Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: October 20, 2006
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 984 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
918
Mixed:
49
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TheGorillaJan 12, 2011
what a movie! omg! no doubt, Chris Nolan is one of the best in the game! the cast, the plot, the twists..wonderful! genius..i'm speechless right now,i..i..i was blown away...vuf..100 out of 10! 100!!!!!
23 of 27 users found this helpful234
All this user's reviews
9
eagleeyevikingDec 12, 2013
The Prestige is a complex maze filled with countless twists and turns. Fortunately, the entire crew masterfully guides us away from all its dead ends through its great storyline, deep characters and immersive acting to get into its satisfyingThe Prestige is a complex maze filled with countless twists and turns. Fortunately, the entire crew masterfully guides us away from all its dead ends through its great storyline, deep characters and immersive acting to get into its satisfying conclusion. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
EliteF50Jan 2, 2011
Easily one of the best movies of this (last) decade. The actors were wonderful (Bale never disappoints, and Hugh has a natural charm that can't be beaten), the story was fantastic, the length was just perfect, and everything else was flat outEasily one of the best movies of this (last) decade. The actors were wonderful (Bale never disappoints, and Hugh has a natural charm that can't be beaten), the story was fantastic, the length was just perfect, and everything else was flat out amazing.

I recommend this movie to anyone with a love for great film.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
dosmaxSep 4, 2012
This is Christopher Nolan at his best. The ending provides a bigger twist than even Momento, and it is an enjoyable watch the entire time. The perspective is interesting because it is either in a variety of intricate ways. Great story, greatThis is Christopher Nolan at his best. The ending provides a bigger twist than even Momento, and it is an enjoyable watch the entire time. The perspective is interesting because it is either in a variety of intricate ways. Great story, great acting, and great directing; all around an amazing film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
D-macdaddyDec 30, 2013
"The audience loves to be fooled". The first time I watched the Prestige I indeed was fooled, but if you take the time to watch it again and really follow closely then you will be greatly rewarded, as I believe this is one of the most"The audience loves to be fooled". The first time I watched the Prestige I indeed was fooled, but if you take the time to watch it again and really follow closely then you will be greatly rewarded, as I believe this is one of the most intelligent films ever created. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
BROct 20, 2006
It's funny, as it seems almost all the critics take pride in themselves for pointing out that the film may be too complicated for its own good. Well I say it's about time, here we are complaining about other movies all year for not It's funny, as it seems almost all the critics take pride in themselves for pointing out that the film may be too complicated for its own good. Well I say it's about time, here we are complaining about other movies all year for not having a lick of intelligence and then Nolan's 'The Prestige' comes out to answer the calls and now it's too much? This, ladies and gentlemen, is the film we have all be waiting for! BRAVO Mr. Nolan, your dark and beautiful tale of two obsessed magicians falls into my book as one of the best films this year. Sure to be remembered years from now. Cheers. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BillyM.May 20, 2008
These critics are full of it! This movie has one of the best endings I have ever seen. I recently took a 12 hour flight in which "The Prestige" was showing and didn't even want to get off the plane when we landed just so I could see the ending!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
R.L.Mar 16, 2009
There are three acts to a magicians show. The first is called the pledge: the magician shows the audience something normal, but in reality it's not. The second act is called the turn: The Magician makes the ordinary something do There are three acts to a magicians show. The first is called the pledge: the magician shows the audience something normal, but in reality it's not. The second act is called the turn: The Magician makes the ordinary something do something incredible.The third act is called The Prestige, and that is what this exceptional film is about. The Prestige stars Hugh Jackman and Christian Bale as Robert Angier and Alfred Borden, they were best friends and partners until one night one of there biggest tricks went horribly wrong and cost them a valued member of the act.The two friends are now the bitterest of rivals; trying to out do each other to see who's the better magician. As the rivalry escalates into a full blow obsession, the two magicians start to make and preform more and more dangerous tricks. But all is not what it seems. The Prestige directed by Christopher Nolan and based on the novel by Christopher Priest is the second movie made to explore the depths of stage magic, and it is by far the best one, The Prestige is a dark and sinister psychological thriller that will boggle your mind and keep you coming back for even more.You'll want to see it again the minute it's over, it's that good, this film explores the depths of what revenge and obsession does to a man, what it does to a person and what it can do to your life. We see that on Angier's part that it has turned him into a monster,a man who would kill to be the best, Borden on the other hands has not been affected to much, by this we can that this rivalry doesn't extend all the way into Alfred's life as it does Robert's. Obsession and revenge is a thing that most people live for and thrive on everyday of there lives. We see that here with Robert, he won't stop until he's destroyed Alfred's life, that's revenge. Angier will also stop at nothing until he learns all of Borden's secret's, that's obsession. put those two together and you've got a movie you can't afford the miss. Also watch closely because nothing is what it seems. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
stoner839Feb 21, 2011
I know some won't agree with me here, but, easily one of Christopher Nolan's best films. The script is impeccable, the editing is damn near perfect, and the cinematography is just what we come to expect from Wally Pfister, the best. AI know some won't agree with me here, but, easily one of Christopher Nolan's best films. The script is impeccable, the editing is damn near perfect, and the cinematography is just what we come to expect from Wally Pfister, the best. A terrific film and a great bridge between Batman Begins and The Dark Knight. Christopher Nolan hones his craft with every film he makes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
imthenoobMar 6, 2016
It's one movie critics got dead wrong. Jackman and Bale are great leads and have a fantastic game of One upping through out the film, Each man always trying to gain the upper hand over the other. And through out the film it just keepsIt's one movie critics got dead wrong. Jackman and Bale are great leads and have a fantastic game of One upping through out the film, Each man always trying to gain the upper hand over the other. And through out the film it just keeps escalating until the climax and it's so wonderfully done. The build up really pays off and it proves that Nolan isn't just a one trick pony. My favorite thing about the film? David Bowie as Tesla. He did such an amazing job and totally out shined everyone he shared the screen with with his performance. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleMar 13, 2014
Really good film. Did not understand but that was certainly the point; to blur the line between illusion and reality. In thst way, the film is a huge magic trick as it leaves you wondering how they just pulled off what they pulled off andReally good film. Did not understand but that was certainly the point; to blur the line between illusion and reality. In thst way, the film is a huge magic trick as it leaves you wondering how they just pulled off what they pulled off and what reality actually is. In that way, this film is a major accomplishment. Nolan is really on the top of his game here. Bale and Jackman were also great leads and while they were not in a ton of scenes together, they were undoubtedly dominated the screen. Another major plus was the costume design and the sets. As a period piece, they did a great job establishing the feel of the era. I also liked the undercurrent of rivalry in everything in the film. It was a really nice touch.

Main complaint is that it was very hard to follow since it jumped around a lot. This was a huge problem in the beginning, but by the end, more things made sense. But, the editing bothered me a lot as scenes seemed to be a mishmash with little care put towards continuity and flow.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
cag11Dec 25, 2013
This movie is awesome. It has a great cast, set with a great plot in one of the best time periods for magicians. The whole time you're wondering things like "how does he do it". He doesn't tell you until the end. The ending can be a bitThis movie is awesome. It has a great cast, set with a great plot in one of the best time periods for magicians. The whole time you're wondering things like "how does he do it". He doesn't tell you until the end. The ending can be a bit confusing at first, but it does go back a bit so you can understand it. It's more complicated than some of the stuff in Inception, but the film is still good nevertheless. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JacobronJan 15, 2014
Good and exciting, original and dark. Loved every moment. Amazingly satisfying ending. The complaints of it being too complicated are unjust, if u can't keep up with the plot i think it's mostly your fault and not the movie's because all theGood and exciting, original and dark. Loved every moment. Amazingly satisfying ending. The complaints of it being too complicated are unjust, if u can't keep up with the plot i think it's mostly your fault and not the movie's because all the large plot twists had many clues that foreshadowed them throughout the movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
usherd369Mar 31, 2014
The viewer is allowed to question and ponder throughout The Prestige, but Nolan doesn't undermine the audience when he gives them the oppourtunity to know the answer from the beginning. A perfect equilibrium in mystery storytelling. TheThe viewer is allowed to question and ponder throughout The Prestige, but Nolan doesn't undermine the audience when he gives them the oppourtunity to know the answer from the beginning. A perfect equilibrium in mystery storytelling. The acting may not be at its best, but it is saved by the charm and faults of both lead roles and Michael Caine takes the torch of guide and accomplice with undaunted and unstated pride. If it were not for a vapid 'Love B' story, this film could be argued to be the best of 2006. This is and will be Nolan's 'grows on you' film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
sluzorzJul 23, 2015
There's a trick in this movie itself. It keeps you thinking that they wen't over the top, but really its what you completely expect. Are you watching closely? This movie definitely gives you a good climax and a great twist in the end.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
RayHNov 27, 2006
This movie was all around a pretty good movie. It was extremely dark, and some of the scenes were a bit disturbing. The plot kind of rambled on to make this movie way too long. An hour and a half would have been alot better. The twists in This movie was all around a pretty good movie. It was extremely dark, and some of the scenes were a bit disturbing. The plot kind of rambled on to make this movie way too long. An hour and a half would have been alot better. The twists in this movie are confusing and it makes you think too hard.The movie did have some cool things in it and has a very surprising ending. It was not the best movies I've ever seen, but it was good enough to keep me from leaving the theater for as long as it did. So it must have done something right. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
5
gpOct 23, 2006
It had the actors and twisting plot to keep you interested, but the ending was such a copout that you just feel cheated. Weak.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
elliott23Jan 21, 2011
Great acting by Bale, Jackman, and Johansson even though it lacked the support from the other actors to give it a good acting grade. However, Nolan decides to put yet another new idea on the board just to simply add to his already prestigious resume.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
emirbudDec 8, 2013
I am outraged that this movie received a single, let alone 447 positive reviews. I cannot use foul language here, as much as I feel the urge, so I will just say this: shame on all of those who gave this movie a positive review, regardless ofI am outraged that this movie received a single, let alone 447 positive reviews. I cannot use foul language here, as much as I feel the urge, so I will just say this: shame on all of those who gave this movie a positive review, regardless of whether they did it because they are stupid or just because they are liars. I can't afford to waste two hours like this anymore, and I would like a warning before I see a dumb plotted, predictable piece of excrement like this one here. Who could have imagined that one guy had a twin brother, and that true magic would come about produced by none other than Nikola Tesla?! And the lead characters' motives, ridiculous. At first he hates him because he caused his wife's death, but then he couldn't care less any more about his wife, he just wants to ruin his act and steal his lousy tricks. The other guy reciprocates wholeheartedly. If you wondering who he is and who the other he is, you weren't paying attention. It's completely unimportant. Who cares. It just an awful, awful, aaaawful movie. If you haven't seen it, I envy you. Stay away!!! Expand
2 of 14 users found this helpful212
All this user's reviews
3
BillRNov 23, 2008
Dissappointing. This film had some great elements that could have lead to a fantastic film, but it falls flat. The "tadaa" moment is explained away with some ridiculous science fiction. If the true "Secret" of the big trick is some sort of Dissappointing. This film had some great elements that could have lead to a fantastic film, but it falls flat. The "tadaa" moment is explained away with some ridiculous science fiction. If the true "Secret" of the big trick is some sort of science fiction mumbo jumbo, then why does the film try to be true at all to the art and skill of the magicians up to that point? If you are going to allow sci-fi fantasy to come in at the end, then what is the point of the rest of the "how does it work?" plot elements. The film cheats on the very craft it touts to be about.... Aweful. Expand
1 of 12 users found this helpful
3
PaulM.Nov 10, 2006
A cold film full of tricks not real characters. The twists (especially the main one) visible a mile off. A trite ending concluded a disappointing piece.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
mbDec 30, 2006
Ultimately bleak and depressing.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
JoeA.Apr 22, 2007
Like Memento, a very tightly crafted piece of film-making. Like Memento, you spend the movie wondering which character to dislike the least.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
IPNov 4, 2006
Very disapointing. I loved Memento and was really looking forward to this but... way overrated. The movie was set up pretty well, it kept me interested through the twists bu then an hour before the end Nolan introduces something supernatural Very disapointing. I loved Memento and was really looking forward to this but... way overrated. The movie was set up pretty well, it kept me interested through the twists bu then an hour before the end Nolan introduces something supernatural that explains everything. Once we see this, the climax becomes predictable from a mile away. Then when you think about what happened, there are a million holes in the story. It's too bad, hopefully the next Nolan movie will be more of Memento quality. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AlexB.Oct 21, 2006
Boring, predictable, terrible characters, slow, pointless. How could ANYONE like this pile?
0 of 4 users found this helpful
2
GaborA.Oct 22, 2006
Atrocious. Nolan is wading in Shyamalan territory with his dissapointing new release. Apart from an uninvolving and senseless plot its just a terrible script. There's probably 4 real scenes in this movie and then hundreds of montages, Atrocious. Nolan is wading in Shyamalan territory with his dissapointing new release. Apart from an uninvolving and senseless plot its just a terrible script. There's probably 4 real scenes in this movie and then hundreds of montages, flashbacks, series of shots, and just general cuts all over the place. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
JamesSOct 24, 2006
Stylish and definitely cool-with the great performances- the movie breaks some of the golden rules of story-telling- not only do you not root for either main character, the entire story is based on illusion- or more plainly put- lies. Stylish and definitely cool-with the great performances- the movie breaks some of the golden rules of story-telling- not only do you not root for either main character, the entire story is based on illusion- or more plainly put- lies. [***SPOILERS***] The ending goes beyond far-fetched- and to such lengths to deceive- it Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
SchuylerC.Mar 12, 2007
A lot of big names but it was very slow moving, I couldn't pay attention to it I must have zoned out for half the movie. It didn't get interesting until they started replicating cats. The plot didn't make much sense I felt A lot of big names but it was very slow moving, I couldn't pay attention to it I must have zoned out for half the movie. It didn't get interesting until they started replicating cats. The plot didn't make much sense I felt like I was high or something and I haven't used drugs in years. Two horrible performing magic rivals who keep killing their stage hand girl friends with the same stupid trick, then one is trying to figure out the others secret while he is funding a scientific experiment that replicates and makes things disappear. Why would he even care about anything else. That was basically the highlight of the movie the sci fi element if I had something like that I would create a lot of romantic love slaves of anyone I wanted then disappear. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MaxS.Nov 27, 2006
The movie went on for way too long and the ending was entirely too jumbled up. It should have ended a lot sooner than it did. I was not endeared to any of the characters, however, the magic tricks shown were interesting and made it The movie went on for way too long and the ending was entirely too jumbled up. It should have ended a lot sooner than it did. I was not endeared to any of the characters, however, the magic tricks shown were interesting and made it entertaining enough. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
falc0nit3Jan 19, 2012
Easily one of the best movies i've ever watched. Very enrapturing and its got everything in it from drama, suspense, romance and outstanding performances. I've seen this movie numerous times and each time enjoy it! Definitely a must watch forEasily one of the best movies i've ever watched. Very enrapturing and its got everything in it from drama, suspense, romance and outstanding performances. I've seen this movie numerous times and each time enjoy it! Definitely a must watch for movie lovers! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ilJasserJun 14, 2013
Brilliant. Breathtaking. Epic.
Loved everything in the movie.. the plot, the characters and the cast, the direction, and the soundtrack !

One of my all-time top 10 movies
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Ali_MarashianMar 13, 2017
The thing about Nolan movies is that, they confuse you, and when you finally understand them, you suddenly realise it wasn't worth it. The plot just tries to look important, to look elagant, to look mysterious. Another thing about this movieThe thing about Nolan movies is that, they confuse you, and when you finally understand them, you suddenly realise it wasn't worth it. The plot just tries to look important, to look elagant, to look mysterious. Another thing about this movie is the endless score on the film, the characters are talking and music is playing, I mean I cant her them talking, stop the damn music. I dont know how people love this movie, they call it a masterwork, from Nolan, who I consider one of the most overrated film makers today. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
fadithebeastJan 19, 2017
Disappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess withDisappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess with not even half way through the movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
ammeooJan 20, 2017
This movie was an utter disappointment for me. The plots were not properly executed, there were many loopholes and the story was boring to be honest. The problem with these commercial films is that their whole purpose is to make money out ofThis movie was an utter disappointment for me. The plots were not properly executed, there were many loopholes and the story was boring to be honest. The problem with these commercial films is that their whole purpose is to make money out of amateur movie goers rather than make something that should critically make sense. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
DrekinnFeb 28, 2017
The only trickery portrayed in this movie is Nolan's misdirection of scraping the thinnest of mind-numbing plots over a tiring length of two hours. High profile actors with hokey British accents – as well as David Bowie seemingly channelingThe only trickery portrayed in this movie is Nolan's misdirection of scraping the thinnest of mind-numbing plots over a tiring length of two hours. High profile actors with hokey British accents – as well as David Bowie seemingly channeling Pierce Brosnan – aren't enough to disguise an embarrassingly tedious storyline: one that you wish, before even intermission, would simply vanish. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
theiboygeniusOct 27, 2006
To some of those who do not like The Prestige probably because they couldn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonH.Oct 30, 2006
The Prestige is a wonderful, mind-bending movie full of twists and turns and human faults and obessions. I love Nolan movies because they are always so twisting and turning and leave the audience never fully knowing what is going on when and The Prestige is a wonderful, mind-bending movie full of twists and turns and human faults and obessions. I love Nolan movies because they are always so twisting and turning and leave the audience never fully knowing what is going on when and where. I love the suspense of being challenged by a movie to figure out how the past and present scenes tangle together and fit just right. If you want an intellectually challenging movie, then The Prestige is for YOU! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ConorJan 10, 2007
As absorbing as it is abstruse, and all the better for it. In a cinema-world dominated by linear narratives, gross-out humour and feel-good animation, this is an intricate masterpiece of subtlety and surreality. The kind of movie that is As absorbing as it is abstruse, and all the better for it. In a cinema-world dominated by linear narratives, gross-out humour and feel-good animation, this is an intricate masterpiece of subtlety and surreality. The kind of movie that is experienced rather than watched, that maintains a commanding hold over the viewer rather than passively baring all in simplistic fashion. Couple this with an all-star cast that would have turned the worst script into good theatre, and we have one of the best movies of 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WillHackJul 2, 2008
Keeps you guessing the whole way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AdrianH.Oct 21, 2006
The movie has all the tools for a great movie and starts off by creating a fantastic and twisted story of rivalry and the lengths two men go to one-up each other. I was engrossed in the movie, sorting through all the deception and double The movie has all the tools for a great movie and starts off by creating a fantastic and twisted story of rivalry and the lengths two men go to one-up each other. I was engrossed in the movie, sorting through all the deception and double crossing and trying to sort out what was going to happen. But it's like halfway through the movie, the writers tried to get too clever for their own good and write in improbable and implausible twist after twist... culminating in the 'secret' to the final trick being so horribly out of place in the film I literally sat there shaking my head at the screen. Rather than create clever twist for a trick that is even performed by magicians everywhere today, they resorted to using some crazy science fiction elements. It's like they spent all the time setting it up only to cop out for the final revelation. By the time the movie wraps up all the loose ends and tells you how everything was done, you may just not care anymore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeM.Oct 21, 2006
Don't believe the San Francisco Chronicle review. They are always OFF !!! I think they don't want you to see all the great movies. This movie was great from beginning to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobbieM.Oct 20, 2006
I thought it was amazing, my heart was pounding throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WongitOct 22, 2006
Astonishing, very interesting has you hooked throught most of the movie, for me at least. Bale is a great actor as is Jackman and Johanson is as beautiful as ever. Great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanOct 23, 2006
Great movie, keeps your brain thinking and working!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshS.Oct 23, 2006
An excellent and engaging film. Brilliant acting all around and wonderful direction by Nolan. It's also one of the darkest movies I've seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RonGOct 26, 2006
Loved it, loved it, loved it! Nolan does it again and Bale and Jackman were amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradGOct 28, 2006
It was the best movie I've seen this year. I love good films, and this movie proves once again that many critics will bash a beautiful, thrilling film simply becasue it wasn't made on a shoestring budget by an obscure director. It was the best movie I've seen this year. I love good films, and this movie proves once again that many critics will bash a beautiful, thrilling film simply becasue it wasn't made on a shoestring budget by an obscure director. I'd love to back up that claim, but any in-depth discussion would ruin this film's flawless mechanics and twists. Go see it, it's one of the few movies worth the 10 dollars we have to fork out for a flick these days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeOct 30, 2006
Excellent movie. Great story and acting, it feels a little long at points, but doesn't take away from the enjoyment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattA.Jan 13, 2007
Nice try Conor, you're not fooling anyone. We all know you worked on that review for several hours. Also, your analysis is just stupid. This movie had one of the most ridiculous endings in recent film memory, and it was just too muddled Nice try Conor, you're not fooling anyone. We all know you worked on that review for several hours. Also, your analysis is just stupid. This movie had one of the most ridiculous endings in recent film memory, and it was just too muddled and overlong. Some nice performances though, especially by Bale and Rebecca Hall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Jan 5, 2007
Going into the theater for this movie, I was afraid I was going to be bored to death. However, just the opposite was true. My eyes became glued to the screen from the first minute and I never looked away. The pairing of Christian Bale and Going into the theater for this movie, I was afraid I was going to be bored to death. However, just the opposite was true. My eyes became glued to the screen from the first minute and I never looked away. The pairing of Christian Bale and Hugh Jackman was a stroke of genius. Speaking as a typical male, I really enjoyed Piper Perabo's scenes. Altogether, an incredible film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinV.Feb 10, 2007
This movie contains everything that could make it an instant classic. The Actors/actresses were chosen perfectly for their roles.. The movie itself feels like magic after watching it.. With every turn a new piece of the puzzle is thrown This movie contains everything that could make it an instant classic. The Actors/actresses were chosen perfectly for their roles.. The movie itself feels like magic after watching it.. With every turn a new piece of the puzzle is thrown together.. All for the giant picture in the end which will baffle even the smartest of people. This movie takes its place as #1 on my list, and i bet anyone that enjoys a little mystery and magic will agree.. 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanB.Mar 2, 2007
Really good entertainment. Really surprising at the end, too! Though not the very very end--the very last thing they show, which is supposed to be a surprise, confused me, because I figured it out about 5 to 15 minutes beforehand, and I Really good entertainment. Really surprising at the end, too! Though not the very very end--the very last thing they show, which is supposed to be a surprise, confused me, because I figured it out about 5 to 15 minutes beforehand, and I imagine many if not most people will have made the connection. Still, that's really just one off-note. (Oh, one other thing: David Bowie kicks arse. What fantastic casting.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NDApr 1, 2007
Worth seeing but a bit too long for my liking - started to guess what twists were coming as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichApr 3, 2007
Went to see this film with my twin brother who's an alcoholic. We both LOVED it! Great storyline and performance by each and every actor. Intelligent screenplay that'll keep you glued to the screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillAApr 19, 2008
This film is absolutely stunning and jaw dropping. Without no doubt Nolan truly does show his expertise in producing such a magnificent piece of work. Utterly, utterly amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaimeLavieApr 26, 2008
I usually don't vote, nor comment on movies. This time though, I have to : what is this about "science-fiction" ruining the movie or "hollow ending" ? Some critics obviously need to see the movie twice, maybe then they will understand I usually don't vote, nor comment on movies. This time though, I have to : what is this about "science-fiction" ruining the movie or "hollow ending" ? Some critics obviously need to see the movie twice, maybe then they will understand why it is called "the prestige". The whole movie is a delightful, most enjoyable magical trick. But as Cutter explains in the movie : "people don't see the truth because they don't want to". Congratulations ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RishiIJul 10, 2008
Was told by a friend to watch this movie, because he kept banging on about the plot twist. Well, it seems he was right. It is very good, the script is beautifully written and Bale is magnificent throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnJul 9, 2008
Very cool movie! The twists were amazing and had me remembering the film long after I'd seen it. There is great acting happening here. The world and characters are believable. All in all another great film by Nolan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AstridI.Nov 13, 2006
I did not regret watching this film at all. It was wondrous and intellectually stimulating: it succeeded in creating a thrilling, philosophical weave exploring human nature, science and what else but magic. Such films are rare. Some parts of I did not regret watching this film at all. It was wondrous and intellectually stimulating: it succeeded in creating a thrilling, philosophical weave exploring human nature, science and what else but magic. Such films are rare. Some parts of it did not have to be realistic for one to enjoy - the nature of a good story sometimes involves a bit of fable, genuine warmth and true depth at its very core. The Prestige simply delivers. Do not let the easy guesswork at the ending, or the length of the film, faze you. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EdA.Nov 14, 2006
This film is one of my favourite of the year. Really drew me in and rewarded my attention. Great acting all round in my opinion and is certainly unique.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LisaNov 4, 2006
Outstanding screenplay, pacing, acting, set decoration, costumes. One of the most engaging movies I've been to in a LONG time - you do have to pay attention, so if you're looking for brain candy, this ain't it. Glorious twists Outstanding screenplay, pacing, acting, set decoration, costumes. One of the most engaging movies I've been to in a LONG time - you do have to pay attention, so if you're looking for brain candy, this ain't it. Glorious twists and a drop-dead performance by David Bowie as the eccentric Tesla. Not to be missed for fans of Memento, Sixth Sense, and other movies that twist so hard at the end you fall out of your chair with WOW. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ArnoldD.Nov 5, 2006
No quest for prestige but an obsessional orientation born of an ultimate quest for power. The dynamic clear in that the intent , the quest for power, is born of the denial of death. The quest is clear, the movie , boring .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianB.Nov 5, 2006
Magic! This movie was pure magic that will trick you! I was still guessing when I walked out of the theatre. I "think" I may have figured it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LucyA.Dec 10, 2006
An excellent thriller (one of the best I've seen in years) and one of my favorite films of the year... The performances (especially Christian Bale's) are great and the screenplay is just brilliant. A must-see... definitely!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DrewF.Oct 21, 2006
Fantastic cast. Tremendous story. Great expose on the complexities of obsession. This shoots to the top of my list for best movies of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AllistairP.Oct 20, 2006
The type of movie you don't regret going to, yet don't exactly even remember a month later. A disappointment coming off "Batman Begins", in my eyes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerW.Oct 21, 2006
I thought this movie very well done. so much it still blows my mind everytime i think about it. I'm a huge movie goer and even started to write reviews, but Prestige is the best movie that i have seen in a long time!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EnderW.Oct 20, 2006
The best movie I have seen in a very long time. It will make you think... and continue to think long after you leave the theater. The movie itself follows the formula outlined in the trailer... It makes a pledge and shows you what should be The best movie I have seen in a very long time. It will make you think... and continue to think long after you leave the theater. The movie itself follows the formula outlined in the trailer... It makes a pledge and shows you what should be "normal", it has a turn... or maybe a handful of turns as it leads you down its path... and finally we come to the prestige. You may begin to feel disappointment if you believe you figured out part of the trick before it's done, and when a certain element or elements are revealed you may hear that inner "I knew it!" but do me a favor an delve beneath the surface. This story is more about motivations and points of view than mere mechanics. And what you knew or thought you knew maybe viewed quite differently a few hours after seeing this excellent film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevG.Oct 21, 2006
Thus far the year's best film (The Departed hasnt arrived in my country yet so I dont know). Great acting, great plot, great twists, although I saw the major twists a few moments before they were revealed, it was still an awesome film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcD.Oct 22, 2006
Christian Bale is brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArenB.Dec 20, 2006
This film is truly a magic trick in itself. It dazzles, confuses and entertains the audience all at the same time. With great directing from Christopher Nolan and amazing acting from the entire cast, this film transcends what it should have This film is truly a magic trick in itself. It dazzles, confuses and entertains the audience all at the same time. With great directing from Christopher Nolan and amazing acting from the entire cast, this film transcends what it should have been and is something much better. Bravo Nolan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
M.M.Oct 22, 2006
I felt it was a 'nice' movie. Shot and acted well but nothing in the plot or story to really get excited about or have any 'wow' moments. Average. I enjoyed 'The Illusionist' a lot more. Eh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RTOct 22, 2006
Darkly intriguing. I believe once you discover the twists and turns, you may wish to see it a 2nd time to catch all of the hints throughout the movie. Wonderful acting with moody and melencholy scenary and tones throughout - and all within Darkly intriguing. I believe once you discover the twists and turns, you may wish to see it a 2nd time to catch all of the hints throughout the movie. Wonderful acting with moody and melencholy scenary and tones throughout - and all within the context of a period piece. I highly recommend the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AaronSOct 23, 2006
Immensely entertaining, a smart, complex and surprisingly dark thriller. Bale and Jackman are terrific and David Bowie is sensational in a surprising cameo. The ending is a bit of a cheat, but the first 2/3 of the film are so wonderful I Immensely entertaining, a smart, complex and surprisingly dark thriller. Bale and Jackman are terrific and David Bowie is sensational in a surprising cameo. The ending is a bit of a cheat, but the first 2/3 of the film are so wonderful I could overlook it. A fun film that misses being great by that much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EnriqueGOct 23, 2006
Just perfect. Almost a masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AiJOct 24, 2006
Let me start off by saying that Chris Nolan is a very skilled director who handles cinematic structure better than most directors around today. I am a great admirer of Memento and Batman Begins and Christian Bale and Hugh Jackman give good Let me start off by saying that Chris Nolan is a very skilled director who handles cinematic structure better than most directors around today. I am a great admirer of Memento and Batman Begins and Christian Bale and Hugh Jackman give good performances in this picture. Now if anyone at the beginning of a movie says, "Are you watching closely" as they pan the camera across hundreds of top hats on the ground in the woods, then You Watch Closely! Once I saw the hats again, I had figured out that [***SPOILERS***] Danton was duplicating himself and that Borden did not kill him, but killed his reasonable facsimile. Also, when we see Fallon, Borden's engineer and right hand man, we know that he's obviously, Christian Bale in make up, false hair and glasses. This is the problem with Hollywood filmmaking: audiences are so used to seeing characters in medium shots and close-ups that we start to wonder why a character isn't shot that way and it sends up a red flag. Also, I had to wonder why Fallon was the exact same height as Borden when Michael Caine's character says that Borden is using a double to perform the transporting man illusion. Now, at this point, the conclusion-- or the "prestige" of the transporting man trick and the film itself-- seems rather obvious. I'm not the most intelligent man but I've seen a few films and when the solution to a mystery is so obvious, we all have to wonder, "How it is really going to end?" Or we think, "That ending is so simple, it can't be the true, so I'll go along for the ride". The Prestige manages to reveal the ending halfway through the movie and has no "twist" to make anyone feel that the last hour and 30 minutes was worth sitting through! This movie was "Secret Window" all over again except with better direction. And why didn't they cast Piper Perabo in Scarlett Johansson's role? When are we going to get a non-wooden performance from Scarlett? Is it because she is the cause for so much wood from the men in the audience? Sure she's great to look at but come on! Someone should punch her in the face already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillySOct 24, 2006
A knock-your-socks-off great movie! Every frame of this film oozes quality. Can't wait to see it again to pick up all the clues I should have seen coming but was too mesmerized to know they were clues! An outstanding story, great acting A knock-your-socks-off great movie! Every frame of this film oozes quality. Can't wait to see it again to pick up all the clues I should have seen coming but was too mesmerized to know they were clues! An outstanding story, great acting from the entire cast and a brilliant return for David Bowie. The Prestige is a top 10 film but don't wear socks when you go see it!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TyeN.Oct 24, 2006
Wickedly dark, clever, well paced, directed, written, and acted. What more could you ask for? Seriously, the best film of 2006 since V For Vendetta. Christian Bale is Oscar worthy, and so is Hugh Jackman and Michael Caine. Amazing Wickedly dark, clever, well paced, directed, written, and acted. What more could you ask for? Seriously, the best film of 2006 since V For Vendetta. Christian Bale is Oscar worthy, and so is Hugh Jackman and Michael Caine. Amazing film...please witness it for yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KishaG.Oct 25, 2006
The way Nolan structures this film is the real magic. Multiple viewings are mandatory to see things you missed the first time and for affirmations of what you think are the facts. Delve deeper in some scenes and all is not what is seems The way Nolan structures this film is the real magic. Multiple viewings are mandatory to see things you missed the first time and for affirmations of what you think are the facts. Delve deeper in some scenes and all is not what is seems .Some of the critics reviews complain that there is rooting interest for the audience you really don't care for either character. I totally disagree with that I found myself rooting for and against Angier (Jackman) and Borden (Bale ) at various times throughout . This movie is one of my favorites of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
HalBOct 25, 2006
A fundamentally flawed movie that gives away the ending -- if you're paying attention -- a good 25 minutes before the climax. Hence, an anti-climactic ending of that kind of spoiled the movie for me. Performances are all solid, but the A fundamentally flawed movie that gives away the ending -- if you're paying attention -- a good 25 minutes before the climax. Hence, an anti-climactic ending of that kind of spoiled the movie for me. Performances are all solid, but the main characters are difficult to root for given their unmitigated ambition/deceit. Scarlett Johansson is sexy and beguiling, but in a somewhat wasted role. David Bowie as Tesla is interesting. Andy Serkis (aka Golum) delivers a nice little performance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyB.Dec 6, 2006
This movie twists and turns and even though I found it rather long, I found the ride and the ending of it very satisfying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricROct 26, 2006
Good evening readers, it is not every day I feel so inclined to sit down and type out a movie review, but after seeing The Prestige today I simply cannot resist the temptation to share with everyone how great of a movie this is. The film is Good evening readers, it is not every day I feel so inclined to sit down and type out a movie review, but after seeing The Prestige today I simply cannot resist the temptation to share with everyone how great of a movie this is. The film is truly a fantastic story of two men's obsession and how their obsessions come to destroy one another. It all begins with a magic trick gone horribly wrong and elevates into trickery and showmanship to the Nth degree. The film makes perfect use of the magician Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
luisgOct 27, 2006
You can only fool your audience a few times before they become restless...great performances...entertained but dissapointed at the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BrettKOct 28, 2006
Too long and too predictable. They give away the ending long before the movie is over. Thus, you have to sit and watch over a half an hour of pointless dialogue and plot "twists" for nothing, as it's already been made obvious how the Too long and too predictable. They give away the ending long before the movie is over. Thus, you have to sit and watch over a half an hour of pointless dialogue and plot "twists" for nothing, as it's already been made obvious how the movie will end. Both of the magicians are horrible people, so who cares who wins or loses, lives or dies. A disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicolaeG.Feb 15, 2007
Lemme Check... I love how the entire movie straight from the very begining led to the twist at the end, loved the acting and thought it was much more intrguing than The Illusionist not to mention it recieved an Oscar nod for Achievement in Lemme Check... I love how the entire movie straight from the very begining led to the twist at the end, loved the acting and thought it was much more intrguing than The Illusionist not to mention it recieved an Oscar nod for Achievement in Art Direction and Achievement in Cinematography. I'd have to say it was MY favorite movie of 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChazG.Feb 22, 2007
This film has all of the elements which make a great film. An in depth description of the characters lives and contrasts are effectivly delivered. Absolutly original with a stunning reality found in the end. To all of you appreciate quality This film has all of the elements which make a great film. An in depth description of the characters lives and contrasts are effectivly delivered. Absolutly original with a stunning reality found in the end. To all of you appreciate quality film. A great drama with a dash of science fiction. This is a must see/buy. Enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveK.Feb 22, 2007
I was genuinely entertained and gripped, which is good enough for a 7 for me, but I'm still really confused about one thing [***SPOILERS***].. So the trick with Christian Bale's character was fairly predictable, at least for me... I was genuinely entertained and gripped, which is good enough for a 7 for me, but I'm still really confused about one thing [***SPOILERS***].. So the trick with Christian Bale's character was fairly predictable, at least for me... Hugh Jackman's character's "trick" on the other hand, I just don't get it... is it really that stupid that he just xeroxed himself or am I missing something here? Maybe all the people giving this movie 10's get it, and I don't. I kinda am not fond of the whole "it's magic, we're not going to tell you everything" endings of The Illusionist and The Prestige.... that has become code for me that you couldn't come up with something ingenious, so you're going to just cop-out on us, because magicians don't reveal their secrets.... That's lame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JamesW.Mar 4, 2007
Pros: Outstanding cast and acting, superb sets and costumes, historic verisimilitude. Cons: Confusing flashbacks, uneven timeline, thick British accents, lack of likable characters. I'm not sure I'm glad I saw it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PhilH.Apr 13, 2007
Near-perfect performances by a near-perfect cast, a highly original and compelling story, a marvellously entertaining thriller. For its genre, one of the best ever. We are informed mid-film that Jackman is playing two roles but he does so Near-perfect performances by a near-perfect cast, a highly original and compelling story, a marvellously entertaining thriller. For its genre, one of the best ever. We are informed mid-film that Jackman is playing two roles but he does so with such skill he appears to be two different actors; when we discover at the climax that Bale has done the same, it is even more remarkable. And on top of all of it, the film is constantly a metaphor for itself. Bravo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaleM.Apr 15, 2007
The story is told in a more confusing manner that needs be. The science fiction element basically ruins the movie. If a scientist could create a machine like this, he really wouldn't be looking for someone to finance him. He could The story is told in a more confusing manner that needs be. The science fiction element basically ruins the movie. If a scientist could create a machine like this, he really wouldn't be looking for someone to finance him. He could create all the gold and money he wanted and bought out his arch-rival Thomas Edison. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ObsceneM.May 13, 2007
I found this flim brilliant, I'm surprised at some of the negative reviews it's recieved. Pay attention to a beginning scene where both magicians are analyzing another act: a "chinaman" whose real trick, Christian Bale's I found this flim brilliant, I'm surprised at some of the negative reviews it's recieved. Pay attention to a beginning scene where both magicians are analyzing another act: a "chinaman" whose real trick, Christian Bale's character informs, is his total devotion to his craft. This is the metaphor for the entire film and it plays out without any loose ends whatsoever. The two characters are mirrors of themselves at certain times in their life, which explains the confusing timeline and is also why the ending is superb and ties everything together. It isn't a "trick" ending as some people seem to think it is. I usually don't say this, but anybody that doesn't like this flim simply didn't understand it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickA.Jun 29, 2007
Christopher Nolan has been on the brink of penetrating Hollywood
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesL.Sep 1, 2008
I do not write this review to suggest this film is the most glorious piece of art I have ever seen, I merely write it to suggest that Ebert is a fraud. How dare he receive the "Pulitzer Prize" when a myriad of writers (many of whom write I do not write this review to suggest this film is the most glorious piece of art I have ever seen, I merely write it to suggest that Ebert is a fraud. How dare he receive the "Pulitzer Prize" when a myriad of writers (many of whom write reviews on movies, music, and literature) are unquestionably more equipped than he is. He is verbal troglodyte whose negative comments cloud any semblance of fair judgment on the majority of films he reviews -- nay, anything he writes. He merely posits his myopic views (as fact) without considering that he may, if God may allow it, be foolhardy in his conclusions. Without having a degree of 'prestige' when it comes to describing the plot, characterization, and tone of the film -- Ebert manages to undermine an astronomical cache of film techniques that 'The Prestige' tastefully (yet impressively) offers with restraint -- nay -- poise. He disgusts me and should be shot, tarred, and feathered in a public arena so those who have suffered by his negligence can reap the reward of a fair trial. Ebert, please challenge me so I may show you to be the lesser of two minds and ascend to the glory of your misappropriated job. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BertR.Nov 11, 2006
Very good, entertaining and frequently suspensful movie. Held my attention through every minute. Very good acting as usual by Bale, Jackman and Caine. Although I guessed (anticipated) some twists, the one right up to the last moment, I had Very good, entertaining and frequently suspensful movie. Held my attention through every minute. Very good acting as usual by Bale, Jackman and Caine. Although I guessed (anticipated) some twists, the one right up to the last moment, I had not realized, until I remembered that this movie also contained "science fiction" and required further suspension of disbelief. Worth talking about afterward. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyNov 18, 2006
This is the best kept secret of the year. The film is outstanding with an all star cast that feed off each other tremendously. The twists and turns keep the viewer on the edge of his seat. Don't miss this flick as it may turn out to be This is the best kept secret of the year. The film is outstanding with an all star cast that feed off each other tremendously. The twists and turns keep the viewer on the edge of his seat. Don't miss this flick as it may turn out to be the most ENTERTAINING film of the year. Go see and enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
T.RobertH.Nov 19, 2006
Directing and acting along with portraying the turn of the century scenery is first rate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MacLuvsRobNov 19, 2006
Just a few too many smoke and mirrors in a movie about smoke and mirrors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SamanthaNov 4, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] "The Prestige" is off to an excellant start, filling the audience with anticipation for a compelling, mind-boggling jigsaw puzzle of a movie. In the beginning, the viewer cares about the two rivals, feeling pity for the grief[***SPOILERS***] "The Prestige" is off to an excellant start, filling the audience with anticipation for a compelling, mind-boggling jigsaw puzzle of a movie. In the beginning, the viewer cares about the two rivals, feeling pity for the grief and guilt they must be experiencing, after a standard magic trick goes horribly awry. The movie then heads in a downward spiral, as the viewer starts to care less and less about the main characters and plot points become implausible. ( It may be Angier's and Borden's profession to use simple diversions to fool their audiences, but they managed to get fooled by fake beards numerous times.) The two men become merciless in their obsession with one another, and it becomes dark, twisted and tiring. The climax of the movie reveals an interesting twist, and loose ends are tied up nicely, yet the movie does not feel concluded. It is as if the movie cannot decide whether the ending should be uplifting or macabre, although it accomplishes macabre. To sum up: it's a film worth watching, but expect some disappointments. And SPOILER WARNING: to those who have seen the film: are you wondering what Angier did with all those corpses he must have had from the transporter trick done at the end? Because I am. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PownyBrownOct 15, 2006
Very entertaining! Dark fun!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickOct 16, 2006
A truly fantastic, involving, surprising movie -- and that surprising bit had got nothing to do with the twists at the end.... Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful