Columbia Pictures | Release Date: April 27, 2012
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 127 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
86
Mixed:
33
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
8
DanielOnFilmApr 28, 2012
The 3D is worthwhile; you get your money's worth for the glasses. The stop motion animation is overall very smooth, and the film is chock full of sight gags and verbal humor. What makes The Pirates on par with Pixar films is that it's justThe 3D is worthwhile; you get your money's worth for the glasses. The stop motion animation is overall very smooth, and the film is chock full of sight gags and verbal humor. What makes The Pirates on par with Pixar films is that it's just as much fun for adults as it is for kids. The humor is often sly, and may sail over the heads of children, but there's also cartoony sight gags the kids will enjoy. Full review on my blog. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
HappymonkMay 15, 2012
Another hit for Aardman! While maybe not as good as Chicken Run, Wallace & Gromit or Arthur Christmas, it is better than Flushed Away and holds it own very well against other animated films. It's animation is superb, it's dialogue (while notAnother hit for Aardman! While maybe not as good as Chicken Run, Wallace & Gromit or Arthur Christmas, it is better than Flushed Away and holds it own very well against other animated films. It's animation is superb, it's dialogue (while not hilarious) is well written and funny, and the voice acting is good. There's something about it which didn't quite make it an instant classic, something which I can't quite put my finger on... This is a shame as obviously lots of love and hard work have gone into this film. If you haven't yet watched the film, do so, as everyone in your family will probably enjoy it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
AwesomeReviewerApr 29, 2012
â
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
watithink123Apr 29, 2012
With so many films witch are crap as hell in the cinema, it was a great film to and I think it's a film for the whole family to enjoy and have a little laugh. It was very well done. Characters are fine but a few needed a bit of work. TheWith so many films witch are crap as hell in the cinema, it was a great film to and I think it's a film for the whole family to enjoy and have a little laugh. It was very well done. Characters are fine but a few needed a bit of work. The story was very different to anything I have ever seen before. It's a must see from me. The pirates Band of Misfits 8.2/10 Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
GeorglePApr 30, 2012
Pretty good film! I chuckled throughout, though I can't help but wish it made me really laugh. The plot is decent, but not as exciting and imaginative as it could be. Some of the characters (especially the crew, oddly) are extremelyPretty good film! I chuckled throughout, though I can't help but wish it made me really laugh. The plot is decent, but not as exciting and imaginative as it could be. Some of the characters (especially the crew, oddly) are extremely underdeveloped and could have been fleshed out more, given more back-story and more lines. Towards the end, the film does devolve into the seemingly obligatory 'final showdown', though the ending rounds things off well. Hopefully the planned sequel improves on these flaws, as there is a brilliant film in the rough Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
hollyvMay 11, 2012
Ahrrr, I loved this wacky and fun Wallace and Grommit style animation, Matey. Ideal family fare or grandparents outing with the kids. Made even more fun by the obvious delight of the kids in the audience.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Knicksfan7May 9, 2012
Watching this took me back to the good old days of being younger. I loved this movie, just like i loved Wallace and Gromit and Flushed Away, if you are a fan of Wallace and Gromit then you will love The Pirates! It was such a funny, wonderfulWatching this took me back to the good old days of being younger. I loved this movie, just like i loved Wallace and Gromit and Flushed Away, if you are a fan of Wallace and Gromit then you will love The Pirates! It was such a funny, wonderful film. The animation was beautiful and the voices were perfect. Just a great film all around. The Pirates is a film that won't disappoint, theres fun for everyone. 10/10 Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
LandFMay 17, 2012
I've never quite enjoyed Aardman's work as much as critics. At least, not their full-length films. That's not to say I haven't liked them; I've liked them, but I certainly haven't loved them. Pirates: Band Of Misfits is different, though.I've never quite enjoyed Aardman's work as much as critics. At least, not their full-length films. That's not to say I haven't liked them; I've liked them, but I certainly haven't loved them. Pirates: Band Of Misfits is different, though. This movie, I did love. None of the primary pirates are given names (their descriptions in the credits are "The Pirate With The Scarf," "The Pirate With Gout," etc., which makes this plot description a little difficult to write. The protagonist, Pirate Captain (no really, that's his name) is determined to win the pirate of the year contest. The problem; he's not a very good pirate. And with his competition being so strong, it appears the odds are against him. At least, that's what he thinks. It turns out, his trusty, rotund parrot is a rare dodo bird, thought to be extinct. There may be some booty in this after all. That is, if Charles Darwin of The Queen doesn't snatch it first. The Pirates Band Of Misfits is a fun, and often hilarious film. There are so many sight gags that a second or even third viewing may be necessary to catch them all. This is also, Aardman's most visually stunning work. It's miles ahead of any of their previous films, and there are lots of complex crowd scenes that are truly amazing. In previous films, Aardman purposefully left revealing finger-prints on the characters. Those who found this distracting will be pleased to know that Aardman has avoided doing this here. Not all characters get as much screen time as they should, but they're an amusing bunch, with (for the most part) well-defined personalities. As I mentioned earlier, there are lots of sight gags, but dialogue-oriented lines are here too. They're the witty and chuckle-inducing lines that we have come to expect from Aardman, and in much more generous amounts than in previous films. Unfortunately, Pirates: Band Of Misfits added lots of lyrical songs (playing in the background) that are usually annoying. I would've much preferred that the score continued to play during some of these scenes, because they're really are too many songs in the background. And speaking of the score, it was a little disappointing. Pirates are good music material, but the score, for the most part, is very mediocre. Then again, Aardman isn't known for their instrumentals. Flaws aside, The Pirates: Band Of Misfits is funny and witty, with wonderful animation and a cast of amusing characters. This is certainly Aardman's best film, thus far. Hopefully, it will only get better from here. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MagnificentMMay 29, 2012
The film was charming, but it lacked the right amount of humor. In fact, the funniest jokes had already been displayed in the trailer. But, the voice acting was good all around, and the amazing claymation was a nice break from the usual 3DThe film was charming, but it lacked the right amount of humor. In fact, the funniest jokes had already been displayed in the trailer. But, the voice acting was good all around, and the amazing claymation was a nice break from the usual 3D animation. The story itself was easy to follow and engaging, even if it's been done before. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
skyminsterMay 12, 2012
This review may contain spoilers, but I'm not entirely sure.

The pirates: in an adventure with scientists (that's the British name of the film: the pirates: band of misfits) is a hilarious, incredibly well made, action-packed stop-motion
This review may contain spoilers, but I'm not entirely sure.


The pirates: in an adventure with scientists (that's the British name of the film: the pirates: band of misfits) is a hilarious, incredibly well made, action-packed stop-motion film with comedic music! I was in hysterics when a flight of the Concords song came on: I'm not crying. I don't understand why people think the story-line is rubbish, I love the story-line: the pirate captain wants to be popular and win the pirate of the year contest.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
kootoMay 17, 2012
Not much to this movie. Has funny moments, but it doesn't sustain them over the course of the movie. Plot is OK, but again, doesn't engage. I have a soft spot for children's movies, but this one does not succeed like, for instance, TheNot much to this movie. Has funny moments, but it doesn't sustain them over the course of the movie. Plot is OK, but again, doesn't engage. I have a soft spot for children's movies, but this one does not succeed like, for instance, The Muppets, at speaking to all ages. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
kabloom100May 22, 2012
Aardman films, like Pixar, seem to do no wrong (except for Cars, of course). These films are fast and legitimately funny with semi-sophomoric jokes as well as semi-sophisticated jokes for the adults in the audience. In other words, somethingAardman films, like Pixar, seem to do no wrong (except for Cars, of course). These films are fast and legitimately funny with semi-sophomoric jokes as well as semi-sophisticated jokes for the adults in the audience. In other words, something for everyone without the usual fart jokes and other low attempts at easy laughs. In fact, it's just as funny or funnier the second time around when you get a chance to hear and see jokes you missed the first time round. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
IronhideJun 18, 2012
Aardman has done it again!!
With a great story, hilarious comments, and a great cast of voice actors, this film will leave you wanting more but never getting it. The depiction of QE 1st is very funny and adds to the excitement you get from
Aardman has done it again!!
With a great story, hilarious comments, and a great cast of voice actors, this film will leave you wanting more but never getting it. The depiction of QE 1st is very funny and adds to the excitement you get from every animated film... So a 9 it is.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
JacobAug 21, 2013
While Pirates Band of Misfits can be dull at times, it can also be really funny and entertaining at other times. If you can get through some of these dull scenes you will have a few good laughs and enjoy yourself. While I do not think thatWhile Pirates Band of Misfits can be dull at times, it can also be really funny and entertaining at other times. If you can get through some of these dull scenes you will have a few good laughs and enjoy yourself. While I do not think that this is Aardman’s best work, it is still an enjoyable film and anyone who is a fan of their work should definitely check this one out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Andys_ReviewsJan 26, 2013
Exceptionally well animated, as ever, with some really great sight-gags all over the place. I think I
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AkkharAug 7, 2012
The Pirates! Band of Misfits sure was a fun movie but its story doesnt given that much Piraty Adventure . The story was far away from being a Pirate Adventure . Its wasnt much funny either . But aside from these I did like the film coz Im aThe Pirates! Band of Misfits sure was a fun movie but its story doesnt given that much Piraty Adventure . The story was far away from being a Pirate Adventure . Its wasnt much funny either . But aside from these I did like the film coz Im a Clay-Mation Super Fan and the Stop Motion Animation with some CGi works was superb. The View of the sea and the London was amazing . Still im a bit disappointing coz I thought it would be more Piraty . Hope the next one would be full of Pirates Adventure ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
diehard-gamerJan 28, 2013
Excellent film. I watched this film the day after Dredd. Dredd was a big let down and I never really liked Wallace and Gromit so I was not in a good mood. This film cheered me up a lot. I've watched it twice since then and its still funny.Excellent film. I watched this film the day after Dredd. Dredd was a big let down and I never really liked Wallace and Gromit so I was not in a good mood. This film cheered me up a lot. I've watched it twice since then and its still funny. The animation is great, the characters are likable, the jokes are plentiful and funny - good for kids and the adults wont be bored either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZalDec 20, 2012
It's a solid kids movie and has enough jokes for adults. There are a few twists later in the story that are surprisingly creative as well and I refuse to give them away. The story has a basic message and one common in many kids movies, butIt's a solid kids movie and has enough jokes for adults. There are a few twists later in the story that are surprisingly creative as well and I refuse to give them away. The story has a basic message and one common in many kids movies, but it's the humor and creativity that make this movie stand out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheDRauchSep 17, 2012
The Pirates! adds to the already impressive lineup of Aardman films with the studio's typical brand of cheeky, off-kilter humor and so much visual dazzle that it takes a few viewings to really appreciate the cleverness and eager-to-pleaseThe Pirates! adds to the already impressive lineup of Aardman films with the studio's typical brand of cheeky, off-kilter humor and so much visual dazzle that it takes a few viewings to really appreciate the cleverness and eager-to-please attitude of the movie. Sure, in terms of depth and character insight, there is little to chew on here. There is also a monkey that communicates through worded cards, lots of plundering, a katana wielding Queen Victoria ,and one very tastefully funny reference to 'The Elephant Man'. So, The Pirates! more than meets the standard of modern animation, if not sets the standard for claymation (although it's a tough bout between ParaNorman, but The Pirates! was a more solid effort overall). Overall, this should entertain anyone of any age and deliver visuals to marvel at in dull stretches. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticApr 29, 2013
My second favorite animation of the year. This surprised me in a big way I was not expecting much here but what I got was a smart, funny, and all around good time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BoogeeFilmGuyAug 27, 2015
Witty dialogue, fantastic animation, great voice acting and stunning visuals. There is a LOT of adult humour in this film, but a lot of jokes kids can laugh at too. A must-see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews