocks and cheerleader types versus the sensitive or flamboyantly odd rebels; its last forty minutes is a case history about a severely disturbed young man and the beginnings of his cure. The main reason to see it is a young actor named Logan Lerman who gives an astounding performance. He has the combination of vulnerability, intelligence, and tensile strength that Toby Maguire has, and he makes the movie. Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2014
    0
    I was looking for a teenage movie I could relate to. How hard is it to make a movie about teenagers who anyone can relate to? Not that hard as almost everyone in high school walks down some path after joining a click which there are a limited number of.
    Instead of that what I saw was a **** awful movie about a teenage ... wisdom. How that poor teenager who goes to an elite school and has his parents pamper him yet is so deep and troubled even thought he has no idea what hardship is. It tries to sell the idea that being a teenager is some kind of insurmountable challenge.... the **** It also stabs at gay issue which is so ever high on every schools agenda. Drugs make people more interesting apparently and all teenagers listen to vinyl ... Also there is some sick and wired love going on that is expressed I kid you not in form of letters to a girl who is right **** next to him. If the character portrayed would be an actual person he should be locked up in mental institution.
    Expand

See all 82 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Fall Film Festival Roundup: The Verdict on Films Screening at TIFF, Telluride, and Venice

    2012 Fall Film Festival Roundup: The Verdict on Films Screening at TIFF, Telluride, and Venice Image
    Published: September 17, 2012
    Find out what critics are saying about over two dozen key movies that debuted at fall's three major film festivals, including "Silver Linings Playbook," "Argo," "To the Wonder," "Cloud Atlas," "Frances Ha," and more.