The Pirates! Band of Misfits

The Pirates! Band of Misfits Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In The Pirates! Band of Misfits, the luxuriantly bearded Pirate Captain – a boundlessly enthusiastic, if somewhat less-than-successful, terror of the High Seas. With a rag-tag crew at his side, and seemingly blind to the impossible odds stacked against him, the Captain has one dream: to In The Pirates! Band of Misfits, the luxuriantly bearded Pirate Captain – a boundlessly enthusiastic, if somewhat less-than-successful, terror of the High Seas. With a rag-tag crew at his side, and seemingly blind to the impossible odds stacked against him, the Captain has one dream: to beat his bitter rivals Black Bellamy and Cutlass Liz to the much coveted Pirate Of The Year Award. It’s a quest that takes our heroes from the shores of exotic Blood Island to the foggy streets of Victorian London. Along the way they battle a diabolical queen and team up with a haplessly smitten young scientist, but never lose sight of what a pirate loves best: adventure! (Columbia Pictures) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Apr 26, 2012
    90
    The movie is a curiosity cabinet of visual pleasures but so breezy and lightly funny that you may not realize at first how good it is.
  2. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Apr 24, 2012
    80
    No one else has come close to translating England's homegrown blend of deadpan and madcap for a younger audience, much less with such impressive Claymated technique. You couldn't ask for better lesson in "Anglo-Absurdism for Beginners."
  3. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Apr 27, 2012
    80
    The Pirates! Band of Misfits is one of the funniest animated films in years, or to put it in terms you scallywags can understand: it's a treasure trove of laughs.
  4. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Apr 25, 2012
    75
    Pirates! comes with all the usual Aardman strengths intact, particularly the sense that its characters and creators alike are too good-hearted and sweet to nitpick.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Apr 26, 2012
    75
    The movie could also teach something to the makers of "Pirates of the Caribbean" about delivering a story quirky enough to actually stick with you.
  6. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Apr 27, 2012
    70
    It's all rather casual - not unengaging, exactly, but lacking a narrative energy all its own.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Apr 27, 2012
    40
    What you won't find amid the clashing cutlasses and flashing foils, however, is anything resembling a rapier wit.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. May 9, 2012
    10
    Watching this took me back to the good old days of being younger. I loved this movie, just like i loved Wallace and Gromit and Flushed Away,Watching this took me back to the good old days of being younger. I loved this movie, just like i loved Wallace and Gromit and Flushed Away, if you are a fan of Wallace and Gromit then you will love The Pirates! It was such a funny, wonderful film. The animation was beautiful and the voices were perfect. Just a great film all around. The Pirates is a film that won't disappoint, theres fun for everyone. 10/10 Collapse
  2. Jan 28, 2013
    9
    Excellent film. I watched this film the day after Dredd. Dredd was a big let down and I never really liked Wallace and Gromit so I was not inExcellent film. I watched this film the day after Dredd. Dredd was a big let down and I never really liked Wallace and Gromit so I was not in a good mood. This film cheered me up a lot. I've watched it twice since then and its still funny. The animation is great, the characters are likable, the jokes are plentiful and funny - good for kids and the adults wont be bored either. Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2012
    8
    With so many films witch are crap as hell in the cinema, it was a great film to and I think it's a film for the whole family to enjoy and haveWith so many films witch are crap as hell in the cinema, it was a great film to and I think it's a film for the whole family to enjoy and have a little laugh. It was very well done. Characters are fine but a few needed a bit of work. The story was very different to anything I have ever seen before. It's a must see from me. The pirates Band of Misfits 8.2/10 Expand
  4. Aug 7, 2012
    7
    The Pirates! Band of Misfits sure was a fun movie but its story doesnt given that much Piraty Adventure . The story was far away from being aThe Pirates! Band of Misfits sure was a fun movie but its story doesnt given that much Piraty Adventure . The story was far away from being a Pirate Adventure . Its wasnt much funny either . But aside from these I did like the film coz Im a Clay-Mation Super Fan and the Stop Motion Animation with some CGi works was superb. The View of the sea and the London was amazing . Still im a bit disappointing coz I thought it would be more Piraty . Hope the next one would be full of Pirates Adventure ! Expand
  5. May 17, 2012
    7
    Not much to this movie. Has funny moments, but it doesn't sustain them over the course of the movie. Plot is OK, but again, doesn't engage. INot much to this movie. Has funny moments, but it doesn't sustain them over the course of the movie. Plot is OK, but again, doesn't engage. I have a soft spot for children's movies, but this one does not succeed like, for instance, The Muppets, at speaking to all ages. Expand
  6. May 2, 2012
    6
    Not much to this movie. Has funny moments, but it doesn't sustain them over the course of the movie. Plot is OK, but again, doesn't engage.Not much to this movie. Has funny moments, but it doesn't sustain them over the course of the movie. Plot is OK, but again, doesn't engage. I have a soft spot for children's movies, but this one does not succeed like, for instance, The Muppets, at speaking to all ages. Expand
  7. May 15, 2012
    2
    Rolling up to the theater, I realized at the time that the Avengers still wasn't out yet. Oh well, I thought, brimming with cheer on a warmRolling up to the theater, I realized at the time that the Avengers still wasn't out yet. Oh well, I thought, brimming with cheer on a warm Saturday afternoon, I can always watch "The Pirates! Band of Misfits", after all, I really liked their previous work. How wrong I was.

    This movie is utterly boring and camp. If you take your children to see this, you will be bored. None of the animation was interesting, and no jokes were funny. All of the jokes are childish and ridiculous slapstick and, the worst of all, telegraphed puns.

    "Pirates! Band of Misfits" is not surprisingly funny like "Arthur Christmas" was, or genuinely funny or heartfelt like many of the "Wallace and Gromit" films. This film is frustratingly and soul-grindingly long.
    Expand

See all 33 User Reviews