The Phantom of the Opera

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 530 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 530

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. sarras
    Jan 16, 2005
    8
    I think it was a truly amazing movie. It doesn't deserve a ten, but it is deffinitely up there. Emma Rossund is a beautiful singer and actress. She is also very pretty. I didn't know the music very well, but after this I won't be able to get it out of my head for years!!!!!!!!
  2. JaniceB.
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    I loved the stage play, love the music and love the movie, especially Gerard Butler as the Phantom. Ladies, prepare to fall in love.
  3. JozieL.
    Jan 23, 2005
    10
    Gerard Butler is a superb phantom . . . his body movements, this hands, his lips captivated me. Coudn't take my eyes off him. Bravo!
  4. stanh
    Jan 23, 2005
    7
    I loved the play! I think they miised the boat here but it still watchable. Fans of the play might be a little disapointed ( I was) but you can't keep your eyes off the screen! THere is a song "Point of No Return" that goes on and on! That song could of been cut and replaced with 3 lines of simple dialog! If they would of cas "Celine Dion" in the role of Christine they might of had I loved the play! I think they miised the boat here but it still watchable. Fans of the play might be a little disapointed ( I was) but you can't keep your eyes off the screen! THere is a song "Point of No Return" that goes on and on! That song could of been cut and replaced with 3 lines of simple dialog! If they would of cas "Celine Dion" in the role of Christine they might of had something better. Lets hope "Sunset Boulevard" ( if it gets made) makes it to the screen with a better screenplay and director. Attention Milos Foreman Norma Desmond needs you! Expand
  5. CimmerianU.
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    Just saw it for the 4th time beautiful.
  6. GregS.
    Jan 25, 2005
    7
    The deficiencies of transmigrating a 3 dimensional extravaganza to a two-dimensional canvas can not possibly retain the spectacle inherent in this symbiotic process. You're merely observing the events are are not absorbed by them as in the theatre. If the need for explanatory flashbacks were part of the script then why not provide a brief glimpse at Raoul and Christine's The deficiencies of transmigrating a 3 dimensional extravaganza to a two-dimensional canvas can not possibly retain the spectacle inherent in this symbiotic process. You're merely observing the events are are not absorbed by them as in the theatre. If the need for explanatory flashbacks were part of the script then why not provide a brief glimpse at Raoul and Christine's earliest seeds of involvement, if only for 30 seconds of the 144 minutes. Expand
  7. SandyV.
    Jan 28, 2005
    10
    Loved it! Gerard Bulter did a great job. I loved that his voicewasn't highly refined. He was able to give a depth of emotion to his songs that worked just right. Emmy Rossum was incredible - she was only 16 when she did the film! The sets were so beautiful. Loved the special effects and the ending. I've seen it twice and will see it again. I keep finding friends to take. Loved it! Gerard Bulter did a great job. I loved that his voicewasn't highly refined. He was able to give a depth of emotion to his songs that worked just right. Emmy Rossum was incredible - she was only 16 when she did the film! The sets were so beautiful. Loved the special effects and the ending. I've seen it twice and will see it again. I keep finding friends to take. Everyone here agrees that it should have been nominated for best picture. Expand
  8. JuliaV.
    Feb 18, 2005
    10
    This film was so sweet and sad... I was crying so much... I loved the Phantom!
  9. Chase
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    Absolutely wonderful. Beautiful to hear and watch. What a haunting finale.
  10. Lynn
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    It is my new favorite movie -- and that is going some since Gone With the Wind has been my favorite for 28 years. Gerard Butler was amazing. His singing was perfect for the sexy rock style and his acting. I can not say enough about how he moved me. I have seen it a number of times and I cry at the same 4 moments every time and end the movie sobbing for his pain and hearbreak.
  11. cricri
    May 15, 2005
    10
    Simply splendid! I felt this musical down to my bones deeply in my soul. I was moved, I cannot describe the monumental movie you just going to have to see it. I can't forget the songs, The Phantom of the Opera is here inside my mind.
  12. brittneyg.
    May 21, 2005
    10
    This was absolutley the best movie i have ever seen. Gerard Butler is one of my most faorite actors in all of america. Emma did awesome too! Great job Mr.Webber you've out done yourself on this film!!!!
  13. GraciaG.
    May 24, 2005
    10
    I love Gerard Butler!!! I love his voice.
  14. ArakonA.
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    'The Phantom of the Opera', based on the book written by Gaston Leroux, 'The Phantom of the Opera' combines the elements of acting, singing and music into one stunning film. I myself am participating in a 'Phantom of the Opera' musical at the moment (as the Phantom), and I now truly understand what an undertaking the production of this film was. After these 'The Phantom of the Opera', based on the book written by Gaston Leroux, 'The Phantom of the Opera' combines the elements of acting, singing and music into one stunning film. I myself am participating in a 'Phantom of the Opera' musical at the moment (as the Phantom), and I now truly understand what an undertaking the production of this film was. After these comments, I would like to make a few... how do you say... 'enlightenments' to the accusations of this film. First of all, I will clarify the lypsynching. As you know, if you have seen the movie, the majority of the movie is performed in singing speech. (I would hope so, considering that it is a musical, of course...) The reason for pre-recordings and lipsynching is all the onstage movement. If you don't understand my point, try holding a steady note while walking. Now try it going up a flight of stairs as fast as you can. Then you'll understand my point. Secondly, the point of Gerard Butler's singing. As you probably know, many comments have been brought up about Mr. Butler's singing. Taking the fact into consideration that he has had no professional training, I would say he did a swell job on that film. I'd like to see you accusers do any better than him. A couple more comments of my own... Emmy Rossum's singing was stunning, as was Minnie Driver's. Although I was a little disappointed at the absence of some important plot elements in the 'Phantom of the Opera' film, I am confident that the cast makes up for this. Expand
  15. brittanys.
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    This movie was the best!!!! drama musical and romance all combined makes this a fantastic movie!!! i love this movie.
  16. TiffanyE.
    Jun 23, 2005
    8
    I just finished the movie, and I agreed with Anna M. Patrick Wilson as Raoul was a joke and dissapointing. I would have never chosen him over Butler. He was amazing. I have seen the play three times, and he was very good. Rossum was a little green for this movie. I thought she did look like a dear in the headlights. I expected more out of her, or out of this role. And maybe she I just finished the movie, and I agreed with Anna M. Patrick Wilson as Raoul was a joke and dissapointing. I would have never chosen him over Butler. He was amazing. I have seen the play three times, and he was very good. Rossum was a little green for this movie. I thought she did look like a dear in the headlights. I expected more out of her, or out of this role. And maybe she didn't have what it took to pull it off. But all in all, it was a wonderful movie, and I will give it a well deserved 8. Expand
  17. megan
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    I loved the movie i watched it 7 times i loved it. i like all the people who did it. my favorite characters are christine and the phantom. i think they did well together. Gerad butler did a great job as the phantom. emmy rossum was the best person to play christine. i just loved it. exept i didnt like the ending i personally think that christine should of went with the phantom.
  18. BethL
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    What are you people thinking when you say it wasn't a good movie?!?!? You must be insane!! Gerard Butler is, in my opinon, the best singer in the movie considering he had no previous experince in singing (that I know of anyway) and his voice was so captivating that it made me want to become an actress and sing so well that it captivates the audience like he did. As for Emmy Rossum, What are you people thinking when you say it wasn't a good movie?!?!? You must be insane!! Gerard Butler is, in my opinon, the best singer in the movie considering he had no previous experince in singing (that I know of anyway) and his voice was so captivating that it made me want to become an actress and sing so well that it captivates the audience like he did. As for Emmy Rossum, she makes a wonderful Christine. She was perfect for the part the same as Mr.Butler was perfect for the Part of the Phantom. Patrick Willson I wasn't too fond of but he did a great job none the less. You people who are judging the movie to the Broadway version, shouldn't. There is NO comparison between a stage play and a Movie. They are two TOTALLY different types of acting and in no way should be compared to one another. Unless YOU can sing opera music in 7 different languages and used to be/are a professional opera singer then you shouldn't say that this movie is the worst ever. I'm sure that Gerard Butler can sing better than most. Over-all, This movie is in no way a waste of time and you should by all means see it.If you don't like Musicals, THEN DON"T WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY!!! (DUH!!!) Expand
  19. MonicaD.
    Jan 22, 2006
    10
    I think that some of the people who voted this movie below an 8 are ridiculous. I'm sorry, but this movie was fantastic!! I saw the play after the movie and it was tough not to compare them, good or bad, but I loved it. What really made me mad after seeing the play was the casting for Roul! I don't think I've ever heard of Patrick Wilson, but (and I hope at least someone I think that some of the people who voted this movie below an 8 are ridiculous. I'm sorry, but this movie was fantastic!! I saw the play after the movie and it was tough not to compare them, good or bad, but I loved it. What really made me mad after seeing the play was the casting for Roul! I don't think I've ever heard of Patrick Wilson, but (and I hope at least someone agrees with me) his hair is disgusting! The guy who played Roul for the show I saw was better looking and a better singer. Some people think Roul is hot, but I really dissagree. Gerard Butler on the other hand I thought was extremely hot! He was kind of weird at the beginning but after I heard him sing I just melted. He was fantastic and he didn't shake convulsively when Christine kissed him either, like the Phantom onstage (even though he was awesome). After he layed Christine on that bed during Music of the Night there was a lip-synched mess-up there, you could see it. Emmy Rossum did really well-- I had no idea she could sing, I just knew she was in The Day After Tomorrow. The ending made me get choked up because it was so sad (the whole flashback thing). I think a lot of people agree with me here, that Christine should've picked the Phantom over Roul. The book was good too, but what surprised me in it that the Phantom's name was ERIC!! I don't know, that just doesn't seem to fit the whole idea about him. And once again to beat on Roul, he was a crybaby throughout the whole book. There was a whole other character in it, the Persian, he would've had a really cool part, but it's only for the end. Also, if you never understood that thing about the "Hand at the level of your eye", you have to read the book. It's about pretecting yourself from a lasso or something like that. Overall, this movie was more than fantastic, and the story is so romantic and beautiful that this movie deserves at least a rating of 8. Expand
  20. TrishaK.
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    This Movie is now my favorite. I love the music, but was taken back by the phantom, Gerard Butler, I love the way he sings with emotion. I have heard the other excellent opera singers on stage, but this version is very pasionate, romantic and great singing. This version did not have any boring parts. All the actors were excellent. I think there would be no story if there was no passion This Movie is now my favorite. I love the music, but was taken back by the phantom, Gerard Butler, I love the way he sings with emotion. I have heard the other excellent opera singers on stage, but this version is very pasionate, romantic and great singing. This version did not have any boring parts. All the actors were excellent. I think there would be no story if there was no passion between the phantom and Christine, would just be a horror picture of sorts. Also, I think the phantom did get the human connection in the end, he was isolated, but at the end he definitely made a heroic choice and moral. Think Meg was going to run after him at the end there...hmm who knows a sequel. Meg joins him, Chrisine later at 25 wonders what the phantom is up to?? Another triangle? Expand
  21. L.H.
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    Love this movie. Gerard Butler, Emmy Rossum, Patrick Wilson all do a great job in the DVD which i definately loved. any one who rates low is crazy.
  22. DoloresS.
    Mar 12, 2006
    10
    I have watched The Phantom on stage so many times and just watched the movie after a year. I thought , it was not a good movie, but after watching it, I love the way the performers portray their part. Why others keep comparing the movie and the Phantom on stage? Cannot compare an apple to an orange. If there is no Phantom on stage (theater), they will still appreciate this French novel I have watched The Phantom on stage so many times and just watched the movie after a year. I thought , it was not a good movie, but after watching it, I love the way the performers portray their part. Why others keep comparing the movie and the Phantom on stage? Cannot compare an apple to an orange. If there is no Phantom on stage (theater), they will still appreciate this French novel seen on movies. Set aside my soundtract of Michael Crawford and Sarah B., and listen to the new, sweet, romantic, passionate , husky, manly voice of Gerard's version. Expand
  23. Susan
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    I saw Phantom in the theaters one year ago, and continue to be swept away by it. I have two of the DVD (both one and two disc sets) and the soudtrack. It still remains as my favortie movie of all time. I know that GerardButler has a new fan. I have purchased six other movies he was in, and think that he is the best actor I have seen. Joel, you are a genius at casting once again.
  24. TerriM.
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    Absolutely loved it. The voice of the actor playing the Phantom is awesome, powerful, mesmerizing. And the actress playing Christine couldn't be better.
  25. BrittM.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    I have seen the production of Phantom of the Opera on stage about 3 times, because I, myself sing. I go to an auditioned school for the performing arts. I was not a huge fan of the stage production, but when I saw the movie, I was astounded. It is clearer and easier to understand. Plus the musical quality is superb. Christine's [Emmy Rossum's] voice was pure and beautiful, which I have seen the production of Phantom of the Opera on stage about 3 times, because I, myself sing. I go to an auditioned school for the performing arts. I was not a huge fan of the stage production, but when I saw the movie, I was astounded. It is clearer and easier to understand. Plus the musical quality is superb. Christine's [Emmy Rossum's] voice was pure and beautiful, which is what the character's voice was supposed to sound like. It wasn't supposed to be overpowering, but just pure beauty. Gerard Butler's voice had so much emotion. I must admit, I thought the Phantom was sexy. Also, I must say that the Point of No Ruturn scene was amazing. I cried and I never cry when I seea movie. The passion in that scene is undeniable- I could feel it. I had chills. Also, I know we are on the computer, but if you are going to type a "sophisticated" review bashing the film, first of all, learn how to spell words correctly, and second, take a look at the quality of the performance, and what was meant for each individual character. I must say, beautiful. Expand
  26. ElaB.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Due to the unremarkable critical reception and my little-to-no previous Phantom knowledge I was fully expecting to hate this film version but to my surprise I've fallen in love with it. The costumes and sets, whilst sometimes over-the-top are really stunning. Emmy Rossum is perfect as the painfully naive chorus girl and Gerard Butler swings brilliantly from intimidating to seductive Due to the unremarkable critical reception and my little-to-no previous Phantom knowledge I was fully expecting to hate this film version but to my surprise I've fallen in love with it. The costumes and sets, whilst sometimes over-the-top are really stunning. Emmy Rossum is perfect as the painfully naive chorus girl and Gerard Butler swings brilliantly from intimidating to seductive to pitiful to downright evil as the Phantom and though he doesn't sing every note perfectly he more than makes up for that out of pure expressiveness. Although it has to be said the deformity could do with being more severe, seeing as Gerard still looks hot to me in the Final Lair scenes. Patrick Wilson (a very good actor in films such as Hard Candy and Little Children) does his best with the one-dimensional prince charming of the tale and does have a lovely voice (although his accent is painfully obvious), which is a perfect foil for Gerard's rougher, more sensual tones. However his and Emmy's lack of chemistry compared to her's with Butler leaves most women scratching their heads at how Christine could prefer Raoul. The end is heartbreaking, if you don't cry your tear ducts are malfunctioning. Expand
  27. Katie
    Mar 24, 2008
    7
    The movie helps the audience graps the play a little better because of the way they moved scenes around. But you can't compare a movie to the play. when you are in the opera house watching the play it feels like you are in the opera house that the Phantom of the Opera is taken place in. The Phantoms voice makes your hair sticks on end...and you too fall in love with the phantom. The The movie helps the audience graps the play a little better because of the way they moved scenes around. But you can't compare a movie to the play. when you are in the opera house watching the play it feels like you are in the opera house that the Phantom of the Opera is taken place in. The Phantoms voice makes your hair sticks on end...and you too fall in love with the phantom. The movie gives the viewers none of that. Expand
  28. David
    Sep 13, 2009
    10
    This is, by far, my favorite movie of all times. The music is absolutely amazing, and all the actors/actresses did an outstanding job. I have to have seen it practically a million times, and I still get chills listening to the music, which I have the sound track of on my mp3 player, cell phone, computer, burned CD's for my stereo, et cetera. I literally listen to it all the time. But This is, by far, my favorite movie of all times. The music is absolutely amazing, and all the actors/actresses did an outstanding job. I have to have seen it practically a million times, and I still get chills listening to the music, which I have the sound track of on my mp3 player, cell phone, computer, burned CD's for my stereo, et cetera. I literally listen to it all the time. But I love not just the music, but all of the elements that went in to making this masterpiece. As previously mentioned, the actors and actresses did an excellent job. Gerard Butler held so much emotion so realistically, and Emmy Rossum did an excellent job with regards to her portrayal of dependence to her father and the "Angel of Music." Patrick Wilson, Minnie Driver, Miranda Richardson, and Jennifer Ellison played their roles excellently as well. As a side note, by looking at Ellison's (Meg's) character, her entire costume, posture, and voice all match her character perfectly. I also love how every trap, et cetera, that the Phantom created for his labyrinth in the film would have been technically possible (if improbable) to have created in the time period in which the movie took place, with only the money he received from the opera. I was afraid that Schumacher would put impossible effects, such as the Mirror if it hadn't been shown to slide open, into the movie for effects purposed, but it was made clear that he did not. The only thing that came close to impossible in my opinion would have been the lit candles emerging from the "vast, glassy lake," however, after some research on my own part, I learned that the technology of using certain fossil fuels to accomplish that task had been around long before the time period of the movie. All-in-all, this movie is amazing and if anyone tries to dispute that fact, go and see the movie for yourself before succumbing to that belief. Expand
  29. KimberlyB.
    Dec 23, 2004
    7
    Yes, this movie was melodramatic, and overblown but true fans of the musical will embrace it. The only thing that truly mars it is Butler's singing. It's a shame because he's not off key but there's a flatness to his voice. Still this is one movie I can't wait to own.
  30. SharonS.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    The music is extraordinary; the sets and costumes are ravishing, and the actors are gorgeous. A top drawer musical.
  31. TonyS.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    The great music is still there, and the costumes, sets and opulence give the film a polished look. The story is as always, quite emotional. Joel Schumacher deserves much credit!
  32. JeffreyM.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    Are the critics serious? This has to be the greatest abberation of film criticism in the history of the cinema......The "Phans" will triumph in the end!........A MASTERPIECE!!!
  33. MariaA.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    It is truly a shame that a number of critics have trashed this film as it is far far better than I ever imagined! The singing and the visuals are ravishing and Emmy Rossum is a star in the making! Bravo to Mr. Schumacher.
  34. GeorgeA.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    A masterwork!
  35. JanetM.
    Dec 24, 2004
    10
    The critics are clueless! They have made their minds up before seeing the film! The people will rescue this musical masterpiece!
  36. FrancesC.
    Dec 25, 2004
    10
    There is no doubt this is the BEST movie I have seen in a long time.
  37. GeraldineP.
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    This is a nearly-flawless film from a visual standpoint, and the singing and musical score are as beautiful as they were on stage. The critics can hack away, but the people will make it as successful as the Broadway show.
  38. FrankM.
    Dec 27, 2004
    10
    A SPECTACULAR MUSICAL!
  39. MikeH.
    Dec 27, 2004
    10
    A beautifully-realized film version of a landmark Broadway musical. Emmy Rossum as Christine is spectacular, and the rest of the cast is good. Joel Schumacher's visual style is breathtaking, and the musical orchestration is masterful.
  40. KathyD.
    Dec 27, 2004
    9
    I loved the play and I loved the movie. I'd like to see it again.
  41. JeffS.
    Dec 31, 2004
    10
    Excellent musical.
  42. KendraP.
    Nov 17, 2008
    8
    I really do like this movie! The songs are very inviting...Not to mention the opera house is so beautiful... i can't take my eyes off of the screen when the movie is playing it is a tear jerker! the only thing i hate is the end!
  43. May 22, 2015
    10
    40 on Metacritic is a joke. Seriously. Go through any of the critics reviews and you will find they are just **** about Joel Schumacher in general and not the great work he did on this film. Phantom is probably the best musical of all-time.
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 39
  2. Negative: 15 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Jo Berry
    60
    The end result, although entertaining and well-crafted, certainly isn't on the same breathtaking scale of, say, Alan Parker's epic "Evita."
  2. What the film most damagingly lacks though is a sense of mystery and danger.
  3. 40
    Watching the passionless Phantom, with its geriatric story-framing device, gooey dimestore romanticism and tawdry pop ballads about unrequited yearning, feels akin to dying and waking up in your parents’ easy-listening-radio hell.