Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 254 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A motorcycle stunt rider considers committing a crime in order to provide for his wife and child, an act that puts him on a collision course with a cop-turned-politician.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 27, 2013
    100
    The music, the cinematography, the acting choices, the daring plot leaps — not a single element is timid or safe...The Place Beyond the Pines earns every second of its 140-minute running time.
  2. Reviewed by: Leah Churner
    Apr 10, 2013
    89
    The film is so velvety textured and dreamy, I would’ve stuck around for more. That is Cianfrance’s special talent.
  3. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Apr 4, 2013
    83
    Cianfrance is the real deal, and anyone who can persuade talented Hollywood stars to enact nonironic, intelligent, ambitious drama should be encouraged, especially when the result is something like this.
  4. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Mar 3, 2013
    70
    Cianfrance generally shows again that he knows how to build immersive characterizations with his actors. And while this sorrowful triptych is uneven and perhaps overly ambitious, the director displays a cool mastery of atmospherics and tone.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Apr 1, 2013
    70
    The Place Beyond the Pines can’t be said to be anyone’s movie but Cianfrance’s. Structured as a triptych, the movie is novelistic, earnest and somewhat exhausting — an ambitious effort that tries to be many things. And it is definitely something: a sprawling, engaging study in fathers, sons and sins.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Mar 26, 2013
    60
    The Place Beyond the Pines is a much bigger canvas, and scene by scene it can be riveting...But the disparate pieces never quite jell; the movie is all trees and no forest.
  7. Mar 15, 2013
    50
    The film never reaches a climax because it's always in one, distilling the lives of its characters to their tensest moments.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 87
  2. Negative: 8 out of 87
  1. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    Easily the best of 2013 so far. This movie had so much emotion with the soundtrack, characters, and symbolism. Where Django Unchained had me at the edge of my seat with excitment and laughter, PBP hit me right in the heart and soul. Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    This movie is amazing. I feel like Cianfrance knows me, my parents and my family the way he weaves characters together. Blue Valentine already hit close to home and this is Cianfrance doing his thing on a bigger scale. He is a master behind the camera and he has an amazing team in front of the camera. I'm sure this movie will have many haters for its unwieldy structure, but I love this movie and I know others will stand up for it as well. Derek Cianfrance, please keep making movies, because they really do it for me like no other movies do. Expand
  3. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    This movie hit all the right notes for me. Visually, it's beautiful. The cinematography is incredibly well done, every shot is done just right. The soundtrack was perfect and really fit the subtle dark undertones this movie gives off. As for the acting, every major character in the movie is portrayed superbly well and full of emotion. Ryan Gosling and Bradley Cooper stand out to me as the two major actors who really nailed their roles in this movie, but Dane DeHaan also gives a very convincing and powerful performance. The story, without spoiling anything, can only be described as emotionally gripping. My only complaint with this film is that the third act was a bit too long. This is a very minor issue however, it gave me time to really soak in the entire movie and appreciate the final moments of this great film. Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2013
    8
    E’ risaputo, con i se e con i ma non si fa la storia. Epperò… Quale sarebbe il giudizio complessivo su ‘Come un tuono’ se il ritmo e la tensione narrativa si mantenessero sempre sui livelli della prima ora (cioè fino a che rimane in scena Ryan Gosling)? Con ogni probabilità, si passerebbe dalla categoria buono (o anche ottimo) film a quella di capolavoro: purtroppo, così non ma c’è materia a sufficienza per dichiararsi soddisfatti. Per il suo esordio ad alto budget, l’indipendente Cianfrance sceglie una soggetto complesso e ambizioso (scritto assieme a Ben Coccio e Darius Marder e musicato con discrezione da Mike Patton) che innesta tocchi di noir su di un dramma familiare e psicologico con contorno di ipocrisie, sensi di colpa ed errori che ricadono sui figli le eco cattoliche si sprecano, così pare tutto meno che un caso il largo spazio dato al battesimo del piccolo Jason. La storia si compone di tre segmenti di lunghezza diseguale e qualità calante. Nel primo, quello lodato poche righe fa, protagonista Luke ‘il bello’, talentuoso motociclista che si guadagna da vivere nei luna-park e che passa alle rapine dopo aver scoperto di aver avuto un figlio a seguito di una-botta-e-via. Protagonista un Gosling biondo, bravo a rendere la complessità di un personaggio che ha il coraggio di farsi le domande giuste alle quali, però, finisce sempre per dare le risposte sbagliate: accanto a lui ci sono una Eva Mendes che disegna una ragazza-madre ben lontana dal sex-symbol e Bob Mendelsohn che fa lo stralunato come gli capita spesso nei panni dell’amico Robin. Una rapina andata a male segna il cambio di testimone: esce Luke, entra il poliziotto Avery Scott, che diventa un eroe per aver fermato il rapinatore, ma in fondo all’anima ha qualcosa che rode perché anche lui ha un figlio piccolo. Ciò non gli impedisce di distillare una serie di menzogne e di sfruttare ancor più cinicamente il cinismo di alcuni suoi colleghi (fra i quali Ray Liotta e un baffuto Gabe Fazio) per costruirsi una carriera politica a cui sacrifica anche la famiglia. Cooper lavora con cura su un ruolo non facile, molto sfaccettato a livello psicologico mentre all’esterno l’agente Scott si sforza di rimanere tutto d’un pezzo: così, quindici anni dopo e, all’apparenza, non invecchiato di un giorno eccolo in corsa per la procura distrettuale. A questo punto, i figli sono cresciuti (senza padre entrambi, a vedere così) e il loro incontro finisce per tirare qualche somma, ma senza stravolgere davvero nulla, perché la vita un grande fiume tranquillo dove, alla fine, il più forte ce l’ha sempre vinta. Come già accennato, in queste ultime parti, e in special modo in quella conclusiva, si notano ridondanze e lungaggini che rallentano la narrazione abbassando il giudizio complessivo, ma senza danneggiare il coinvolgimento dello spettatore creato anche da una qualità delle interpretazioni confermata dai giovani Cohen e DeHaan. L’essenza stessa della storia rende evidente che se c’è una cosa che non va, questa un titolo italiano decisamente fuorviante: molto meglio quello originale, che altro non che la traduzione dal mohawk di Schenectady, il nome della cittadina (nello stato di New York) in cui si svolge la vicenda. Si tratta di una provincia placida e immersa nel verde che Cianfrance riprende con cura del dettaglio (cura che, del resto, si riflette nelle inquadrature dei personaggi) e dalla quale per cambiare qualcosa necessario andar via. Le uniche scene adrenaliniche sono difatti quelle in cui c’è Luke in moto (negli Stati Uniti il casco non obbligatorio? Per non parlare dei passaggi di proprietà…) e durante le rapine, pare girate in un’unica ripresa: improvvise variazioni di ritmo che sono ulteriore testimonianza di un notevole talento registico, del resto già annunciato dalla splendida sequenza dei titoli di testa. Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    I gave it a 10 the first time I watched, but after a second viewing I recognized some of it's flaws in terms of pacing and character development. I like it a lot, but not nearly as much as Blue Valentine. Expand
  6. May 25, 2013
    7
    "The Place Beyond the Pines" although, interesting, unique and thought provoking, was slightly confusing and drawn out.

    This was a story of
    a motorcycle stunt rider (Ryan Gosling), who turns to robbing banks after finding out a former fling (Eva Mendes) has given birth to his son. This story also follows a young cop and new father (Bradley Cooper) and his struggle to make the right decisions when faced with tough ethical dilemmas. The story concludes by following some of the high school years of the children of Gosling and Bradley's characters.

    Ryan Gosling, Bradley Cooper, and Eva Mendes were perfectly casted and they did a terrific job in this crime drama.

    The storytelling and dialogue made it feel very realistic. In the middle of the film, the story took a turn unlike anything I can recollect seeing in any other movies. Had it not been as long and slow, I think I would've liked it significantly more. I believe this film will be liked by some but will probably disappoint most others. It's not exactly the feel good movie of the year.

    It had some exciting moments with the intense one-shot bank robberies and fast paced escapes via motorcycle. I thought the motorcycle stunts and chase scenes were thrilling.

    I liked the cinematography and long shots, the drama and acting was great, but due to the pace of the movie, it made it tough for me to enjoy.

    If you like "Drive", "Killing Them Softly", or "Bandits", you will probably enjoy this movie.

    My grade for this film: B-

    To view my grading scale, go to: Facebook.com/CriticWes
    To view my movie blog, go to: http://www.mix93.com/pages/16393587.php?
    Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2013
    0
    I read through the positive user reviews of this movie, and it made me think I watched a different movie, than the one they viewed. The way the go into detail about the positives, makes me think they are part of the production crew. I was bored out of my mind watching this. I kept checking my phone countless times, to look at the clock.
    I want the last two hours of my life back!!
    Expand

See all 87 User Reviews