Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 10, 2004
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 174 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
111
Mixed:
38
Negative:
25
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
JohnDec 26, 2008
Horrible movie that looks great. It was soleless and boring. Why so dark? Why so random?What was the point. To literally believe in something that is not true? UUUggghhh!!!!
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
ANdrewDec 23, 2005
I don't know what the point of the movie was. Where is the story line, plot. I think story telling is a lost art.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JessicaW.Dec 8, 2006
This movie has wonderful graphics, but that's about the only enjoyable part. When I went to see this, I was extremely dissapointed and it was torture sitting through the later half. The producers spent way to much time and money on the This movie has wonderful graphics, but that's about the only enjoyable part. When I went to see this, I was extremely dissapointed and it was torture sitting through the later half. The producers spent way to much time and money on the graphics and didn't focus on any other parts, The story-line--for me--was scattered and hard to follow, though you may find it otherwise. The characters were hard to relate to and emotionless. Some parts were even scary and not appropriate for small children. Pretty much the only happenings in this movie was that the little boy got on a train, went to the North Pole and came back. And that's the whole movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
Whatwasthat?Dec 26, 2008
Bad, Bad, Bad! I agree with those that say, don't take kids. It was mean, ugly and hearltless, with a sicko message that hope is found in believing that a made up person will give you the material objects that your family can't. I Bad, Bad, Bad! I agree with those that say, don't take kids. It was mean, ugly and hearltless, with a sicko message that hope is found in believing that a made up person will give you the material objects that your family can't. I agree with Nancy. The cruel joke that the movie plays on the poor boy who is finally learning that his life is not a fairy tale and that he is poor and that that is OK as long as he accepts it. But no! the movie says he is wrong to be realistic and sensible. He should "believe" more in a lie that will stunt his emotional growth for a few more years and make him resent his poor family for not giving him big presents. So santa is "god" and material objects are the reason christmas exists. This movie insults all religions and spiritual orientations equally. But it is not just the message of greed and delusion that makes it bad, it is that it is randon and mean-spirited. Like so many readers noted, there was no story. The boy gets on, the train goes north, random unrelated things happen that make no sense and do not make you care at all about the people and then the train gets there, the boy gets a present, and then he comes home. So what happens next christmas? Does he go again? Does santa have to give him a bigger gift or he will think he got dissed? What if the boy went to meet Marilyn Manson and got a gift, would we all want him to "believe" in MM for the rest of his life. So when a kid loses his "believe" in the idea that he gets free things from a fictional character, we should all be sad for that person? Good christmas movies are about human values and choices and recognizing what is important. This movie was a creapy effort to sell a sick and harmful message. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JofTheMeltingNorthSep 18, 2007
Boring and strangely lifeless. What a bunch of poor techno-geeks imagine will blow people TOTALLY away ....kind of like a bunch of NASA scientists going into a collective swoon and near cardiac arrest because their Mars Land Rover has just Boring and strangely lifeless. What a bunch of poor techno-geeks imagine will blow people TOTALLY away ....kind of like a bunch of NASA scientists going into a collective swoon and near cardiac arrest because their Mars Land Rover has just fondled a chunk of Mars debris...sad! They could at least had a few drowning polar bears that Hanks scoops up at the last minute. Basically this film is little more than a "sampler" of special effects for Dreamworks (or whoever) to send around to potential clients as a catalogue of their Neat Special Effects. It's a Marketing tool about Marketing for the Market market. What could be more timely !! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
nickb.Dec 24, 2005
It made me cry cuz it didn't make any sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MattDec 17, 2007
I couldn't even watch the first 20 minutes. It was so bad. I quit watching after the part with the train over the frozen lake sliding part/finding the ticket. When were those parts ever in the book? The book was awesome. This movie is I couldn't even watch the first 20 minutes. It was so bad. I quit watching after the part with the train over the frozen lake sliding part/finding the ticket. When were those parts ever in the book? The book was awesome. This movie is nothing like the book. Not even close. I had a great childhood and I remember growing up as a kid I used to read the book with my parents. After watching this garbage movie it made me want to throw up. If you want to see a good film with excellent animation go and see the Incredibles or Monsters inc. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
csw12Nov 26, 2015
The Polar Express is good in the beginning, then begins to stumble and then like the train it compleltly falls off the tracks and stays there. This seemed to be the unhappiest Christmas movie i have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
bowsebwahahahaDec 25, 2015
bwahahahahahahahahahahaha! I'm Bowser and imma so evil writing bad reviews for movies #so evil

This review was written for the purpose of a funny video on YouTube. This does not reflect my opinion on this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Jay777Jan 19, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. THE MOST BORING MOVIE OF ALL TIME
Lots of parents love it.
But kids hate it.
When this came out when I was a kid I was soooooooooooooo upset it didn't make sense how the train just shows up at the kid house.
And it's boring for kids. There are some scary scenes. TERRIBLE CRISTMAS MOVIE
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews