Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 22, 2004
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 339 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
293
Mixed:
27
Negative:
19
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TaylaM.Dec 26, 2007
This HAS to be my favorite movie of all time. i basicly listen to it every day. I wish i could sing like any of them. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
kellieNov 10, 2006
This is absolutely powering. something just comes over you watching this film. the actors bring such feeling to the roles. incredible film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SKhugo1Sep 16, 2014
I hate musicals, but this is different. The music is just perfect, the story is just perfect, I can not understand why this film has a low Metascore.
But not everything is good, I think the book is better than the movie and if the movie were
I hate musicals, but this is different. The music is just perfect, the story is just perfect, I can not understand why this film has a low Metascore.
But not everything is good, I think the book is better than the movie and if the movie were like the book, the movie would have been better
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
iholland95Jan 13, 2012
I loved this movie! I have watched the movie many more times than I can count. I love Emmy Rossum. She looks so beautiful throughout the whole movie. I also love Jennifer Ellison. She is so cute. Gerard Butler was a little pitchy at times butI loved this movie! I have watched the movie many more times than I can count. I love Emmy Rossum. She looks so beautiful throughout the whole movie. I also love Jennifer Ellison. She is so cute. Gerard Butler was a little pitchy at times but overall not bad at all. I really dislike Carlotta though. She makes me want to scream. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Ktig88Jul 8, 2012
Well acted, Beautiful Music and a great storyline keeps this movie going until the very end
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
RylinSierraOct 20, 2013
It's really a SPECTACULAR movie. The music and the effects are AMAZING. Gerard and Emmy did a really good job as Erik and Christine. Once I started watching I couldn't stop singing songs from it. The music is like drugs, once started youIt's really a SPECTACULAR movie. The music and the effects are AMAZING. Gerard and Emmy did a really good job as Erik and Christine. Once I started watching I couldn't stop singing songs from it. The music is like drugs, once started you can't stop. The musical though is a little better than the movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ChristineSep 17, 2005
Wow!The Movie was great. I love the Phantom. I dont like Raoul.Christine & Phantom 4ever!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
dharmaJul 29, 2015
I never watched the film version due to the Critics..for more than a decade. Hey..they're supposed to know everything right? It seems that they are either watching a different movie or maybe they couldn't accept that Joel Schumacher, theI never watched the film version due to the Critics..for more than a decade. Hey..they're supposed to know everything right? It seems that they are either watching a different movie or maybe they couldn't accept that Joel Schumacher, the director that 'destroyed' the Batman franchise, 'a studio hack' can create a masterpiece...a rendition of the hit musical so perfect...that if this film released today, it would be a massive box office hit in line with Les Miserables. Here, all the actors and believe it or not...Gerard Butler is absolutely great as the Phantom. Yes..King Leonidas...general all around tough guy as a Broadway performer...you better believe it. Also, the fact that Emily Rossum never became a household name is a crime by itself...unbelievable voice and acting at such a young age. This is a film that was snubbed by the critics, and you should take a moment to hunt this masterpiece. I'm glad I did. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
NShep53May 22, 2015
40 on Metacritic is a joke. Seriously. Go through any of the critics reviews and you will find they are just **** about Joel Schumacher in general and not the great work he did on this film. Phantom is probably the best musical of all-time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
SarahJan 15, 2006
Best movie of all time. This movie could be much better without Raoul. Christine should choose The Phantom, because he is so nice & handsome, despite mask, that covered his face. He just couldnt be a violent kiler, who haunts Opera House. Best movie of all time. This movie could be much better without Raoul. Christine should choose The Phantom, because he is so nice & handsome, despite mask, that covered his face. He just couldnt be a violent kiler, who haunts Opera House. All I Ask of You is good song, although, it is love between Raoul & Christine. I think, she really is attracted to Phantom more than to Raoul. He is supporting character. I think, that in love songs with Phantom, she really liked him, she love him anyway-dark, forbidden love! I just love it:) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScarlettFeb 15, 2006
Very good movie with excellent music. The thing I didn't understand - what Christine found about Raoul? Emmy Rossum and Gerard Butler were great and Minnie Driver as Charlotta - super.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
POTOredroseAug 20, 2008
One of my favorite movies...Gerard Butler gave a very powerful and captivating performance and the entire cast did a great job !!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HannahOct 25, 2005
I think that the phantom of the opera is the best movie ever. Cristine is my favourate character in the movie my sisters is Meg i'm 10 and my sister is 13.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
phantomimaOct 26, 2005
Is the best film I've seen lately, it cares for every detail and the music is outstanding. I love it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnyaSep 13, 2005
Great. Love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennieV.Feb 9, 2006
Be as it may be, the book, the play, the movie, any rendition of this WONDERFUL story must be taken for what it is and who is conveying it. You can't compare and contrast everything or you'll never get the full aspect and wonder of Be as it may be, the book, the play, the movie, any rendition of this WONDERFUL story must be taken for what it is and who is conveying it. You can't compare and contrast everything or you'll never get the full aspect and wonder of this tale. I've read the book, seen the play, have the play on CD, and now finally have seen the movie. I am now officially obscessed; with each unique version. This has been my favorite story FOREVER and it will continute to be....and just 2 words...Gerard Butler...wow-wee-oo-wow!! And the other actors are tremendous! I cry my eyes out EVERY time. I always feel so bad for the Phantom.....he just wanted to be loved...I hope this story contunues on in the future as long as it already has and I feel honored to have been able to see every aspect of others ideas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CathyM.Apr 20, 2006
Maybe It's just because I'm drawn to men of Celtic descent but Gerard Butler has so much talent and it appears a dedication to craft and a charisma that doesn't stop. I liked it so much I bought the DVD. everytime I view it I Maybe It's just because I'm drawn to men of Celtic descent but Gerard Butler has so much talent and it appears a dedication to craft and a charisma that doesn't stop. I liked it so much I bought the DVD. everytime I view it I see or hear something that I missed previously. I didn't even know who the cast was or had heard of them untill this film. Can hardly wait to see imparticular some more Butler films. He's almost knocked my favorite Scot off his throne. Of course, that is Sean Connery. Yes there were a few scene errors I saw myself, but that just added to this films' charm. I will play this film over and over again untill the DVD won't play anylonger and then I'll purchase another! Congratulations to the whole cast and crew for bringing this to life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaniceK.Dec 24, 2004
This is a beautiful and romantic movie, that had sensational music. The lead performers are awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillJ.Dec 26, 2004
I enjoyed the movie. As a romantic fantasy, it had color, glamour, beautiful costumes, a nice set and score. I'd say it was visually stunning. I had never seen any of the other Phantom's, so can't judge against them but I do I enjoyed the movie. As a romantic fantasy, it had color, glamour, beautiful costumes, a nice set and score. I'd say it was visually stunning. I had never seen any of the other Phantom's, so can't judge against them but I do have the soundtrack from the play. While the Phantom was played well by Gerard Butler, I don't think his voice was up to the job. OTOH, Emmy Rossum's voice was terrific, though it needs maturing and she was too young for the part. Patrick Wilson was too much the wimp but he got his girl. The back story wasn't exactly clear. I wondered throughout the movie who the old lady was who was bidding for the monkey piece against the old man and who he looked at longingly in the mirror as he drove away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnaC.Dec 25, 2005
I have to say that this movie is perfect. I have seen the play and was blown away, but when I seen the movie it was even better. Gerard Butler was brilliant, and what a voice. He was just right for the phantom, and for those who said he I have to say that this movie is perfect. I have seen the play and was blown away, but when I seen the movie it was even better. Gerard Butler was brilliant, and what a voice. He was just right for the phantom, and for those who said he couldn't sing, well don't you think the director would of picked some one else? But I guess every idiot is entitled to some opion. And he had to of been some what good looking also, or Christine wouldn't of fallen in love with him. This is the best movie I've have ever see. I have been waiting for this movie for years and I knew if it was done right it would be like no other musical ever made. Roaringpop. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanDAug 27, 2005
I made the mistake of listening to all the constipated critics who didn't like this movie, and as a result I didn't see it until it came out on DVD. After viewing this spectacular production, I have to say that the nay-sayers I made the mistake of listening to all the constipated critics who didn't like this movie, and as a result I didn't see it until it came out on DVD. After viewing this spectacular production, I have to say that the nay-sayers should increase their intake of prunes and get rid of some of their poison. It is obvious that many of the reviews were written by self-professed haters of either musicals in general or AWL's musicals specifically. It would not be fair for me to attempt to critique a rap show because I hate that type of music. Common sense, people. If you don't like it, stay away. In my opinion, everyone in the show was perfectly cast, down to the most minor character, and all three of the leads were perfect. Emmy Rossum lent just the right air of sexual and romantic awakening to the part of Christine, torn between darkness and light. Her voice was perfect for the part of the 16 year old ingenue, which she is in reality. Patrick Wilson was great as Raoul, earnest, but bland, with a lovely lyrical voice. But the real scene stealer was Gerard Butler as the Phantom. His voice was exactly what Andrew's and Joel's vision was for this movie--raw, passionate and deeper than most stage Phantoms. And his acting was superb. He gave the viewer insight into what drove the Phantom to such dark acts--a terrible loneliness and passion for a woman whom he knows he will never really have for his own. All the supporting actors are great and the costumes, sets and music are awe-inspiring. Joel and Andrew have made a masterpiece that will be a classic, despite the vapid rantings of a few mis-guided critics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DawnO.Aug 29, 2005
Great book, stunning musical, fantastic score, fabulous editing, superb casting in parts. Gerard Butler's brooding, menacing, raw Phantom won me over completely and Emmy Rossum was perfect as the naive, innocent and compassionate Great book, stunning musical, fantastic score, fabulous editing, superb casting in parts. Gerard Butler's brooding, menacing, raw Phantom won me over completely and Emmy Rossum was perfect as the naive, innocent and compassionate Christine. I found Patrick Wilson's Raoul slightly wooden, but his voice was a perfect foil for the Phantom's unrefined, sex-laden timbre. However, there isn't a hot-blooded woman amongst us who wouldn't willingly have swapped places with Christine and chosen an entirely different ending :-) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AkkeiJan 16, 2006
This movie was the best I have watched in a long time. I disagree with those that gave it a low rating. Gerald Butler did a superb acting job playing the phantom, he even managed to shed real tears in the end. Emmy Rossom started out a This movie was the best I have watched in a long time. I disagree with those that gave it a low rating. Gerald Butler did a superb acting job playing the phantom, he even managed to shed real tears in the end. Emmy Rossom started out a little unsure it seemed but quickly seemed to grow confident later on. Patrick Wilson did a fairly good acting job. But I have no complaints to the singing at all. Sure a few mistakes were made here and there but they are human. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieW.Jan 20, 2006
Love this movie. Gerard Butler makes an incredible phantom. None other compares.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
A.B.Feb 5, 2006
it would be much better if the voices were stronger, but all around it is pretty good. except for the fact that the phantom is HORRIBLE!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrendaMar 20, 2006
I think the movie is absolutely fantastic! I saw the musical three times on stage so I was afraid to see it in the theater, thinking I would be disappointed. The movie has been airing on Cinemax, so I finally watched it, at least 10 times so I think the movie is absolutely fantastic! I saw the musical three times on stage so I was afraid to see it in the theater, thinking I would be disappointed. The movie has been airing on Cinemax, so I finally watched it, at least 10 times so far. When it is on I can't take my eyes off of it! Gerard Butler is so mesmerizing, I fall in love with him every time I watch, and I'm happily married! Emmy is so beautiful, the perfect Christine. Patrick Wilson is so handsome as Roul and has one of the most beautiful voices I've ever heard. He's from my home town, St. Petersburg, Florida. His father and brother are both news anchors on the local news. Most of his family sings, and they do benefit concerts sometimes. And Minnie Driver.....who knew? She was amazing, and what a hot ticket as Charlotta! My kids loved her. All of the characters were right for the part, but that gorgeous Gerard Butler is what reeld me in. I read how horribIe it was for him to wear that prostetic face & make up, and how his face was bruised from the mask. He got 3 hours of sleep each night for weeks. Kudos! What else can I say? I'm obsessed and I love it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatieM.Jun 23, 2006
Emmy Rossum voice was angelic. Beautiful. I've heard many different recordings of different Christine'a and her's was one of the best I've ever seen or heard. Stunning!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatriciaA.Aug 4, 2006
I love this movie. Its one of my favorites and when You meet the actor is all worth while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaclynT.Sep 3, 2006
words can't explain what came over me when i watched the movie for the first time. i felt like my soul was being sucked in. patrick wilson, emmy rossums, gerard butler, and everyone else couldn't have been any better. emmy rossums words can't explain what came over me when i watched the movie for the first time. i felt like my soul was being sucked in. patrick wilson, emmy rossums, gerard butler, and everyone else couldn't have been any better. emmy rossums couldn't done any better and be anymore beautiful! gerard's voice is AMAZING. so is his acting. patrick wilson couldn't be any more better except for the fact that his hair was totally gross. i agree with monica d.! gerard is hot! (he kinda reminded me of elvis at one point...) phantom should have gone with phantom because the poor man can't be left. also because he can't get anyone else...no one loves him. at least with raoul he could get some other to like him. this movie was awesome! anyone who thinks the movie stinks; stinks themselves because the ending was so dreadfully sad. I think the movie should get AT LEAST a 8...and no less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyLCMar 4, 2007
One of my favourite movies. The production/direction/cinematography is astonishing. I love the transitions, esp the transition from B/W to color at the beginning. Keep in mind that this is a movie not a play. The visuals and the acting are One of my favourite movies. The production/direction/cinematography is astonishing. I love the transitions, esp the transition from B/W to color at the beginning. Keep in mind that this is a movie not a play. The visuals and the acting are paramount, not the operatic singing. Gerard Butler is excellent, showing the rage of a madman. I have watched it 7 times already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BethLAug 24, 2005
What are you people thinking when you say it wasn't a good movie?!?!? You must be insane!! Gerard Butler is, in my opinon, the best singer in the movie considering he had no previous experince in singing (that I know of anyway) and his What are you people thinking when you say it wasn't a good movie?!?!? You must be insane!! Gerard Butler is, in my opinon, the best singer in the movie considering he had no previous experince in singing (that I know of anyway) and his voice was so captivating that it made me want to become an actress and sing so well that it captivates the audience like he did. As for Emmy Rossum, she makes a wonderful Christine. She was perfect for the part the same as Mr.Butler was perfect for the Part of the Phantom. Patrick Willson I wasn't too fond of but he did a great job none the less. You people who are judging the movie to the Broadway version, shouldn't. There is NO comparison between a stage play and a Movie. They are two TOTALLY different types of acting and in no way should be compared to one another. Unless YOU can sing opera music in 7 different languages and used to be/are a professional opera singer then you shouldn't say that this movie is the worst ever. I'm sure that Gerard Butler can sing better than most. Over-all, This movie is in no way a waste of time and you should by all means see it.If you don't like Musicals, THEN DON"T WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY!!! (DUH!!!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MonicaD.Jan 22, 2006
I think that some of the people who voted this movie below an 8 are ridiculous. I'm sorry, but this movie was fantastic!! I saw the play after the movie and it was tough not to compare them, good or bad, but I loved it. What really made I think that some of the people who voted this movie below an 8 are ridiculous. I'm sorry, but this movie was fantastic!! I saw the play after the movie and it was tough not to compare them, good or bad, but I loved it. What really made me mad after seeing the play was the casting for Roul! I don't think I've ever heard of Patrick Wilson, but (and I hope at least someone agrees with me) his hair is disgusting! The guy who played Roul for the show I saw was better looking and a better singer. Some people think Roul is hot, but I really dissagree. Gerard Butler on the other hand I thought was extremely hot! He was kind of weird at the beginning but after I heard him sing I just melted. He was fantastic and he didn't shake convulsively when Christine kissed him either, like the Phantom onstage (even though he was awesome). After he layed Christine on that bed during Music of the Night there was a lip-synched mess-up there, you could see it. Emmy Rossum did really well-- I had no idea she could sing, I just knew she was in The Day After Tomorrow. The ending made me get choked up because it was so sad (the whole flashback thing). I think a lot of people agree with me here, that Christine should've picked the Phantom over Roul. The book was good too, but what surprised me in it that the Phantom's name was ERIC!! I don't know, that just doesn't seem to fit the whole idea about him. And once again to beat on Roul, he was a crybaby throughout the whole book. There was a whole other character in it, the Persian, he would've had a really cool part, but it's only for the end. Also, if you never understood that thing about the "Hand at the level of your eye", you have to read the book. It's about pretecting yourself from a lasso or something like that. Overall, this movie was more than fantastic, and the story is so romantic and beautiful that this movie deserves at least a rating of 8. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrishaK.Dec 5, 2006
This Movie is now my favorite. I love the music, but was taken back by the phantom, Gerard Butler, I love the way he sings with emotion. I have heard the other excellent opera singers on stage, but this version is very pasionate, romantic This Movie is now my favorite. I love the music, but was taken back by the phantom, Gerard Butler, I love the way he sings with emotion. I have heard the other excellent opera singers on stage, but this version is very pasionate, romantic and great singing. This version did not have any boring parts. All the actors were excellent. I think there would be no story if there was no passion between the phantom and Christine, would just be a horror picture of sorts. Also, I think the phantom did get the human connection in the end, he was isolated, but at the end he definitely made a heroic choice and moral. Think Meg was going to run after him at the end there...hmm who knows a sequel. Meg joins him, Chrisine later at 25 wonders what the phantom is up to?? Another triangle? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
L.H.Feb 11, 2006
Love this movie. Gerard Butler, Emmy Rossum, Patrick Wilson all do a great job in the DVD which i definately loved. any one who rates low is crazy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DoloresS.Mar 12, 2006
I have watched The Phantom on stage so many times and just watched the movie after a year. I thought , it was not a good movie, but after watching it, I love the way the performers portray their part. Why others keep comparing the movie and I have watched The Phantom on stage so many times and just watched the movie after a year. I thought , it was not a good movie, but after watching it, I love the way the performers portray their part. Why others keep comparing the movie and the Phantom on stage? Cannot compare an apple to an orange. If there is no Phantom on stage (theater), they will still appreciate this French novel seen on movies. Set aside my soundtract of Michael Crawford and Sarah B., and listen to the new, sweet, romantic, passionate , husky, manly voice of Gerard's version. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanApr 23, 2006
I saw Phantom in the theaters one year ago, and continue to be swept away by it. I have two of the DVD (both one and two disc sets) and the soudtrack. It still remains as my favortie movie of all time. I know that GerardButler has a new fan. I saw Phantom in the theaters one year ago, and continue to be swept away by it. I have two of the DVD (both one and two disc sets) and the soudtrack. It still remains as my favortie movie of all time. I know that GerardButler has a new fan. I have purchased six other movies he was in, and think that he is the best actor I have seen. Joel, you are a genius at casting once again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TerriM.Aug 26, 2006
Absolutely loved it. The voice of the actor playing the Phantom is awesome, powerful, mesmerizing. And the actress playing Christine couldn't be better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrittM.Nov 19, 2007
I have seen the production of Phantom of the Opera on stage about 3 times, because I, myself sing. I go to an auditioned school for the performing arts. I was not a huge fan of the stage production, but when I saw the movie, I was astounded. I have seen the production of Phantom of the Opera on stage about 3 times, because I, myself sing. I go to an auditioned school for the performing arts. I was not a huge fan of the stage production, but when I saw the movie, I was astounded. It is clearer and easier to understand. Plus the musical quality is superb. Christine's [Emmy Rossum's] voice was pure and beautiful, which is what the character's voice was supposed to sound like. It wasn't supposed to be overpowering, but just pure beauty. Gerard Butler's voice had so much emotion. I must admit, I thought the Phantom was sexy. Also, I must say that the Point of No Ruturn scene was amazing. I cried and I never cry when I seea movie. The passion in that scene is undeniable- I could feel it. I had chills. Also, I know we are on the computer, but if you are going to type a "sophisticated" review bashing the film, first of all, learn how to spell words correctly, and second, take a look at the quality of the performance, and what was meant for each individual character. I must say, beautiful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElaB.Oct 24, 2008
Due to the unremarkable critical reception and my little-to-no previous Phantom knowledge I was fully expecting to hate this film version but to my surprise I've fallen in love with it. The costumes and sets, whilst sometimes Due to the unremarkable critical reception and my little-to-no previous Phantom knowledge I was fully expecting to hate this film version but to my surprise I've fallen in love with it. The costumes and sets, whilst sometimes over-the-top are really stunning. Emmy Rossum is perfect as the painfully naive chorus girl and Gerard Butler swings brilliantly from intimidating to seductive to pitiful to downright evil as the Phantom and though he doesn't sing every note perfectly he more than makes up for that out of pure expressiveness. Although it has to be said the deformity could do with being more severe, seeing as Gerard still looks hot to me in the Final Lair scenes. Patrick Wilson (a very good actor in films such as Hard Candy and Little Children) does his best with the one-dimensional prince charming of the tale and does have a lovely voice (although his accent is painfully obvious), which is a perfect foil for Gerard's rougher, more sensual tones. However his and Emmy's lack of chemistry compared to her's with Butler leaves most women scratching their heads at how Christine could prefer Raoul. The end is heartbreaking, if you don't cry your tear ducts are malfunctioning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KatieMar 24, 2008
The movie helps the audience graps the play a little better because of the way they moved scenes around. But you can't compare a movie to the play. when you are in the opera house watching the play it feels like you are in the opera The movie helps the audience graps the play a little better because of the way they moved scenes around. But you can't compare a movie to the play. when you are in the opera house watching the play it feels like you are in the opera house that the Phantom of the Opera is taken place in. The Phantoms voice makes your hair sticks on end...and you too fall in love with the phantom. The movie gives the viewers none of that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidSep 13, 2009
This is, by far, my favorite movie of all times. The music is absolutely amazing, and all the actors/actresses did an outstanding job. I have to have seen it practically a million times, and I still get chills listening to the music, which I This is, by far, my favorite movie of all times. The music is absolutely amazing, and all the actors/actresses did an outstanding job. I have to have seen it practically a million times, and I still get chills listening to the music, which I have the sound track of on my mp3 player, cell phone, computer, burned CD's for my stereo, et cetera. I literally listen to it all the time. But I love not just the music, but all of the elements that went in to making this masterpiece. As previously mentioned, the actors and actresses did an excellent job. Gerard Butler held so much emotion so realistically, and Emmy Rossum did an excellent job with regards to her portrayal of dependence to her father and the "Angel of Music." Patrick Wilson, Minnie Driver, Miranda Richardson, and Jennifer Ellison played their roles excellently as well. As a side note, by looking at Ellison's (Meg's) character, her entire costume, posture, and voice all match her character perfectly. I also love how every trap, et cetera, that the Phantom created for his labyrinth in the film would have been technically possible (if improbable) to have created in the time period in which the movie took place, with only the money he received from the opera. I was afraid that Schumacher would put impossible effects, such as the Mirror if it hadn't been shown to slide open, into the movie for effects purposed, but it was made clear that he did not. The only thing that came close to impossible in my opinion would have been the lit candles emerging from the "vast, glassy lake," however, after some research on my own part, I learned that the technology of using certain fossil fuels to accomplish that task had been around long before the time period of the movie. All-in-all, this movie is amazing and if anyone tries to dispute that fact, go and see the movie for yourself before succumbing to that belief. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KendraP.Nov 17, 2008
I really do like this movie! The songs are very inviting...Not to mention the opera house is so beautiful... i can't take my eyes off of the screen when the movie is playing it is a tear jerker! the only thing i hate is the end!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SpangleMay 12, 2017
A film with the music and lyrics provided by Andrew Lloyd Webber could hardly go wrong and Joel Schumacher's The Phantom of the Opera certainly does not take many missteps. While his sense of spectacle can be a bit too flamboyantly gaudy atA film with the music and lyrics provided by Andrew Lloyd Webber could hardly go wrong and Joel Schumacher's The Phantom of the Opera certainly does not take many missteps. While his sense of spectacle can be a bit too flamboyantly gaudy at times, it is hard to deny the visual stimuli on display that Schumacher presents, opting for a bombastic musical akin to Baz Luhrmann's Moulin Rouge!. With raucous crowds, gorgeous production design, and extravagant costume design, The Phantom of the Opera is a lively and inspired musical with excellent performances, solid direction, and phenomenal music that always manages to lift the film up if it ever slacks off. Putting this all into one finished product results in a good musical that is tragic, beautiful, and infused with excellent style.

Opening with a black-and-white sequence set in 1919 Paris, the film shows an auction taking place with memorabilia from the opera house being sold. One such item is the infamous chandelier from the night of the disaster, which is sold as item #666. As it is lifted up to be demonstrated, the film beautifully transitions to color with every inch of the frame being absorbed by vibrant golds and reds as the opera house is brought back to glorious life. An inspirational moment from Schumacher to open the film, it may be the creative peak of the film on his part, but it is an undeniably high one and sets the tone from the very beginning: this is a spectacle. The scene immediately following features the first song as delivered by Minnie Driver's Carlotta Giudicelli, who is the prima donna and diva of the opera. Living up to those titles, she is self-absorbed and unafraid to demonstrate how in love with herself she is at every turn. In this opening number, the sensually extravagant choreography and vibrant use of color provide the film with a fittingly loud and wondrous opener. With a lot of visual conflict, Schumacher plays all the right notes from the very beginning of this film creating beautiful chaos in the film's presentation and sea of color. Accompanying this opening number is an introduction to Christine Daae (Emmy Rossum). A beautiful, but unknown, dancer, Christine was raised in the opera house and has been taught to sing by the mysterious Phantom of the Opera (Gerard Butler). Ogled by the male gaze of the camera and of the opera houses new owners, Christine's peril is forcefully thrust into focus as we see her introduced as a talented girl, but one at the behest of dangerous men around every corner. With the Phantom trying to possess her and keep her for his own pleasure as a wife, Christine has her back against the wall. The men of the opera house still do view Carlotta as their lottery ticket, but are certainly taken by Christine's beauty. Meanwhile, the Phantom orchestrates productions to ensure she is the lead singer and tries to keep other men such as Raoul (Patrick Wilson) out of her life. She is a woman left with very little choice as to where to go and what to do in order to live the life she desires. In essence, she continuously finds herself being past the "point of no return" as a result of letting the mysterious Phantom into her life.

Her only savior is Raoul. Reigniting a romance with Raoul over the course of the film, the film finds great fire and passion in their love throughout, but the writing certainly does it a disservice at times. The dialogue can be awkwardly presented, especially whenever Raoul comes to save Christine from her lovesick and deeply obsessed Phantom admirer. Fortunately, the music greatly elevates their love scenes with the duets between Emmy Rossum and Patrick Wilson being extraordinary. With snow falling on the roof of the opera as the two serenade one another with "All I Ask of You", Schumacher finds similar glamour in this small, intimate moment. The two's vivacious and impassioned performances creates beautiful harmony that ensures the performance is the best one in the film. The two play off of one another beautifully and both deliver pitch perfect notes. In staging the scene, Schumacher also finds an opportunity to further demonstrate the Phantom's looming presence. Hiding behind a statue and watching the couple sing and dance, the camera often racks focus between the couple and the voyeuristic Phantom. Highlighting the joy of Christine when in the arms of Raoul and the loneliness and isolation experienced by the Phantom, the scene is not just beautifully sung and written, but also terrifically staged and framed.

With the death of Christine's father being the event that brought her together with the Phantom as a child, it is only natural that one of the best moments of the film comes with Christine visiting her father's tomb in the cemetery. A gray and blue sequence with mist rising off of the ground as Christine walks to the tomb and sings "Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again", the song is beautifully sung by Rossum.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews