Sony Pictures Releasing | Release Date: February 10, 2006
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 108 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
61
Mixed:
20
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
FrankO.May 1, 2006
Parts of the slapstick comedy were laugh out loud funny...Martin was good recreating Sellers' role. Some scenes were too long(i.e. learning to say hamburger, confrontation at airport security). Jean Reno & Kevin Kline were good in Parts of the slapstick comedy were laugh out loud funny...Martin was good recreating Sellers' role. Some scenes were too long(i.e. learning to say hamburger, confrontation at airport security). Jean Reno & Kevin Kline were good in supporting roles. Nice form of escapism. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
LindaM.Aug 22, 2006
Being a big Steve Martin fan, I was predisposed to like this movie despite the weak reviews. What a disappointment! Where can I start? Steve Martin's accent and lip pursing were SO wrong. And at the very least, he should have dyed his Being a big Steve Martin fan, I was predisposed to like this movie despite the weak reviews. What a disappointment! Where can I start? Steve Martin's accent and lip pursing were SO wrong. And at the very least, he should have dyed his hair black to match the mustache.....or made the mustache white to match his hair. He seemed "fake" from the start because of this simple problem. Sad to see him this way. Kevin Kline, too. Why do great actors take such roles? I agree with some reviewer who said that Kline might have made the better Clousseau; but he seemed pretty wooden in this role. Yes, there are a lot of laughs to be had from the physical comedy, but the dialogue and the acting were almost painul. I had been looking forward to this movie ever since I heard Steve Martin was making it. Again, what a disappointment. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
HannesMar 26, 2006
It's not funny. Peter Sellers does it 100 times better than Steve Martin. The movie is a shame for the Pink Panther series.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DaveQ.Jul 24, 2006
Steve Martin has finally hit bottom. I guess he can only go up from here, right? I'm not so sure. If you had seen any of the Sellers Panthers your only reaction could be to cry, not laugh.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
PauloS.Sep 19, 2006
ONE OF THE WORST MOVIE I'VE EVER SEEN! Not even close to the original. Steve did a bad job. Kevin Kline would have been a much better choice to play Closeau.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DanielApr 5, 2006
I went into this movie expecting not much based on disapproval from critics. But I was highly entertained from the very start. Hilarious right through. Despite low numbers, the cinema still erupted with laughter like a live comedy show. I went into this movie expecting not much based on disapproval from critics. But I was highly entertained from the very start. Hilarious right through. Despite low numbers, the cinema still erupted with laughter like a live comedy show. Steve Martin certainly lives up to Peter Seller's Clueso and is one of his best performances to date. Pink Panther is meant to be silly, humerous and fun... This movie does it very well, don't get too tied up comparing the old with the new and enjoy yourself. Two thumbs up .. BEST comedy so far of 2006. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
ShaunS.Dec 26, 2006
What an insult to the master Peter Sellers. He must be turning in his grave, absolute drival.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
BrettM.Jun 14, 2006
This is the worst movie i have ever seen, and is milking the title that Peter Shelers built from the ground up. Only to have Stevey tear the name down!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
MattW.Feb 18, 2007
Utter disappointment. The only way to be a successful Clouseau is to imitate Peter Sellers. Mike Meyers would have been ideal as Clouseau--besides, he's a great fan of the original series; Jason Alexander would have made a good Dreyfus Utter disappointment. The only way to be a successful Clouseau is to imitate Peter Sellers. Mike Meyers would have been ideal as Clouseau--besides, he's a great fan of the original series; Jason Alexander would have made a good Dreyfus (Herbert Lom, in the original movies, didn't need a strong French accent--it's the temper that made Dreyfus who he was); Jackie Chan could have portrayed Cato (who was just as inept as Clouseau--is supposed to attack Clouseau, not the other way around). Moreover, we don't need to resort to jokes with innuendos and flatulence to make Clouseau funny. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SarahT.Mar 13, 2006
A great movie for me. Wonderful. Great. I loved it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KatelynBFeb 22, 2009
This was an entertaining movie and deserves a 100 I think steve Martin did a captivating job, playing Clouseau.This a movie people will remember for ages!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
TheQuietGamerApr 3, 2011
Very few movies have me laughing as much as this one did, one of Steve Martin's best, my only complaint with this movie is the topic of sex being brought up, which may make some parents not want to show there younger kids this movie, but forVery few movies have me laughing as much as this one did, one of Steve Martin's best, my only complaint with this movie is the topic of sex being brought up, which may make some parents not want to show there younger kids this movie, but for older audiences (teens to adults) it's a HILARIOUS movie I recommend. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
DoctorSpacemanJul 5, 2012
Doesn't deserve all the bad press it got. Sure, it's a dumb comedy with a ridiculous plot (what soccer trainer tries to kill a pop star because she went out with two other guys?), but many of its jokes are very funny, and at the very leastDoesn't deserve all the bad press it got. Sure, it's a dumb comedy with a ridiculous plot (what soccer trainer tries to kill a pop star because she went out with two other guys?), but many of its jokes are very funny, and at the very least it's not a worthless waste of two hours like its sequel. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
firafJun 24, 2009
Absolutely awful If Steve Martin thinks his movie is any good then should play a different character in a different story other than Inspector Clouseau and the Pink Panther movies with Peter Sellers. I say this because those not familiar Absolutely awful If Steve Martin thinks his movie is any good then should play a different character in a different story other than Inspector Clouseau and the Pink Panther movies with Peter Sellers. I say this because those not familiar with his predecessor think this movie might be good, they ought to watch this as a standalone movie about a different character unrelated to the PINK PANTHER movies !!! what a shame for Peter Sellers a lost opportunity to follow on from his films. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
8
GaryFeb 22, 2006
I know it wasn't Sellers, and I knew it going in, Martin and Kline pull off a good movie if you leave the preconcieved notions of what Sellers did. Martin is his own talent and pulls off a good movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
Rev.RikardFeb 20, 2006
Let's be honest, Peter Sellers will always be "The" pink panther. Still, if anyone could pull off a refreshing visit with this long lost friend it would be Steve Martin. This movie doesn't dispel the judgment that Martin remains Let's be honest, Peter Sellers will always be "The" pink panther. Still, if anyone could pull off a refreshing visit with this long lost friend it would be Steve Martin. This movie doesn't dispel the judgment that Martin remains among the funniest people in the business; however, it does reveal that he should start picking his scripts more carefully. This screen-play did not tap into bumbling character personified in Sellers. It is little more than slap-stick comedy with few novel gags. Like many "comedies"? this film tries to make us laugh with sophmoric, toilet humor. Martin doesn't need it to be funny. Consequently, the Pink Panther remains where he should be: laid to rest as one of the great comic characters of the 70s. Steve Martin remains where he has been for some time: looking for that script that resurrects his comic genius. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ChrisW.Jul 1, 2006
Look... this movie isn;t going to win any awards... that's for sure! But, it does have its moments. Steve Martin pulls off this cahracter as good as anyone could have. I would have like to see somebody other than Beyonce play her part. Look... this movie isn;t going to win any awards... that's for sure! But, it does have its moments. Steve Martin pulls off this cahracter as good as anyone could have. I would have like to see somebody other than Beyonce play her part. I think her character was extremely dull and almost out of place. If you want a good comedy that's as good as anything you've seen before... then this is it! Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JaredB.Jan 8, 2007
Oh, give me a break! This movie was not that bad. It had a lot of really, really funny gags. Granted, some relied on gross-out humor. However, if I were to select someone to fill the great Peter Sellers' shoes, Steve Martin is exactly Oh, give me a break! This movie was not that bad. It had a lot of really, really funny gags. Granted, some relied on gross-out humor. However, if I were to select someone to fill the great Peter Sellers' shoes, Steve Martin is exactly the guy I'd pick. My only real complaint is that they didn't give Kristen Chenoweth's character enough screen time. Otherwise, a fall-down funny film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
SusanFeb 13, 2006
Okay, Steve Martin is not Peter Sellers, but this film is an enjoyable way to pass the time. Jean Reno and Kevin Kline are great and Martin is pretty good if you're not spending all your time making unfair comparisons. Go with low Okay, Steve Martin is not Peter Sellers, but this film is an enjoyable way to pass the time. Jean Reno and Kevin Kline are great and Martin is pretty good if you're not spending all your time making unfair comparisons. Go with low expectations and you'll be very pleasantly surprised. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JimFeb 15, 2006
The only enjoyment I got out of this movie came from the contributions by Clive Owen and Jason Statham. Oh and Beyonce was hauntingly beautiful as always. For these reasons alone I give this a 1. This should be avoided by all.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewM.Mar 5, 2006
This movie is great! It isnt handled as well as the old Pink Pathers but is still very good. The two worst parts were at the beginning which i think accounts for most of the peoples dislike of the film with an over exagerated parellel This movie is great! It isnt handled as well as the old Pink Pathers but is still very good. The two worst parts were at the beginning which i think accounts for most of the peoples dislike of the film with an over exagerated parellel parking scene and a very poor scene with martain the Inspecter passing gass. Other then that it was one of the best commedies I have seen in years. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
S.O.Mar 6, 2006
Of course it wasn't peter sellers, but if you gave me a choice of seeing this or king kong again- it'd be simple, this was more interesting, less obnoxiously loud, and shorter!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MatthewL.Apr 26, 2006
That was the best comedy show I ever saw in years! I almost died of laughing!The oringinal one sucks!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AnnaR.Jun 25, 2006
I really enjoyed the film. At first, my friends agreed to come watch it with me only because I did them a favour, they were not exited at all. I must say, even my friends, who are really difficult to please sometimes, they absolutely loved I really enjoyed the film. At first, my friends agreed to come watch it with me only because I did them a favour, they were not exited at all. I must say, even my friends, who are really difficult to please sometimes, they absolutely loved it! I'm with them, and I would 100% rate it 10. I can't wait till it comes out in the Czech Republic, I will get it straight away at any price. Really top class movie, must say. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Feb 21, 2008
The Pink Panther once was a TV Show, hilarious series of films, and classics too. And now Steve Martin, who probably is the only perfect Inspector Closeau you can possibly find nowadays. Steve Martin, also screenwriter of this motion capture The Pink Panther once was a TV Show, hilarious series of films, and classics too. And now Steve Martin, who probably is the only perfect Inspector Closeau you can possibly find nowadays. Steve Martin, also screenwriter of this motion capture brings us a silly rally of fun, quirky humor, set of events, and attitudes. Coleau couldn't be any stupider than this but I never knew he could actually solve a case. Some might say it is disappointing how he solves the case, but I think it just brightens up script. The case, which is easy enough for a 5 year-old to uncover, is simply magnifying, intelligent, and smart, and its reliance of quirky fashions to juice things up. It retains to its style, and its characters. The plot is short, and has cheesy moments, but it succeeds. At Steve Martin's finest work, Shawn Levy (also a film critic) directs like nothing he has ever done before. It may be something you probably only enjoy once watching, but literally, it ain't crap. It s actually a lot of fun. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JoeMamaFeb 11, 2006
This movie was surprisingly funny, although i thought the storyline was bad. But what moved it from a 10 to a 6 was Steve Martin's accent. That got so dam annoying and was pathectic. Heres an impression. "Ahh woo lie toooo baii a derberger!"
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JulianH.Feb 21, 2006
Steve Martin did a good job of taking the subtle, quieter humor of Sellers' Pink Panther, and making it a bit more zany and slapstick for today's audience. Am I happy this had to be done? No, but if you're going to do it, do Steve Martin did a good job of taking the subtle, quieter humor of Sellers' Pink Panther, and making it a bit more zany and slapstick for today's audience. Am I happy this had to be done? No, but if you're going to do it, do it right, and I think they did. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TylerD.Mar 13, 2006
I don't know whats up with the reviews. I mean, it was HILARIOUS! His accent cracked me up throughout the whole movie, and the Hamburger scene was priceless. I loved it. Me and my friend both laughed our asses off.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JonathanCSep 28, 2011
Comedies these days have become far too predictable with gross outs and other modern techniques, but Steve Martin with vast years of experience and talent, really knows the genre of comedy. From slapstick, melodrama, parody, satire to theComedies these days have become far too predictable with gross outs and other modern techniques, but Steve Martin with vast years of experience and talent, really knows the genre of comedy. From slapstick, melodrama, parody, satire to the most subtle of facial cues , Steve can do it all. A comedy that can appeal to a wide range of age groups and people needs a good mix of comedy types, and Steve delivers on all levels. A great film for sheer talent. A tribute to Sellers. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
csw12Dec 18, 2012
The Pink Panther has its really funny moments, and i mean really funny but besides those scenes everything was unimaginative, stupid and terrible acting. beyonce was a disgrace.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Dec 17, 2012
To say I wasn't entertained by this movie would be a lie. It was funny, and I don't care how over the top ridiculous at times it got, it still managed to make me laugh and enjoy myself.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
MarkB.Apr 1, 2006
"Always look on the bright side of life," sang Monty Python during the crucifixion in Life of Brian. And so, in keeping with those musical words of wisdom and applying them to Steve Martin's virtually laugh-free remake of the popular "Always look on the bright side of life," sang Monty Python during the crucifixion in Life of Brian. And so, in keeping with those musical words of wisdom and applying them to Steve Martin's virtually laugh-free remake of the popular Inspector Clouseau slapstick farces of the 1960s and 70s, I will now endeavor to catalog a few rays of sunshine peeking out of this almost total eclipse: 1.) Its release gives MGM a promotional excuse to release a box set of Pink Panther cartoons, which with the dismantling of Warner Bros.' and MGM's theatrical cartoon wings and the slowing down of Disney's, provided almost the only new animated character to do a series of big-screen adventures in the 60s, some of which are little masterpieces of dry wit and stylish graphic design. 2.) Since Sony/ MGM chickened out of its original plans to release this movie last summer, it didn't have to compete with The Longest Yard and Bad News Bears for the title of Crappiest Non-Horror Remake of the Year, and it's got the field very nicely sewn up for 2006! 3.) It's great to hear Henry Mancini's seminal theme music played in the big screen again (even if the accompanying opening credits animation, featuring a Martinized Clouseau, is just as substandard as the rest of the movie). 4.) Emily Mortimer (Match Point) almost singlehandedly rises above the muck, adorably playing a Gallic Miss Moneypenney with beguiling bemusement--and, unlike Martin, doing a comic French accent that works. 5.) Clive Owen, in an unbilled cameo as Agent 006, proves ONCE AGAIN that he's the rightful, unjustly robbed heir to 007. 6.) Even though Blake Edwards, the creator and director of the original Pink Panther movie series, has always struck me as an overrated comic talent whose humor is too often rather smug and mean-spirited (his best film was by far his most uncharacteristic one: the harrowing 1962 alcoholism drama Days of Wine and Roses), the total ineptitude of Shawn Levy's take on the material gave me a new appreciation of everything Edwards did RIGHT. Edwards' slapstick-and-destruction sequences were always carefully and meticulously structured and made perfect sense in their own farcical universe; Levy's comic effects either come out of no logical place or, worse, are painfully predictable. The original Edwards' Panther comedies (which many people feel peaked with A Shot in the Dark in 1965) worked surpisingly well as mysteries, too: you could logically deduce whodunit from the clues given you if you weren't being too distracted by Clouseau's antics, while the solution to Levy's puzzle is maddeningly arbitrary. Worst of all is the character of Clouseau himself as written, directed and acted here; he's a total betrayal of everything Edwards designed him as being. Originally a brain-dead bumbler who either stumbled onto the culprit totally by accident or had someone else solve the case while he tripped over something, as played here he's required to leap approximately 78 I.Q. points in the final stretch, solve everything, and become the hero even though in 75% of the movie he's clearly shown as tragically unable to plumb the hidden mysteries of a can opener. And Peter Sellers' genius at becoming completely invisible within his characterizations (illustrated in the HBO TV-movie The Life and Death of Peter Sellers, starring Geoffrey Rush, it's a talent that served Sellers even better in Dr. Strangelove and Being There) worked beautifully in the role of Clouseau; Martin indulges his old stand-up comic's tendency to stand outside the role and loudly comment on it. The result, besides being thoroughly obnoxious, is a complete besmirchment of a character and performance he's allegedly paying tribute to. (As though to compensate, Kevin Kline and Jean Reno, normally sterling comic talents, underplay to the point of flatlining.) 7.) Going back to the bright side, I DID, owing to a coupon I got in the aforementioned cartoon box set I bought, get into this movie for free, but you know what? I STILL think I was overcharged! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
FraserW.Mar 12, 2006
You know i dont want to be cruel but this movie was the funniest movie of the year so far but comedy can only go so far in my reviews.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
arnyftwJun 10, 2013
I have no idea why the critic score of this movie is so low. It's not amazing at all, but it's still a funny movie. It does what it was made to do, entertain you. Personally, I've never seen anything of the Pink Panther series, but looking atI have no idea why the critic score of this movie is so low. It's not amazing at all, but it's still a funny movie. It does what it was made to do, entertain you. Personally, I've never seen anything of the Pink Panther series, but looking at this movie as a newcomer it was fairly good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 28, 2014
I haven't seen any of the older Clouseau-movies, so this all was original to me - well, as original as it can be. The movie is enjoyable, funny, and full of hilarious events! Friendship and trust are well portrayed, like the differentI haven't seen any of the older Clouseau-movies, so this all was original to me - well, as original as it can be. The movie is enjoyable, funny, and full of hilarious events! Friendship and trust are well portrayed, like the different characters and their motives. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
It's only slightly amusing with average performances and a forgettable plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysMar 9, 2014
The Pink Panther is a rather incompetent remake, relying on toilet humor and Steve Martin's horrible French accent to win audiences over. But as much as you hate to admit it, it is quite funny at some parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisAug 25, 2016
The Pink Panther once was a TV Show, hilarious series of films, and classics too. And now Steve Martin, who probably is the only perfect Inspector Closeau you can possibly find nowadays. Steve Martin, also screenwriter of this motion captureThe Pink Panther once was a TV Show, hilarious series of films, and classics too. And now Steve Martin, who probably is the only perfect Inspector Closeau you can possibly find nowadays. Steve Martin, also screenwriter of this motion capture brings us a silly rally of fun, quirky humor, set of events, and attitudes. Coleau couldn't be any stupider than this but I never knew he could actually solve a case. Some might say it is disappointing how he solves the case, but I think it just brightens up script. The case, which is easy enough for a 5 year-old to uncover, is simply magnifying, intelligent, and smart, and its reliance of quirky fashions to juice things up. It retains to its style, and its characters. The plot is short, and has cheesy moments, but it succeeds. At Steve Martin's finest work, Shawn Levy (also a film critic) directs like nothing he has ever done before. It may be something you probably only enjoy once watching, but literally, it ain't crap. It s actually a lot of fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Duke_NukemOct 12, 2015
When you see how Steve Martin completely messes up his interpretation of Clouseau, you start to realise how incredible gifted Peter Sellers (the one and only Clouseau) was.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JuggulatorMay 19, 2016
Love the humor in this movie! It's sure different from the poor slapstick crude vulgar humor that is all too common now. For once a comedy without the use of swearing or sexual scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews