Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 310 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Oct 3, 2012
    100
    I adore The Perks of Being a Wallflower for its honest, unsentimental feel, which gets stretched a bit in the revelatory finale, but by then I didn't mind.
  2. Reviewed by: Kevin Jagernauth
    Sep 14, 2012
    91
    Touching and brimming with the energy, enthusiasm and tides of teenage love and life, 'Perks' could very well be the next classic of the genre.
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    Oct 1, 2012
    80
    An honest, affection-hooking, coming-of-age drama which proves that there is life beyond Hogwarts for Emma Watson.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Sep 21, 2012
    67
    As Sam, the wayward stepsister of Charlie's sardonic friend Patrick (Ezra Miller), Watson doesn't lose her cool, or her warmth, in a role that might easily have devolved into terminal sappiness.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Sep 20, 2012
    63
    While there are humorous and poignant moments, this angst-filled story of tender kisses, awkward dances, friends drifting apart, kindly English teachers, unrequited crushes and drug-addled partying has a nagging sense of deja vu.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    Sep 13, 2012
    60
    First-time writer-director Stephen Chbosky adapts his young-adult bestseller with far more passion than skill, which suits familiar scenes of adolescent awkwardness aptly enough.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 16, 2012
    25
    A risible, somewhat revolting piece of pop martyrdom, made for and isolated to the damaged middle class.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 77
  2. Negative: 7 out of 77
  1. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    This wasn't just a coming-of-age film in regards to the story, but also for the actors and actresses involved in what could be one of the best films of the year.
    Charlie (Logan Lerman) is narrating the film as he enters high school, but he finds difficulty making new friends, only managing to speak friendly to his English teacher, Mr Anderson (Paul Rudd).
    He soon builds the confidence to speak to Patrick (Ezra Miller), an eccentric but likeable senior, at this point Charlie is introduced to Patrick's stepsister, Sam (Emma Watson), he is immediately attracted to and begins to spend more time with the two as they embark on an adventure of self-discovery and the hardship of growing up.
    The film moves at a feel-good pace that is hard to find flaw with, the characters are immediately likeable, even though they hold onto to personal woes and secrets, but when they merge as one, the film truly comes alive, with each character and talent playing them stepping out and being free, Miller is no longer a psychotic bow and arrow wielder from We Need to Talk About Kevin, Lerman no longer a demigod of Percy Jackson fame, nor is Watson, who does a wonderful turn as the beautiful Sam, leaving her Harry Potter days long behind her, each actor signifying their intention to move on.
    Wallflower is certainly not without its drama though, and it does play out a little differently than a typical adolescent movie, but the film is carefully written so that it doesn't follow the same path involving drugs, sex and school, but subtly hints at all of the above, but at the same time creating an engaging story as to how these characters grow to rely on each other and their necessity to be different.
    This attempt at difference involves a catchy and nostalgic soundtrack that will have you screaming the tunes as you watch the film. Where the film truly succeeds is its emotional journey of character development and personal achievements. The powerful performances of the three leads will have you engrossed from start to finish, they truly embrace their roles and let themselves enjoy the moment, and with an emotional climax that could just bring a tear to your eye, it certainly is an unexpected yet properly realistic and grounded ending that is heartfelt and touching.
    A feel-good and emotionally romantic journey of self-discovery, with plenty of drama and laughs that add up to an extremely enjoyable, well-written and fantastically acted film.
    Expand
  2. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    Great movie!!!!!!! Delicate pure and modern!
    Awesome soundtrack!!! And Charlie such a sweetheart!!
    Shows the anxiety of an adolescent with
    sensibility
    A new cult movie!!!
    Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    infinite... that's what this movie will be. A new cult classic! Charlies journey to find himself is a wonderful uplifting struggle against the days of high school i was instantly transported to the days i both hated and loved. Go see it with a good friend Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    This film was such an amazing and well written film. this has to be one of the best films of romance and drama of this year (in my point of view) for those who love a great chick flick this is the movie to see :) Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    Per un adulto e visto da fuori, ‘Noi siamo infinito’ un lavoro da prendere con le molle. I film sui liceali sono sempre a rischio di scatenare l'orticaria, basta vedere quelli che ammannisce Italia 1, e il fatto che alla regia ci sia Chbosky che, praticamente all'esordio, segue la sua sceneggiatura tratta da un suo libro, può solo acuire i sospetti. Beh, non necessario attendere la conclusione dei cento minuti di durata per rendersi conto che, questa volta, i pre-giudizi sono del tutto infondati: la storia dell'introverso Charlie e della sua amicizia con i fratellastri Sam(antha) e Patrick conquista da subito grazie al disegno preciso e delicato dei personaggi e a un ritmo che non viene mai meno pur raccontando un'evoluzione psicologica che si sviluppa attraverso i piccoli fatti di ogni giorno. Tra lezioni, feste da ballo e azzardate reinterpretazioni del ‘Rocky horror picture show’, Chbosky segue con affetto i suoi personaggi che, per un modo o per l'altro, sono figure ai margini del loro piccolo liceo di provincia: per questo, appena arrivato, Charlie si trova subito in sintonia con Sam, che ha fama di ragazza facile con la tendenza a mettersi con l'uomo sbagliato, e Patrick, omosessuale innamorato di uno dei giocatori della squadra di football, che sono invece all'ultimo anno (uno dei pochi difetti del film che la differenza d'età non si nota e, infatti, Lerman e Miller sono quasi coetanei) e insieme cercano di darsi una mano a superare i rispettivi problemi. Oltre alla naturale ritrosia e a una passione per i libri alimentata dal professor Anderson (immancabile ‘Il giovane Holden’), il protagonista si porta a spasso anche un trauma infantile: il rapporto con la zia Helen un po' pretestuoso in verità, tanto che la sua assenza avrebbe reso più omogeneo il racconto, ma viene utilizzato come catalizzatore della crisi che, dopo lo spavento, aiuta tutti quanti a crescere, adulti (forse) compresi. Con tali premesse, quasi superfluo sottolineare come tutto il film sia permeato di una diffusa tristezza, che del resto una caratteristica costante nelle migliori opere legate all'adolescenza: risulta perciò assai azzeccato che la prima svolta nel racconto sia legata ad ‘Asleep’ degli Smiths, le cui splendide perle pop sono immancabilmente immerse nella malinconia che evoca gli ‘anni importanti’ della crescita. Del resto, tutta la colonna sonora molto ben curata, inanellando una serie di brani per la maggior parte di provenienza ‘indie’ come quelli che i ragazzi si scambiano con insistenza su cassetta (l'ambientazione all'inizio degli anni Novanta): ci sono la contagiosa ‘Come on Eileen’, gli Xtc in principio sorge un sospetto di anglofilia poi dissipato i Pavement, i Cracker e altri che elencare sarebbe troppo lungo, ma tra i quali trova posto persino Joey Ramone alle prese con la spectoriana ‘Christmas (Baby please come home)’. Si riesce così anche ad accettare che, in quel periodo, dei diciottenni appassionati di musica non conoscessero ‘Heroes’ di David Bowie, canzone che, da parte sua, conferma ancora una volta la fascinosa cinematograficità nelle belle scene del tunnel. Queste ultime sono le uniche costruite allo scopo di aggiungere pathos al momento, mentre il resto del film si mantiene allineato alla semplicità delle situazioni in modo ammirevole, caratteristica che, assieme a una fotografia che predilige i toni caldi, amplifica l'empatia dello spettatore: il resto lo fanno gli interpreti, con i maschietti che forse si fanno preferire trascinati dal faccino pulito del bravo Lerman e al più problematico Patrick di Miller, ma anche con una Emma Watson capace di regalare a Sam le giuste sfumature a testimonianza che forse c’è vita oltre Hermione Granger. Expand
  6. Oct 17, 2012
    8
    Going into this film I was a little hesitant by some people calling it "The Breakfast Club for a new generation". Not that I have a problem with that film, it's a classic, I just can't stand it when people try to compare new films to classics just because of a few similarities. But after seeing Perks I felt that both films have a lot in common. I think it's very easy to connect with the main character, especially if you weren't one of the "cool" kids in high school. You really feel for this guy and everything he's going through. It definitely helps that the author of the book is also the director of this film. Perks is worth checking out. Expand
  7. Oct 17, 2012
    0
    The problem with this movie is that there isn't a single likeable character throughout the whole of it. The entire movie is a cringe-fest, with quotes like "don't you just love old music" and "everything sounds better on vinyl" at every given opportunity, as if the writers were somehow trying to relate to the sort of hipsters that plaster their walls with The Beatles posters and think they're awesome for being such "individuals." Not even Emma Watson could make you want to watch this, as she plays an obnoxious and totally unrealistic free spirit movie cliche. Essentially, the movie is just an endless reel of pretend quirkyness, lackluster narration, and an extremely slow developing plot. The only people who would like this movie, are the sort of people that wear black horn-rimmed glasses and pretend the characters in this movie are oh-so relateable to their quirky and "unique" nature. It's awful, and if you thought Emma Watson was annoying in the trailer when she stands up in the back of that car, then you'll hate the rest of the characters. Oh, and Paul Rudd is only in about 3 or 4 scenes, so don't let his casting be an influence in your decision to see this terrible movie. Expand

See all 77 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Fall Film Festival Roundup: The Verdict on Films Screening at TIFF, Telluride, and Venice

    2012 Fall Film Festival Roundup: The Verdict on Films Screening at TIFF, Telluride, and Venice Image
    Published: September 17, 2012
    Find out what critics are saying about over two dozen key movies that debuted at fall's three major film festivals, including "Silver Linings Playbook," "Argo," "To the Wonder," "Cloud Atlas," "Frances Ha," and more.