The Possession

The Possession Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 296 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on a true story, The Possession is the story of how one family must unite in order to survive the wrath of an unspeakable evil. Clyde and Stephanie Brenek see little cause for alarm when their youngest daughter Em becomes oddly obsessed with an antique wooden box she purchased at aBased on a true story, The Possession is the story of how one family must unite in order to survive the wrath of an unspeakable evil. Clyde and Stephanie Brenek see little cause for alarm when their youngest daughter Em becomes oddly obsessed with an antique wooden box she purchased at a yard sale. But as Em’s behavior becomes increasingly erratic, the couple fears the presence of a malevolent force in their midst, only to discover that the box was built to contain a dibbuk, a dislocated spirit that inhabits and ultimately devours its human host. (Lionsgate) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Aug 29, 2012
    88
    Like "The Exorcist," the best film in the genre, it is inspired by some degree of religious scholarship and creates believable characters in a real world. That religions take demonic possessions seriously makes them more fun for us, the unpossessed.
  2. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Aug 29, 2012
    70
    This variation on the demon child subgenre has enough of the familiar and the new to be a decently good time at the movies.
  3. 60
    With an incredible performance by young Natasha Calls and surprisingly effect direction by Ole Bornedal (Nightwatch) you'll be surprised how this horror gets you just when you think you're safe.
  4. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Aug 29, 2012
    50
    A ho-hum exorcism chiller that tries to spice up a formulaic screenplay by converting a predominantly Catholic-fixated horror subgenre to Judaism.
  5. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 5, 2012
    40
    Is this the start of a new subgenre? Probably not – 2009's "The Unborn" traded in Jewish mysticism, too – but it's considerably creepier than it has any right to be and, to be sure, righteous rabbis can be pretty terrifying in and of themselves.
  6. Reviewed by: Sam Adama
    Aug 31, 2012
    40
    Morgan and preteen dybbuk host Calis draw some pathos out of their father-daughter discord, but you can't have a possession without a soul.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Aug 29, 2012
    12
    Remarkable only in how brazenly it embraces the tired yet proven formula that these modern ghost tales deal in.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    I can't believe all of these negative reviews. I enjoy scary movies and this is the scariest I've seen in a while. I'm extremely impressedI can't believe all of these negative reviews. I enjoy scary movies and this is the scariest I've seen in a while. I'm extremely impressed with how creative the director was in finding ways to make it so creepy. Yeah maybe it is just another "exorcist" movie and doesn't have a ton of crazy twists but if you want to be scared- this is the movie for you! The actors were also amazing. Expand
  2. Mar 17, 2013
    9
    What an incredibly scary and exciting horror movie. From start to finish I was on the edge of my seat. The ending was perfect because itWhat an incredibly scary and exciting horror movie. From start to finish I was on the edge of my seat. The ending was perfect because it wasn't such a downer like most modern horror films end. The acting was also perfect and the character development was great and not rushed. Sequel? Expand
  3. Jan 18, 2016
    8
    Puppet-master technique and a generally well orchestrated sense of moodiness help this chiller deliver on more than it botches, despite aPuppet-master technique and a generally well orchestrated sense of moodiness help this chiller deliver on more than it botches, despite a fumbled third act.

    Watch here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-7549b-The-Possession-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
    Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2013
    6
    Nothing really new here, but it was a decent watch. This is a movie you may choose to watch once, but don't expect to be ready to go buy thisNothing really new here, but it was a decent watch. This is a movie you may choose to watch once, but don't expect to be ready to go buy this movie on Blue Ray. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2014
    6
    The Possession es una película de terror que está inspirada en hechos reales (algo que se me hizo muy difícil de creer, pero sí, lo creo) queThe Possession es una película de terror que está inspirada en hechos reales (algo que se me hizo muy difícil de creer, pero sí, lo creo) que quiere tratar de lograr un buen posicionamiento en el género ,eso para su suerte, lo logra. Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 'The Possession' was incredably boring, I found myself almost falling asleep. The film's dull, unimaginative and has no substance whatsoever. The film is cliche and really just took too long to 'get into it' and by the time it did I had already lost interest. The acting is the only good part about this film really, apart from the Jewish guy who was hard too take seriously (you'll see what I mean). The editing is the most annoying thing about this film; it's very choppy and unorganized. The film will have an incredabley loud scene which will then cut to a silent scene and then a cliche horror movie soundtrack plays, this annoyed me so much. It probably happened over five times. Also the film isn't even scary, which really does just say it all, honestly I wouldn't bother with 'The Possession' it's dull and lifeless, you're better off watching the actual Exorcist. Expand
  7. Oct 3, 2012
    0
    I found this film very bleak. It lacked what the trailer had promised, horrifying events, and a spine-tingling feel. The film had a very basicI found this film very bleak. It lacked what the trailer had promised, horrifying events, and a spine-tingling feel. The film had a very basic and predictable plot, the acting i have to say was very poor and overall could possible pass for a dark comedy for avid horror fans. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.