Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: October 20, 2006
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 961 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
897
Mixed:
47
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
emirbudDec 8, 2013
I am outraged that this movie received a single, let alone 447 positive reviews. I cannot use foul language here, as much as I feel the urge, so I will just say this: shame on all of those who gave this movie a positive review, regardless ofI am outraged that this movie received a single, let alone 447 positive reviews. I cannot use foul language here, as much as I feel the urge, so I will just say this: shame on all of those who gave this movie a positive review, regardless of whether they did it because they are stupid or just because they are liars. I can't afford to waste two hours like this anymore, and I would like a warning before I see a dumb plotted, predictable piece of excrement like this one here. Who could have imagined that one guy had a twin brother, and that true magic would come about produced by none other than Nikola Tesla?! And the lead characters' motives, ridiculous. At first he hates him because he caused his wife's death, but then he couldn't care less any more about his wife, he just wants to ruin his act and steal his lousy tricks. The other guy reciprocates wholeheartedly. If you wondering who he is and who the other he is, you weren't paying attention. It's completely unimportant. Who cares. It just an awful, awful, aaaawful movie. If you haven't seen it, I envy you. Stay away!!! Expand
2 of 14 users found this helpful212
All this user's reviews
3
BillRNov 23, 2008
Dissappointing. This film had some great elements that could have lead to a fantastic film, but it falls flat. The "tadaa" moment is explained away with some ridiculous science fiction. If the true "Secret" of the big trick is some sort of Dissappointing. This film had some great elements that could have lead to a fantastic film, but it falls flat. The "tadaa" moment is explained away with some ridiculous science fiction. If the true "Secret" of the big trick is some sort of science fiction mumbo jumbo, then why does the film try to be true at all to the art and skill of the magicians up to that point? If you are going to allow sci-fi fantasy to come in at the end, then what is the point of the rest of the "how does it work?" plot elements. The film cheats on the very craft it touts to be about.... Aweful. Expand
1 of 12 users found this helpful
3
PaulM.Nov 10, 2006
A cold film full of tricks not real characters. The twists (especially the main one) visible a mile off. A trite ending concluded a disappointing piece.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
mbDec 30, 2006
Ultimately bleak and depressing.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
AlexB.Oct 21, 2006
Boring, predictable, terrible characters, slow, pointless. How could ANYONE like this pile?
0 of 4 users found this helpful
2
GaborA.Oct 22, 2006
Atrocious. Nolan is wading in Shyamalan territory with his dissapointing new release. Apart from an uninvolving and senseless plot its just a terrible script. There's probably 4 real scenes in this movie and then hundreds of montages, Atrocious. Nolan is wading in Shyamalan territory with his dissapointing new release. Apart from an uninvolving and senseless plot its just a terrible script. There's probably 4 real scenes in this movie and then hundreds of montages, flashbacks, series of shots, and just general cuts all over the place. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
fadithebeastJan 19, 2017
Disappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess withDisappointed by the movie. Was expecting much much more. The movie could have been good but there were so many problems with the plots and the overall direction of the movie. The overall execution was terrible and it was a boring mess with not even half way through the movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
ammeooJan 20, 2017
This movie was an utter disappointment for me. The plots were not properly executed, there were many loopholes and the story was boring to be honest. The problem with these commercial films is that their whole purpose is to make money out ofThis movie was an utter disappointment for me. The plots were not properly executed, there were many loopholes and the story was boring to be honest. The problem with these commercial films is that their whole purpose is to make money out of amateur movie goers rather than make something that should critically make sense. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews