The Prince and Me

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 31
  2. Negative: 4 out of 31

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. DebC.
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    This movie is great i went to see with my sis she didnt like it much but she did like the fact it was in prague well i thought was superb and can't wait to buy it.
  2. ArianeO.
    Jul 19, 2004
    9
    While the movie was pleasant, I didn't gain an appreciation for it until the last two scenes because Paige didn't sell out on her dreams: it's a movie that I would watch with my friends, my little cousins, and my mom. Although I wouldn't watch this movie with guys, in 2004, it's hard for me to find a movie that I actually like that I can say has the viewer While the movie was pleasant, I didn't gain an appreciation for it until the last two scenes because Paige didn't sell out on her dreams: it's a movie that I would watch with my friends, my little cousins, and my mom. Although I wouldn't watch this movie with guys, in 2004, it's hard for me to find a movie that I actually like that I can say has the viewer versatility (i.e. able to watch with mom, pals) that this movie has. Expand
  3. Aly
    Nov 20, 2004
    1
    This movie was horrible! The only digestible part was the proposal-- clever to hide the ring under a butterfly. Other than that 2-second moment, the movie is trash! Whoever decided to cast Julia Stiles must have been playing a cruel joke on those of us willing to suffer through the seemingly endless, desert-dry, juvenile dialogue. The movie was predictable, moved too slowly, and had a This movie was horrible! The only digestible part was the proposal-- clever to hide the ring under a butterfly. Other than that 2-second moment, the movie is trash! Whoever decided to cast Julia Stiles must have been playing a cruel joke on those of us willing to suffer through the seemingly endless, desert-dry, juvenile dialogue. The movie was predictable, moved too slowly, and had a ridiculously under-developed, and often unnecessary support cast. Seeing this movie at no cost was still too much for me. I don't think I smiled until the credits rolled. TWO THUMBS WAY DOWN!!! Expand
  4. NessaP.
    Aug 31, 2004
    10
    Beautiful, harmless movie, Miranda Richardson was great in her role.
  5. PrestonB.
    Apr 1, 2004
    10
    It was great! Fun, funny and good characters. Very romantic.
  6. MarcK.
    Apr 1, 2004
    5
    Pleasant and inoffensive. Actually had a few plot twists that veered away from complete cliche. But there is very little chemistry between Paige and the Prince. You know how obvious their lack of chemistry is when Paige's Mom has to TELL Paige (and ergo, the audience), that she has great chemistry with the prince.
  7. JillS.
    May 20, 2004
    10
    I Loved It !!! Def. A Must SEE ~!~
  8. LaurenO.
    Jun 24, 2004
    10
    I absolutely love Julia Stiles in this movie. She's amazing.
  9. ChadS.
    Jun 7, 2004
    6
    Mom (Alberta Watson) is watching her two sons race lawnmowers. She should be encouraging Paige (Julia Stiles) to follow her dream, rather than her heart, in "The Prince and Me", an alarmingly reactionary film, that encourages the audience to cheer on subservience. Paige comes around, but it's handled clumsily. In one scene, she's trying on the family jewels, and in another, she Mom (Alberta Watson) is watching her two sons race lawnmowers. She should be encouraging Paige (Julia Stiles) to follow her dream, rather than her heart, in "The Prince and Me", an alarmingly reactionary film, that encourages the audience to cheer on subservience. Paige comes around, but it's handled clumsily. In one scene, she's trying on the family jewels, and in another, she looks at a globe and remembers the sick children of the third world. The film forgets to emphasize the paparazzi as the major reason to decline a queen-ship. But "The Prince and Me" is intermittently delightful, because Julia Stiles looks like she's from the midwest, looks like she belongs in college, and looks like she could be the queen of Denmark. Expand
  10. CaseyP.
    Jul 28, 2004
    10
    I loved the movie cant wait til' it comes out on video.
  11. Jessica
    Jan 16, 2005
    0
    Quite possibly the worst movie I have ever seen. I'm 14 and probably most people on here who gave it 10s are around that age but what I wonder is what were they THINKING?! There are a lot of chick flicks I like, but this sure wasn't one of them! Don't waste you're time or money!
  12. Ginny
    May 22, 2006
    0
    Aside from being the most atrocious two hours I have ever wasted on a romantic comedy, this movie was entirely an offense to Denmark. Not only were all of the Danish characters played by British actors (who did little to alter their accents), but nearly every detail of the Danish scenes was horribly askew. I know it's just a silly romantic comedy (though one of the worst of the Aside from being the most atrocious two hours I have ever wasted on a romantic comedy, this movie was entirely an offense to Denmark. Not only were all of the Danish characters played by British actors (who did little to alter their accents), but nearly every detail of the Danish scenes was horribly askew. I know it's just a silly romantic comedy (though one of the worst of the already redundant, but sometimes enjoyable, genre), but that is no excuse for arbitrarily picking a Scandinavian country that has retained its monarchy and pretending that it is England. The critics were much too nice to this abominable film with revolting, stilted acting, a contrived plot, and abundant falllacy. Expand
  13. Melissa
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    Forget the stuffy professional reviewers, they don't know good films when they jump into their popcorn boxes. I have watched this movie over and over again. I am a sucker for romantic films and this is a perfect one. While I do agree that the whole butterfly bit is a littly silly, once you get past it, you can just fall into the movie--getting lost in the inspiration and romance. Forget the stuffy professional reviewers, they don't know good films when they jump into their popcorn boxes. I have watched this movie over and over again. I am a sucker for romantic films and this is a perfect one. While I do agree that the whole butterfly bit is a littly silly, once you get past it, you can just fall into the movie--getting lost in the inspiration and romance. Plus, the lead actor is easy on the eyes. Trust me, if you are hopeless romantic, you will like this one. Expand
  14. JohannaS.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Its the best movie ive ever watched!!! i love the prince and paige... they're really look good together! hope they will make a movie again together!!!!
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 31
  2. Negative: 6 out of 31
  1. An unremarkable romantic comedy that gives short shrift to both romance and comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    40
    Totally cliched and nearly two hours long, pic takes forever to get to hopelessly obvious places.
  3. 30
    Few actresses exude restless intelligence as effortlessly as Stiles, which is fortunate, since Martha Coolidge's film relies on that forceful charisma to make it past awful dialogue, contrived situations, and hokey use of Disney-style butterflies.