User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 117
  2. Negative: 8 out of 117
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 3, 2012
    6
    The Visuals Are Charming As Well As Everything Else In The Movie..
    I Have To Bring My Score Down From A 8 To A 6 Because The Voice's Are Really Bad...
    I Think Everyone Wanted This To Be Bigger And Better...
    Sadly I Really Wanted Alot More... Still Not A Bad Movie...
    60%
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    4
    The Pirates! Band of Misfits or its original title: In an Adventure with Scientists, which I think is more accurate, was just another animated movie from the bunch. Personally I do not like the esthetic with that are created these characters (same as Chicken Run and Wallace Gromit), but I decided to see it only because it was nominated for the Academy Award. This picture treats the storyThe Pirates! Band of Misfits or its original title: In an Adventure with Scientists, which I think is more accurate, was just another animated movie from the bunch. Personally I do not like the esthetic with that are created these characters (same as Chicken Run and Wallace Gromit), but I decided to see it only because it was nominated for the Academy Award. This picture treats the story of a Captain that tries in every possible way to become a renowned pirate, so we face topics like self-confidence, discrimination and the value of friendship. The problem is that the film deals with them in a funny way but falls into stupidity; I mean queen Victoria fighting with katanas, Charles Darwin covered by feathers and that the greatest thing of being a pirate is ham night, maybe can make a five year old laugh, but it took away all the possible meaning that this movie could have. Just a few things were actually amusing, like the names of the pirates (albino pirate, surprisingly curvaceous pirate and pirate who likes sunsets and kittens), the presentation of scientist captain with the 2001: An Space Odyssey style and the introduction to the evolution theory that the protagonist gives to Darwin. Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2012
    6
    The Pirates! is a good-looking, old-fashioned bit of storytelling, but is a little flawed in some regards. The voice acting is superb, with Hugh Grant completely abandoning his usual acting demeanour and utterly inhabiting the great role that is The Pirate Captain, who is idiotic and misguided, but also makes a rather compelling underdog. Imelda Staunton is simply terrifying as aThe Pirates! is a good-looking, old-fashioned bit of storytelling, but is a little flawed in some regards. The voice acting is superb, with Hugh Grant completely abandoning his usual acting demeanour and utterly inhabiting the great role that is The Pirate Captain, who is idiotic and misguided, but also makes a rather compelling underdog. Imelda Staunton is simply terrifying as a psychotic, tyrannical Queen Victoria, David Tennant makes a good bumbling Charles Darwin and Martin Freeman keeps the story honest and emotionally grounded as the ever-faithful Pirate with a Scarf. The film is pleasingly very uniquely British, and very uniquely Aardman, and has visuals as luxuriant as the Pirate Captain's beard, but disappointingly, it's somewhat lacking on the laughs front. Apart from the usual clever Aardman visual jokes, there's very little that will raise more than a smile, and some scenes completely lose the film's momentum and are a bit of a drag. The Pirates! is completely competent for the most part, and its nice to see Aardman working again in the medium that made them famous, Claymation, but it doesn't quite have the abundance of jokes, the energy or the sense of fun that made Wallace and Gromit, Chicken Run and Arthur Christmas so special. Expand
  4. May 10, 2012
    6
    It's a fun movie overall, mocking certain elements of British society - the stuffed-shirts, mainly. Loyalty and ambition are two themes that run through the movie.
  5. May 2, 2012
    6
    I love claymation. So I really appreciated the animation here. It had depth and texture that is often missing from computer animation. I was surprised to see songs that were considered very edgy and punk when I was 18-20 as being centerpieces (like Tenpole Tudor and the Clash). Shows you how times have changed. But I found the story a bit predictable and a little boring. Still it was fun.
  6. May 2, 2012
    6
    Not much to this movie. Has funny moments, but it doesn't sustain them over the course of the movie. Plot is OK, but again, doesn't engage. I have a soft spot for children's movies, but this one does not succeed like, for instance, The Muppets, at speaking to all ages.
  7. May 7, 2012
    5
    Being a fan of Wallace and Gromit and all the other Aardman films I was really looking forward to this. I wish I could rate it higher than a 5 but it simply was not funny enough. The film made me smile here and there but I never laughed out loud until a song came on about crying that was very funny. A very Monty Python moment. I never heard one laugh from the theater audience I sawBeing a fan of Wallace and Gromit and all the other Aardman films I was really looking forward to this. I wish I could rate it higher than a 5 but it simply was not funny enough. The film made me smile here and there but I never laughed out loud until a song came on about crying that was very funny. A very Monty Python moment. I never heard one laugh from the theater audience I saw this with, and some of the kids were bored and making noises. I was especially disappointed at the storyline. In the past their films have been very original (a Were-Rabbit, and a chicken escaping a farm? BRILLIANT). This time the story was like a cliched fairy tale you've seen a million times. Still, it could have been saved if the writing was sharper. The animation, of course, was outstanding. Hopefully they will come up with a better story next time. Expand
  8. May 6, 2012
    5
    Great animation but overall forgettable film and is far inferior than Aardman's previous works. Pirates is a film where I just can't remember what happened in it. The jokes were very out of place, the characters are either uninteresting or just wasted, the story felt cliche' and it was just so boring. The animation, I admit was really good I mean what do you expect, it's Aardman and it isGreat animation but overall forgettable film and is far inferior than Aardman's previous works. Pirates is a film where I just can't remember what happened in it. The jokes were very out of place, the characters are either uninteresting or just wasted, the story felt cliche' and it was just so boring. The animation, I admit was really good I mean what do you expect, it's Aardman and it is probably their most ambitious but it is a shamed that the rest of the film wasn't as spectacular as the animation was. The voice cast was really good too but unfortunately the characters doesn't emulate the charisma of their respected voices. Consider me disappointed. Expand
  9. Dec 6, 2013
    4
    Can't say that I enjoyed the film, which is disappointing considering I was expecting good things from this movie. I never found it funny outside of the rare chuckle worthy moment. I was also disappointed with the animation. It just looked cheap and rather low-budget. Voice acting was exceptional though. Still this is a lackluster film that really isn't worth it for you or any kids you mayCan't say that I enjoyed the film, which is disappointing considering I was expecting good things from this movie. I never found it funny outside of the rare chuckle worthy moment. I was also disappointed with the animation. It just looked cheap and rather low-budget. Voice acting was exceptional though. Still this is a lackluster film that really isn't worth it for you or any kids you may or may not have. Expand
  10. Jan 13, 2014
    5
    Got this one for the kids and in some cases, is inappropriate for young viewers (aged 7 or 8 or more)-despite the PG rating. Simple comedy and good entertainment, but some of the comments made by the characters is not the best choice. The kids enjoyed most of it but felt it was too long.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Apr 27, 2012
    70
    It's all rather casual - not unengaging, exactly, but lacking a narrative energy all its own.
  2. Reviewed by: Ian Buckwalter
    Apr 27, 2012
    75
    Barely a moment goes by without a well-orchestrated joke (or three), and it's paced as briskly as a clipper in front of a stiff tailwind.
  3. Reviewed by: Jody Mitori
    Apr 27, 2012
    63
    The movie is missing the zippy chases and lovable characters of Aardman studio's previous films ("Arthur Christmas," "Chicken Run").