The Pirates! Band of Misfits Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In The Pirates! Band of Misfits, the luxuriantly bearded Pirate Captain – a boundlessly enthusiastic, if somewhat less-than-successful, terror of the High Seas. With a rag-tag crew at his side, and seemingly blind to the impossible odds stacked against him, the Captain has one dream: to beat his bitter rivals Black Bellamy and Cutlass Liz to the much coveted Pirate Of The Year Award. It’s a quest that takes our heroes from the shores of exotic Blood Island to the foggy streets of Victorian London. Along the way they battle a diabolical queen and team up with a haplessly smitten young scientist, but never lose sight of what a pirate loves best: adventure! (Columbia Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Apr 26, 2012
    90
    The movie is a curiosity cabinet of visual pleasures but so breezy and lightly funny that you may not realize at first how good it is.
  2. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Apr 24, 2012
    80
    No one else has come close to translating England's homegrown blend of deadpan and madcap for a younger audience, much less with such impressive Claymated technique. You couldn't ask for better lesson in "Anglo-Absurdism for Beginners."
  3. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Apr 27, 2012
    80
    The Pirates! Band of Misfits is one of the funniest animated films in years, or to put it in terms you scallywags can understand: it's a treasure trove of laughs.
  4. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Apr 25, 2012
    75
    Pirates! comes with all the usual Aardman strengths intact, particularly the sense that its characters and creators alike are too good-hearted and sweet to nitpick.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Apr 26, 2012
    75
    The movie could also teach something to the makers of "Pirates of the Caribbean" about delivering a story quirky enough to actually stick with you.
  6. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Apr 27, 2012
    70
    It's all rather casual - not unengaging, exactly, but lacking a narrative energy all its own.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Apr 27, 2012
    40
    What you won't find amid the clashing cutlasses and flashing foils, however, is anything resembling a rapier wit.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. May 9, 2012
    10
    Watching this took me back to the good old days of being younger. I loved this movie, just like i loved Wallace and Gromit and Flushed Away, if you are a fan of Wallace and Gromit then you will love The Pirates! It was such a funny, wonderful film. The animation was beautiful and the voices were perfect. Just a great film all around. The Pirates is a film that won't disappoint, theres fun for everyone. 10/10 Expand
  2. Zal
    Dec 20, 2012
    9
    It's a solid kids movie and has enough jokes for adults. There are a few twists later in the story that are surprisingly creative as well and I refuse to give them away. The story has a basic message and one common in many kids movies, but it's the humor and creativity that make this movie stand out. Expand
  3. May 22, 2012
    8
    Aardman films, like Pixar, seem to do no wrong (except for Cars, of course). These films are fast and legitimately funny with semi-sophomoric jokes as well as semi-sophisticated jokes for the adults in the audience. In other words, something for everyone without the usual fart jokes and other low attempts at easy laughs. In fact, it's just as funny or funnier the second time around when you get a chance to hear and see jokes you missed the first time round. Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2013
    7
    While Pirates Band of Misfits can be dull at times, it can also be really funny and entertaining at other times. If you can get through some of these dull scenes you will have a few good laughs and enjoy yourself. While I do not think that this is Aardman’s best work, it is still an enjoyable film and anyone who is a fan of their work should definitely check this one out. Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2012
    6
    The Visuals Are Charming As Well As Everything Else In The Movie..
    I Have To Bring My Score Down From A 8 To A 6 Because The Voice's Are
    Really Bad...
    I Think Everyone Wanted This To Be Bigger And Better...
    Sadly I Really Wanted Alot More... Still Not A Bad Movie...
    60%
    Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2012
    6
    The Pirates! is a good-looking, old-fashioned bit of storytelling, but is a little flawed in some regards. The voice acting is superb, with Hugh Grant completely abandoning his usual acting demeanour and utterly inhabiting the great role that is The Pirate Captain, who is idiotic and misguided, but also makes a rather compelling underdog. Imelda Staunton is simply terrifying as a psychotic, tyrannical Queen Victoria, David Tennant makes a good bumbling Charles Darwin and Martin Freeman keeps the story honest and emotionally grounded as the ever-faithful Pirate with a Scarf. The film is pleasingly very uniquely British, and very uniquely Aardman, and has visuals as luxuriant as the Pirate Captain's beard, but disappointingly, it's somewhat lacking on the laughs front. Apart from the usual clever Aardman visual jokes, there's very little that will raise more than a smile, and some scenes completely lose the film's momentum and are a bit of a drag. The Pirates! is completely competent for the most part, and its nice to see Aardman working again in the medium that made them famous, Claymation, but it doesn't quite have the abundance of jokes, the energy or the sense of fun that made Wallace and Gromit, Chicken Run and Arthur Christmas so special. Collapse
  7. May 15, 2012
    2
    Rolling up to the theater, I realized at the time that the Avengers still wasn't out yet. Oh well, I thought, brimming with cheer on a warm Saturday afternoon, I can always watch "The Pirates! Band of Misfits", after all, I really liked their previous work. How wrong I was.

    This movie is utterly boring and camp. If you take your children to see this, you will be bored. None of the animation was interesting, and no jokes were funny. All of the jokes are childish and ridiculous slapstick and, the worst of all, telegraphed puns.

    "Pirates! Band of Misfits" is not surprisingly funny like "Arthur Christmas" was, or genuinely funny or heartfelt like many of the "Wallace and Gromit" films. This film is frustratingly and soul-grindingly long.
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews