Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The Princess and the Frog is a modern twist on a classic tale, featuring a beautiful girl named Tiana, a frog prince who desperately wants to be human again, and a fateful kiss that leads them both on a hilarious adventure through the mystical bayous of Louisiana. (Walt Disney Pictures)
  • Director: John Musker and Ron Clements
  • Genre(s): Fantasy, Romance, Animation, Family, Musical
  • Rating: G
  • Runtime: 97 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    100
    The animation, sparkling and graceful, also ranks as the studio's best traditional work in ages.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    100
    In an amazing year for animation, The Princess and the Frog is up at the top. Go on, give it a big kiss.
  3. Two things keep the film off Disney's top shelf. First, Naveen is a dull hero; his good-natured vanity isn't engaging until late in the story. Second, Newman's songs are less bland than usual but no more memorable.
  4. Reviewed by: Dan Kois
    80
    Represents a course-correction for Disney's multibillion-dollar princess franchise: It attempts to celebrate the virtues of hard work and pluck, even if the movie itself can feel at times like a lesson rather than an enchantment.
  5. 75
    Overall, the film is not quite up to "Aladdin" and "The Little Mermaid" from the same directing team of Ron Clements and John Musker, not to mention the recent string of masterpieces from Pixar.
  6. The movie slam-jams its overpacked story in a frenetic, needlessly complicated manner. It lacks for nothing in setting and atmosphere but comes up short where it counts: the characters.
  7. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    50
    This cheeky update of a classic fairy tale boasts almost as many talking points as merchandising opportunities.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 51
  2. Negative: 2 out of 51
  1. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Excellent movie that really had a lot of 90s animation nostalgia. I was really glad Disney decided to go back and try 2d animation after aExcellent movie that really had a lot of 90s animation nostalgia. I was really glad Disney decided to go back and try 2d animation after a long absence, and I do hope the upcoming Winnie the Pooh movie won't be the last Disney 2d movie. Collapse
  2. MariaS
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    This movie is funny,and cool.
  3. Apr 19, 2012
    9
    I firmly believe that "The Princess and the Frog" is one of the best non-pixar animated film ever to be created. There has never been a betterI firmly believe that "The Princess and the Frog" is one of the best non-pixar animated film ever to be created. There has never been a better argument for the revival of traditional animated films. "The Princess and the Frog," follows of the story of Tiana, a young woman who dreamed of opening her own resteraunt since she was a child. She's so close to her dream, when she gets outbid for the building she wants, and worse; turns into a frog due to a voodoo spell. Tiana and the spoiled Prince Navine must find a way to turn back into a human. This film is visually enchanting, with gorgeous 2D animation that even rivals modern day CGI. One particularly dazzling scene, is during Dr. Facilier's song, "Friends on the Other Side," a vibrant colored, and elaborate musical number that will win the audience's attention with ease. So, there are lots of songs, as I should probably mention. Some worse than others, but there's nothing terrible. They range from mediocre, and even incredible. Randy Newman pens all these songs, and composes the score. All Disney princess films have their magic. This time around, there's voodoo. Certainly there will be discerning parents, and sensitive children may be frightened. I personally enjoyed this unique, and far less generic take. It's darker, and has much more potential. It also provides a lot of unique bits in the film. The cast is colorful and unique, the movie is hilarious, and at times, quite emotional. There may not be a lot of tears, but you wouldn't be human not be touched by this wonderful film. I am disappointed that this movie has yet to spark any new 2D developments with Disney. This has to be one of the best examples of 2D animation out there. "The Princess and the Frog" should not be missed or overlooked, it is a treasure. Expand
  4. KerrieJ
    Jan 14, 2010
    8
    It's a great movie, a fun movie, an entertaining movie, and a beautiful movie. But there is something missing. Something that It's a great movie, a fun movie, an entertaining movie, and a beautiful movie. But there is something missing. Something that doesn't quite live up to Disney standards, and I can't put my finger on it. Some scenes will have you thinking, "Move it along." But all-in-all, I loved it. The ending was pure genius! SPOILER ALERT: Could someone please explain to me why Disney feels the need to continually kill off main characters? It was completely unnecessary, and I saw at least 3 kids crying. Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2012
    7
    It has some great music and fantastic animation with a few memorable characters, but without a memorable villain and a story we have seenIt has some great music and fantastic animation with a few memorable characters, but without a memorable villain and a story we have seen loads before it almost is has the potential to be bad, but with the traditional Disney animation I enjoy it. I give this movie 76%. Not worthy of eight stars. Expand
  6. ChrisC
    Feb 17, 2010
    6
    This film receives 6 points for the animation alone, which was gorgeous. Unfortunately it doesn't merit much else. Throughout the entire This film receives 6 points for the animation alone, which was gorgeous. Unfortunately it doesn't merit much else. Throughout the entire 97-minute screening, there wasn't a single actual joke (it mostly relied on predictable slapstick), and not one particularly catchy or memorable theme tune. I desperately wanted to like it, I really did - but in the end, the writing was just bland and not up to par. Plus it all felt like it was over too soon. Hollow and run-of-the-mill. Now excuse me while I go and weep in sheer disappointment. Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    This was such a bad film that if i could i would give it -100 because it wasnt funny, to much singing and it was predictable. I will neverThis was such a bad film that if i could i would give it -100 because it wasnt funny, to much singing and it was predictable. I will never watch a more horrificly bad film like that again... Hopefully Expand

See all 51 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones

    This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones Image
    Published: December 10, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/7 - 12/11.