Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 71 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on a true story, The Possession is the story of how one family must unite in order to survive the wrath of an unspeakable evil. Clyde and Stephanie Brenek see little cause for alarm when their youngest daughter Em becomes oddly obsessed with an antique wooden box she purchased at a yard sale. But as Em’s behavior becomes increasingly erratic, the couple fears the presence of a malevolent force in their midst, only to discover that the box was built to contain a dibbuk, a dislocated spirit that inhabits and ultimately devours its human host. (Lionsgate) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Aug 29, 2012
    88
    Like "The Exorcist," the best film in the genre, it is inspired by some degree of religious scholarship and creates believable characters in a real world. That religions take demonic possessions seriously makes them more fun for us, the unpossessed.
  2. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Aug 29, 2012
    70
    This variation on the demon child subgenre has enough of the familiar and the new to be a decently good time at the movies.
  3. 60
    With an incredible performance by young Natasha Calls and surprisingly effect direction by Ole Bornedal (Nightwatch) you'll be surprised how this horror gets you just when you think you're safe.
  4. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Aug 29, 2012
    50
    A ho-hum exorcism chiller that tries to spice up a formulaic screenplay by converting a predominantly Catholic-fixated horror subgenre to Judaism.
  5. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 5, 2012
    40
    Is this the start of a new subgenre? Probably not – 2009's "The Unborn" traded in Jewish mysticism, too – but it's considerably creepier than it has any right to be and, to be sure, righteous rabbis can be pretty terrifying in and of themselves.
  6. Reviewed by: Sam Adama
    Aug 31, 2012
    40
    Morgan and preteen dybbuk host Calis draw some pathos out of their father-daughter discord, but you can't have a possession without a soul.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Aug 29, 2012
    12
    Remarkable only in how brazenly it embraces the tired yet proven formula that these modern ghost tales deal in.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    I can't believe all of these negative reviews. I enjoy scary movies and this is the scariest I've seen in a while. I'm extremely impressed with how creative the director was in finding ways to make it so creepy. Yeah maybe it is just another "exorcist" movie and doesn't have a ton of crazy twists but if you want to be scared- this is the movie for you! The actors were also amazing. Expand
  2. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    This is the first horror movie that not only totally engrossed me, but that I enjoyed enough to buy afterward. "The Possession" is a beautifully well-made exorcist film with great acting and plotwriting, and relies on a plethora of authentically creepy and thrilling imagery for its scares and punches, rather than cheap, gimmicky, completely UNscary CGI blood and gore. I loved everything about it and highly recommend to any horror fan, period. Expand
  3. Jan 9, 2013
    8
    I can't believe that this movie has negative reviews, low critics and highly underrated! This movie really holds the meaning of horror, thank god we have a nice demon-possessing movie, YES FINALLY! Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If this movie was original for sure I would have liked more. All films are equal possessions ... A girl or boy who is possessed demon and his parents have to resort to other priests or to forfeit the devil. Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    6
    The possession tries to scare though it doesn't succeed it. It is a good idea which could have been better made. There is no action and suspense in the film and that's a negative point. It also doesn't tries to put yoi in an atmosphere. Really many things with similar films like the possession din't happen in that film. It didn't have many demon things. The Jew priest was an extremely bad idea, though I really liked the ending. It leaves you a message that they are going to make a new movie. Despite all that facts, If you like The Exorcist you might also find good the possession Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 'The Possession' was incredably boring, I found myself almost falling asleep. The film's dull, unimaginative and has no substance whatsoever. The film is cliche and really just took too long to 'get into it' and by the time it did I had already lost interest. The acting is the only good part about this film really, apart from the Jewish guy who was hard too take seriously (you'll see what I mean). The editing is the most annoying thing about this film; it's very choppy and unorganized. The film will have an incredabley loud scene which will then cut to a silent scene and then a cliche horror movie soundtrack plays, this annoyed me so much. It probably happened over five times. Also the film isn't even scary, which really does just say it all, honestly I wouldn't bother with 'The Possession' it's dull and lifeless, you're better off watching the actual Exorcist. Expand
  7. Oct 3, 2012
    0
    I found this film very bleak. It lacked what the trailer had promised, horrifying events, and a spine-tingling feel. The film had a very basic and predictable plot, the acting i have to say was very poor and overall could possible pass for a dark comedy for avid horror fans. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews

Trailers