Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 1997
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 49 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
28
Mixed:
10
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MikeJun 9, 2005
This movie is great. I dont really buy the realness of it, but it kept me entertained for 3 hours. yea right.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
hunterJul 2, 2005
I couldn't even stand to watch it all the way through.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
armandos.Feb 10, 2005
Costner takes himself too seriously in this flick, but the critics savaged this a little too much-it is not all that bad-even though some scenes meant to be serious can instead cause inadvertant laughter.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
PatC.Jun 30, 2006
A riveting epic ranking right up there with Heavens Gate.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DukeJonMar 4, 2015
An underrated gem. An exciting story, strong performances throughout and a touching insight into the flaws and hopes of human nature. Given the almost universal trashing this film received from the critics I can only imagine that hollywoodAn underrated gem. An exciting story, strong performances throughout and a touching insight into the flaws and hopes of human nature. Given the almost universal trashing this film received from the critics I can only imagine that hollywood felt it was time to take Kevin Costner down a peg or two. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gdonaldsonFeb 7, 2012
What a great performance and story line. This is without a doubt one of my top 5 films. The storyline for me had me at every turn. Costner was certainly given the raw end of the pro critics but I've made a few films and appeared and it wasWhat a great performance and story line. This is without a doubt one of my top 5 films. The storyline for me had me at every turn. Costner was certainly given the raw end of the pro critics but I've made a few films and appeared and it was just brilliant Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
jake38Feb 5, 2014
this was an absolute disaster. the movie was in no way anything like the book adding characters and scenes that werent even remotely anything like the book. why does Hollywood have to ruin everything
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
wobblesJul 21, 2013
While slightly longer than needed this was a good movie that was over trashed by critics. Was it completely realistic? No. Neither is any high dollar Batman movie ever made. That's why they call them movies.

If you don't allow yourself
While slightly longer than needed this was a good movie that was over trashed by critics. Was it completely realistic? No. Neither is any high dollar Batman movie ever made. That's why they call them movies.

If you don't allow yourself to be told what to like by profession critics try it. You might find yourself pleasantly surprised.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews