Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 22, 2004
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 576 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
491
Mixed:
40
Negative:
45
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TaylaM.Dec 26, 2007
This HAS to be my favorite movie of all time. i basicly listen to it every day. I wish i could sing like any of them. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
ViggoS.Jun 7, 2009
I always thought that Gerard Butler was straight, but i don't anymore. this movie is so boring, that it would kill a hamster. (In lovely memory of my hamster) the hold story doesn't make any sense.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
kellieNov 10, 2006
This is absolutely powering. something just comes over you watching this film. the actors bring such feeling to the roles. incredible film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 30, 2011
"The Phantom of the Opera" isn't much of a entertaining movie. The acting isn't good and the story is just obedient to the musical. Its the music that you'll like, just the music.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SKhugo1Sep 16, 2014
I hate musicals, but this is different. The music is just perfect, the story is just perfect, I can not understand why this film has a low Metascore.
But not everything is good, I think the book is better than the movie and if the movie were
I hate musicals, but this is different. The music is just perfect, the story is just perfect, I can not understand why this film has a low Metascore.
But not everything is good, I think the book is better than the movie and if the movie were like the book, the movie would have been better
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
MissionDensityAug 17, 2010
It's curious so many critics panned this. Pretty watchable, if predictable, with timeless, catchy tunes. The female lead, Emmy Rossum, was very good. Think a strange hybrid of Moulin Rouge and Frankenstein.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
ZalJan 11, 2012
It's certainly an improvement for Joel Schumacher since Batman and Robin, but I still did not enjoy this film.
With the exception of Erik, all of these characters are completely bland. This is not the fault of Schumacher or any of the actors.
It's certainly an improvement for Joel Schumacher since Batman and Robin, but I still did not enjoy this film.
With the exception of Erik, all of these characters are completely bland. This is not the fault of Schumacher or any of the actors. None of these characters, especially Raoul and Christine, were very interesting to begin with. And even Erik in this film isn't that deep, especially when you see that his "deformity" is really just a big rash. It doesn't look that bad and it makes his song about his face seem, well, somewhat pretentious, which is a word that I feel sad using to describe one of my favorite literary anti-heroes.
The acting isn't that great either. The only one who I thought did a decent job was Patrick Wilson as Raoul. Then there is poor Miranda Richardson doing an incredibly over the top French accent that was hard not to laugh at. This is sad because I genuinly love Miranda Richardson and think she is a fantastic actress, but her acting in this movie was terrible. I don't even understand why she has that accent since everyone else is phoning it in and just doing a British accent, with the exception of Carlotta (since she is Italian) and Raoul and Christine, who for some reason speak with American accents.
The costumes and sets are creative and well made and some of the singing isn't bad, but it just wasn't a pleasant experience for me.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
iholland95Jan 13, 2012
I loved this movie! I have watched the movie many more times than I can count. I love Emmy Rossum. She looks so beautiful throughout the whole movie. I also love Jennifer Ellison. She is so cute. Gerard Butler was a little pitchy at times butI loved this movie! I have watched the movie many more times than I can count. I love Emmy Rossum. She looks so beautiful throughout the whole movie. I also love Jennifer Ellison. She is so cute. Gerard Butler was a little pitchy at times but overall not bad at all. I really dislike Carlotta though. She makes me want to scream. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Ktig88Jul 8, 2012
Well acted, Beautiful Music and a great storyline keeps this movie going until the very end
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysMar 9, 2014
The Phantom of the Opera remake is decidedly uninspired and not very enjoyable most of the time. The visual spectacle is definitely there, but the magic stops there as well.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
RylinSierraOct 20, 2013
It's really a SPECTACULAR movie. The music and the effects are AMAZING. Gerard and Emmy did a really good job as Erik and Christine. Once I started watching I couldn't stop singing songs from it. The music is like drugs, once started youIt's really a SPECTACULAR movie. The music and the effects are AMAZING. Gerard and Emmy did a really good job as Erik and Christine. Once I started watching I couldn't stop singing songs from it. The music is like drugs, once started you can't stop. The musical though is a little better than the movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
WJSDec 6, 2014
Very lavish production full of amazing costumes and sets but even the fantastic music can't help this melodramatic, overwrought elephantine film as it lumbers across the screen. It seems to be miscast to me with the very stagey performancesVery lavish production full of amazing costumes and sets but even the fantastic music can't help this melodramatic, overwrought elephantine film as it lumbers across the screen. It seems to be miscast to me with the very stagey performances just not able to keep up with the spectacle of it all. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
GuidoApr 4, 2008
This is one of the worst, if not the worst flm I have ever seen. I can only ascribe the myriad of 10 ratings that this film has recieved to the brain damage of teh respective reviewers, or perhaps they were so abused as children that thye no This is one of the worst, if not the worst flm I have ever seen. I can only ascribe the myriad of 10 ratings that this film has recieved to the brain damage of teh respective reviewers, or perhaps they were so abused as children that thye no longer can tell good from bad. This movie is criminally bad, a constipated, bombastic, kitsch, heinous, trainwreck of a film that is an embarrassment to articulate human beings. I gave it a 1 because I can imagine less pleasant experiences such as having boiling acid injected directly into my eyes whilst. I don't think my ears will ever recover. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
10
ChristineSep 17, 2005
Wow!The Movie was great. I love the Phantom. I dont like Raoul.Christine & Phantom 4ever!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
KatherineJul 28, 2006
Why did they make this? I mean the fun of watching the first one is becuase it's in black and white and it's silent. I think thats the fun. But this is in color and in sound. Just like most of the other re-makes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
casillero22Oct 14, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i didn't pay a cent for watching this movie, thanks heaven... for those who said "oh, i luv the phantom, oh i luv the costumes blah blah blah..." let me tell you, this movie sucks in a very very disgusting way... the plot is full of holes... they totally changed it from the original story! there is no sense of consistency between scenes! the actors, oh my **** god, they suck!! i mean, epic suck.
someone said "Wow!The Movie was great. I love the Phantom. I dont like Raoul.Christine & Phantom 4ever! " ... well, that kind of thought means you are a complete brainless idiot... avoid making a fool out of yourselves with that kind of comments. sayonara.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
BinkiJun 26, 2011
I wanted to just describe this movie in one word (terrible) but unfortunately I have to use 150 characters. Gerard Butler was terrible, the all acting was terrible, the story was terrible, everything was terrible, there was not a single goodI wanted to just describe this movie in one word (terrible) but unfortunately I have to use 150 characters. Gerard Butler was terrible, the all acting was terrible, the story was terrible, everything was terrible, there was not a single good thing in this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
dharmaJul 29, 2015
I never watched the film version due to the Critics..for more than a decade. Hey..they're supposed to know everything right? It seems that they are either watching a different movie or maybe they couldn't accept that Joel Schumacher, theI never watched the film version due to the Critics..for more than a decade. Hey..they're supposed to know everything right? It seems that they are either watching a different movie or maybe they couldn't accept that Joel Schumacher, the director that 'destroyed' the Batman franchise, 'a studio hack' can create a masterpiece...a rendition of the hit musical so perfect...that if this film released today, it would be a massive box office hit in line with Les Miserables. Here, all the actors and believe it or not...Gerard Butler is absolutely great as the Phantom. Yes..King Leonidas...general all around tough guy as a Broadway performer...you better believe it. Also, the fact that Emily Rossum never became a household name is a crime by itself...unbelievable voice and acting at such a young age. This is a film that was snubbed by the critics, and you should take a moment to hunt this masterpiece. I'm glad I did. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
GagaForGhibliJun 3, 2012
Sadly This Movie Does Not Catch Your Eye At The End.. Or Really Any Place In The Movie..
The Cast Is Very Bland And Boring As The Movie..
Minnie Driver Does A Good Job Though..
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
NShep53May 22, 2015
40 on Metacritic is a joke. Seriously. Go through any of the critics reviews and you will find they are just **** about Joel Schumacher in general and not the great work he did on this film. Phantom is probably the best musical of all-time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
lukechristianscApr 4, 2014
A good movie . but not that much violence. the movie is okay but the musical is just to annoying and not something to enjoy about this . Grade C+ ....
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
SarahJan 15, 2006
Best movie of all time. This movie could be much better without Raoul. Christine should choose The Phantom, because he is so nice & handsome, despite mask, that covered his face. He just couldnt be a violent kiler, who haunts Opera House. Best movie of all time. This movie could be much better without Raoul. Christine should choose The Phantom, because he is so nice & handsome, despite mask, that covered his face. He just couldnt be a violent kiler, who haunts Opera House. All I Ask of You is good song, although, it is love between Raoul & Christine. I think, she really is attracted to Phantom more than to Raoul. He is supporting character. I think, that in love songs with Phantom, she really liked him, she love him anyway-dark, forbidden love! I just love it:) Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScarlettFeb 15, 2006
Very good movie with excellent music. The thing I didn't understand - what Christine found about Raoul? Emmy Rossum and Gerard Butler were great and Minnie Driver as Charlotta - super.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
POTOredroseAug 20, 2008
One of my favorite movies...Gerard Butler gave a very powerful and captivating performance and the entire cast did a great job !!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HannahOct 25, 2005
I think that the phantom of the opera is the best movie ever. Cristine is my favourate character in the movie my sisters is Meg i'm 10 and my sister is 13.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
phantomimaOct 26, 2005
Is the best film I've seen lately, it cares for every detail and the music is outstanding. I love it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnyaSep 13, 2005
Great. Love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennieV.Feb 9, 2006
Be as it may be, the book, the play, the movie, any rendition of this WONDERFUL story must be taken for what it is and who is conveying it. You can't compare and contrast everything or you'll never get the full aspect and wonder of Be as it may be, the book, the play, the movie, any rendition of this WONDERFUL story must be taken for what it is and who is conveying it. You can't compare and contrast everything or you'll never get the full aspect and wonder of this tale. I've read the book, seen the play, have the play on CD, and now finally have seen the movie. I am now officially obscessed; with each unique version. This has been my favorite story FOREVER and it will continute to be....and just 2 words...Gerard Butler...wow-wee-oo-wow!! And the other actors are tremendous! I cry my eyes out EVERY time. I always feel so bad for the Phantom.....he just wanted to be loved...I hope this story contunues on in the future as long as it already has and I feel honored to have been able to see every aspect of others ideas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CathyM.Apr 20, 2006
Maybe It's just because I'm drawn to men of Celtic descent but Gerard Butler has so much talent and it appears a dedication to craft and a charisma that doesn't stop. I liked it so much I bought the DVD. everytime I view it I Maybe It's just because I'm drawn to men of Celtic descent but Gerard Butler has so much talent and it appears a dedication to craft and a charisma that doesn't stop. I liked it so much I bought the DVD. everytime I view it I see or hear something that I missed previously. I didn't even know who the cast was or had heard of them untill this film. Can hardly wait to see imparticular some more Butler films. He's almost knocked my favorite Scot off his throne. Of course, that is Sean Connery. Yes there were a few scene errors I saw myself, but that just added to this films' charm. I will play this film over and over again untill the DVD won't play anylonger and then I'll purchase another! Congratulations to the whole cast and crew for bringing this to life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaniceK.Dec 24, 2004
This is a beautiful and romantic movie, that had sensational music. The lead performers are awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillJ.Dec 26, 2004
I enjoyed the movie. As a romantic fantasy, it had color, glamour, beautiful costumes, a nice set and score. I'd say it was visually stunning. I had never seen any of the other Phantom's, so can't judge against them but I do I enjoyed the movie. As a romantic fantasy, it had color, glamour, beautiful costumes, a nice set and score. I'd say it was visually stunning. I had never seen any of the other Phantom's, so can't judge against them but I do have the soundtrack from the play. While the Phantom was played well by Gerard Butler, I don't think his voice was up to the job. OTOH, Emmy Rossum's voice was terrific, though it needs maturing and she was too young for the part. Patrick Wilson was too much the wimp but he got his girl. The back story wasn't exactly clear. I wondered throughout the movie who the old lady was who was bidding for the monkey piece against the old man and who he looked at longingly in the mirror as he drove away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnaC.Dec 25, 2005
I have to say that this movie is perfect. I have seen the play and was blown away, but when I seen the movie it was even better. Gerard Butler was brilliant, and what a voice. He was just right for the phantom, and for those who said he I have to say that this movie is perfect. I have seen the play and was blown away, but when I seen the movie it was even better. Gerard Butler was brilliant, and what a voice. He was just right for the phantom, and for those who said he couldn't sing, well don't you think the director would of picked some one else? But I guess every idiot is entitled to some opion. And he had to of been some what good looking also, or Christine wouldn't of fallen in love with him. This is the best movie I've have ever see. I have been waiting for this movie for years and I knew if it was done right it would be like no other musical ever made. Roaringpop. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanDAug 27, 2005
I made the mistake of listening to all the constipated critics who didn't like this movie, and as a result I didn't see it until it came out on DVD. After viewing this spectacular production, I have to say that the nay-sayers I made the mistake of listening to all the constipated critics who didn't like this movie, and as a result I didn't see it until it came out on DVD. After viewing this spectacular production, I have to say that the nay-sayers should increase their intake of prunes and get rid of some of their poison. It is obvious that many of the reviews were written by self-professed haters of either musicals in general or AWL's musicals specifically. It would not be fair for me to attempt to critique a rap show because I hate that type of music. Common sense, people. If you don't like it, stay away. In my opinion, everyone in the show was perfectly cast, down to the most minor character, and all three of the leads were perfect. Emmy Rossum lent just the right air of sexual and romantic awakening to the part of Christine, torn between darkness and light. Her voice was perfect for the part of the 16 year old ingenue, which she is in reality. Patrick Wilson was great as Raoul, earnest, but bland, with a lovely lyrical voice. But the real scene stealer was Gerard Butler as the Phantom. His voice was exactly what Andrew's and Joel's vision was for this movie--raw, passionate and deeper than most stage Phantoms. And his acting was superb. He gave the viewer insight into what drove the Phantom to such dark acts--a terrible loneliness and passion for a woman whom he knows he will never really have for his own. All the supporting actors are great and the costumes, sets and music are awe-inspiring. Joel and Andrew have made a masterpiece that will be a classic, despite the vapid rantings of a few mis-guided critics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DawnO.Aug 29, 2005
Great book, stunning musical, fantastic score, fabulous editing, superb casting in parts. Gerard Butler's brooding, menacing, raw Phantom won me over completely and Emmy Rossum was perfect as the naive, innocent and compassionate Great book, stunning musical, fantastic score, fabulous editing, superb casting in parts. Gerard Butler's brooding, menacing, raw Phantom won me over completely and Emmy Rossum was perfect as the naive, innocent and compassionate Christine. I found Patrick Wilson's Raoul slightly wooden, but his voice was a perfect foil for the Phantom's unrefined, sex-laden timbre. However, there isn't a hot-blooded woman amongst us who wouldn't willingly have swapped places with Christine and chosen an entirely different ending :-) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AkkeiJan 16, 2006
This movie was the best I have watched in a long time. I disagree with those that gave it a low rating. Gerald Butler did a superb acting job playing the phantom, he even managed to shed real tears in the end. Emmy Rossom started out a This movie was the best I have watched in a long time. I disagree with those that gave it a low rating. Gerald Butler did a superb acting job playing the phantom, he even managed to shed real tears in the end. Emmy Rossom started out a little unsure it seemed but quickly seemed to grow confident later on. Patrick Wilson did a fairly good acting job. But I have no complaints to the singing at all. Sure a few mistakes were made here and there but they are human. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieW.Jan 20, 2006
Love this movie. Gerard Butler makes an incredible phantom. None other compares.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
A.B.Feb 5, 2006
it would be much better if the voices were stronger, but all around it is pretty good. except for the fact that the phantom is HORRIBLE!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrendaMar 20, 2006
I think the movie is absolutely fantastic! I saw the musical three times on stage so I was afraid to see it in the theater, thinking I would be disappointed. The movie has been airing on Cinemax, so I finally watched it, at least 10 times so I think the movie is absolutely fantastic! I saw the musical three times on stage so I was afraid to see it in the theater, thinking I would be disappointed. The movie has been airing on Cinemax, so I finally watched it, at least 10 times so far. When it is on I can't take my eyes off of it! Gerard Butler is so mesmerizing, I fall in love with him every time I watch, and I'm happily married! Emmy is so beautiful, the perfect Christine. Patrick Wilson is so handsome as Roul and has one of the most beautiful voices I've ever heard. He's from my home town, St. Petersburg, Florida. His father and brother are both news anchors on the local news. Most of his family sings, and they do benefit concerts sometimes. And Minnie Driver.....who knew? She was amazing, and what a hot ticket as Charlotta! My kids loved her. All of the characters were right for the part, but that gorgeous Gerard Butler is what reeld me in. I read how horribIe it was for him to wear that prostetic face & make up, and how his face was bruised from the mask. He got 3 hours of sleep each night for weeks. Kudos! What else can I say? I'm obsessed and I love it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatieM.Jun 23, 2006
Emmy Rossum voice was angelic. Beautiful. I've heard many different recordings of different Christine'a and her's was one of the best I've ever seen or heard. Stunning!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatriciaA.Aug 4, 2006
I love this movie. Its one of my favorites and when You meet the actor is all worth while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaclynT.Sep 3, 2006
words can't explain what came over me when i watched the movie for the first time. i felt like my soul was being sucked in. patrick wilson, emmy rossums, gerard butler, and everyone else couldn't have been any better. emmy rossums words can't explain what came over me when i watched the movie for the first time. i felt like my soul was being sucked in. patrick wilson, emmy rossums, gerard butler, and everyone else couldn't have been any better. emmy rossums couldn't done any better and be anymore beautiful! gerard's voice is AMAZING. so is his acting. patrick wilson couldn't be any more better except for the fact that his hair was totally gross. i agree with monica d.! gerard is hot! (he kinda reminded me of elvis at one point...) phantom should have gone with phantom because the poor man can't be left. also because he can't get anyone else...no one loves him. at least with raoul he could get some other to like him. this movie was awesome! anyone who thinks the movie stinks; stinks themselves because the ending was so dreadfully sad. I think the movie should get AT LEAST a 8...and no less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyLCMar 4, 2007
One of my favourite movies. The production/direction/cinematography is astonishing. I love the transitions, esp the transition from B/W to color at the beginning. Keep in mind that this is a movie not a play. The visuals and the acting are One of my favourite movies. The production/direction/cinematography is astonishing. I love the transitions, esp the transition from B/W to color at the beginning. Keep in mind that this is a movie not a play. The visuals and the acting are paramount, not the operatic singing. Gerard Butler is excellent, showing the rage of a madman. I have watched it 7 times already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
John---Oct 29, 2005
Ponderous and pompous; detracts from the original play with ridiculous additons (sword fight, death trap, interminable journeys, and motion-sickness-inducing camera swoops).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BethLAug 24, 2005
What are you people thinking when you say it wasn't a good movie?!?!? You must be insane!! Gerard Butler is, in my opinon, the best singer in the movie considering he had no previous experince in singing (that I know of anyway) and his What are you people thinking when you say it wasn't a good movie?!?!? You must be insane!! Gerard Butler is, in my opinon, the best singer in the movie considering he had no previous experince in singing (that I know of anyway) and his voice was so captivating that it made me want to become an actress and sing so well that it captivates the audience like he did. As for Emmy Rossum, she makes a wonderful Christine. She was perfect for the part the same as Mr.Butler was perfect for the Part of the Phantom. Patrick Willson I wasn't too fond of but he did a great job none the less. You people who are judging the movie to the Broadway version, shouldn't. There is NO comparison between a stage play and a Movie. They are two TOTALLY different types of acting and in no way should be compared to one another. Unless YOU can sing opera music in 7 different languages and used to be/are a professional opera singer then you shouldn't say that this movie is the worst ever. I'm sure that Gerard Butler can sing better than most. Over-all, This movie is in no way a waste of time and you should by all means see it.If you don't like Musicals, THEN DON"T WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY!!! (DUH!!!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MonicaD.Jan 22, 2006
I think that some of the people who voted this movie below an 8 are ridiculous. I'm sorry, but this movie was fantastic!! I saw the play after the movie and it was tough not to compare them, good or bad, but I loved it. What really made I think that some of the people who voted this movie below an 8 are ridiculous. I'm sorry, but this movie was fantastic!! I saw the play after the movie and it was tough not to compare them, good or bad, but I loved it. What really made me mad after seeing the play was the casting for Roul! I don't think I've ever heard of Patrick Wilson, but (and I hope at least someone agrees with me) his hair is disgusting! The guy who played Roul for the show I saw was better looking and a better singer. Some people think Roul is hot, but I really dissagree. Gerard Butler on the other hand I thought was extremely hot! He was kind of weird at the beginning but after I heard him sing I just melted. He was fantastic and he didn't shake convulsively when Christine kissed him either, like the Phantom onstage (even though he was awesome). After he layed Christine on that bed during Music of the Night there was a lip-synched mess-up there, you could see it. Emmy Rossum did really well-- I had no idea she could sing, I just knew she was in The Day After Tomorrow. The ending made me get choked up because it was so sad (the whole flashback thing). I think a lot of people agree with me here, that Christine should've picked the Phantom over Roul. The book was good too, but what surprised me in it that the Phantom's name was ERIC!! I don't know, that just doesn't seem to fit the whole idea about him. And once again to beat on Roul, he was a crybaby throughout the whole book. There was a whole other character in it, the Persian, he would've had a really cool part, but it's only for the end. Also, if you never understood that thing about the "Hand at the level of your eye", you have to read the book. It's about pretecting yourself from a lasso or something like that. Overall, this movie was more than fantastic, and the story is so romantic and beautiful that this movie deserves at least a rating of 8. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrishaK.Dec 5, 2006
This Movie is now my favorite. I love the music, but was taken back by the phantom, Gerard Butler, I love the way he sings with emotion. I have heard the other excellent opera singers on stage, but this version is very pasionate, romantic This Movie is now my favorite. I love the music, but was taken back by the phantom, Gerard Butler, I love the way he sings with emotion. I have heard the other excellent opera singers on stage, but this version is very pasionate, romantic and great singing. This version did not have any boring parts. All the actors were excellent. I think there would be no story if there was no passion between the phantom and Christine, would just be a horror picture of sorts. Also, I think the phantom did get the human connection in the end, he was isolated, but at the end he definitely made a heroic choice and moral. Think Meg was going to run after him at the end there...hmm who knows a sequel. Meg joins him, Chrisine later at 25 wonders what the phantom is up to?? Another triangle? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SimonDec 7, 2006
Come on, don't think we can't spot that the User Ratings for this film have been seriously rigged...you could at least have made it a bit more subtle by giving the odd 8 or 9...strings of 10's are just too blatant. It's a Come on, don't think we can't spot that the User Ratings for this film have been seriously rigged...you could at least have made it a bit more subtle by giving the odd 8 or 9...strings of 10's are just too blatant. It's a so-bad-it's-rather-funny film, and I wouldn't put anybody who wanted a giggle off watching it on that basis. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
L.H.Feb 11, 2006
Love this movie. Gerard Butler, Emmy Rossum, Patrick Wilson all do a great job in the DVD which i definately loved. any one who rates low is crazy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DoloresS.Mar 12, 2006
I have watched The Phantom on stage so many times and just watched the movie after a year. I thought , it was not a good movie, but after watching it, I love the way the performers portray their part. Why others keep comparing the movie and I have watched The Phantom on stage so many times and just watched the movie after a year. I thought , it was not a good movie, but after watching it, I love the way the performers portray their part. Why others keep comparing the movie and the Phantom on stage? Cannot compare an apple to an orange. If there is no Phantom on stage (theater), they will still appreciate this French novel seen on movies. Set aside my soundtract of Michael Crawford and Sarah B., and listen to the new, sweet, romantic, passionate , husky, manly voice of Gerard's version. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanApr 23, 2006
I saw Phantom in the theaters one year ago, and continue to be swept away by it. I have two of the DVD (both one and two disc sets) and the soudtrack. It still remains as my favortie movie of all time. I know that GerardButler has a new fan. I saw Phantom in the theaters one year ago, and continue to be swept away by it. I have two of the DVD (both one and two disc sets) and the soudtrack. It still remains as my favortie movie of all time. I know that GerardButler has a new fan. I have purchased six other movies he was in, and think that he is the best actor I have seen. Joel, you are a genius at casting once again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TerriM.Aug 26, 2006
Absolutely loved it. The voice of the actor playing the Phantom is awesome, powerful, mesmerizing. And the actress playing Christine couldn't be better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrittM.Nov 19, 2007
I have seen the production of Phantom of the Opera on stage about 3 times, because I, myself sing. I go to an auditioned school for the performing arts. I was not a huge fan of the stage production, but when I saw the movie, I was astounded. I have seen the production of Phantom of the Opera on stage about 3 times, because I, myself sing. I go to an auditioned school for the performing arts. I was not a huge fan of the stage production, but when I saw the movie, I was astounded. It is clearer and easier to understand. Plus the musical quality is superb. Christine's [Emmy Rossum's] voice was pure and beautiful, which is what the character's voice was supposed to sound like. It wasn't supposed to be overpowering, but just pure beauty. Gerard Butler's voice had so much emotion. I must admit, I thought the Phantom was sexy. Also, I must say that the Point of No Ruturn scene was amazing. I cried and I never cry when I seea movie. The passion in that scene is undeniable- I could feel it. I had chills. Also, I know we are on the computer, but if you are going to type a "sophisticated" review bashing the film, first of all, learn how to spell words correctly, and second, take a look at the quality of the performance, and what was meant for each individual character. I must say, beautiful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElaB.Oct 24, 2008
Due to the unremarkable critical reception and my little-to-no previous Phantom knowledge I was fully expecting to hate this film version but to my surprise I've fallen in love with it. The costumes and sets, whilst sometimes Due to the unremarkable critical reception and my little-to-no previous Phantom knowledge I was fully expecting to hate this film version but to my surprise I've fallen in love with it. The costumes and sets, whilst sometimes over-the-top are really stunning. Emmy Rossum is perfect as the painfully naive chorus girl and Gerard Butler swings brilliantly from intimidating to seductive to pitiful to downright evil as the Phantom and though he doesn't sing every note perfectly he more than makes up for that out of pure expressiveness. Although it has to be said the deformity could do with being more severe, seeing as Gerard still looks hot to me in the Final Lair scenes. Patrick Wilson (a very good actor in films such as Hard Candy and Little Children) does his best with the one-dimensional prince charming of the tale and does have a lovely voice (although his accent is painfully obvious), which is a perfect foil for Gerard's rougher, more sensual tones. However his and Emmy's lack of chemistry compared to her's with Butler leaves most women scratching their heads at how Christine could prefer Raoul. The end is heartbreaking, if you don't cry your tear ducts are malfunctioning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KatieMar 24, 2008
The movie helps the audience graps the play a little better because of the way they moved scenes around. But you can't compare a movie to the play. when you are in the opera house watching the play it feels like you are in the opera The movie helps the audience graps the play a little better because of the way they moved scenes around. But you can't compare a movie to the play. when you are in the opera house watching the play it feels like you are in the opera house that the Phantom of the Opera is taken place in. The Phantoms voice makes your hair sticks on end...and you too fall in love with the phantom. The movie gives the viewers none of that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoshLApr 12, 2009
Ugh. The music isn't what bugs me. Its the fact that this attempts to be a musical drama that holds no dramatic interest. Schumacher is so interested in making his first good film that he focuses on everything asthetic and nothing Ugh. The music isn't what bugs me. Its the fact that this attempts to be a musical drama that holds no dramatic interest. Schumacher is so interested in making his first good film that he focuses on everything asthetic and nothing human. I felt nothing thru the entire movie. There's no suspense at all. I had never read the original book or seen the play and I still managed to predict what happened next. Maybe if it attempted to be edgy instead of pretending while still remainng pretty harmless. Every man in this film is a little girl and the women just don't THINK! There is a talented cast that gets squandered by an overly sappy ending filled with pointless reprises (seriously? the Phantoms dramatic contemplative moment is to Masqurade? I laughed out loud) and anti-climactic confrontations. This gets a 3 simply because of the very talented Emmy Rossum who does all she can to save the movie and is also super hot. I see why the phantom is nuts for her. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidSep 13, 2009
This is, by far, my favorite movie of all times. The music is absolutely amazing, and all the actors/actresses did an outstanding job. I have to have seen it practically a million times, and I still get chills listening to the music, which I This is, by far, my favorite movie of all times. The music is absolutely amazing, and all the actors/actresses did an outstanding job. I have to have seen it practically a million times, and I still get chills listening to the music, which I have the sound track of on my mp3 player, cell phone, computer, burned CD's for my stereo, et cetera. I literally listen to it all the time. But I love not just the music, but all of the elements that went in to making this masterpiece. As previously mentioned, the actors and actresses did an excellent job. Gerard Butler held so much emotion so realistically, and Emmy Rossum did an excellent job with regards to her portrayal of dependence to her father and the "Angel of Music." Patrick Wilson, Minnie Driver, Miranda Richardson, and Jennifer Ellison played their roles excellently as well. As a side note, by looking at Ellison's (Meg's) character, her entire costume, posture, and voice all match her character perfectly. I also love how every trap, et cetera, that the Phantom created for his labyrinth in the film would have been technically possible (if improbable) to have created in the time period in which the movie took place, with only the money he received from the opera. I was afraid that Schumacher would put impossible effects, such as the Mirror if it hadn't been shown to slide open, into the movie for effects purposed, but it was made clear that he did not. The only thing that came close to impossible in my opinion would have been the lit candles emerging from the "vast, glassy lake," however, after some research on my own part, I learned that the technology of using certain fossil fuels to accomplish that task had been around long before the time period of the movie. All-in-all, this movie is amazing and if anyone tries to dispute that fact, go and see the movie for yourself before succumbing to that belief. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KendraP.Nov 17, 2008
I really do like this movie! The songs are very inviting...Not to mention the opera house is so beautiful... i can't take my eyes off of the screen when the movie is playing it is a tear jerker! the only thing i hate is the end!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
Spielberg00Sep 15, 2011
First and foremost, the Broadway musical production is (ha!) SO much better than this. Not to say that it was a bad adaptation: Gerard Butler sure did a fantastic job as the titular character. The main thing that really angered me about thisFirst and foremost, the Broadway musical production is (ha!) SO much better than this. Not to say that it was a bad adaptation: Gerard Butler sure did a fantastic job as the titular character. The main thing that really angered me about this is that a lot of the scenes were scrapped and/or changed--some of which would have even made more sense on camera than onstage, such as the graveyard scene where the Phantom throws fireballs at Raoul. Some of the altered scenes, I can say, were clearly done to make it appear as a film rather than a direct copy of a Broadway musical, such as the opening scene and the final scene (neither of which I will give away, because the majority of the film is in a flashback, so technically, giving away the beginning would be partially giving away the ending). Cinematically, though, THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA is captivating and brilliant, if, as noted above, flawed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
nahtan1244Mar 25, 2016
This was a fine production I seem to be in the minority here but here me out. It's Not nearly as bad as critics are making out to be but i do have to agree with them on this movie somewhat. First off Emily russum was very good as Christie sheThis was a fine production I seem to be in the minority here but here me out. It's Not nearly as bad as critics are making out to be but i do have to agree with them on this movie somewhat. First off Emily russum was very good as Christie she has a wonderful voice. She can act, sing and you can feel her struggle. The costumes are exquisite and sets lavish and beautiful so are the visuals. Patrick Wilson shines as raoul and is a good component emily russom. They are both such good singers. The score is hauntingly beautiful and has now become one of my favorites The beautiful visuals however try to distract the viewer from a lackluster script. The story is fleshed out kinda nicely but the stong visuals distract from creating a even more solid story so you end up being left with a story that doesn't smooth quite as nicely with what the rest of the film has to offer. Aslo Gerald butler was a fantastic actor but not a very good singer. He didn't know how to sing from the begging so that should have been a red flag not to cast him sense the movie is mostly singing. Hugh jackman would have been better after his performance in Les miserables. The rest of the cast did better than butler but worse than Patrick Wilson and Emily russom. So Phantom of the opera is a well acted and mostly well sung with a beautiful and amzing soundtrack, and is alot better than rent or mama mia but worst than into the woods Les miserables or chicago. It isn't bad it just could be better Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
uCallHimDrJ0NESFeb 12, 2016
If you're not already a committed "phan", stay away from this. They all pile on with their scores of 10, but that won't change the shoddy lipsync work and illogical character motivation. I expect much better than this from expensive filmIf you're not already a committed "phan", stay away from this. They all pile on with their scores of 10, but that won't change the shoddy lipsync work and illogical character motivation. I expect much better than this from expensive film musicals. Leave Lloyd-Webber's stuff in the theater where it belongs. Without the excitement of stage effects and lighting, this material falls flat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
VadertimeSep 19, 2016
The lavish sets and the opulent production overwhelmed the story and what little character development there might have been. It's a musical, after all, but I hold movie musicals to the highest standard I know - My Fair Lady. This was slow,The lavish sets and the opulent production overwhelmed the story and what little character development there might have been. It's a musical, after all, but I hold movie musicals to the highest standard I know - My Fair Lady. This was slow, plodding and almost on life-support at certain times during the progression of the movie. Gerard Butler needs to stick to action-heroes and never take up singing again. Minnie Driver was the singular bright spot in conveying her character in the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews