Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 22, 2004
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 342 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
295
Mixed:
28
Negative:
19
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TaylaM.Dec 26, 2007
This HAS to be my favorite movie of all time. i basicly listen to it every day. I wish i could sing like any of them. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
ViggoS.Jun 7, 2009
I always thought that Gerard Butler was straight, but i don't anymore. this movie is so boring, that it would kill a hamster. (In lovely memory of my hamster) the hold story doesn't make any sense.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
kellieNov 10, 2006
This is absolutely powering. something just comes over you watching this film. the actors bring such feeling to the roles. incredible film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 30, 2011
"The Phantom of the Opera" isn't much of a entertaining movie. The acting isn't good and the story is just obedient to the musical. Its the music that you'll like, just the music.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SKhugo1Sep 16, 2014
I hate musicals, but this is different. The music is just perfect, the story is just perfect, I can not understand why this film has a low Metascore.
But not everything is good, I think the book is better than the movie and if the movie were
I hate musicals, but this is different. The music is just perfect, the story is just perfect, I can not understand why this film has a low Metascore.
But not everything is good, I think the book is better than the movie and if the movie were like the book, the movie would have been better
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
MissionDensityAug 17, 2010
It's curious so many critics panned this. Pretty watchable, if predictable, with timeless, catchy tunes. The female lead, Emmy Rossum, was very good. Think a strange hybrid of Moulin Rouge and Frankenstein.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
ZalJan 11, 2012
It's certainly an improvement for Joel Schumacher since Batman and Robin, but I still did not enjoy this film.
With the exception of Erik, all of these characters are completely bland. This is not the fault of Schumacher or any of the actors.
It's certainly an improvement for Joel Schumacher since Batman and Robin, but I still did not enjoy this film.
With the exception of Erik, all of these characters are completely bland. This is not the fault of Schumacher or any of the actors. None of these characters, especially Raoul and Christine, were very interesting to begin with. And even Erik in this film isn't that deep, especially when you see that his "deformity" is really just a big rash. It doesn't look that bad and it makes his song about his face seem, well, somewhat pretentious, which is a word that I feel sad using to describe one of my favorite literary anti-heroes.
The acting isn't that great either. The only one who I thought did a decent job was Patrick Wilson as Raoul. Then there is poor Miranda Richardson doing an incredibly over the top French accent that was hard not to laugh at. This is sad because I genuinly love Miranda Richardson and think she is a fantastic actress, but her acting in this movie was terrible. I don't even understand why she has that accent since everyone else is phoning it in and just doing a British accent, with the exception of Carlotta (since she is Italian) and Raoul and Christine, who for some reason speak with American accents.
The costumes and sets are creative and well made and some of the singing isn't bad, but it just wasn't a pleasant experience for me.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
iholland95Jan 13, 2012
I loved this movie! I have watched the movie many more times than I can count. I love Emmy Rossum. She looks so beautiful throughout the whole movie. I also love Jennifer Ellison. She is so cute. Gerard Butler was a little pitchy at times butI loved this movie! I have watched the movie many more times than I can count. I love Emmy Rossum. She looks so beautiful throughout the whole movie. I also love Jennifer Ellison. She is so cute. Gerard Butler was a little pitchy at times but overall not bad at all. I really dislike Carlotta though. She makes me want to scream. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Ktig88Jul 8, 2012
Well acted, Beautiful Music and a great storyline keeps this movie going until the very end
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysMar 9, 2014
The Phantom of the Opera remake is decidedly uninspired and not very enjoyable most of the time. The visual spectacle is definitely there, but the magic stops there as well.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
RylinSierraOct 20, 2013
It's really a SPECTACULAR movie. The music and the effects are AMAZING. Gerard and Emmy did a really good job as Erik and Christine. Once I started watching I couldn't stop singing songs from it. The music is like drugs, once started youIt's really a SPECTACULAR movie. The music and the effects are AMAZING. Gerard and Emmy did a really good job as Erik and Christine. Once I started watching I couldn't stop singing songs from it. The music is like drugs, once started you can't stop. The musical though is a little better than the movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
WJSDec 6, 2014
Very lavish production full of amazing costumes and sets but even the fantastic music can't help this melodramatic, overwrought elephantine film as it lumbers across the screen. It seems to be miscast to me with the very stagey performancesVery lavish production full of amazing costumes and sets but even the fantastic music can't help this melodramatic, overwrought elephantine film as it lumbers across the screen. It seems to be miscast to me with the very stagey performances just not able to keep up with the spectacle of it all. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
GuidoApr 4, 2008
This is one of the worst, if not the worst flm I have ever seen. I can only ascribe the myriad of 10 ratings that this film has recieved to the brain damage of teh respective reviewers, or perhaps they were so abused as children that thye no This is one of the worst, if not the worst flm I have ever seen. I can only ascribe the myriad of 10 ratings that this film has recieved to the brain damage of teh respective reviewers, or perhaps they were so abused as children that thye no longer can tell good from bad. This movie is criminally bad, a constipated, bombastic, kitsch, heinous, trainwreck of a film that is an embarrassment to articulate human beings. I gave it a 1 because I can imagine less pleasant experiences such as having boiling acid injected directly into my eyes whilst. I don't think my ears will ever recover. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
ChristineSep 17, 2005
Wow!The Movie was great. I love the Phantom. I dont like Raoul.Christine & Phantom 4ever!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KatherineJul 28, 2006
Why did they make this? I mean the fun of watching the first one is becuase it's in black and white and it's silent. I think thats the fun. But this is in color and in sound. Just like most of the other re-makes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
casillero22Oct 14, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i didn't pay a cent for watching this movie, thanks heaven... for those who said "oh, i luv the phantom, oh i luv the costumes blah blah blah..." let me tell you, this movie sucks in a very very disgusting way... the plot is full of holes... they totally changed it from the original story! there is no sense of consistency between scenes! the actors, oh my **** god, they suck!! i mean, epic suck.
someone said "Wow!The Movie was great. I love the Phantom. I dont like Raoul.Christine & Phantom 4ever! " ... well, that kind of thought means you are a complete brainless idiot... avoid making a fool out of yourselves with that kind of comments. sayonara.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
BinkiJun 26, 2011
I wanted to just describe this movie in one word (terrible) but unfortunately I have to use 150 characters. Gerard Butler was terrible, the all acting was terrible, the story was terrible, everything was terrible, there was not a single goodI wanted to just describe this movie in one word (terrible) but unfortunately I have to use 150 characters. Gerard Butler was terrible, the all acting was terrible, the story was terrible, everything was terrible, there was not a single good thing in this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
dharmaJul 29, 2015
I never watched the film version due to the Critics..for more than a decade. Hey..they're supposed to know everything right? It seems that they are either watching a different movie or maybe they couldn't accept that Joel Schumacher, theI never watched the film version due to the Critics..for more than a decade. Hey..they're supposed to know everything right? It seems that they are either watching a different movie or maybe they couldn't accept that Joel Schumacher, the director that 'destroyed' the Batman franchise, 'a studio hack' can create a masterpiece...a rendition of the hit musical so perfect...that if this film released today, it would be a massive box office hit in line with Les Miserables. Here, all the actors and believe it or not...Gerard Butler is absolutely great as the Phantom. Yes..King Leonidas...general all around tough guy as a Broadway performer...you better believe it. Also, the fact that Emily Rossum never became a household name is a crime by itself...unbelievable voice and acting at such a young age. This is a film that was snubbed by the critics, and you should take a moment to hunt this masterpiece. I'm glad I did. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
GagaForGhibliJun 3, 2012
Sadly This Movie Does Not Catch Your Eye At The End.. Or Really Any Place In The Movie..
The Cast Is Very Bland And Boring As The Movie..
Minnie Driver Does A Good Job Though..
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
NShep53May 22, 2015
40 on Metacritic is a joke. Seriously. Go through any of the critics reviews and you will find they are just **** about Joel Schumacher in general and not the great work he did on this film. Phantom is probably the best musical of all-time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
lukechristianscApr 4, 2014
A good movie . but not that much violence. the movie is okay but the musical is just to annoying and not something to enjoy about this . Grade C+ ....
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
SarahJan 15, 2006
Best movie of all time. This movie could be much better without Raoul. Christine should choose The Phantom, because he is so nice & handsome, despite mask, that covered his face. He just couldnt be a violent kiler, who haunts Opera House. Best movie of all time. This movie could be much better without Raoul. Christine should choose The Phantom, because he is so nice & handsome, despite mask, that covered his face. He just couldnt be a violent kiler, who haunts Opera House. All I Ask of You is good song, although, it is love between Raoul & Christine. I think, she really is attracted to Phantom more than to Raoul. He is supporting character. I think, that in love songs with Phantom, she really liked him, she love him anyway-dark, forbidden love! I just love it:) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScarlettFeb 15, 2006
Very good movie with excellent music. The thing I didn't understand - what Christine found about Raoul? Emmy Rossum and Gerard Butler were great and Minnie Driver as Charlotta - super.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
POTOredroseAug 20, 2008
One of my favorite movies...Gerard Butler gave a very powerful and captivating performance and the entire cast did a great job !!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HannahOct 25, 2005
I think that the phantom of the opera is the best movie ever. Cristine is my favourate character in the movie my sisters is Meg i'm 10 and my sister is 13.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
phantomimaOct 26, 2005
Is the best film I've seen lately, it cares for every detail and the music is outstanding. I love it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnyaSep 13, 2005
Great. Love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennieV.Feb 9, 2006
Be as it may be, the book, the play, the movie, any rendition of this WONDERFUL story must be taken for what it is and who is conveying it. You can't compare and contrast everything or you'll never get the full aspect and wonder of Be as it may be, the book, the play, the movie, any rendition of this WONDERFUL story must be taken for what it is and who is conveying it. You can't compare and contrast everything or you'll never get the full aspect and wonder of this tale. I've read the book, seen the play, have the play on CD, and now finally have seen the movie. I am now officially obscessed; with each unique version. This has been my favorite story FOREVER and it will continute to be....and just 2 words...Gerard Butler...wow-wee-oo-wow!! And the other actors are tremendous! I cry my eyes out EVERY time. I always feel so bad for the Phantom.....he just wanted to be loved...I hope this story contunues on in the future as long as it already has and I feel honored to have been able to see every aspect of others ideas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CathyM.Apr 20, 2006
Maybe It's just because I'm drawn to men of Celtic descent but Gerard Butler has so much talent and it appears a dedication to craft and a charisma that doesn't stop. I liked it so much I bought the DVD. everytime I view it I Maybe It's just because I'm drawn to men of Celtic descent but Gerard Butler has so much talent and it appears a dedication to craft and a charisma that doesn't stop. I liked it so much I bought the DVD. everytime I view it I see or hear something that I missed previously. I didn't even know who the cast was or had heard of them untill this film. Can hardly wait to see imparticular some more Butler films. He's almost knocked my favorite Scot off his throne. Of course, that is Sean Connery. Yes there were a few scene errors I saw myself, but that just added to this films' charm. I will play this film over and over again untill the DVD won't play anylonger and then I'll purchase another! Congratulations to the whole cast and crew for bringing this to life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaniceK.Dec 24, 2004
This is a beautiful and romantic movie, that had sensational music. The lead performers are awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful