Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: November 25, 2009
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 170 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
118
Mixed:
40
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
M.D.Nov 26, 2009
It's not easy being green. But to judge from how this hand-drawn movie addresses, or rather strenuously avoids, race, it is a lot more difficult to be black.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristyJ.Nov 26, 2009
Finally, a memorable movie from Disney that we haven't seen in years. Definitely up there with "Aladdin" and "The Little Mermaid". It's no, "Beauty and the Beast", but certainly an instant classic. The characters are so Finally, a memorable movie from Disney that we haven't seen in years. Definitely up there with "Aladdin" and "The Little Mermaid". It's no, "Beauty and the Beast", but certainly an instant classic. The characters are so well-developed, the relationships are strong, Tiana and Naveen have great chemistry, the music is surprisingly pleasant, and everything follows. This movie is this generation's versions of "The Little Mermaid", instantly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LarryS.Dec 13, 2009
This movie was nothing short of the traditionally-animated moviesfrom the 90's Disney Renaissance. Every single minute of the film was laced with nostalgia that carefully crafted the movie's own right of being an instant classic. This movie was nothing short of the traditionally-animated moviesfrom the 90's Disney Renaissance. Every single minute of the film was laced with nostalgia that carefully crafted the movie's own right of being an instant classic. Viewers will unexpectedly find the villian more grim than what he was advertised as and will also find the movie a lot more heart-warming and sad than just a cheap animated comedy. Overall, this movie will impress audiences with high or low expectations. It is a ticket for adults to travel back in time to their childhood and an opportunity for the new generation of youngsters to get a taste of Disney when they were at their best. "The Princess and the Frog" deserves 10, if not more, out of 10 stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JudyT.Dec 14, 2009
Not one memorable song. Too bad for a Disney Movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DemetryADec 17, 2009
It was dazzling and it can become a classic like the lion king.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
lizDec 19, 2009
I thought this movie was adorable! If you're a fan of the princess movies then you'll enjoy this one and of course i recommend it to anyone who has a little girl. The music was great, the singing by Anika noni-rose was great, and I thought this movie was adorable! If you're a fan of the princess movies then you'll enjoy this one and of course i recommend it to anyone who has a little girl. The music was great, the singing by Anika noni-rose was great, and the characters were great. I didn't find any of the characters annoying which is often the case with me in animated movies. There was an incident towards the end that definitely made me cry, and I don't usually shed any tears at any of these movies! At least not anymore as an adult! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LindaCDec 22, 2009
Just marvelous story no matter what the ethnicity of the characters were. The first 10 minutes were sloppy, thereafter is just heavenly!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
smijatovMar 25, 2011
For what it is (a typical, old-school Disney cartoon), it is not that bad. However, Disney films are not just intended for children - or are they? Even worse so if they are. They feed into misconceptions ideas about life and love, making ourFor what it is (a typical, old-school Disney cartoon), it is not that bad. However, Disney films are not just intended for children - or are they? Even worse so if they are. They feed into misconceptions ideas about life and love, making our children believe in the fairytale love story. Yes, that might be nice when you are a kid, but it is rather misleading. For crying out loud, what this film comes down to is that if you find true love you will live happily-ever-after. Granted, most animated films are like that (even Pixar's to an extent), but they usually have some sort of important message ingrained in the storyline or the dialogue. Princess and the Frog does not have that, at all. That all being said, it does have some very nice, "classic Disney" animation, which is really nice to see again, and has a very good score with cute songs that work rather well. It is not an instant classic, that is for sure, but with fewer and fewer "classic animated" films coming out, I am sure it will join the ranks of "Anastasia" and "Mulan" but is far away from the glory that "Beauty and the Beast," "Aladdin" or "The Lion King" are. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RyanGeeSep 28, 2010
The previews of The Princess of The Frog indirectly promised a second coming of their famous two-dimensional musicals; Movies such as Lion King or Aladdin, that have been cherished in the hearts of adults and children alike. With thisThe previews of The Princess of The Frog indirectly promised a second coming of their famous two-dimensional musicals; Movies such as Lion King or Aladdin, that have been cherished in the hearts of adults and children alike. With this promise, Princess had big shoes to fill. But unfortunately, Disney's newest film is wearing a size too small, and those shoes aren't comfortable at all.

This altered story of the The Frog Prince is a film that tries way too hard to be like its predecessors. From the cliche moments, to the happily-ever-after ending (SPOILER), it's exactly like the old Disney animated movies. While these elements aren't necessarily bad, the movie just doesn't execute them well. The characters do not connect to the audience at all, there is no emotional-reality to them in any way whatsoever. In addition, the story and the plot are way too weak to be considered a "childhood" classic. The only aspect that I believe the movie excels in is the Disney soundtrack that fits well into this "magical kingdom." But even this redeeming aspect is flawed due to the excess of songs that the movie spurs out. In the end, its slow pace and lack of humor are just too hard to overlook.

Although I can be considered too old to watch animated movies and appreciate them, I find that to the contrary. Movies like Up and Ratatouille possess the ability to inspire all ages, no matter the target audience. But Princess And The Frog fails to do so; With the flat characters and a plot that leaves me to question, "Is it over yet?"
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Oct 24, 2010
this is excellent! great voice acting, great writing, great animation, great everything!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RitikaSJan 31, 2011
Disney has done it again! 90 minutes of true inspiration. A story about a strong young lady, Tiana (Anika Noni Rose) who wants to open a resturant, in her father's memory. However as fate has it, when Tiana meets Prince Naveen (Bruno Campos),Disney has done it again! 90 minutes of true inspiration. A story about a strong young lady, Tiana (Anika Noni Rose) who wants to open a resturant, in her father's memory. However as fate has it, when Tiana meets Prince Naveen (Bruno Campos), 'duped' and turned into a frog by the evil Dr Facilier (Keith David), she kisses him, thinking that he would turn Naveen human again. However, she turns into a frog herself. Now setting off to see Mama Odie (Jenifer Lewis), to make them human again, with their friends Ray (Jim Cummings) and Louis (Michael-Leon Wooley), the audience discovers along with Naveen and Tiana, that what you want, isn't exactly what you need... you just have to look deeper.

A absolute wonderful film, which the family can sit down and watch over and over again. As with any other Disney film, 'The Princess and the Frog' focuses on the theme of not giving up and finding true love. This gives today's youth a positive message of 'when the going gets tough, the tough gets going', as shown by the Fenner brothers, when they reject Tiana's payment for her resturant. In my opinion, I think that the directers, Ron Clements and John Musker has taken inspiration from their past films like 'The Little Mermaid' and 'The Lion King' which they have incoparated into the film. For example, the scene in which Ray sings 'Evangeline' seems inspired by the scene in 'The Little Mermaid' when Sebastian sings 'Kiss the Girl'. I thought that this was very clever and I must say, Musker and Clements shot it beautifully. Set in 1912, New Orleans it can be seen that the crew of the film have definately done their research and they show what life was like during that time wonderfully. I think everyone, old and young will definately enjoy this film, as the songs and storyline are so gripping that you can just forget everything happening in your life, whether good or bad and experience Naveen and Tiana's journey.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RogerSmith97Apr 24, 2011
Overall This Movie Is Not The Worst Or The Best.. I Would Have Liked To See More Classic Stuff In This, But You Cant Please Everyone... The Voices Were Meh... Great Writing That Makes Up For The Voices... Overall It's A 6..
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
aaronpaul121May 25, 2012
I'm glad that Disney brought back its classic flare from classic fairytale stories. It's definitely a good movie but not as good as those classics in the 30's and the 40's...........
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HalfwelshmanFeb 26, 2012
The Princess and the Frog represents Disney's return to form, and to their natural home territory of traditional animation. It's a rich, heartfelt and involving story of a girl with a dream, and the journey she has to undertake to get there.The Princess and the Frog represents Disney's return to form, and to their natural home territory of traditional animation. It's a rich, heartfelt and involving story of a girl with a dream, and the journey she has to undertake to get there. The setting of 1920s New Orleans is lovingly and beautifully re-created by animators, and Randy Newman's wonderful Jazz and Blues heavy score adds further depth to the film. The voice cast are incredibly strong, with Anika Noni Rose making our protagonist Tiana, a poor waitress with big dreams, very easy to connect with and relate to (and she has a great singing voice). Bruno Campos' amphibian Prince Naveen, Michael-Leon Wolley's Louis Armstrong-inspired Louis the jazz-loving alligator, Jim Cummings' Cajun firefly Ray, Jenifer Lewis' bonkers blind shaman Mama Odie and Keith David's voodoo villain Dr Facilier all impress, and complete a very weird and wonderful cast of characters. The animation is great, the songs are great and the characters and story are also great. The only thing that lets The Princess and the Frog down is something beyond its control - the press coverage (both positive and negative) that the film received for having "Disney's first black princess". I really think too much was made of this - I don't remember the press picking up on Pocahontas being "Disney's first Native American princess" or Mulan being "Disney's first Chinese princess". Disney generally choose characters appropriate for the story being told, and it's the same case here - of course a story set in city like New Orleans, that African American culture is so much part of, is going to have a black princess. I personally feel anyone reading too far into why Disney now finally has a black princess (or taking offence at the film being set in New Orleans so soon after Hurricane Katrina) is taking the film a little too seriously. The film doesn't really make any sort of comment on race, or the state of the world, and never aims to - it's an animated family film, and only aims to take its viewers on an amazing journey. Hopefully you'll be able to recognise that The Princess and the Frog isn't some sort of veiled racial propaganda or some malicious tool of offence, but simply Disney proving that it's still the very best at what it does. The story is well-told, acting and singing top-notch, animation flawless and beautiful and the score truly evocative of the state of Louisiana. It's a fine animated film that'll bring joy to all but the most hardened and confrontational of hearts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Potter17Dec 24, 2011
On its first act, the film is effervescent mostly due to its powerful music, but "The Princess and the Frog" starts to sound much more interesting on its second act, as Tiana and Naveen's chemistry turns the story into a heart-warming,On its first act, the film is effervescent mostly due to its powerful music, but "The Princess and the Frog" starts to sound much more interesting on its second act, as Tiana and Naveen's chemistry turns the story into a heart-warming, satisfying experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellMay 26, 2012
Its not the best princess themed Disney film, but what you have here is a witty and colorful animated film with some heartfelt characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LandFApr 19, 2012
I firmly believe that "The Princess and the Frog" is one of the best non-pixar animated film ever to be created. There has never been a better argument for the revival of traditional animated films. "The Princess and the Frog," follows of theI firmly believe that "The Princess and the Frog" is one of the best non-pixar animated film ever to be created. There has never been a better argument for the revival of traditional animated films. "The Princess and the Frog," follows of the story of Tiana, a young woman who dreamed of opening her own resteraunt since she was a child. She's so close to her dream, when she gets outbid for the building she wants, and worse; turns into a frog due to a voodoo spell. Tiana and the spoiled Prince Navine must find a way to turn back into a human. This film is visually enchanting, with gorgeous 2D animation that even rivals modern day CGI. One particularly dazzling scene, is during Dr. Facilier's song, "Friends on the Other Side," a vibrant colored, and elaborate musical number that will win the audience's attention with ease. So, there are lots of songs, as I should probably mention. Some worse than others, but there's nothing terrible. They range from mediocre, and even incredible. Randy Newman pens all these songs, and composes the score. All Disney princess films have their magic. This time around, there's voodoo. Certainly there will be discerning parents, and sensitive children may be frightened. I personally enjoyed this unique, and far less generic take. It's darker, and has much more potential. It also provides a lot of unique bits in the film. The cast is colorful and unique, the movie is hilarious, and at times, quite emotional. There may not be a lot of tears, but you wouldn't be human not be touched by this wonderful film. I am disappointed that this movie has yet to spark any new 2D developments with Disney. This has to be one of the best examples of 2D animation out there. "The Princess and the Frog" should not be missed or overlooked, it is a treasure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
firstevil87Mar 7, 2012
Disney's 2d animation is back and I hope is here to stay. Having being in the right target demographic during the Disney Reinassance I saw most of those movies. It's a shame that 3d animation and Shrek-style movies had become the "rule"Disney's 2d animation is back and I hope is here to stay. Having being in the right target demographic during the Disney Reinassance I saw most of those movies. It's a shame that 3d animation and Shrek-style movies had become the "rule" relegating 2d animations to "just for kids". With that in mind i saw The princess and the Frog knowing it was just the breath of fresh air I needed from contemporary movies. I loved, loved, loved this movie. The characters are funny but not annying, the plot is not simple to follow if you're young kid but it's interesting enough to keep older audiences entertained. Music is not the typical "I am sad, I want a non-specific-generic more" but is vibrant, consistent with the setting and, while its' not trying to replicate "a whole new world" , it really stands on its own. I'm not going to spoil anything but this movie will make you laugh, will make you cry, will make you feel like you're a kid in the 90's again. Watch this movie you're not going to be disappointed! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
mapizarroOct 17, 2013
"The Princess and the Frog" wanted to be greatest come-back but It's wannabe. Old way that it was useful in 90's but in 2000's not. Tiana is too politcally correct, she has too virtue and no imperfection. Then, Tiana has no feedback. I'm"The Princess and the Frog" wanted to be greatest come-back but It's wannabe. Old way that it was useful in 90's but in 2000's not. Tiana is too politcally correct, she has too virtue and no imperfection. Then, Tiana has no feedback. I'm sorry, I tried to love this film but I can't it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jeff_reviewsJul 4, 2013
"The Princess and the Frog" has all the emotions and wonderful songs, but somehow falls short in storytelling. Don't get me wrong as to think the storytelling in this film is all bad, as it is still good, yet not too good. First off, I truly"The Princess and the Frog" has all the emotions and wonderful songs, but somehow falls short in storytelling. Don't get me wrong as to think the storytelling in this film is all bad, as it is still good, yet not too good. First off, I truly loved the animation, as it brought the old Disney look, and enhanced it from the past CG releases from Disney. With the tale of Tiana, you get a strong woman who works really hard to get what she wants, and I love that about her. Tiana is an important role model, and though she may not be as perfect like other princesses, she is definitely one of my favorites, as she actually tries hard to achieve. Her story with her father is touching as well, and can shed a tear, but not as well told as others already told. "The Princess and the Frog" definitely falls after they he meets Prince Naveen and they have to look for Mama Odie. While fun and brisky, this large part of the story is not that well crafted and results to more as a kid-flick. The ending is predictable everyone gets what they want, except the villain. Overall, I think that the "The Princess and the Frog" is Disney's strongest since "Lilo and Stitch" or "Tarzan", as it uses an old style Disney appearance, which does benefit the movie. Although I debated on a 8 and 9, I ultimately gave it an 8, due to the fact that the movie struggles with telling the tale of Tiana and Naveen as good as older Disney princes and princesses could. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMar 15, 2014
when i saw this in 2010 i said wow a film that has the right music its just amusing to see great creativity . A+ for me and for this movie . i will always watch this
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MrMovieBuffJul 14, 2015
I liked this movie...but I didn't LOVE it as much as everybody else did...and I do have my own reasons.

Disney's 'The Princess and the Frog' follows the story of a young woman named Tiana, who, ever since she was a child, wanted to open
I liked this movie...but I didn't LOVE it as much as everybody else did...and I do have my own reasons.

Disney's 'The Princess and the Frog' follows the story of a young woman named Tiana, who, ever since she was a child, wanted to open her own restaurant after the legacy was left from her father (dead parents in a Disney film huh). While she tries to live her dream, a handsome prince named Naveen is attending Now Orleans but runs into Facilier, the main villain of the movie who performs voodoo and transforms Naveen into a frog.

To get rid of the curse, Naveen must kiss a princess, when he runs into Tiana, the ironic thing is, when she kisses him, she turns into a frog as well. Their journey and the movie takes place with them being frogs.

I assume the reason everybody loves this movie is because it is 2D animated, and yes, it does look wonderful, it has that "old-school" Disney feel to it. Plus, an introduction to an African-American princess is also reassuring. The only problem I have with this movie in terms of the fact that it is not on par with 'Beauty and the Beast' (1991) or 'The Lion King' (1994) is that the characters I thought were very thinly written. Tiana isn't that much fun, I know she is supposed to be a career-driven woman, but she isn't as plucky as previous princesses. Naveen also isn't much fun either, he delivers comedy, but isn't memorable.

The songs by Randy Newman are mostly misses too, I don't remember them being that good, his best song is "When she loved me" from 'Toy Story 2' (1999).

The film is directed by Ron Clements and John Musker, who gave us other Disney films such as; 'The Little Mermaid' (1989), 'Aladdin' (1992) and 'Hercules' (1997). These films, while classics, also had trouble with memorable characters.

'The Little Mermaid' had sing-a-long songs, whimsical side characters and beautiful animation, but Ariel's love interest, Eric, was a good-looking man, but there's not much else interesting about him.

'Aladdin' had Robin Williams as the Genie, delivering all the comedy, but the main couple Aladdin and Jasmine looked more like brother and sister, and there wasn't much development with their love.

Despite all of this, these two films are still great, every film has their few flaws.

'Hercules' I remember I didn't particularly like, I don't hate it, but the songs were great and James Woods was fantastic, but the movie didn't live up to my standards unfortunately.

Overall, I give 'The Princess and the Frog' a 6/10 for the stunning 2D animation and the racial diversity in the "Disney Princess" line-up. But the songs are disappointing and the film itself with the characters are thinly written. Even after this film, 'Tangled' (2010) and 'Frozen' (2013) were improvements, but not because they were animated in 3D, they had their own ways of being unforgettable Disney films.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mmaalex22112Mar 23, 2015
This movie is one of my favorite. Not only does it have VERY enjoyable music and a deeper storyline, it also teaches a lesson. You have to know what you need not what you want. Life is important to live but not to take advantage of. One ofThis movie is one of my favorite. Not only does it have VERY enjoyable music and a deeper storyline, it also teaches a lesson. You have to know what you need not what you want. Life is important to live but not to take advantage of. One of the best things is the brilliant soundtrack by Randy Newman. Its upbeat and catchy. The animation is also beautiful. This film to me is up there with Lion King and Lilo and stitch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
st4r4ptorJan 1, 2016
This film IS the definition of underrated Disney. I cannot find any flaws with this film and the people saying she's black is a bad thing is just racist. Disney clearly wanted to make a New Orleans style story with great songs, characters andThis film IS the definition of underrated Disney. I cannot find any flaws with this film and the people saying she's black is a bad thing is just racist. Disney clearly wanted to make a New Orleans style story with great songs, characters and one of their BEST villains since Hades. Go check it out straight away, you will not be disappointed! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 3, 2016
To enjoy another Disney feature without being bothered by how bad this film is, just follow all the positive reviews and they'll give you tips to not give this movie a bad rating. The Princess and the Frog lives up its name by being all aboutTo enjoy another Disney feature without being bothered by how bad this film is, just follow all the positive reviews and they'll give you tips to not give this movie a bad rating. The Princess and the Frog lives up its name by being all about a Princess and a Frog. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews