Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: September 25, 1987
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 181 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
152
Mixed:
22
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
SpangleApr 8, 2016
An incredibly fun and still impressively fresh and unique take on the romantic comedy and fairy tale genres, The Princess Bride is a true crowd pleaser. Funny, adventurous, and romantic, there are not many demographics that are missed here.An incredibly fun and still impressively fresh and unique take on the romantic comedy and fairy tale genres, The Princess Bride is a true crowd pleaser. Funny, adventurous, and romantic, there are not many demographics that are missed here. Incredibly well-written and quite well-directed by Rob Reiner. The film's pacing is quite assured and could be well-advised to cool off a bit, especially in the beginning, but it is never truly a glaring problem. Cary Elwes, Robin Wright, Mandy Patinkin, Andre the Giant, and especially Billy Crystal are all great and turn in hilariously over-the-top performances. The sequence with Crystal stands out as the best in the film due to its comedic elements. On that note, the film is not quite as funny as I anticipated, but is very, very funny all the same. It expertly blends this comedy with a captivating adventure tale and a very touching and well-crafted romance fitting for its fairy tale approach. Overall, The Princess Bride is a classic for a reason and it is not hard to find out why: charm. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
The fun and goofiness of the movie are justified by its silly plot and overdramatic acting. But to find another movie exactly like this is inconceivable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Sardonic, heartwarming, and just entertaining overall, "The Princess Bride" in the end soars past all expectations.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
BrianMcCriticJul 14, 2013
One of the best fantasy adventure movies ever made. There is very little wrong with this film with the acting being great and the story and direction is just as good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
smiyamotNov 29, 2015
A great family movie about swashbuckling heroes and rescuing the Princess. A wonderful cast of well known actors (they must have taken a pay cut) to be in a movie they could take their own families to. I have this DVD in my collection.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chwSep 25, 2014
I would not say Rob Reiner at his best. Hell, I am not even close to saying that. The guy made Stand by Me, and The Bucket List, and then...this. I would not say a must-see, but it was either way a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Andys_ReviewsSep 30, 2012
So why do I love this film so much? Well, for me it has everything; pirates, a giant, great swordplay, a damsel in distress, an evil bad guy, revenge, an awful lot of humour and not least a happy ending. There is quite a modern feel to it allSo why do I love this film so much? Well, for me it has everything; pirates, a giant, great swordplay, a damsel in distress, an evil bad guy, revenge, an awful lot of humour and not least a happy ending. There is quite a modern feel to it all but with the traditional values of chivalry along with a little dastardly play. Of course, some magic; how could you have a fairytale without magic? But over all, I love it because it doesn Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ScraperNov 18, 2016
A classic movie in a bygone era of movie making. One of the best films of it's decade destined to live on and shown to your children and your children's children. Just watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SeriosityJan 18, 2013
An interesting take on the age-old damsel-in-distress story. A clever combination of fairy tale romance, witty humor, and swashbuckling. Just downright entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
With modern technology, this film would have been even better. The acting is wonderful and the film is by far better than the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Spielberg00Aug 21, 2011
I didn't even know this was based on a book! Anyway, it's an instant classic. Everybody and everything here is hilarious--especially Billy Crystal. I don't see how anyone can hate on THE PRINCESS BRIDE.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Jollyjoe1000Jan 3, 2016
it is a good movie and it is enjoyable from begging to end.but the real show stopper is dread pirate Robert's....................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cag11Nov 30, 2013
This is a classic. It has cheesy scenes, especially a lot, but that has nothing to change against this movie. It has one of the best stories ever. It even goes on a different approach to what I was expecting as well. But I'm just lightlyThis is a classic. It has cheesy scenes, especially a lot, but that has nothing to change against this movie. It has one of the best stories ever. It even goes on a different approach to what I was expecting as well. But I'm just lightly going over it. It just warms my heart when I see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SummersausageJan 7, 2013
Ugh an unfunny interpretation of a kids ale. Just because characters run around and say cheesy lines doesn't mean it's funny. This is beyond campy it's just bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusJan 3, 2013
This is one of my favourite movies of all time. This is the way a fairytale should be done, the storytelling is done well. After seeing the Hobbit: An unexpected Journey the other day, I think Peter Jackson needs to sit down and watch thisThis is one of my favourite movies of all time. This is the way a fairytale should be done, the storytelling is done well. After seeing the Hobbit: An unexpected Journey the other day, I think Peter Jackson needs to sit down and watch this movie to see what a fantasy film aimed at children should be like. The characters are witty and memorable because they actually all have distinct personalities. The pacing is great. There are many funny scenes in the movie. Even as an adult I really enjoy this movie. 10/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ovi_bzJan 15, 2011
An unexpected good comedy. I didn't know what to expect when starting watch it, but i like it imitatively. Very good directed and the acts where played well. It is worth to watch it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
shamusolarrySep 7, 2011
My fifth favorite movie of all time. It's got everything: romance, comedy, action, fantasy...There are some great laughs and oodles of memorable quotes. The only person who was less than perfect in this movie was the actress who playedMy fifth favorite movie of all time. It's got everything: romance, comedy, action, fantasy...There are some great laughs and oodles of memorable quotes. The only person who was less than perfect in this movie was the actress who played Buttercup. Other than that, an absolute classic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DeVr33zFeb 18, 2011
One of the best adventure movies ever made. The only thing that I can complain about is the slow pace it occasionally has. Also, sometimes the jokes seem cheeky, but there are enough good ones to keep the moving going. Overall a great film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
kat267Aug 6, 2015
I love the way this movie connects romance with action packed adventures and manages to be funny at the same time. Cary Elwes and Robin Wright are so talented I'm glad they were put together. Love the fashion as well!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Kai82Sep 15, 2014
This is a fairy tail made as much for adults as for kids. The movie is a rare gem crafted with love, care and humor. It is a heart warming movie you can and will watch over and over again. It is based on a book with the same name and it is aThis is a fairy tail made as much for adults as for kids. The movie is a rare gem crafted with love, care and humor. It is a heart warming movie you can and will watch over and over again. It is based on a book with the same name and it is a rarely occasion were a film adaptation is really awesome (Most adaptation are awful). The cast and the story is just wonderful. This ia a must seen classic movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
GlooneOct 12, 2015
I was completely unaware of this film until recently, when I heard it mentioned a couple of times as being a really great fantasy adventure -- so I gave it a watch. Unfortunately I felt pretty disappointed by it; given the hype, I wasI was completely unaware of this film until recently, when I heard it mentioned a couple of times as being a really great fantasy adventure -- so I gave it a watch. Unfortunately I felt pretty disappointed by it; given the hype, I was surprised by how weak it was in several key areas. The fantasy setting lacks a feeling of substance, and is just generally nondescript. This is not helped by the visual execution; the sets, visual effects and cinematography are bland and amateurish. The story itself is very by the numbers, and lacks momentum and emotional resonance. There's a framing device with a grandfather reading the story to his son, and while it was one of the better executed aspects of the film, I couldn't really see what it added. The characters are also generally rather clichéd -- the villains especially, and also the romantic duo, who lack any spark. Most of the acting is also uninspired or poor, the main exceptions being the main hero, who is played with an eccentric unflappability, and a vengeful swordsman, who has a sort of portentous magnetism. The interplay between these two near the start of the film was a high point, with good choreography and memorable dialogue. There are a good number of similarly memorable and witty lines throughout the film. This is the film's saving grace, and the main reason that I'm not giving it a bad score. But equally, that one aspect on its own can't make up for the film's many deficits. In conclusion, I can see how the film's quotability could make it entertaining for repeat viewings of a devoted fanbase, and how the cheesiness and clichés could be endearing. But personally I found that the cheesiness felt more like poor workmanship, and the clichés weren't self-aware or entertaining, but the result of blandness. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
littlemanp32May 30, 2011
This is hands down my favorite movie of all time!!! I loved it as a kid and still haven't found a movie I'd rather watch more than this one, It puts a big smile on my face and warms my heart
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
Broken_ShirtJun 27, 2011
I watched this for my english stuff but this is terrible. the actors are terrible. the main girl character is a b****. WORST MOVIE IN HISTORY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! like, it'sI watched this for my english stuff but this is terrible. the actors are terrible. the main girl character is a b****. WORST MOVIE IN HISTORY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! like, it's actually terrible. it's like a movie made by kids. Expand
0 of 10 users found this helpful010
All this user's reviews
10
DreadPirateDec 13, 2010
One of the most underrated movies of all time. So many great lines and scenes, hilarious but also filled with great action. Wonderful characters. Even though the "stars" are Cary Elwes and Robin Wright, it is the supporting cast that makesOne of the most underrated movies of all time. So many great lines and scenes, hilarious but also filled with great action. Wonderful characters. Even though the "stars" are Cary Elwes and Robin Wright, it is the supporting cast that makes this movie so enjoyable. Andre the Giant is super in his "goon squad" role as Fezzig. Wallace Shawn as Vizzini is "inconceivably" funny. His mental duel with The Dread Pirate Roberts is classic. Mandy Patikin and his quest for the Man with the Six Fingers blends in throughout; his duel with Westley is one of the best sword fights I have seen in movie history. Then there are the quick cameos of Billy Crystal and Carol Kane as the Miracle Man and his wife - another great scene. Intermixing all of this is that the story is really being "read" by Peter Falk to his sick grandson, played by Fred Savage right before he started his Wonder Years period. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DiscordMay 19, 2012
A very competent and entertaining movie. Wonderful characters, engaging plot, and excellent acting. This film is a rare gem, an actually good film based on a book. Brilliant.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
AkriamApr 4, 2014
Why would someone watch this movie?

"Fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, giants, monsters, chases, escapes, true love, miracles...", and quite frankly one of the funniest movies I have ever scene. It is a fairy tale meant for children
Why would someone watch this movie?

"Fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, giants, monsters, chases, escapes, true love, miracles...", and quite frankly one of the funniest movies I have ever scene. It is a fairy tale meant for children but enjoyed by countless adults. It's often considered one of the most quotable movies of ALL TIME(just search it).
At its core it's a romantic comedy, but when I first watched this movie I related to the sick grandson(and I hated it when MY grandpa pinched MY cheeks!) who hated the kissing scenes. In the end I came away with one of my favorite movies of all time.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
PaulB.Jan 2, 2006
One of my family's all-time favorites! New ideas every time we watch it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
patrickD.Aug 26, 2005
A few flaws, but truly underrated by the critics. A GREAT film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LauraL.Sep 12, 2005
I have seen this movie a thousand times and each time I watch it my laughter becomes more intense. This movie surpasses all "love stories" and should be a must-have in every household (whether you have little girls in the house or not).
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
GerrickC.Apr 24, 2006
I was surprised at the quality of this movie when I first saw it. What we have here is a fantasy story with all of our favorite characters from other stories like fair maidens, brave swordsmen, a giant, and a short little man with an I was surprised at the quality of this movie when I first saw it. What we have here is a fantasy story with all of our favorite characters from other stories like fair maidens, brave swordsmen, a giant, and a short little man with an annoying voice. I would have to say the thing that drew me closer to this movie was the fact that Andre the Giant was on it. Still the movie holds it's own weight very well. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
clayJan 25, 2007
It's worth a watch, it's fun, but isn't 10 material at all. Many scenes are cheesy without anything to resolve it. the wine/poison scene was great though.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DelFeb 16, 2007
You'll either love it or hate it. Although slow, it's worth watching once. Mandy Patinkin brings a lot to the "action party," though Elwes seems to throw it away. It seems that Reiner was trying far to hard to add romance, action, You'll either love it or hate it. Although slow, it's worth watching once. Mandy Patinkin brings a lot to the "action party," though Elwes seems to throw it away. It seems that Reiner was trying far to hard to add romance, action, and anything else you can think of. I feel this was the downfall. Was it a romantic/action/mushy slow train, or brilliant? You watch it! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CodyCApr 16, 2007
This is the best fantasy movie I ever saw, the fire swamp was amazing!!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
GlenC.Feb 17, 2008
I just saw this movie last night for the first time and I have to admit, it wa a letdown. It had good writing, and entertaining story, but it seemed to copy the story of Stardust. Stardust is very similar, I think that movie was copying I just saw this movie last night for the first time and I have to admit, it wa a letdown. It had good writing, and entertaining story, but it seemed to copy the story of Stardust. Stardust is very similar, I think that movie was copying this. I didn't like Stardust either, it is just as cheesy and boring as this, and I think stardust picked the wrong movie to copy. This to me was almost the same as Stardust, but it was so cheesy. Its so stupid how they don't even kill Humperdink, its a weak, weak movie. And they run out of ideas once they leave the fire swamp. After that they use the worste techniques, with an annoying Billy Crystal, and obsessesed characters. To me, the last half hour ruined everything. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Nov 25, 2007
I remember watching this movie when I was about 8 years old. I will never forget sitting in front of the T.V. and doing nothing but laugh till it hurt. The reason I will never forget this is because I still do. From the beginning, all the I remember watching this movie when I was about 8 years old. I will never forget sitting in front of the T.V. and doing nothing but laugh till it hurt. The reason I will never forget this is because I still do. From the beginning, all the way until the end, I found this to be an absolute laugh riot. I enjoyed the entire cast. But, the performances that stood out in my mind were those of Billy Crystal and Carol Kane as Miracle Max and his wife, whose name I have totally forgotten. The way this film mixes rousing action with sidesplitting comedy is nothing short of amazing. Watch for a pre- Forrest Gump Robin Wright as Princess Buttercup. Now, THIS is how fantasy adventure-comedies should be made. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
mholtebeckDec 31, 2013
It is amazing how you can take the feel the same way as the kid. The first time you watch this movie, it will be unwillingly and thinking that this will be really stupid. It doesn't take long to get engrossed and the story and want to seeIt is amazing how you can take the feel the same way as the kid. The first time you watch this movie, it will be unwillingly and thinking that this will be really stupid. It doesn't take long to get engrossed and the story and want to see what will eventually happen to Humperdink. It's funny, it's enjoyable, I know every single line and can quote it from almost any point in the in the movie.

It is one of those movies that you turn to see when it is on television, and decide that you want to watch just till this one scene. But then you decide to watch the next scene coming up, and soon you've watch the entire movie for the 20th time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
T0GDec 14, 2013
This is one of the very few videos that I will watch again and again. It takes the mickey out of fantasy adventures without distracting the audience from the enjoyable storyline. A brilliant adaptation of William Goldman's book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mjluthJul 6, 2014
The Princess Bride was originally a book written by William Goldman in 1973 and he turned it into a screenplay 10 years later. The movie, like the book is a classical story of true love, overcoming all the odds to find happiness, and it alsoThe Princess Bride was originally a book written by William Goldman in 1973 and he turned it into a screenplay 10 years later. The movie, like the book is a classical story of true love, overcoming all the odds to find happiness, and it also happens to be one of the rare cases where the movie is as good as the book.

One of the things that makes this movie so great is the unique way that the story is told. All too often when a book is created into a movie it is just a retelling of the book without its own twist on the story or way to make it more than a retelling, and more often than not if a movie adds its own twist it completely ruins the story. The Princess Bride is an exception to that rule, the whole premise for the movie is a sick young boy, played by Fred Savage, and his grandfather, played by Peter Falk, gives him The Princess Bride for a present and starts to read it to him. This inventive way to tell the story allowed the writers to go from scenes from the book back to the grandson’s bedroom, adding humor and creating suspense. This combined with the fact that because the writer of the screenplay and the book was the same person, which helped keep the movie’s storyline very close to the book’s storyline, makes this movie better than any other movie I’ve seen that was based on a book.

Another thing that makes it such a good movie is it’s diversity in it’s themes. It’s largest theme that encompasses the whole is that true love conquers all. Now that is a theme that, although may not always be true in real life, we all love because it makes us feel all warm and fuzzy inside. Another theme that it has is that the evil people in the world get what they deserve. This is another very watchable theme, who doesn’t like seeing the good guys win? The two very inspiring and heart-warming themes can make the audience get emotionally involved with the character in the movie. I found myself rooting for character and hoping that others died.

The final thing that makes this movie so incredible is the way they build the characters. The characters in the movie are not just cookie cutter characters. They all have a good and a bad side that is built up throughout the movie by their interaction with other characters. Even the hero of the story has a bad side, he cheats to win a battle of wits. The dynamics of the characters really add to the story.

Overall, The Princess Bride is an incredibly well done movie with great actors to play dynamic characters, touching themes, and a very unique way to tell the story. It is a must see for all of those who haven’t seen it and a movie you will want to watch again. If you don’t believe me or if you think it will be boring I leave you this quote from the movie. “Are you kidding? Its got fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, giants, monsters, chases, escapes, true love, miracles.”
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
legommJul 24, 2015
after so many years we can say: a masterpiece of lightness and intelligence. the best moment, in the twilight of the golden age of fantasy. unfortunately relatively unknown in Italy
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews