User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 447 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 447
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LucilleJ.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    The Phantom of the Opera is one of the most passionate of all musicals, and the people have spoken on it many times. The film is rapturous.
  2. GinoS.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    My favorite number is "Prima Donna." Other gens include "The Point of No Return" and "Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again." The latter is set in a snowyy cemetary, and is one of the film's stunning sets.
  3. LeaT.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    An absolutely spectacular movie! One of the greatest musical scores ever composed! Ignore the snooty critics!
  4. JohnZ.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    The stage play has been matched by this superior-on-all-counts musical film, that should again have the public defeating the critics!
  5. DaveP.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    The highest praise for this stunning production. I adored Emmy Rossum.
  6. AngeloD.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    I was dragged to see this movie this afternoon and I must admit that I was blown away! The movie looked stunning and the music was soaring! A++++
  7. JohnB.
    Dec 24, 2004
    9
    THE BEST FILM I'VE SEEN ALL YEAR!
  8. JimS.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    I must say that I have completely lost all my respect for film critics, who seem to be attacking this film because they hate Andrew Lloyd Webber. Things like the quality of the music, singing and the visual presentation mean nothing. But this is the greatest music ever written for a Broadway show, and it is heard in all its splendor in the film.
  9. jasoni.
    Dec 24, 2004
    0
    This is the kind of movie that makes you want to put a paper bag on your head and crawl out of the theatre in hopes that NO ONE SPOTS YOU exiting the auditorium that is blasting this Excruciating, Painful, and Embarressing adaption of the stage hit. This was trying so hard to be chicago, moulin rouge but it ends up being worst then XANADU! Hell I would rather sit thru repeat viewings of This is the kind of movie that makes you want to put a paper bag on your head and crawl out of the theatre in hopes that NO ONE SPOTS YOU exiting the auditorium that is blasting this Excruciating, Painful, and Embarressing adaption of the stage hit. This was trying so hard to be chicago, moulin rouge but it ends up being worst then XANADU! Hell I would rather sit thru repeat viewings of Grease 2 then this anyday. The Phantom was so horrible, the entire audience I saw it with busted out laughing when he would sing, his facial expressions made him look like he was about to take a big phantom dump! Expand
  10. BrownellS.
    Dec 24, 2004
    9
    Best musical in decades(cf. "Moulin Rouge" with its eye-hurting 60 edits a minute)! Superb production values, stirring orchestrations, gorgeous and perfectly cast Rossum. Bears repeated viewings.
  11. CarolAnnC.
    Dec 24, 2004
    1
    I loved Phantom on Broadway and have seen it several times. Having said that I was eagerly looking forward to The Movie. What I saw last night was a tedious methodical slow boring video sans any emotion. Actors hurried about the stage and appeared to lyp sync their words. Unfortunately, despite ample opportunity to develop the characters on the silver screen it just never happens. They I loved Phantom on Broadway and have seen it several times. Having said that I was eagerly looking forward to The Movie. What I saw last night was a tedious methodical slow boring video sans any emotion. Actors hurried about the stage and appeared to lyp sync their words. Unfortunately, despite ample opportunity to develop the characters on the silver screen it just never happens. They just run around busily and jump from one song to the next. As a result, the movie is highly disappointing. Of course, for those that have never seen it on Broadway you'll love Andrew Lloyd Webber's music. But as a movie, it's just plain flat like soda pop that has lost its fizz. For those expecting to see another Chicago or Moulon Rouge be ready for a great let down. Only in the final act do the actors show some real emotion. Very disappointing compared to what might have been? Expand
  12. BartT.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    Despite the nasty reviews, this is one musical that delivers! Hatred for Andrew Lloyd Webber is no excuse to castigate Schumacher's magnificent work. A winner across-the-board!
  13. RobertH.
    Dec 24, 2004
    0
    I've seen Phantom Of The Opera six times on Broadway and absolutely love the music of the night. When I heard it was becoming a movie I couldn't wait to see it. Well, last night I wish I could have hung myself (no pun intended) as I was so horrified at what I was watching. This is a tasteless flat video in which the characters never come to life. There is no character I've seen Phantom Of The Opera six times on Broadway and absolutely love the music of the night. When I heard it was becoming a movie I couldn't wait to see it. Well, last night I wish I could have hung myself (no pun intended) as I was so horrified at what I was watching. This is a tasteless flat video in which the characters never come to life. There is no character development, the actors rarely speak (perhaps they can't), and just rush from one song and dance to the next. It's all very busy but not three dimensional in any sense of the word. In a nutshell, it's just awful. If you want to listen to the music please do so; but remember to close your eyes. Warning: Watching this drek could prove detrimental to your viewing pleasure. Avoid. Expand
  14. AndrewS.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    A magnificent musical. Great acting, singing and sets. A winner!
  15. BerniceW.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    A deeply moving musical that replicates the stage play's great success. One day the critics will realize their folly.
  16. FrankP.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    Nearly as good as a film as it was on the stage. Lustrous and riveting, and terrifically stirring. Both Emmy Rossum and to a slightly lesser extent, Gerard Butler are wonderful. The look of the film is really stunning and the score as always is quite beautiful.
  17. RussM.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    MAGNIFICENT!!!
  18. JasonG.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    ONE OF THE FINEST MUSICALS EVER!
  19. LouisA.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    It is truly sad how critics are attacking this. It seems to be something other than the masterful quality of the work. The movie is a gem.
  20. TonyB.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    The real star of this beautitul-to-look-at musical treasure is the angelic Emmy Rossum, who lights the screen up in every scene she's in.
  21. DamonE.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    Few musical films equal this is both for the power of the music and the quality of its visuals. Awesome and spectacular production.
  22. MaxineG.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    A dazzling and rapturous film. I am still trying to understand how numerous critics are so hostile toward it. From the visual presentation to the awesome music, this is a complete winner.
  23. MartyK.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    Nice try people! But the public will validate this the same way the public for the stage musical did!
  24. CherylS.
    Dec 25, 2004
    10
    My hausband and I were really enraptured with this awesome production. The critics have shown their complete ignorance on this one. The score contains one overpowering number after the next. And this is the most satisfying "eye candy" I have ever watched in a theatre, all appropriate to the nature of the production.
  25. CliffU.
    Dec 25, 2004
    10
    Great movie!!!!
  26. ThomasN.
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    FANTASTIC MOVIE!
  27. BillJ.
    Dec 26, 2004
    8
    I enjoyed the movie. As a romantic fantasy, it had color, glamour, beautiful costumes, a nice set and score. I'd say it was visually stunning. I had never seen any of the other Phantom's, so can't judge against them but I do have the soundtrack from the play. While the Phantom was played well by Gerard Butler, I don't think his voice was up to the job. OTOH, Emmy I enjoyed the movie. As a romantic fantasy, it had color, glamour, beautiful costumes, a nice set and score. I'd say it was visually stunning. I had never seen any of the other Phantom's, so can't judge against them but I do have the soundtrack from the play. While the Phantom was played well by Gerard Butler, I don't think his voice was up to the job. OTOH, Emmy Rossum's voice was terrific, though it needs maturing and she was too young for the part. Patrick Wilson was too much the wimp but he got his girl. The back story wasn't exactly clear. I wondered throughout the movie who the old lady was who was bidding for the monkey piece against the old man and who he looked at longingly in the mirror as he drove away. Expand
  28. MichaelL.
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    A wonderful interpretation on a fine show. Thank God no one takes critics seriously. The public knows they are self-important blow-hards who can't think for themselves. A mass hatred of Andrew Lloyd Weber doomed this project from the start. It's beautifully art directed, well acted, filled with great performers in supporting roles (Miranda Richardson and Minnie Driver are A wonderful interpretation on a fine show. Thank God no one takes critics seriously. The public knows they are self-important blow-hards who can't think for themselves. A mass hatred of Andrew Lloyd Weber doomed this project from the start. It's beautifully art directed, well acted, filled with great performers in supporting roles (Miranda Richardson and Minnie Driver are delightful to watch), and thoroughly entertaining. The same moronic critics slaughtered "Evita", a fine film--for the same reason: hatred of ALW. And a healthy dose of wanting to see Madonna fail, as well. If you love musicals, see this film. It's an improvement on the Broadway show, with some dead weight removed and some coherence added. Bravo, Mr. Schumacher. Expand
  29. DouglasM.
    Dec 27, 2004
    10
    All the great songs from the immortal stage musical are here, and the singing is far better than you'd beliece. The sets, costumes, make-up, art direction all lavish and top-rank. A PLUS.
  30. FrancisC.
    Dec 27, 2004
    10
    Absolutely superb! A must-see.
  31. StevenD.
    Dec 28, 2004
    9
    Emmy Rossum as Christine was wonderful, Gerard Butler was OK if you had never heard Michael Crawford. Visualy striking I liked the extra scenes at the graveyard and not the scenes as to how the Phantom came to be. Minnie Driver deserves an award for supporting she was teriffic.
  32. Beth
    Dec 28, 2004
    10
    This was an unbelievable movie! I was completely enthralled.
  33. CrystalS.
    Dec 28, 2004
    9
    The cast was excellent and the costums blew me away. ANd its the Phantom of the Opera what more can u ask for!!
  34. Dudley
    Dec 29, 2004
    0
    Yuk! What a mess? Where did they find Butler? He can't sing at all.
  35. JayH.
    Dec 29, 2004
    10
    The "Phantom" movie is, in a word, spectacular. Unfortunately, the professional critics, lemmings all, reject any film that does not have the "gravitas" to make their job seem important---it wouldn't be "cool" to be paid for simply having a good time at the movies. Yes, the film is sentimental and the music is loud. But just sit back and let yourself be swept away by the spectacle of The "Phantom" movie is, in a word, spectacular. Unfortunately, the professional critics, lemmings all, reject any film that does not have the "gravitas" to make their job seem important---it wouldn't be "cool" to be paid for simply having a good time at the movies. Yes, the film is sentimental and the music is loud. But just sit back and let yourself be swept away by the spectacle of it all. Great film! Expand
  36. Heidi
    Dec 31, 2004
    10
    Amazing done, I was extreamly impressed.
  37. LucyC.
    Dec 31, 2004
    10
    This was a fabulous movie...a direct transfer from the stage to the screen...emmy rossum & patrick wilson were well cast & acted and sang beautifully; gerard butler brought another (stronger) dimension to the phantom role--i've seen it 3x and each time the audience applauded.
  38. RobertL.
    Dec 30, 2004
    4
    Beautiful photography, nice music that we all know, and it just doesn't make it.
  39. WendyG
    Dec 31, 2004
    10
    I thought it was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! Beautiful and sad. Music does not get much better ,' Music of the Night ' is one of the most beautiful songs ever written, anyone panning this almost perfect piece must be too pre-occupied with how wry and clever they can be later when they write about it & not have been paying attention. Once again, like Moulin Rouge, apparantly some cannot I thought it was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! Beautiful and sad. Music does not get much better ,' Music of the Night ' is one of the most beautiful songs ever written, anyone panning this almost perfect piece must be too pre-occupied with how wry and clever they can be later when they write about it & not have been paying attention. Once again, like Moulin Rouge, apparantly some cannot digest a pure simple beautiful and sad story, perhaps because THEY need more complication. Expand
  40. sam
    Dec 30, 2004
    9
    EMMY as Christine is incrediable. SHe can SING!!!! I mean like a real opera singer
  41. LeeD.
    Jan 14, 2005
    4
    Musicals have to overcome the obstacle of being overly whimsical and false if they are to be made for the screen. In order to do this, there must be a certain rawness to the production, an over-the-top, tough, rough power that makes you gaze in wonder. Unfortunately, The Phantom of the Opera is so glazed over with fickle prettiness that it has become just a precious, porcelain ornament of Musicals have to overcome the obstacle of being overly whimsical and false if they are to be made for the screen. In order to do this, there must be a certain rawness to the production, an over-the-top, tough, rough power that makes you gaze in wonder. Unfortunately, The Phantom of the Opera is so glazed over with fickle prettiness that it has become just a precious, porcelain ornament of fragile worthlessness. There are occasional moments of splendour, but it all just gets deflated as soon as they fade away into the night. And like these scenes, The Phantom of the Opera will just dissolve out of your hands every time you try to pick it up and get a good look at it. Expand
  42. RF
    Jan 15, 2005
    9
    It seems most film critics don't like broadway plays. While there might be a couple of things I would change in the movie...this is well worth your time and will certainly be on your "buy the DVD" when it comes out list. Bravo!
  43. JeffL.
    Jan 15, 2005
    8
    Phantomphiles and Phantomphobes can once again argue the merits of Andrew Lloyd Webber's monumentally popular stage musical, thanks to this incredibly sumptuous, over-the-top, at times enthralling film version. Director Joel Schumacher, who directed Brat Pack movies in the Eighties and did his best to kill off the Batman franchise in the Nineties, actually turns out to have been an Phantomphiles and Phantomphobes can once again argue the merits of Andrew Lloyd Webber's monumentally popular stage musical, thanks to this incredibly sumptuous, over-the-top, at times enthralling film version. Director Joel Schumacher, who directed Brat Pack movies in the Eighties and did his best to kill off the Batman franchise in the Nineties, actually turns out to have been an inspired choice to helm the cinematic Phantom; his years as a production designer are evident in the gorgeous, larger-than-life visuals set in Paris' sumptuous Opera Populaire and in the Phantom's subterranean lair. The largely unknown leads were undoubtedly cast for their singing ability and not unappealing physical attributes, but I was also quite touched by the acting of Emmy Rossum as the aspiring opera singer Christine and especially Gerard Butler as the Phantom, her mysterious mentor, who will stop at nothing to see her become a star. For some welcome comic relief amid the melodrama, Minnie Driver is a hoot as the vain diva Carlotta. If you hate the source material, you'll probabably want to take a pass on this; but for millions of fans of Lloyd Webber's music and melodrama, this is a rich, satisfying, and moving adaptation. Expand
  44. JimM.
    Jan 16, 2005
    10
    This film has received a completely unfair assessment by those who never liked Mr. Lloyd Webber in the first place. It is beautifully mounted and sung, and the orchestration is wonderful.
  45. KatyL
    Jan 16, 2005
    5
    This was pretty bad. I'm hard to displease, but here it is. I won't say that I'm sorry I went because it's always fun to see how someone new interprets for a new medium (the screen) something that was such a cultural phenomenon some years ago. Emmy Rossum did well, but her voice isn't nearly as fresh sounding as it was in Songcatcher. Minnie Driver was hilarious. This was pretty bad. I'm hard to displease, but here it is. I won't say that I'm sorry I went because it's always fun to see how someone new interprets for a new medium (the screen) something that was such a cultural phenomenon some years ago. Emmy Rossum did well, but her voice isn't nearly as fresh sounding as it was in Songcatcher. Minnie Driver was hilarious. Gerard Butler was a cheesball and a HORRIBLE singer. Patrick Wilson was just kinda there. I was really disappointed with Shumacher's interpretation of the "Masquerade" number. The song's lyrics evoke images of swirls of color, beautiful visual chaos. But the choreography was booorrrring, the costumes were noncommital (not colorful, not black & white, not silver & gold). If you feel you must see it, go to a matinee at the cheapest theater you can find. It's still better to see it on the big screen than to rent it later. Just be ready for something very trite and cheezy in that Celine Dion kinda way. Expand
  46. sarras
    Jan 16, 2005
    8
    I think it was a truly amazing movie. It doesn't deserve a ten, but it is deffinitely up there. Emma Rossund is a beautiful singer and actress. She is also very pretty. I didn't know the music very well, but after this I won't be able to get it out of my head for years!!!!!!!!
  47. JaniceB.
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    I loved the stage play, love the music and love the movie, especially Gerard Butler as the Phantom. Ladies, prepare to fall in love.
  48. MarkB.
    Jan 19, 2005
    5
    What they do to Minnie Driver is perfectly indicative of everything else that's wrong with this wildly elaborate but terminally forgettable filmization of the smash Broadway musical. She's extremely funny as an egotistical diva--easily giving the best performance in the movie--but could've been even more so if the makeup crew hadn't buried half her face in What they do to Minnie Driver is perfectly indicative of everything else that's wrong with this wildly elaborate but terminally forgettable filmization of the smash Broadway musical. She's extremely funny as an egotistical diva--easily giving the best performance in the movie--but could've been even more so if the makeup crew hadn't buried half her face in pseudo-Kabuki glop that succeeded only in making me temporarily associate this normally beautiful woman with Divine in any zero-budget 1970s John Waters opus. The rest of the movie is far less substantial than Driver; the three leads (Gerard Butler, Emmy Rossum and Patrick Wilson) are pretty and sound nice, I suppose, but are completely lacking in oomph factor; the story is wispy and inconsequential and takes forever to get there. As for the score, well, let's just say that the reason I'm not a huge Andrew Lloyd Webber fan is that, unlike Rodgers and Hammerstein, Lerner and Loewe, Frank Loesser and Stephen Sondheim (and Jesus Christ Superstar notwithstanding), Webber seems to work on the philoophy of why leave the theater humming the entire score when just one hit song per show will do just fine? Don't blame Gaston Leroux, who originated the powerful, elemental source material: the atmospheric 1925 silent with Lon Chaney still works today, while Brian DePalma's rock satire Phantom of the Paradise and Dario Argento's wildly stylized horror film Opera are tremendously imaginative reworkings that hold up under repeated viewings. There's not much real imagination at work here, so director Joel Schumacher buries what little there is in increasingly ornate but pointless spectacle. (You know something's not working when we visit the Phantom's lair, which is decked out with as many candles as Carrie White's mom filled the house with before the final showdown, and despite the events going on in front of them, all I could think about was how did they all manage to stay lit in the cold, damp air?) Some critics and film buffs believe Schumacher to be the biggest hack currently working; I fully disagree: the Lost Boys is a wonderfully entertaining pop vampire movie; Cousins is one of the very few Americanizations of a foreign film that almost matches the original; his two John Grisham movies are examples of extremely competent, watchable storytelling, and the Michael Douglas thriller/social comment Falling Down is, quite simply, one of the most underrated movies of the 1990s. With Phantom, however, we're treading dangerously close to the "bad" Schumacher: the one who put nipples on the Batsuit. Expand
  49. JozieL.
    Jan 23, 2005
    10
    Gerard Butler is a superb phantom . . . his body movements, this hands, his lips captivated me. Coudn't take my eyes off him. Bravo!
  50. stanh
    Jan 23, 2005
    7
    I loved the play! I think they miised the boat here but it still watchable. Fans of the play might be a little disapointed ( I was) but you can't keep your eyes off the screen! THere is a song "Point of No Return" that goes on and on! That song could of been cut and replaced with 3 lines of simple dialog! If they would of cas "Celine Dion" in the role of Christine they might of had I loved the play! I think they miised the boat here but it still watchable. Fans of the play might be a little disapointed ( I was) but you can't keep your eyes off the screen! THere is a song "Point of No Return" that goes on and on! That song could of been cut and replaced with 3 lines of simple dialog! If they would of cas "Celine Dion" in the role of Christine they might of had something better. Lets hope "Sunset Boulevard" ( if it gets made) makes it to the screen with a better screenplay and director. Attention Milos Foreman Norma Desmond needs you! Expand
  51. CimmerianU.
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    Just saw it for the 4th time beautiful.
  52. GregS.
    Jan 25, 2005
    7
    The deficiencies of transmigrating a 3 dimensional extravaganza to a two-dimensional canvas can not possibly retain the spectacle inherent in this symbiotic process. You're merely observing the events are are not absorbed by them as in the theatre. If the need for explanatory flashbacks were part of the script then why not provide a brief glimpse at Raoul and Christine's The deficiencies of transmigrating a 3 dimensional extravaganza to a two-dimensional canvas can not possibly retain the spectacle inherent in this symbiotic process. You're merely observing the events are are not absorbed by them as in the theatre. If the need for explanatory flashbacks were part of the script then why not provide a brief glimpse at Raoul and Christine's earliest seeds of involvement, if only for 30 seconds of the 144 minutes. Expand
  53. SandyV.
    Jan 28, 2005
    10
    Loved it! Gerard Bulter did a great job. I loved that his voicewasn't highly refined. He was able to give a depth of emotion to his songs that worked just right. Emmy Rossum was incredible - she was only 16 when she did the film! The sets were so beautiful. Loved the special effects and the ending. I've seen it twice and will see it again. I keep finding friends to take. Loved it! Gerard Bulter did a great job. I loved that his voicewasn't highly refined. He was able to give a depth of emotion to his songs that worked just right. Emmy Rossum was incredible - she was only 16 when she did the film! The sets were so beautiful. Loved the special effects and the ending. I've seen it twice and will see it again. I keep finding friends to take. Everyone here agrees that it should have been nominated for best picture. Expand
  54. John---
    Oct 29, 2005
    3
    Ponderous and pompous; detracts from the original play with ridiculous additons (sword fight, death trap, interminable journeys, and motion-sickness-inducing camera swoops).
  55. JuliaV.
    Feb 18, 2005
    10
    This film was so sweet and sad... I was crying so much... I loved the Phantom!
  56. PepeLePeu
    Feb 21, 2005
    0
    Puke for the senses, is what best describes this relentlessly bombastic mediocrity. Someone duped enough people to nominate the end credits song for a best song Oscar. Well, poo-poo, as I can think of at last five better songs used more effectively and prominently in films this year, not to mention that they were better songs altogether. It is a shame that another perfectly fine stage Puke for the senses, is what best describes this relentlessly bombastic mediocrity. Someone duped enough people to nominate the end credits song for a best song Oscar. Well, poo-poo, as I can think of at last five better songs used more effectively and prominently in films this year, not to mention that they were better songs altogether. It is a shame that another perfectly fine stage musical gets so thoroughly wasted on its cinematic treatment. Expand
  57. Chase
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    Absolutely wonderful. Beautiful to hear and watch. What a haunting finale.
  58. Lynn
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    It is my new favorite movie -- and that is going some since Gone With the Wind has been my favorite for 28 years. Gerard Butler was amazing. His singing was perfect for the sexy rock style and his acting. I can not say enough about how he moved me. I have seen it a number of times and I cry at the same 4 moments every time and end the movie sobbing for his pain and hearbreak.
  59. cricri
    May 15, 2005
    10
    Simply splendid! I felt this musical down to my bones deeply in my soul. I was moved, I cannot describe the monumental movie you just going to have to see it. I can't forget the songs, The Phantom of the Opera is here inside my mind.
  60. brittneyg.
    May 21, 2005
    10
    This was absolutley the best movie i have ever seen. Gerard Butler is one of my most faorite actors in all of america. Emma did awesome too! Great job Mr.Webber you've out done yourself on this film!!!!
  61. GraciaG.
    May 24, 2005
    10
    I love Gerard Butler!!! I love his voice.
  62. ArakonA.
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    'The Phantom of the Opera', based on the book written by Gaston Leroux, 'The Phantom of the Opera' combines the elements of acting, singing and music into one stunning film. I myself am participating in a 'Phantom of the Opera' musical at the moment (as the Phantom), and I now truly understand what an undertaking the production of this film was. After these 'The Phantom of the Opera', based on the book written by Gaston Leroux, 'The Phantom of the Opera' combines the elements of acting, singing and music into one stunning film. I myself am participating in a 'Phantom of the Opera' musical at the moment (as the Phantom), and I now truly understand what an undertaking the production of this film was. After these comments, I would like to make a few... how do you say... 'enlightenments' to the accusations of this film. First of all, I will clarify the lypsynching. As you know, if you have seen the movie, the majority of the movie is performed in singing speech. (I would hope so, considering that it is a musical, of course...) The reason for pre-recordings and lipsynching is all the onstage movement. If you don't understand my point, try holding a steady note while walking. Now try it going up a flight of stairs as fast as you can. Then you'll understand my point. Secondly, the point of Gerard Butler's singing. As you probably know, many comments have been brought up about Mr. Butler's singing. Taking the fact into consideration that he has had no professional training, I would say he did a swell job on that film. I'd like to see you accusers do any better than him. A couple more comments of my own... Emmy Rossum's singing was stunning, as was Minnie Driver's. Although I was a little disappointed at the absence of some important plot elements in the 'Phantom of the Opera' film, I am confident that the cast makes up for this. Expand
  63. brittanys.
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    This movie was the best!!!! drama musical and romance all combined makes this a fantastic movie!!! i love this movie.
  64. TiffanyE.
    Jun 23, 2005
    8
    I just finished the movie, and I agreed with Anna M. Patrick Wilson as Raoul was a joke and dissapointing. I would have never chosen him over Butler. He was amazing. I have seen the play three times, and he was very good. Rossum was a little green for this movie. I thought she did look like a dear in the headlights. I expected more out of her, or out of this role. And maybe she I just finished the movie, and I agreed with Anna M. Patrick Wilson as Raoul was a joke and dissapointing. I would have never chosen him over Butler. He was amazing. I have seen the play three times, and he was very good. Rossum was a little green for this movie. I thought she did look like a dear in the headlights. I expected more out of her, or out of this role. And maybe she didn't have what it took to pull it off. But all in all, it was a wonderful movie, and I will give it a well deserved 8. Expand
  65. megan
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    I loved the movie i watched it 7 times i loved it. i like all the people who did it. my favorite characters are christine and the phantom. i think they did well together. Gerad butler did a great job as the phantom. emmy rossum was the best person to play christine. i just loved it. exept i didnt like the ending i personally think that christine should of went with the phantom.
  66. BethL
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    What are you people thinking when you say it wasn't a good movie?!?!? You must be insane!! Gerard Butler is, in my opinon, the best singer in the movie considering he had no previous experince in singing (that I know of anyway) and his voice was so captivating that it made me want to become an actress and sing so well that it captivates the audience like he did. As for Emmy Rossum, What are you people thinking when you say it wasn't a good movie?!?!? You must be insane!! Gerard Butler is, in my opinon, the best singer in the movie considering he had no previous experince in singing (that I know of anyway) and his voice was so captivating that it made me want to become an actress and sing so well that it captivates the audience like he did. As for Emmy Rossum, she makes a wonderful Christine. She was perfect for the part the same as Mr.Butler was perfect for the Part of the Phantom. Patrick Willson I wasn't too fond of but he did a great job none the less. You people who are judging the movie to the Broadway version, shouldn't. There is NO comparison between a stage play and a Movie. They are two TOTALLY different types of acting and in no way should be compared to one another. Unless YOU can sing opera music in 7 different languages and used to be/are a professional opera singer then you shouldn't say that this movie is the worst ever. I'm sure that Gerard Butler can sing better than most. Over-all, This movie is in no way a waste of time and you should by all means see it.If you don't like Musicals, THEN DON"T WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY!!! (DUH!!!) Expand
  67. MonicaD.
    Jan 22, 2006
    10
    I think that some of the people who voted this movie below an 8 are ridiculous. I'm sorry, but this movie was fantastic!! I saw the play after the movie and it was tough not to compare them, good or bad, but I loved it. What really made me mad after seeing the play was the casting for Roul! I don't think I've ever heard of Patrick Wilson, but (and I hope at least someone I think that some of the people who voted this movie below an 8 are ridiculous. I'm sorry, but this movie was fantastic!! I saw the play after the movie and it was tough not to compare them, good or bad, but I loved it. What really made me mad after seeing the play was the casting for Roul! I don't think I've ever heard of Patrick Wilson, but (and I hope at least someone agrees with me) his hair is disgusting! The guy who played Roul for the show I saw was better looking and a better singer. Some people think Roul is hot, but I really dissagree. Gerard Butler on the other hand I thought was extremely hot! He was kind of weird at the beginning but after I heard him sing I just melted. He was fantastic and he didn't shake convulsively when Christine kissed him either, like the Phantom onstage (even though he was awesome). After he layed Christine on that bed during Music of the Night there was a lip-synched mess-up there, you could see it. Emmy Rossum did really well-- I had no idea she could sing, I just knew she was in The Day After Tomorrow. The ending made me get choked up because it was so sad (the whole flashback thing). I think a lot of people agree with me here, that Christine should've picked the Phantom over Roul. The book was good too, but what surprised me in it that the Phantom's name was ERIC!! I don't know, that just doesn't seem to fit the whole idea about him. And once again to beat on Roul, he was a crybaby throughout the whole book. There was a whole other character in it, the Persian, he would've had a really cool part, but it's only for the end. Also, if you never understood that thing about the "Hand at the level of your eye", you have to read the book. It's about pretecting yourself from a lasso or something like that. Overall, this movie was more than fantastic, and the story is so romantic and beautiful that this movie deserves at least a rating of 8. Expand
  68. TrishaK.
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    This Movie is now my favorite. I love the music, but was taken back by the phantom, Gerard Butler, I love the way he sings with emotion. I have heard the other excellent opera singers on stage, but this version is very pasionate, romantic and great singing. This version did not have any boring parts. All the actors were excellent. I think there would be no story if there was no passion This Movie is now my favorite. I love the music, but was taken back by the phantom, Gerard Butler, I love the way he sings with emotion. I have heard the other excellent opera singers on stage, but this version is very pasionate, romantic and great singing. This version did not have any boring parts. All the actors were excellent. I think there would be no story if there was no passion between the phantom and Christine, would just be a horror picture of sorts. Also, I think the phantom did get the human connection in the end, he was isolated, but at the end he definitely made a heroic choice and moral. Think Meg was going to run after him at the end there...hmm who knows a sequel. Meg joins him, Chrisine later at 25 wonders what the phantom is up to?? Another triangle? Expand
  69. Simon
    Dec 7, 2006
    2
    Come on, don't think we can't spot that the User Ratings for this film have been seriously rigged...you could at least have made it a bit more subtle by giving the odd 8 or 9...strings of 10's are just too blatant. It's a so-bad-it's-rather-funny film, and I wouldn't put anybody who wanted a giggle off watching it on that basis.
  70. L.H.
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    Love this movie. Gerard Butler, Emmy Rossum, Patrick Wilson all do a great job in the DVD which i definately loved. any one who rates low is crazy.
  71. DoloresS.
    Mar 12, 2006
    10
    I have watched The Phantom on stage so many times and just watched the movie after a year. I thought , it was not a good movie, but after watching it, I love the way the performers portray their part. Why others keep comparing the movie and the Phantom on stage? Cannot compare an apple to an orange. If there is no Phantom on stage (theater), they will still appreciate this French novel I have watched The Phantom on stage so many times and just watched the movie after a year. I thought , it was not a good movie, but after watching it, I love the way the performers portray their part. Why others keep comparing the movie and the Phantom on stage? Cannot compare an apple to an orange. If there is no Phantom on stage (theater), they will still appreciate this French novel seen on movies. Set aside my soundtract of Michael Crawford and Sarah B., and listen to the new, sweet, romantic, passionate , husky, manly voice of Gerard's version. Expand
  72. Susan
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    I saw Phantom in the theaters one year ago, and continue to be swept away by it. I have two of the DVD (both one and two disc sets) and the soudtrack. It still remains as my favortie movie of all time. I know that GerardButler has a new fan. I have purchased six other movies he was in, and think that he is the best actor I have seen. Joel, you are a genius at casting once again.
  73. TerriM.
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    Absolutely loved it. The voice of the actor playing the Phantom is awesome, powerful, mesmerizing. And the actress playing Christine couldn't be better.
  74. BrittM.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    I have seen the production of Phantom of the Opera on stage about 3 times, because I, myself sing. I go to an auditioned school for the performing arts. I was not a huge fan of the stage production, but when I saw the movie, I was astounded. It is clearer and easier to understand. Plus the musical quality is superb. Christine's [Emmy Rossum's] voice was pure and beautiful, which I have seen the production of Phantom of the Opera on stage about 3 times, because I, myself sing. I go to an auditioned school for the performing arts. I was not a huge fan of the stage production, but when I saw the movie, I was astounded. It is clearer and easier to understand. Plus the musical quality is superb. Christine's [Emmy Rossum's] voice was pure and beautiful, which is what the character's voice was supposed to sound like. It wasn't supposed to be overpowering, but just pure beauty. Gerard Butler's voice had so much emotion. I must admit, I thought the Phantom was sexy. Also, I must say that the Point of No Ruturn scene was amazing. I cried and I never cry when I seea movie. The passion in that scene is undeniable- I could feel it. I had chills. Also, I know we are on the computer, but if you are going to type a "sophisticated" review bashing the film, first of all, learn how to spell words correctly, and second, take a look at the quality of the performance, and what was meant for each individual character. I must say, beautiful. Expand
  75. ElaB.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Due to the unremarkable critical reception and my little-to-no previous Phantom knowledge I was fully expecting to hate this film version but to my surprise I've fallen in love with it. The costumes and sets, whilst sometimes over-the-top are really stunning. Emmy Rossum is perfect as the painfully naive chorus girl and Gerard Butler swings brilliantly from intimidating to seductive Due to the unremarkable critical reception and my little-to-no previous Phantom knowledge I was fully expecting to hate this film version but to my surprise I've fallen in love with it. The costumes and sets, whilst sometimes over-the-top are really stunning. Emmy Rossum is perfect as the painfully naive chorus girl and Gerard Butler swings brilliantly from intimidating to seductive to pitiful to downright evil as the Phantom and though he doesn't sing every note perfectly he more than makes up for that out of pure expressiveness. Although it has to be said the deformity could do with being more severe, seeing as Gerard still looks hot to me in the Final Lair scenes. Patrick Wilson (a very good actor in films such as Hard Candy and Little Children) does his best with the one-dimensional prince charming of the tale and does have a lovely voice (although his accent is painfully obvious), which is a perfect foil for Gerard's rougher, more sensual tones. However his and Emmy's lack of chemistry compared to her's with Butler leaves most women scratching their heads at how Christine could prefer Raoul. The end is heartbreaking, if you don't cry your tear ducts are malfunctioning. Expand
  76. Katie
    Mar 24, 2008
    7
    The movie helps the audience graps the play a little better because of the way they moved scenes around. But you can't compare a movie to the play. when you are in the opera house watching the play it feels like you are in the opera house that the Phantom of the Opera is taken place in. The Phantoms voice makes your hair sticks on end...and you too fall in love with the phantom. The The movie helps the audience graps the play a little better because of the way they moved scenes around. But you can't compare a movie to the play. when you are in the opera house watching the play it feels like you are in the opera house that the Phantom of the Opera is taken place in. The Phantoms voice makes your hair sticks on end...and you too fall in love with the phantom. The movie gives the viewers none of that. Expand
  77. JoshL
    Apr 12, 2009
    2
    Ugh. The music isn't what bugs me. Its the fact that this attempts to be a musical drama that holds no dramatic interest. Schumacher is so interested in making his first good film that he focuses on everything asthetic and nothing human. I felt nothing thru the entire movie. There's no suspense at all. I had never read the original book or seen the play and I still managed to Ugh. The music isn't what bugs me. Its the fact that this attempts to be a musical drama that holds no dramatic interest. Schumacher is so interested in making his first good film that he focuses on everything asthetic and nothing human. I felt nothing thru the entire movie. There's no suspense at all. I had never read the original book or seen the play and I still managed to predict what happened next. Maybe if it attempted to be edgy instead of pretending while still remainng pretty harmless. Every man in this film is a little girl and the women just don't THINK! There is a talented cast that gets squandered by an overly sappy ending filled with pointless reprises (seriously? the Phantoms dramatic contemplative moment is to Masqurade? I laughed out loud) and anti-climactic confrontations. This gets a 3 simply because of the very talented Emmy Rossum who does all she can to save the movie and is also super hot. I see why the phantom is nuts for her. Expand
  78. David
    Sep 13, 2009
    10
    This is, by far, my favorite movie of all times. The music is absolutely amazing, and all the actors/actresses did an outstanding job. I have to have seen it practically a million times, and I still get chills listening to the music, which I have the sound track of on my mp3 player, cell phone, computer, burned CD's for my stereo, et cetera. I literally listen to it all the time. But This is, by far, my favorite movie of all times. The music is absolutely amazing, and all the actors/actresses did an outstanding job. I have to have seen it practically a million times, and I still get chills listening to the music, which I have the sound track of on my mp3 player, cell phone, computer, burned CD's for my stereo, et cetera. I literally listen to it all the time. But I love not just the music, but all of the elements that went in to making this masterpiece. As previously mentioned, the actors and actresses did an excellent job. Gerard Butler held so much emotion so realistically, and Emmy Rossum did an excellent job with regards to her portrayal of dependence to her father and the "Angel of Music." Patrick Wilson, Minnie Driver, Miranda Richardson, and Jennifer Ellison played their roles excellently as well. As a side note, by looking at Ellison's (Meg's) character, her entire costume, posture, and voice all match her character perfectly. I also love how every trap, et cetera, that the Phantom created for his labyrinth in the film would have been technically possible (if improbable) to have created in the time period in which the movie took place, with only the money he received from the opera. I was afraid that Schumacher would put impossible effects, such as the Mirror if it hadn't been shown to slide open, into the movie for effects purposed, but it was made clear that he did not. The only thing that came close to impossible in my opinion would have been the lit candles emerging from the "vast, glassy lake," however, after some research on my own part, I learned that the technology of using certain fossil fuels to accomplish that task had been around long before the time period of the movie. All-in-all, this movie is amazing and if anyone tries to dispute that fact, go and see the movie for yourself before succumbing to that belief. Expand
  79. KimberlyB.
    Dec 23, 2004
    7
    Yes, this movie was melodramatic, and overblown but true fans of the musical will embrace it. The only thing that truly mars it is Butler's singing. It's a shame because he's not off key but there's a flatness to his voice. Still this is one movie I can't wait to own.
  80. SharonS.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    The music is extraordinary; the sets and costumes are ravishing, and the actors are gorgeous. A top drawer musical.
  81. TonyS.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    The great music is still there, and the costumes, sets and opulence give the film a polished look. The story is as always, quite emotional. Joel Schumacher deserves much credit!
  82. JeffreyM.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    Are the critics serious? This has to be the greatest abberation of film criticism in the history of the cinema......The "Phans" will triumph in the end!........A MASTERPIECE!!!
  83. MariaA.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    It is truly a shame that a number of critics have trashed this film as it is far far better than I ever imagined! The singing and the visuals are ravishing and Emmy Rossum is a star in the making! Bravo to Mr. Schumacher.
  84. GeorgeA.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    A masterwork!
  85. JanetM.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    The critics are clueless! They have made their minds up before seeing the film! The people will rescue this musical masterpiece!
  86. Mickeray
    Dec 25, 2004
    0
    Phantom is an absolutely fantastic show on Broadway that should not be missed. As for THIS movie it an amateur production without any acting whatsoever. Just awful.
  87. FrancesC.
    Dec 25, 2004
    10
    There is no doubt this is the BEST movie I have seen in a long time.
  88. ZuleronZ.
    Dec 25, 2004
    3
    The Phantom was a huge dissapointment. The music is still potent but The Phantom was totally miscast. Gerard Butler cannot sing!! And no amount of sound layering can hide his utter lack of vocal talent. The man hardly sang a note. Rather he talked and shouted (the high notes) his way through the movie. And he was flat! He was AWFUL! Christine and Raoul were vocally adequte, even excellent The Phantom was a huge dissapointment. The music is still potent but The Phantom was totally miscast. Gerard Butler cannot sing!! And no amount of sound layering can hide his utter lack of vocal talent. The man hardly sang a note. Rather he talked and shouted (the high notes) his way through the movie. And he was flat! He was AWFUL! Christine and Raoul were vocally adequte, even excellent in parts. BUT this show is about the Phantom and because Mr. Butler's Phantom was so feeble and uninspiring, the movie was practically unwatchable. A HUGE dissapointment. They should have dubbed a real singer's voice over Mr. Butler's. Again, He was AWFUL! Expand
  89. HarrietJ.
    Dec 26, 2004
    2
    After reading the mostly favorable reviews by the public I can understand why the Broadway show continues its long run on the Great White Way. However, this film has no acting and is nothing more that a video of this most wonderful show. No mistaking that I can listen to the score over and over but still as a movie it falls flat on its face. If you have the chance go to Broadway. Then and After reading the mostly favorable reviews by the public I can understand why the Broadway show continues its long run on the Great White Way. However, this film has no acting and is nothing more that a video of this most wonderful show. No mistaking that I can listen to the score over and over but still as a movie it falls flat on its face. If you have the chance go to Broadway. Then and only then will you understand what you're missing. Expand
  90. GeraldineP.
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    This is a nearly-flawless film from a visual standpoint, and the singing and musical score are as beautiful as they were on stage. The critics can hack away, but the people will make it as successful as the Broadway show.
  91. FrankM.
    Dec 27, 2004
    10
    A SPECTACULAR MUSICAL!
  92. MikeH.
    Dec 27, 2004
    10
    A beautifully-realized film version of a landmark Broadway musical. Emmy Rossum as Christine is spectacular, and the rest of the cast is good. Joel Schumacher's visual style is breathtaking, and the musical orchestration is masterful.
  93. KathyD.
    Dec 27, 2004
    9
    I loved the play and I loved the movie. I'd like to see it again.
  94. SteveG.
    Dec 28, 2004
    5
    It has enough spectacle, some memorable music and interesting moments - and yet it fails in all sorts of ways. It is of course a stage show and although it springs from a truly great stage show it shows its origins all too plainly at times. As a movie the psuedo-opera 'exchanges' and inconsistent characterisations didn't fit the medium too well. Emma Rossum's inability It has enough spectacle, some memorable music and interesting moments - and yet it fails in all sorts of ways. It is of course a stage show and although it springs from a truly great stage show it shows its origins all too plainly at times. As a movie the psuedo-opera 'exchanges' and inconsistent characterisations didn't fit the medium too well. Emma Rossum's inability to decide whether she should go with her childhood sweetheart or fall for the grotesque murderer was agony to watch, but there were other problems including the poor graveyard fight scene. The back-stage richness you might expect from such a lavish production was largely missing and the dancing failed to captivate as it really should have, given the potential for amazing costumes and large sets. In the end, I was grateful for Minnie Driver and to a lesser extent Miranda Richardson and Simon Callow for relieving the monotonies that crept up from time to time. But while the phantom himself should have been riveting, sadly he wasn't. Expand
  95. JeffS.
    Dec 31, 2004
    10
    Excellent musical.
  96. KendraP.
    Nov 17, 2008
    8
    I really do like this movie! The songs are very inviting...Not to mention the opera house is so beautiful... i can't take my eyes off of the screen when the movie is playing it is a tear jerker! the only thing i hate is the end!
  97. Sep 15, 2011
    6
    First and foremost, the Broadway musical production is (ha!) SO much better than this. Not to say that it was a bad adaptation: Gerard Butler sure did a fantastic job as the titular character. The main thing that really angered me about this is that a lot of the scenes were scrapped and/or changed--some of which would have even made more sense on camera than onstage, such as the graveyardFirst and foremost, the Broadway musical production is (ha!) SO much better than this. Not to say that it was a bad adaptation: Gerard Butler sure did a fantastic job as the titular character. The main thing that really angered me about this is that a lot of the scenes were scrapped and/or changed--some of which would have even made more sense on camera than onstage, such as the graveyard scene where the Phantom throws fireballs at Raoul. Some of the altered scenes, I can say, were clearly done to make it appear as a film rather than a direct copy of a Broadway musical, such as the opening scene and the final scene (neither of which I will give away, because the majority of the film is in a flashback, so technically, giving away the beginning would be partially giving away the ending). Cinematically, though, THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA is captivating and brilliant, if, as noted above, flawed. Expand
  98. May 22, 2015
    10
    40 on Metacritic is a joke. Seriously. Go through any of the critics reviews and you will find they are just **** about Joel Schumacher in general and not the great work he did on this film. Phantom is probably the best musical of all-time.
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 39
  2. Negative: 15 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Jo Berry
    60
    The end result, although entertaining and well-crafted, certainly isn't on the same breathtaking scale of, say, Alan Parker's epic "Evita."
  2. What the film most damagingly lacks though is a sense of mystery and danger.
  3. 40
    Watching the passionless Phantom, with its geriatric story-framing device, gooey dimestore romanticism and tawdry pop ballads about unrequited yearning, feels akin to dying and waking up in your parents’ easy-listening-radio hell.