Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 22, 2004
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 339 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
293
Mixed:
27
Negative:
19
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 30, 2011
"The Phantom of the Opera" isn't much of a entertaining movie. The acting isn't good and the story is just obedient to the musical. Its the music that you'll like, just the music.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
MissionDensityAug 17, 2010
It's curious so many critics panned this. Pretty watchable, if predictable, with timeless, catchy tunes. The female lead, Emmy Rossum, was very good. Think a strange hybrid of Moulin Rouge and Frankenstein.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysMar 9, 2014
The Phantom of the Opera remake is decidedly uninspired and not very enjoyable most of the time. The visual spectacle is definitely there, but the magic stops there as well.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
WJSDec 6, 2014
Very lavish production full of amazing costumes and sets but even the fantastic music can't help this melodramatic, overwrought elephantine film as it lumbers across the screen. It seems to be miscast to me with the very stagey performancesVery lavish production full of amazing costumes and sets but even the fantastic music can't help this melodramatic, overwrought elephantine film as it lumbers across the screen. It seems to be miscast to me with the very stagey performances just not able to keep up with the spectacle of it all. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
GagaForGhibliJun 3, 2012
Sadly This Movie Does Not Catch Your Eye At The End.. Or Really Any Place In The Movie..
The Cast Is Very Bland And Boring As The Movie..
Minnie Driver Does A Good Job Though..
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
lukechristianscApr 4, 2014
A good movie . but not that much violence. the movie is okay but the musical is just to annoying and not something to enjoy about this . Grade C+ ....
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
Spielberg00Sep 15, 2011
First and foremost, the Broadway musical production is (ha!) SO much better than this. Not to say that it was a bad adaptation: Gerard Butler sure did a fantastic job as the titular character. The main thing that really angered me about thisFirst and foremost, the Broadway musical production is (ha!) SO much better than this. Not to say that it was a bad adaptation: Gerard Butler sure did a fantastic job as the titular character. The main thing that really angered me about this is that a lot of the scenes were scrapped and/or changed--some of which would have even made more sense on camera than onstage, such as the graveyard scene where the Phantom throws fireballs at Raoul. Some of the altered scenes, I can say, were clearly done to make it appear as a film rather than a direct copy of a Broadway musical, such as the opening scene and the final scene (neither of which I will give away, because the majority of the film is in a flashback, so technically, giving away the beginning would be partially giving away the ending). Cinematically, though, THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA is captivating and brilliant, if, as noted above, flawed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
nahtan1244Mar 25, 2016
This was a fine production I seem to be in the minority here but here me out. It's Not nearly as bad as critics are making out to be but i do have to agree with them on this movie somewhat. First off Emily russum was very good as Christie sheThis was a fine production I seem to be in the minority here but here me out. It's Not nearly as bad as critics are making out to be but i do have to agree with them on this movie somewhat. First off Emily russum was very good as Christie she has a wonderful voice. She can act, sing and you can feel her struggle. The costumes are exquisite and sets lavish and beautiful so are the visuals. Patrick Wilson shines as raoul and is a good component emily russom. They are both such good singers. The score is hauntingly beautiful and has now become one of my favorites The beautiful visuals however try to distract the viewer from a lackluster script. The story is fleshed out kinda nicely but the stong visuals distract from creating a even more solid story so you end up being left with a story that doesn't smooth quite as nicely with what the rest of the film has to offer. Aslo Gerald butler was a fantastic actor but not a very good singer. He didn't know how to sing from the begging so that should have been a red flag not to cast him sense the movie is mostly singing. Hugh jackman would have been better after his performance in Les miserables. The rest of the cast did better than butler but worse than Patrick Wilson and Emily russom. So Phantom of the opera is a well acted and mostly well sung with a beautiful and amzing soundtrack, and is alot better than rent or mama mia but worst than into the woods Les miserables or chicago. It isn't bad it just could be better Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews