The Princess and the Frog Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 163 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The Princess and the Frog is a modern twist on a classic tale, featuring a beautiful girl named Tiana, a frog prince who desperately wants to be human again, and a fateful kiss that leads them both on a hilarious adventure through the mystical bayous of Louisiana. (Walt Disney Pictures)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. What matters is that Tiana triumphs as both a girl and a frog, that dreams are fulfilled, wrongs are righted, love prevails, and music unites not only a princess and a frog but also kids and grown-ups.
  2. 100
    The Princess and the Frog invite viewers to see the world as a lively, mixed-up, even confounding place, to recognize essential parts of ourselves in what we see, and to say: This is what we look like.
  3. 88
    Randy Newman's songs are catchy and are effective within the movie's context, but I can't see any of them having "legs" beyond the screen the way tunes from the earlier animated musicals did.
  4. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    80
    Exactly as good as Musker and Clements’ earlier efforts, so a return to the form of Disney’s early 1990s classics. The animation is gorgeous, the heroine feisty and the animals amusing -- but this may be too scary for the very small.
  5. 75
    Overall, the film is not quite up to "Aladdin" and "The Little Mermaid" from the same directing team of Ron Clements and John Musker, not to mention the recent string of masterpieces from Pixar.
  6. 63
    This is minor Disney at best, forgettable at worst.
  7. It's a worthy cause and an honorable film, the first full-length Disney cartoon with an African-American heroine. But without a strong story, it's a case of one step forward and two steps back.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 55
  2. Negative: 2 out of 55
  1. KristyJ.
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Finally, a memorable movie from Disney that we haven't seen in years. Definitely up there with "Aladdin" and "The Little Mermaid". Finally, a memorable movie from Disney that we haven't seen in years. Definitely up there with "Aladdin" and "The Little Mermaid". It's no, "Beauty and the Beast", but certainly an instant classic. The characters are so well-developed, the relationships are strong, Tiana and Naveen have great chemistry, the music is surprisingly pleasant, and everything follows. This movie is this generation's versions of "The Little Mermaid", instantly. Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2010
    10
    this is excellent! great voice acting, great writing, great animation, great everything!
  3. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Excellent movie that really had a lot of 90s animation nostalgia. I was really glad Disney decided to go back and try 2d animation after aExcellent movie that really had a lot of 90s animation nostalgia. I was really glad Disney decided to go back and try 2d animation after a long absence, and I do hope the upcoming Winnie the Pooh movie won't be the last Disney 2d movie. Expand
  4. KerrieJ
    Jan 14, 2010
    8
    It's a great movie, a fun movie, an entertaining movie, and a beautiful movie. But there is something missing. Something that It's a great movie, a fun movie, an entertaining movie, and a beautiful movie. But there is something missing. Something that doesn't quite live up to Disney standards, and I can't put my finger on it. Some scenes will have you thinking, "Move it along." But all-in-all, I loved it. The ending was pure genius! SPOILER ALERT: Could someone please explain to me why Disney feels the need to continually kill off main characters? It was completely unnecessary, and I saw at least 3 kids crying. Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Princess and the Frog is a great movie. The main characters are good and have an interesting relationship. The villain is cool. The message is awesome and differs from the typical Disney message. The story is good as well. It is the same story we Expand
  6. Jul 14, 2015
    6
    I liked this movie...but I didn't LOVE it as much as everybody else did...and I do have my own reasons.

    Disney's 'The Princess and the
    I liked this movie...but I didn't LOVE it as much as everybody else did...and I do have my own reasons.

    Disney's 'The Princess and the Frog' follows the story of a young woman named Tiana, who, ever since she was a child, wanted to open her own restaurant after the legacy was left from her father (dead parents in a Disney film huh). While she tries to live her dream, a handsome prince named Naveen is attending Now Orleans but runs into Facilier, the main villain of the movie who performs voodoo and transforms Naveen into a frog.

    To get rid of the curse, Naveen must kiss a princess, when he runs into Tiana, the ironic thing is, when she kisses him, she turns into a frog as well. Their journey and the movie takes place with them being frogs.

    I assume the reason everybody loves this movie is because it is 2D animated, and yes, it does look wonderful, it has that "old-school" Disney feel to it. Plus, an introduction to an African-American princess is also reassuring. The only problem I have with this movie in terms of the fact that it is not on par with 'Beauty and the Beast' (1991) or 'The Lion King' (1994) is that the characters I thought were very thinly written. Tiana isn't that much fun, I know she is supposed to be a career-driven woman, but she isn't as plucky as previous princesses. Naveen also isn't much fun either, he delivers comedy, but isn't memorable.

    The songs by Randy Newman are mostly misses too, I don't remember them being that good, his best song is "When she loved me" from 'Toy Story 2' (1999).

    The film is directed by Ron Clements and John Musker, who gave us other Disney films such as; 'The Little Mermaid' (1989), 'Aladdin' (1992) and 'Hercules' (1997). These films, while classics, also had trouble with memorable characters.

    'The Little Mermaid' had sing-a-long songs, whimsical side characters and beautiful animation, but Ariel's love interest, Eric, was a good-looking man, but there's not much else interesting about him.

    'Aladdin' had Robin Williams as the Genie, delivering all the comedy, but the main couple Aladdin and Jasmine looked more like brother and sister, and there wasn't much development with their love.

    Despite all of this, these two films are still great, every film has their few flaws.

    'Hercules' I remember I didn't particularly like, I don't hate it, but the songs were great and James Woods was fantastic, but the movie didn't live up to my standards unfortunately.

    Overall, I give 'The Princess and the Frog' a 6/10 for the stunning 2D animation and the racial diversity in the "Disney Princess" line-up. But the songs are disappointing and the film itself with the characters are thinly written. Even after this film, 'Tangled' (2010) and 'Frozen' (2013) were improvements, but not because they were animated in 3D, they had their own ways of being unforgettable Disney films.
    Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    This was such a bad film that if i could i would give it -100 because it wasnt funny, to much singing and it was predictable. I will neverThis was such a bad film that if i could i would give it -100 because it wasnt funny, to much singing and it was predictable. I will never watch a more horrificly bad film like that again... Hopefully Expand

See all 55 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones

    This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones Image
    Published: December 10, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/7 - 12/11.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  5. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.