Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 10, 2004
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 198 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
130
Mixed:
38
Negative:
30
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
EnaB.Dec 17, 2007
Wonderful. Magical. A Holidays classic.
8 of 8 users found this helpful
10
ChadOJun 28, 2008
This movie is simply incredible. I loved everything about it, the characters, the storyline, the music. The thing I loved most of all was the incredible visuals. I would definently recommend this movie to anyone who has not seen it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
8
heyitsmegrif4Jun 4, 2012
The Polar Express at times is visually dazzling. It has a nice and sweet message and moments of awe but the film lacks an extreme amount of fun. I give this movie 78%.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMar 21, 2014
it never gets old well sometimes it does watching polar express . Its like a family tradition watching one of a classic christmas movies on Christmas eve or any day on december
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
MalamarNov 6, 2014
I love this movie. This is a movie that you can sit down with your family and get a bag of popcorn and have a good time. Thus movie is one of a kind its so original. With a great cast and funny cast. With a Christmas theme train going to theI love this movie. This is a movie that you can sit down with your family and get a bag of popcorn and have a good time. Thus movie is one of a kind its so original. With a great cast and funny cast. With a Christmas theme train going to the North Pole to see Santa. The adventure is just amazing and it looks beautiful. This is a movie you have to see. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
DBPirate1129Jan 11, 2015
Perhaps one of the best Christmas movies you could pick for your kids to watch. It's visually stunning and the animation is spot on. Though the singing may be a bit cringeworthy for older viewers, its classic tunes are perfect for youngsters.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
BeastprogamerJul 12, 2015
One of the best or if not, THE best christmas/ holiday movie in my opinion, Polar Express is a very great movie. Outside, it is snowing and the kids watching the film drinking hot chocolate, this movie is PERFECT for that IMO. The storylineOne of the best or if not, THE best christmas/ holiday movie in my opinion, Polar Express is a very great movie. Outside, it is snowing and the kids watching the film drinking hot chocolate, this movie is PERFECT for that IMO. The storyline is good. The characters are very good. The voice Acting was awesome and great especially Tom Hanks. The animation is perfect. The sounds and music were good. The Polar Express is a very great film and if you hate it, you're BEYOND silly as JB. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 27, 2011
It is a Christmas classic that you will remember forever. The Polar Express stretches the true meaning of the season with an amazing story that you will never forget.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Jboy2468May 3, 2012
Let me start with a tip: Wait until Christmastime to watch this movie! The whole film is based on Christmas and the North Ple. The visuals are amazing and the characters act realistic. The story almost feels "random" at times, but has itsLet me start with a tip: Wait until Christmastime to watch this movie! The whole film is based on Christmas and the North Ple. The visuals are amazing and the characters act realistic. The story almost feels "random" at times, but has its great points. Great around Christmas, pointless before or after December! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
sil3nt_nickMar 27, 2013
A unique way of animating the story from the 1985 children's story, putting their own spin on some scenes.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ViolettNov 19, 2013
How hard skin you should have to rate this movie low. Did you ever have good Christmas, poor people? This is a tale, magical and wonderful. Light Christmas tale about the spirit of celebration. Do you want to be a child for couple of hoursHow hard skin you should have to rate this movie low. Did you ever have good Christmas, poor people? This is a tale, magical and wonderful. Light Christmas tale about the spirit of celebration. Do you want to be a child for couple of hours again, want to feel this spirit of Christmas? Then try this movie, gather your family, your parents if you are young, your kids if you are old and enjoy. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysApr 21, 2014
The Polar Express is not Zemeckis' best film, but not his worst. The animation is quite good, and the movie is generally entertaining, but there is something about the story that doesn't quite connect with you.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 28, 2015
The story of a boy who boards a train to meet the big guy, Santa, himself. He's caught between believing and not. It's such an adventure of excitement and merriment. It's sure to be a holiday classic.
I love Tom Hanks.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
teddylukeApr 23, 2015
the polar express is a good movie to watch on the holidays. the charters where either good ok or bad but tolerable. the ending was really good I say check it out.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
lomeliJun 16, 2015
This may be nostalgia talking, but I have yet to find a film since The Polar Express that so perfectly encapsulates the sheer magic and spirit that accompanies Christmas time.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
YellowKirbySep 10, 2015
This is the most magical Christmas movie ever. I'm not usually a fan of the phrase 'instant classic;, but this truly is one. People who don't like this clearly can no longer hear the ringing of the silver bell.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
DanBurritoSep 25, 2015
This is easily the best Christmas movie ever made. I watch it every year around December and it never gets old. I don't know why people call the animation "unsettling" because I've saw this when I was like four and I wasn't even a LITTLE bitThis is easily the best Christmas movie ever made. I watch it every year around December and it never gets old. I don't know why people call the animation "unsettling" because I've saw this when I was like four and I wasn't even a LITTLE bit freaked out. There are some great songs (my favourite being "Hot Chocolate") and great characters. Recommended for ALL ages. A Christmas Classic. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Oct 27, 2010
The best christmas movie of the year. way to go, Robert Zemeckis. you were fantastic making this huge hit.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
CRLAug 27, 2011
Exquisite animation brings the world of the beloved children's book to life, while a suitable script and excellent voice acting take care of the rest. Polar Express is great from beginning to end.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
WriteFilmLive21Dec 17, 2012
"The Polar Express" - Robert Zemeckis's first foray into motion-capture animated features - is a lovely and delightful holiday film, beautifully animated and packed to the seams with creativity, imagination, zaniness, and a truly wonderful"The Polar Express" - Robert Zemeckis's first foray into motion-capture animated features - is a lovely and delightful holiday film, beautifully animated and packed to the seams with creativity, imagination, zaniness, and a truly wonderful music score (although the main theme is played perhaps a tad too frequently). Some of the effects come off a bit dated now, since animation has advanced so quickly since then, but it is nonethless a great movie, and an easy must-watch around every Christmas time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
cbeers2513Dec 20, 2013
The Polar Express has the magic to become a holiday classic but is marred by technical bugs and plot failures. While there are countless memorable moments on the train, its passengers fail to leave any impact on an emotional level. All of theThe Polar Express has the magic to become a holiday classic but is marred by technical bugs and plot failures. While there are countless memorable moments on the train, its passengers fail to leave any impact on an emotional level. All of the children are bland and ghostlike, and only Hanks' conductor provides a spark of life into the movie. However, the spirit of Christmas in this film is nearly unrivaled in Hollywood, possessing an instantly likable sense of innocence and charm that is extremely refreshing. The atmosphere, sense of wonder, and overall theme are what powers the movie forward, propelling it above its flaws into a memorable experience for all ages. While it is not at the top of the holiday wish list, it is able to scale the mountain through its undeniable charm. In short, this is one train you should get on board.

7.5/10

Follow me on twitter. @cbeers2513
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
OscarOrNotMar 12, 2012
Loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelF.Jul 6, 2006
the greatest job was done on the animation, being very realistic, and the sounds of the train being the most spectacular i ever witnessed in an animation. i enjoyed watching this film, and it is the best animation i have ever seen. it's the greatest job was done on the animation, being very realistic, and the sounds of the train being the most spectacular i ever witnessed in an animation. i enjoyed watching this film, and it is the best animation i have ever seen. it's a 10/10 well deserved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RudiR.Nov 6, 2004
This movie does what could not be done just 3 years ago: it captures, with amazing detail, the look and feel of a children's book without watering down the story or adding extraneous plot twists to search for time. The soundtrack is This movie does what could not be done just 3 years ago: it captures, with amazing detail, the look and feel of a children's book without watering down the story or adding extraneous plot twists to search for time. The soundtrack is great, too, and the acting from the cast is splendid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Feb 22, 2008
It is my favorite Christmas film next to National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation. This is an amazing film. Yes it does have some overreacting when it comes to the girl's love for Christmas. Yes their eyes make them look like zombies. It is my favorite Christmas film next to National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation. This is an amazing film. Yes it does have some overreacting when it comes to the girl's love for Christmas. Yes their eyes make them look like zombies. But it was great and it is for you Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronL.Nov 10, 2004
A remarkable achievement and a classic in the making. The Pixar films are great and fun, but don't remain in memory much longer than their theatrical run. The Polar Express is a film that stays with you and will be a perennial favorite A remarkable achievement and a classic in the making. The Pixar films are great and fun, but don't remain in memory much longer than their theatrical run. The Polar Express is a film that stays with you and will be a perennial favorite for years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdS.Dec 4, 2004
Taking a cue from one of the less jaded critics, I saw this movie (for the first time) in IMAX 3-D. Was I blown away!!! Most of the vantage points in this movie were meant to seen in 3-D. Technical wizardry aside, the movie's art Taking a cue from one of the less jaded critics, I saw this movie (for the first time) in IMAX 3-D. Was I blown away!!! Most of the vantage points in this movie were meant to seen in 3-D. Technical wizardry aside, the movie's art direction was perfect for the story. I believe I have seen the best Christmas movie, live action or not. Tom Hanks is great even in the virtual world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jdnapolloApr 16, 2005
This is amazing movie with all the sounds and visual effects to match. It's a story for the child that beats inside the hearts of all persons. The movie plays true to the classic children's book and should be a classic movie not This is amazing movie with all the sounds and visual effects to match. It's a story for the child that beats inside the hearts of all persons. The movie plays true to the classic children's book and should be a classic movie not just for the holidays, but any day. It will reignite a spark in you that never died out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyB.Jan 1, 2006
This is a magical adventure that is the most beautiful film of its kind I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RodneyC.Nov 10, 2004
WOW! Take my word and go see this movie! Ten times better than The Incredibles, even though they don't really compare... I'm going again this weekend! Tom Hanks is great and WOW go and see this on the big screen and then see it in WOW! Take my word and go see this movie! Ten times better than The Incredibles, even though they don't really compare... I'm going again this weekend! Tom Hanks is great and WOW go and see this on the big screen and then see it in 3-D and then see it again! You'll never get sick of it. I'll watch it every year for the rest of my life! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottC.Nov 14, 2004
Fantastic story and concept! Loved every second and the only slightly negative thing was the odd way the characters moved sometimes (minor).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RMLucc-SchwarNov 16, 2004
Amazing...brings out the child in all of us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanRNov 20, 2004
A visually stunning old fashioned Christmas film. I loved the book, and I loved the film. See it in 3D!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DylanT.Dec 10, 2004
This was a great movie. Its good for little kids, adluts and teenagers. My suggestion is see the movie now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackRabbitJan 5, 2005
This movie must be seen in IMAX 3D to be appreciated. It is the first fully realized fictional story where every scene has a reason to be in 3D. I have a feeling it will be a perennial favorite in IMAX theaters for years to come.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WmMartinezJan 9, 2005
Under-rated! Utterly charming, gorgeous design, exciting action, see it in 3-D. The "actors" are creepy looking at first, but you get used to it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
polartrainFeb 6, 2005
Pros: amazing visuals, excellent soundtrack, beautiful music, the most exciting, and most touching, train ride ever. cons: elfs look like pedafiles overview: though 4-year-olds might be frightened by the appearence of the elves, this is the Pros: amazing visuals, excellent soundtrack, beautiful music, the most exciting, and most touching, train ride ever. cons: elfs look like pedafiles overview: though 4-year-olds might be frightened by the appearence of the elves, this is the greatest holiday movie up to date. An instant classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadC.Jul 2, 2005
Verry good movie couldnt not have been better for a christmas andmatied movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomH.Mar 22, 2006
Exhilirating in its imagination & point-of-view through a child's eyes. Mesmerizing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JakeB.Aug 9, 2006
THE POLAR EXPRESS tells the story of a boy who's lost all faith in Santa, but, is thrusted into a magical world where "seeing is believing." Though it may take a few viewings, this film is some very good material. It took me a grand THE POLAR EXPRESS tells the story of a boy who's lost all faith in Santa, but, is thrusted into a magical world where "seeing is believing." Though it may take a few viewings, this film is some very good material. It took me a grand total of 3 times to truly absorb it all. It's not confusing... it's all just so... curious. A ghost bum on a train, show stopping musical numbers and possibly creepy animation ; how does all of this fit into the picture book narrative of Chris Van Allsburg's picture book? Don't ask me but in the hands of Zemeckis and Hanks it all seems to gel into an enthralling holiday experience. Overall: B+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamL.Sep 11, 2007
Perfect in every way, except for the "cameo" appearance by Steve Tyler of Aerosmith. What was Zemeckis thinking?? That horrible misjudgment aside, this film is pure movie magic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CameronS.Nov 11, 2004
EXCELLENT MOVIE! Saw it in 3D and I was blown away. Wonderful movie! LOVED IT and LOVED the Book!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Nov 10, 2004
I find it suprising that so many people have complained about the lack of sentiment in this film. I found it very touching and magical. I loved every second of it. The new motion capture teqhnique has produced a dazzling display of what can I find it suprising that so many people have complained about the lack of sentiment in this film. I found it very touching and magical. I loved every second of it. The new motion capture teqhnique has produced a dazzling display of what can only be described as "oil paintings come to life." I congragulate all who have worked on this film. It is a sure-hit Christmas Classic that will be enjoyed by the WHOLE FAMILY!!!!!! Go and see for yourself... "Seeing is Believing." Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewC.Nov 10, 2004
Instant Christmas Classic. The whole family will love this movie, it has something for EVERYONE! I can't wait to see it again, next time in 3-D!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeLNov 16, 2004
I enjoyed the visuals, but the story seemed to lack some depth even for a children's movie. I gave it an 8 though, mainly because it kept my 8 year-old entertained and he really seemed to enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DannyP.Nov 18, 2004
I'm a cynical 40ish Father with 3 small children. We all loved this move. I don't belive in much, but I got a lump in my chest when Santa showed up. The story telling and presentation were wonderful and a tribute to the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NathanB.Nov 22, 2004
I always tell myself that I will not go to see a ?kids? movie during the day. But I always think, it will be OK. So I saw this movie at 3 in the afternoon, along with a theater full of kids. And, of course, I am sitting right in front of the I always tell myself that I will not go to see a ?kids? movie during the day. But I always think, it will be OK. So I saw this movie at 3 in the afternoon, along with a theater full of kids. And, of course, I am sitting right in front of the only kids in the theater that are screaming, talking, and kicking my chair. It was horrible, so I moved, but half way through the movie, the mother of these children got fed up with them and decided to leave, only to return a few minutes later and sit right behind me. Next kids movie is the late, late show. Anyway, the first half of this movie was the best action animation I?ve ever seem. It was spellbinding and beautifully suspenseful. I even thought about sneaking into another theater after it was over just to watch it again. But after the halfway mark the movie goes on a quest to be memorable and tear-jerking, only to leave me empty. From the moment where the young boy starts to sing off the back of the train, it?s over. Still entertaining, but the end of the magic. Don?t get me wrong, the first half is well worth you time and money. The main reason why the end did not thrill me was because the animation, as far as human expression goes, was less than par. The movie utilizes a new type of animation, which is good for everything, except the facial expression. Everyone was the same, every emotion the same. Tom Hanks does his best to show off his different voices, which is OK, but irritating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TheCameronNov 27, 2004
Another computer-generated family is also opening this holiday season, the magical train ride of a movie called ?The Polar Express?. The movie was filmed with live actors using ?performance-capture?, which was used to create Gollum in ?The Another computer-generated family is also opening this holiday season, the magical train ride of a movie called ?The Polar Express?. The movie was filmed with live actors using ?performance-capture?, which was used to create Gollum in ?The Lord of the Rings?, but that was one character amongst real actors and other special effects. Here, we have all real actors re-animated. The process, however, is almost irrelevant to the film?s magic. A young boy whose name is never mentioned is starting to sleep on Christmas Eve. Consciously, his belief in Santa Claus is dwindling. Just as night is falling, a loud locomotive comes by his doorstep. He takes a step outside to check it out and is asked by the conductor (Tom Hanks) to hop on board. Realizing the magical coolness of the situation, he wisely steps on board and his adventure begins as they set forth to the North Pole. On the train he meets several characters that will become prominent later. There is the Hero Girl, who seems to be much too optimistic about Christmas to be put in with this pessimistic bunch. There is also Lonely Boy, who probably comes from a poorer family that hasn?t had the funds to buy him big things which has likely led to his dislike of Christmas and the artificiality that comes with it. Finally there is Know-It-All, voiced by the squeaky Eddie Deezen, who is somehow able to use his 46 year-old voice appropriately on a 9 year-old boy. After brief introductions, there is a spectacular musical sequence about serving hot chocolate. Hero Girl notices Lonely Boy in the back car and saves a cup of hot chocolate for him. She leaves her all-important ticket at her seat and Hero Boy runs back to give her the ticket. He slips and loses the ticket as it is blown out of his hands, flies off the train, through a pack of wolves, into an eagle?s mouth, out of the eagle?s nest, and under the locomotive. There is also the Hobo (also Hanks), who reveals to the boy many facts about life and growing up and aids him in getting back to the front of the train to give the girl her ticket back. He is one of a few little creepy parts of the film, but usually the best of holiday family classics have some sort of haunting element to them. Like in ?Wizard of Oz?, as Dorothy has both to lose her youth and do away with a wicked old with and unfriendly flying monkeys. Another spellbindingly amazing sequence comes at Glacier Gulch, which has to be seen in an IMAX theatre to be fully appreciated (albeit the $14 admission). As the train approaches a mountainous peak, they must take a 90-degree railed plummet to the bottom of the mountain. The computer-generation seems best put o use with the little things rather than the big, like the when the conductor punches holes in the tickets. As they finally each the North Pole, we see what must have the most epic, romantic vision of the North Pole ever. It is viewed as a colossal, brilliantly-lit city. With elves finishing the very last of the presents and unveiling the super towering gift bag that nearly falls upon one of their own elf friends. Santa Claus (also Hanks), logically, is some sort of combination between corporate CEO and a fair-giving socialist. In simple, this is a fun ride, but complexly it is a magnificent achievement of storytelling. It is an episodic ride in terms of the screenplay, but it is a magical whole. I can usually feel magic when I see it, and with ?The Polar Express?, it is no different. I remember when I quit believing in Santa Claus, and it was a disappointing brief moment (I was still spoiled with presents), but it represents a moving from your pre-adolescent fantasy to growing up into the pubertal mundane. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SundayG.Nov 28, 2004
Aweson magic. Perfect Christmas story for the children. Brings great memories from you childhood. The whole family loved the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SallyK.Nov 9, 2004
A wonderful delight!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HellboyDec 1, 2004
Great Christmas Movie For The Kids And The Train Waz Frekin Awsome Going Down Steep Hills Like That Whew That Would Have Been The Thrill Ride Of My Life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BarryR.Dec 26, 2004
This is one of those viewing experiences where, being a good grandpa, or at least trying to be one, I went with my two grandsons to see ?The Polar Express?. To hedge my bet (and I?m glad I did), we went to The Bridge where the movie was This is one of those viewing experiences where, being a good grandpa, or at least trying to be one, I went with my two grandsons to see ?The Polar Express?. To hedge my bet (and I?m glad I did), we went to The Bridge where the movie was playing in 3D at its IMAX theater.. Most readers will probably see this movie on a regular screen since there are only 3 other IMAX theaters in Southern California where the film is playing in 3D. Hopefully other viewers will have the same positive experience I did. I really was prepared not to like the film having read reviews where the ?eyes of the characters looked the deer in the headlights of your car? etc. Who cares. This is a wonderful film and filled with magic and mush, good mush, and Xmas songs performed by Sinatra, Crosby and Como and a wonderful ?I Believe? sung by Josh Grogan. Tom Hanks is terrific and Robert Zemekis who co-produced, directed and co-wrote the film is also entitled to many praises. It?s a kid?s movie that adults will identify with and love. I felt so good after seeing the film and those in the theater applauded loudly and long. Believe me, I did not expect my reaction to be so positive but the film really did a lot for me and made me really identify with and appreciate all the good things about the holiday it intended to convey. Well written, directed and acted, it deserves and gets an 8. Bring a kid to see the movie, especially that little girl or guy hiding inside you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RadioLadyDec 5, 2004
I took my almost four-year-old grandson to a preview of this movie. He didn't know the story and neither did I. The animation is wonderful -- so far surpassing anything that I've ever seen. But the story is just one big chase after I took my almost four-year-old grandson to a preview of this movie. He didn't know the story and neither did I. The animation is wonderful -- so far surpassing anything that I've ever seen. But the story is just one big chase after another with lots of action that defies physics (people on top of a train going at top speed with nary a hair out of place; outside in frozen places with skin uncovered...). It was beautifully rendered, using something called "performance capture" but what was the point? The children on the train all get to the North Pole and see Santa and the elves. That's pretty impressive evidence! What's NOT to believe? Maybe those kids don't have enough imagination! Anyway, the story is somewhat lax, but it's still worth seeing, compared to other movies for children this season. I do hope they improve the human faces in the next generation. They were pretty creepy -- they looked like porcelain dolls and the eyes were, well -- lifeless. We've been watching Barbie in two different videos -- and I have a real pet peeve. They don't show the tongue moving between the character's lips. There must be a problem with this, because it's happened on pretty much all the films I've seen with our grandkids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CaptainS.Nov 27, 2005
Good holiday film for all ages. The visuals were good and the acting very well done. The storyline seemed tied down to sliding, skiing, sleding, movement type actions which seemed a little old by the time we get to the North Pole however, Good holiday film for all ages. The visuals were good and the acting very well done. The storyline seemed tied down to sliding, skiing, sleding, movement type actions which seemed a little old by the time we get to the North Pole however, and the Steven Tyler elf at the end could've been eliminated all together IMO. Now to address the whole "creepiness" feel of the characters...the eyes are then window to the soul gang. Artists, work on it! Again, nice movie with some good stuff for everyone. And, BTW, all of you out there who looked at this movie and Santa as nothing but commercialism need to learn how to "believe" yourself. You miss the whole point of Santa Claus to begin with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
alexl.Dec 18, 2005
That was cool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LorenJ.Dec 24, 2005
In our house, the movie completely captivated it's intended audience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JJFerreiraDec 4, 2005
The Polar Express is interesting in it's conception, creative in it's execution and charming in many small but meaningful ways. Others reviewers have zeroed in on the technical flaws and limitations of attempting to adequately The Polar Express is interesting in it's conception, creative in it's execution and charming in many small but meaningful ways. Others reviewers have zeroed in on the technical flaws and limitations of attempting to adequately capture human emotions in animation, especially in eyes. Technology can always be improved upon and, in time, those limitations that exist in this films will likely be overcome. Where Polar Express shines is in the ability to convey the simple yet oft-forsaken idea that wonder, belief, trust and friendship are compatable with adulthood and maturity. The idea that belief, not just in Sanata Claus or the North Pole or elves but in one another, in family and in friends is as vital an element in life as breathing, eating and sleeping. To dismiss this film as a technological wonder or a paean to childish dreams is to close one's mind to the deeper meaning found within the story. It isn't mindless feel-good entertainment nor is it ideologically-laden cinema art. It is a reminder that anyone with the desire can find hope and honesty if only they allow themselves to believe. In the grans scheme of things, perhaps that's not such a bad discovery to make, especially if one has grown jaded and cynical as they have aged. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterJ.Dec 8, 2005
Great family movie. Best Christmas movie I have seen possibly ever. My young children loved it, as did I.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WallyS.Dec 8, 2005
One of the best animated features of the past year, charming and visually stunning, one of the best Christmas movies ever made, it has majesty and overall grandness that reassures a grand aventure with the dazzling polar express.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyB.Dec 6, 2006
This movie is great for the whole family to watch with all aspects covered like laughter, heart-warming moments and even some action here and there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Nov 13, 2004
Ridicule me if you like, but this is what I saw. The golden ticket that belongs to the black girl gets loose and takes on a life of its own, just like the feather from "Forrest Gump". The 1995 film, as you know, is famous for its Ridicule me if you like, but this is what I saw. The golden ticket that belongs to the black girl gets loose and takes on a life of its own, just like the feather from "Forrest Gump". The 1995 film, as you know, is famous for its conservative right-wing undercurrent, so I found it curious that the girl was removed from the general area of the train, and made to sit by herself. The golden ticket also reminded me of "Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory". Let's pray the people behind that project goes the live-action route. The children in "The Polar Express" look so creepy, but some of the visuals are truly jaw-dropping. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jdudeNov 15, 2004
Excellent Visuals and a wonderful Ride. All family members enjoyed it including my 4 yr old son. As to the sheep comment. That tells a lot about that review. I would highly recommend seeing this on the screen. The eagle scene is impressive Excellent Visuals and a wonderful Ride. All family members enjoyed it including my 4 yr old son. As to the sheep comment. That tells a lot about that review. I would highly recommend seeing this on the screen. The eagle scene is impressive to say the least. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BarbaraW.Nov 19, 2004
In the life of an overexhausted working mother, I want to thank Tom Hanks and crew for making a G movie where my 2 and 4 year old could escape and dream with me. Nothing can replace the look on my son's face as his eyes opened wide and In the life of an overexhausted working mother, I want to thank Tom Hanks and crew for making a G movie where my 2 and 4 year old could escape and dream with me. Nothing can replace the look on my son's face as his eyes opened wide and started to shine as the Polar Express chugged up that beautiful moon-lit mountain. Thank you creators! You are awesome. And thank you for the line about Santa being a "symbol" of all that Christmas is about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ZeeBNov 24, 2004
It is a nice x-mas movie with a pleasant storyline that young childrend and adults will like. The graphics is that maked the movie stand out from a typical x-mas movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkyMarkNov 26, 2005
I find reviewers' reaction to this film and their comments say a lot about the kind of person they probably are inside. After watching this amazing movie, I was glad to discover that I am an emotionally healthy and alive human being. I I find reviewers' reaction to this film and their comments say a lot about the kind of person they probably are inside. After watching this amazing movie, I was glad to discover that I am an emotionally healthy and alive human being. I am both the adult i am now and the 8 year old kid I was 46 years ago. I had tears running down my cheeks. Absolutely wonderful movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EvanP.Dec 11, 2009
This Movie successfully captures the wonder and magic of Christmas. I don't care if it promotes false truths. Most who hate this movie have forgotten what it was like to spend Christmas as a child and can therefore not connect with this This Movie successfully captures the wonder and magic of Christmas. I don't care if it promotes false truths. Most who hate this movie have forgotten what it was like to spend Christmas as a child and can therefore not connect with this movie. While it is simplistic in its plot and has excessively busy visuals, it doesn't take anything away from its spirit. My only complaint would have to be the elves that are introduced at the end of the film... Creepy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FreedomFightersOct 31, 2016
It's honestly fascinating to see this film garner such a huge cult following after initially being seen as just "okay." Years after release, many consider it to be a wonderful Christmas film, and why not? Even though the character models areIt's honestly fascinating to see this film garner such a huge cult following after initially being seen as just "okay." Years after release, many consider it to be a wonderful Christmas film, and why not? Even though the character models are off-putting, the overall visual design is great, the story is pretty solid, the film stays true to the book (not easy to do when the book is as short as it is), and it features some really touching moments. "The Polar Express" is a great film that's definitely a worthy watch during the Holiday season. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
gameguardian21Sep 26, 2016
The polar express is actually a pretty good Christmas movie. While it doesn't have any much good characters, it's story is presented well with pretty good animation style, and a nice theme to it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
simonerodriguezMar 13, 2016
no words can explain how this movie made me feel! it was one of the BEST movies i ever saw! Everything about this movie was perfect, i cried like a baby!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews