The Princess of Montpensier

The Princess of Montpensier Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In The Princess of Montpensier, acclaimed filmmaker Bertrand Tavernier directs a spectacular cast in a riveting, lush romantic drama set in the high courts of 16th Century France. Against the backdrop of the savage Catholic/Protestant wars, Marie de Mézières, a beautiful young aristocrat,In The Princess of Montpensier, acclaimed filmmaker Bertrand Tavernier directs a spectacular cast in a riveting, lush romantic drama set in the high courts of 16th Century France. Against the backdrop of the savage Catholic/Protestant wars, Marie de Mézières, a beautiful young aristocrat, finds herself married to a young prince she does not love, haunted by a rakish suitor Gaspard Ulliel from her childhood, and advised by an aging nobleman Lambert Wilson, harboring his own forbidden desire for her. The Princess of Montpensier must struggle passionately to stay alive in the intrigue of this corrupt political and romantic web of duty, passion, religion and war. (IFC Films) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Apr 16, 2011
    100
    Epic and intimate, historical and contemporary, moving and thought-provoking, the impressive The Princess of Montpensier has something for all and sundry but especially for those who like to believe that films can be as boldly intelligent as they are entertaining.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Apr 28, 2011
    88
    At times, "Princess" resembles a widescreen Hollywood western, with exhilarating Steadicam shots of horsemen galloping across broad plains and corpse-strewn fields.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Feeney
    May 19, 2011
    88
    There is a great and perhaps unique French cinematic tradition of braiding together love and manners and the past. Think of "Children of Paradise," "Casque d'Or," "The Earrings of Madame de . . .," "Elena and Her Men." Now one can think of The Princess of Montpensier, too.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Apr 16, 2011
    75
    Courtly intrigue should be intriguing, and in that sense, The Princess of Montpensier – although it's somewhat wan and too cerebral for its own good – does a fairly keen job.
  5. 75
    Swords cross, blood spurts and bosoms heave in The Princess of Montpensier, French director Bertrand Tavernier's thoroughly ravishing drama.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 29, 2011
    75
    It is all thoroughly entertaining and even, at times, gripping.
  7. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: David Denby
    Apr 22, 2011
    50
    The battle scenes are extraordinarily mucky and violent, but here, as in Tavernier's "Let Joy Reign Supreme," the intricate protocols of aristocratic sexual passion are the most startling elements. The movie, however, is opaque at its center. [25 April, 2011 p. 89]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    Excellent, original film -- sort of a 16th century French western. Itâ
  2. May 4, 2011
    7
    I have already submitted a review and just wish to amend my score from a 10 to a 7 OOPS. Now it make senseI am long time admirer of BertrandI have already submitted a review and just wish to amend my score from a 10 to a 7 OOPS. Now it make senseI am long time admirer of Bertrand Tavernier's and so really wanted to like this film. It certainly is gorgeous and captures an interesting period in French history. It also raise intriguing and timely questions some of which get answered. However the title character, the princess is not much of a femme fatale especially a french femme fatale. You know they set the bar kind of high. She is vacuous which we could forgive if she had some other quality but alas she does not. She is pretty enough though again by french standards not a knock out her face has no soul behind it. Really is a shame as the rest of the cast is superb especially Lambert Wilson so cerebral and sensitive. Still it is sumptuous to look at and the sword fights are balanced between pure ballet and bloody slug fests. Collapse Collapse
  3. Apr 29, 2011
    4
    There are times during this film in which I thought I was watching a parody. The sword fighting scenes were straight out of a high schoolThere are times during this film in which I thought I was watching a parody. The sword fighting scenes were straight out of a high school production. The acting is decent, but nothing in the film ever seems to be consummated. There aren't enough dramatic turning points, and I'm afraid to say that I was little bored by it. And yes, it's over-long. Expand

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.

Awards & Rankings