Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 150 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The Princess and the Frog is a modern twist on a classic tale, featuring a beautiful girl named Tiana, a frog prince who desperately wants to be human again, and a fateful kiss that leads them both on a hilarious adventure through the mystical bayous of Louisiana. (Walt Disney Pictures)
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. What matters is that Tiana triumphs as both a girl and a frog, that dreams are fulfilled, wrongs are righted, love prevails, and music unites not only a princess and a frog but also kids and grown-ups.
  2. 100
    The Princess and the Frog invite viewers to see the world as a lively, mixed-up, even confounding place, to recognize essential parts of ourselves in what we see, and to say: This is what we look like.
  3. 88
    Randy Newman's songs are catchy and are effective within the movie's context, but I can't see any of them having "legs" beyond the screen the way tunes from the earlier animated musicals did.
  4. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    80
    Exactly as good as Musker and Clements’ earlier efforts, so a return to the form of Disney’s early 1990s classics. The animation is gorgeous, the heroine feisty and the animals amusing -- but this may be too scary for the very small.
  5. 75
    Overall, the film is not quite up to "Aladdin" and "The Little Mermaid" from the same directing team of Ron Clements and John Musker, not to mention the recent string of masterpieces from Pixar.
  6. 63
    This is minor Disney at best, forgettable at worst.
  7. It's a worthy cause and an honorable film, the first full-length Disney cartoon with an African-American heroine. But without a strong story, it's a case of one step forward and two steps back.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 2 out of 52
  1. ArnoldK.
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    An excellent movie that brings back memories from early Disney. A fantastic journey that reminds you of what Disney is all about. Thank you An excellent movie that brings back memories from early Disney. A fantastic journey that reminds you of what Disney is all about. Thank you Disney for this wonderful holiday treat. Expand
  2. AndrewP
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Princess and the Frog was a delightful Cajun spiced black fantasy extravaganza. A+!
  3. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Excellent movie that really had a lot of 90s animation nostalgia. I was really glad Disney decided to go back and try 2d animation after aExcellent movie that really had a lot of 90s animation nostalgia. I was really glad Disney decided to go back and try 2d animation after a long absence, and I do hope the upcoming Winnie the Pooh movie won't be the last Disney 2d movie. Expand
  4. KerrieJ
    Jan 14, 2010
    8
    It's a great movie, a fun movie, an entertaining movie, and a beautiful movie. But there is something missing. Something that It's a great movie, a fun movie, an entertaining movie, and a beautiful movie. But there is something missing. Something that doesn't quite live up to Disney standards, and I can't put my finger on it. Some scenes will have you thinking, "Move it along." But all-in-all, I loved it. The ending was pure genius! SPOILER ALERT: Could someone please explain to me why Disney feels the need to continually kill off main characters? It was completely unnecessary, and I saw at least 3 kids crying. Expand
  5. May 25, 2012
    7
    I'm glad that Disney brought back its classic flare from classic fairytale stories. It's definitely a good movie but not as good as thoseI'm glad that Disney brought back its classic flare from classic fairytale stories. It's definitely a good movie but not as good as those classics in the 30's and the 40's........... Expand
  6. ChrisC
    Feb 17, 2010
    6
    This film receives 6 points for the animation alone, which was gorgeous. Unfortunately it doesn't merit much else. Throughout the entire This film receives 6 points for the animation alone, which was gorgeous. Unfortunately it doesn't merit much else. Throughout the entire 97-minute screening, there wasn't a single actual joke (it mostly relied on predictable slapstick), and not one particularly catchy or memorable theme tune. I desperately wanted to like it, I really did - but in the end, the writing was just bland and not up to par. Plus it all felt like it was over too soon. Hollow and run-of-the-mill. Now excuse me while I go and weep in sheer disappointment. Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    This was such a bad film that if i could i would give it -100 because it wasnt funny, to much singing and it was predictable. I will neverThis was such a bad film that if i could i would give it -100 because it wasnt funny, to much singing and it was predictable. I will never watch a more horrificly bad film like that again... Hopefully Expand

See all 52 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones

    This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones Image
    Published: December 10, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/7 - 12/11.