Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Apr 16, 2011
    100
    Epic and intimate, historical and contemporary, moving and thought-provoking, the impressive The Princess of Montpensier has something for all and sundry but especially for those who like to believe that films can be as boldly intelligent as they are entertaining.
  2. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Apr 12, 2011
    90
    The finest Western you'll see this year is set in aristocratic 16th-century France, in the heat of Counter-Reformation.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Feeney
    May 19, 2011
    88
    There is a great and perhaps unique French cinematic tradition of braiding together love and manners and the past. Think of "Children of Paradise," "Casque d'Or," "The Earrings of Madame de . . .," "Elena and Her Men." Now one can think of The Princess of Montpensier, too.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    May 4, 2011
    88
    He is one of the most prolific and generous of directors, and there is no word that summarizes a "Tavernier film," except, usually, masterful.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Apr 28, 2011
    88
    At times, "Princess" resembles a widescreen Hollywood western, with exhilarating Steadicam shots of horsemen galloping across broad plains and corpse-strewn fields.
  6. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Apr 14, 2011
    83
    Tavernier turns a tale of courtly duty and manners into a tense, twisty drama.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Apr 29, 2011
    4
    There are times during this film in which I thought I was watching a parody. The sword fighting scenes were straight out of a high schoolThere are times during this film in which I thought I was watching a parody. The sword fighting scenes were straight out of a high school production. The acting is decent, but nothing in the film ever seems to be consummated. There aren't enough dramatic turning points, and I'm afraid to say that I was little bored by it. And yes, it's over-long. Full Review »
  2. May 4, 2011
    7
    I have already submitted a review and just wish to amend my score from a 10 to a 7 OOPS. Now it make senseI am long time admirer of BertrandI have already submitted a review and just wish to amend my score from a 10 to a 7 OOPS. Now it make senseI am long time admirer of Bertrand Tavernier's and so really wanted to like this film. It certainly is gorgeous and captures an interesting period in French history. It also raise intriguing and timely questions some of which get answered. However the title character, the princess is not much of a femme fatale especially a french femme fatale. You know they set the bar kind of high. She is vacuous which we could forgive if she had some other quality but alas she does not. She is pretty enough though again by french standards not a knock out her face has no soul behind it. Really is a shame as the rest of the cast is superb especially Lambert Wilson so cerebral and sensitive. Still it is sumptuous to look at and the sword fights are balanced between pure ballet and bloody slug fests. Collapse Full Review »
  3. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    Excellent, original film -- sort of a 16th century French western. Itâ