Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 18, 1994
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 377 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
359
Mixed:
11
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
gamsAug 26, 2010
This movie is soo amazing! I **** love it.
It's in the top in my list of favorites movies, and I think that is one of the best movies of all times.
I saw it like 64165465643 times haha and it always surprise me
12 of 12 users found this helpful120
All this user's reviews
10
HdogJan 9, 2009
Absolutely fantastic, the least to say it is by far the best comedy/action/thriller/drama i have ever seen, Oldman is AMAZING, and the performance by Natalie Portman confirms that she is one of the most talented young actress of our time. To Absolutely fantastic, the least to say it is by far the best comedy/action/thriller/drama i have ever seen, Oldman is AMAZING, and the performance by Natalie Portman confirms that she is one of the most talented young actress of our time. To everyone that say this movie lacks in realism, that is part of the charm of this movie, just go and see some of Luc Besson's films they are farfetched and wacky and completely awesome, this is a perfect movie for people who are feeling down, its happy and sad at times. Definetly one of the best movies ever made. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful
9
Sevvy88Jul 20, 2013
Look, I don't consider myself to be a huge Natalie Portman fan, but geez, when this girl touches my heart, she touches my heart. This movie is just... it's one of those films. It's beautifully shot, sometimes you'll forget you aren't inLook, I don't consider myself to be a huge Natalie Portman fan, but geez, when this girl touches my heart, she touches my heart. This movie is just... it's one of those films. It's beautifully shot, sometimes you'll forget you aren't in Paris aside the backdrop of Leon's grim reality. The script is fantastic, see: every interaction between Reno and Portman. It's a heartwarming story. A story of healing, of daughters, fathers, innocence lost, but a hope that never fades out. It's a story of brutal honesty, yet a quiet optimism always shines through. It captivated me on so many levels... I don't know. I was deeply affected. It's a worthwhile investment, and it's definitely "buy it" quality. A film I'll never forget and one that I can't wait to revisit once my batteries recharge. It's no walk in the park, but damn is it still a beautiful ride. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
BenJul 30, 2008
Gary Oldman's unlimited talent and towering prowess as an actor takes this good movie and makes it great.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
DrewNov 29, 2007
It may seem completely unreasonable at some parts but its Luc Besson's trademark. Its like a comic, it isn't made to resemble real life. Thus the plot holes. Yet the story still weaves together perfectly making it interesting, It may seem completely unreasonable at some parts but its Luc Besson's trademark. Its like a comic, it isn't made to resemble real life. Thus the plot holes. Yet the story still weaves together perfectly making it interesting, bizarre, funny, sweet, violent, gruesome, thrilling and even touching. Nevertheless, its one of my most favorite movies and I never tire watching it. I also enjoy watching the performance of the lead actors. If only I can watch it again as if I watched it the very first time. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
ArsalanPortmanDec 26, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. first of all it is a Great movie With Great Directing an all, but nobody ever thought about Natalie Portman's Acting it was her first time in front of the cameras but she NAILED It Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
RirenJan 30, 2007
This movie is all about the relationship between a mentaly slow hitman and an orphaned little girl. It is not about how many fight scenes they can pack in, or how realistic they can make the deaths, or even about how uncaring the world is. This movie is all about the relationship between a mentaly slow hitman and an orphaned little girl. It is not about how many fight scenes they can pack in, or how realistic they can make the deaths, or even about how uncaring the world is. Seldom in the history of film will you find two actors with such chemistry, and nowhere in film will you find two actors who work together so well with such a gap between their ages. They are bizarre, awkward, funny, violent - and ultimately as charming as any romance, without playing a cheap Lolita angle. The innocence this movie portrays, buried in its own hard, confusing world, will crack even the toughest shells. All the guns, hitmen, drugs and cops are gravy on the side. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
NickH.Sep 18, 2005
A 64 percent? BAH! Once again, the critics prove how dim they are... why does Superman have higher score than this? 'Leon' is a great, great film.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
M.DayeFeb 4, 2006
Perhaps it is a little naïve in places, but nonetheless, Luc Besson's sleek thriller Léon remains a firm favourite of mine. A film to learn from.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DanS.May 13, 2008
Leon The Professional is an absolute masterpiece. A powerful film filled with action, drama, emotions, and music. It has great direction, a wonderful script, unforgettable performances, and a great score. A true work of art from Luc Besson. Leon The Professional is an absolute masterpiece. A powerful film filled with action, drama, emotions, and music. It has great direction, a wonderful script, unforgettable performances, and a great score. A true work of art from Luc Besson. It's a perfect film and it's my favorite movie of all-time. Make sure you watch the uncut version and not the edited version. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AndrewM.Aug 28, 2005
One of my favorite movie of all time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
TheNewSpielbergMay 2, 2011
Just finished watching this movie a few minutes ago. An unbelievable rollercoaster ride that had me hooked from the very start. The only bad things I can think of are the musical choices and Jean Reno's heavy French accent throughout. GaryJust finished watching this movie a few minutes ago. An unbelievable rollercoaster ride that had me hooked from the very start. The only bad things I can think of are the musical choices and Jean Reno's heavy French accent throughout. Gary Oldman is actually scary as a drug addicted DEA officer (catch the joke?). Some parts were very slow, but it IS meant to be more dramatic than action packed. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Aug 25, 2015
"The Professional" is a energetic action blockbuster that offers genius performances from Natalie Portman and Gary Oldman as director Luc Besson, with his grandiose visuals and tight choreography, creates a masterpiece for the ages.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
DiegoCMApr 2, 2013
The movie is great in everything, Gary oldman makes a perfect role and Jean Reno is amazing, Luc besson makes a great movie, the trama is perfect and the ending is a lot of reflection someone make happy a bad person.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
DanielC.Apr 14, 2007
Known to me as Leon. This is the best action film of all time. The New York Times are a bunch of stuck up losers and drag this movies reviewed score down, shame on you! (Always have to digg at somone!).
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RumblebeeloveJan 22, 2011
A great movie, with a very unique chemistry to it. Portman, Reno, and Oldman hold the film to a greatness, while the action glorifies it. Yes, there is touchy subject matter, but it is held well. See the international uncut version for aA great movie, with a very unique chemistry to it. Portman, Reno, and Oldman hold the film to a greatness, while the action glorifies it. Yes, there is touchy subject matter, but it is held well. See the international uncut version for a wonderfully wild ride. (Bonus points to the Transformers fans) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ZiggyStardustJun 24, 2011
Three great actors playing excellently. A very well done movie that is about much more than killing people as a profession. It's well directed and well told. Simply amazing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RECON-UKNov 23, 2013
An absolute legend of a movie, extremely well acted, and thoroughly played/ thought out well.
This movie is in a class of it's own, a high one at that, i do not want to mention too much as i would spoil the film, but this is a must watch!
An absolute legend of a movie, extremely well acted, and thoroughly played/ thought out well.
This movie is in a class of it's own, a high one at that, i do not want to mention too much as i would spoil the film, but this is a must watch!
10/10, awesome film.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
AlvaradoKTAJun 6, 2012
I loved this movie before I even watched it. Leon is French-produced, meaning you wont see any of Hollywood's cliches. Leon's not some undefeatable 6th sensed assassin .Instead he is human with emotions who cares for the world he lives in, heI loved this movie before I even watched it. Leon is French-produced, meaning you wont see any of Hollywood's cliches. Leon's not some undefeatable 6th sensed assassin .Instead he is human with emotions who cares for the world he lives in, he just has an immoral "profession". You can understand his decisions and begin to care for him and the girl. I even started caring for the plant Leon keeps. His relationship with the girl also really grows on you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
CinemaSinsMay 9, 2015
The career aspirations of Mathilda (Natalie Portman) aren't those of the average 12-year old girl. Instead of wanting to be a doctor, fashion model, teacher, lawyer, or nuclear physicist, Mathilda has decided to follow in the footsteps of herThe career aspirations of Mathilda (Natalie Portman) aren't those of the average 12-year old girl. Instead of wanting to be a doctor, fashion model, teacher, lawyer, or nuclear physicist, Mathilda has decided to follow in the footsteps of her best friend, surrogate father, and protector, Leon (Jean Reno). The only problem is that Leon is a "cleaner" -- a professional hit man ("Cool" is her one-word response when she learns this tidbit of information).

Mathilda comes from a very dysfunctional family. Her father is a drug dealer, his wife (played by Ellen Greene in a wig and performance that strongly recall images of Little Shop of Horrors' Audrey) despises her, and her half-sister enjoys beating her up. Mathilda's chief pleasure is hanging out in her New York City tenement building's stairwell, smoking cigarettes.

One day, a crooked cop (played with typical over-the-top exuberance by Gary Oldman) decides to have Mathilda's whole family exterminated. When she arrives home to find them slaughtered, she goes to Leon, who lives down the hall, for help. Although he's at first reluctant to open his door to her, once he does, she worms her way into both his life and his heart. And she's not some wide-eyed innocent; her desire to learn about killing is fueled by the need to exact bloody revenge for her little brother's murder (she could care less about the other family members).

In La Femme Nikita, writer/director Luc Besson proved his capability of putting as much octane and adrenaline into a thriller as any American director while keeping his formula uniquely non-Hollywood. Much the same is true of The Professional, which has sequences to rival those of Speed for white-knuckle excitement - not to mention a plot that's equally as preposterous.

The real strength of The Professional, however, is the central relationship between Mathilda and Leon. Although not well-founded in reality, these two characters mesh nicely. Despite an occasional low-key hint of sexual attraction, this is basically a father/daughter or mentor/apprentice relationship. There's nothing unique about a young girl melting the heart of a hardened loner except the manner in which Besson approaches the theme.

Jean Reno, essentially reprising his "cleaner" role from Nikita (where he was called Victor), plays his character with a perpetual deadpan (except when he lampoons John Wayne). He does more with mannerisms and body language than with facial expressions, and the closer he is drawn to Mathilda, the more uncomfortable he appears.

The less traditional role belongs to an impressive Natalie Portman, yet another member of the highly-talented, recent group of youthful actors. Portman portrays a victim of society's ills, the perfect example of innocence corrupted. There are likely some viewers who will be disturbed by Mathilda's predilection for profanity.

Because of the non-American flavor brought to this film by Besson, The Professional is anything but typical fare. It is stylish, darkly humorous, and almost artsy in its approach to the genre. Nevertheless, it delivers what viewers want from any thriller: lots of action. With some surprisingly strong character interaction, there's a lot to like about this movie, at least for those willing to look beyond all the bloodshed.

At one point, Leon comments to an attentive Mathilda that "the closer you get to being a pro, the closer you can get to the client." Through the intimacy of the link forged by Besson with his audience, there's no doubt that he's as much the consummate professional as his implacable title character.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysJul 17, 2014
León: The Professional manages to be an excellent action movie, while at the same time having some depth and character development, a rarity in the genre. It definitely sticks out (in a good way), and is both fun and entertaining. The movieLeón: The Professional manages to be an excellent action movie, while at the same time having some depth and character development, a rarity in the genre. It definitely sticks out (in a good way), and is both fun and entertaining. The movie is definitely worth a watch. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
SLevinNov 15, 2005
A farfetched, hollow tear-jerker A story so full of holes you could use it to catch fish. The film creators effortlessly skip over the wide gaps in the storyline, and concentrate on the action. Of course, because the movie wants to be deep, A farfetched, hollow tear-jerker A story so full of holes you could use it to catch fish. The film creators effortlessly skip over the wide gaps in the storyline, and concentrate on the action. Of course, because the movie wants to be deep, they sprinkle some shallow symbols everywhere: the milk, the plant, the youthful pre-teen, the aging killer with a heart of gold. Only missing was the tooth fairy. The plot, with its supposed twist and turns, is familiar to anyone who ever watched a decent French action movie from the last forty or fifty years. Even worse, Leon Expand
1 of 16 users found this helpful
5
JalemanyMay 15, 2015
Wrong choice tonight. The film takes a couple of risks that I appreciate, like showing a 12 year old trying to be sexy, smart and in love. Somehow politically incorrect, great!. But, the action and plot are clunky, ridiculously unrealistic,Wrong choice tonight. The film takes a couple of risks that I appreciate, like showing a 12 year old trying to be sexy, smart and in love. Somehow politically incorrect, great!. But, the action and plot are clunky, ridiculously unrealistic, genre jumpy and ultimately disappointing. Entertaining, yes, but life's too short. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
hootisJan 5, 2013
This movie is highly regarded, but I can not see anything to justify it. There are plenty of better movies that you can waste an hour with, many that are bad but they at least fit their roles. This movie is just a misfit that doesn't easilyThis movie is highly regarded, but I can not see anything to justify it. There are plenty of better movies that you can waste an hour with, many that are bad but they at least fit their roles. This movie is just a misfit that doesn't easily hold one's attention. There must be something I'm missing, like a popular release or good actors or something, but its just not very appealing. Expand
0 of 20 users found this helpful020
All this user's reviews
1
SEROJOct 30, 2015
The most overrated movie i've ever seen! Horrible story, good acting but overall below average movie! I'm sorry if you don't agree with me, its just my personal opinion.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
RoeylMay 13, 2011
This movie just. has. it.
The story is inspiring and its awkwardness is fantastic, there are no holes there: it's entertaining from beginning to end. The actors are wonderful, Jean Reno did his part very well and 12-year old Natalie Portman
This movie just. has. it.
The story is inspiring and its awkwardness is fantastic, there are no holes there: it's entertaining from beginning to end. The actors are wonderful, Jean Reno did his part very well and 12-year old Natalie Portman is amazing. Gary Oldman was fabulous. I could scream EVEEERYYYYOOONNNE!!!!!!! all day! (but never the way HE does). Even secondary characters were very well played. The end was royal: a mix of action and emotion is masterly delivered with a nice song to close the epilogue.
In conclusion, this movie is definitively a must-see. It's the only great movie that wasn't even nominated for Oscars.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
juliankleissJan 8, 2011
Despite being an action movie, really the film is about the difficulties of how to deal with a little kid that falls in love with you. Moreover, the movie encourages to enjoy life and suggests that revenge does not help but only makes aDespite being an action movie, really the film is about the difficulties of how to deal with a little kid that falls in love with you. Moreover, the movie encourages to enjoy life and suggests that revenge does not help but only makes a situation worse. Great acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ImUnavailableJun 9, 2012
There are a few different ways to see Leon (or Leon: The Professional or The Professional, whichever). The first is as an action movie, complete with tense and exciting thrills. You can also see it as a sweet movie in which two lonely peopleThere are a few different ways to see Leon (or Leon: The Professional or The Professional, whichever). The first is as an action movie, complete with tense and exciting thrills. You can also see it as a sweet movie in which two lonely people walk into and enhance the life of the other. The best way to view it, however, is as a combination of the two. Leon shows that a movie doesn't need to sacrifice emotion and sincerity in the name of action or cut down on violence for the sake of drama. Leon wants to be two things and succeeds admirably. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
wololoooMar 26, 2012
Hats off to Luc Besson for taking such a brave concept and absolutely nailing it. The Professional is one of the best films of the 90's, and trumps all but the best of today's thrillers. There's a really perfect balance between actionHats off to Luc Besson for taking such a brave concept and absolutely nailing it. The Professional is one of the best films of the 90's, and trumps all but the best of today's thrillers. There's a really perfect balance between action sequences and slower-paced, dialogue driven scenes. The interaction between the confident Portman and soft-spoken Reno is quite beautiful, and kept me hooked even as the film slowed in pace towards the mid-way point. However, it's Gary Oldman who steals the show as the psychotic DEA agent, which is no small feat given Reno and Portman's solid performances. I don't think there can be any denying his performance was a inspiration for Heath Ledger's portrayal of the Joker - sometimes humorous, usually clever, and always tinged with a little insanity.
The Professional truly is a gem - I just hope people can look past the mediocre critic reviews and form their own opinion.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
funkydoodycoolJul 14, 2015
A classic of the 90s, I recently revisited this film, and it still has the same impact. The chemistry between Mathilde and Leon is palpable (if a little creepy at times, from her point of view). As we follow Leon's change as he takesA classic of the 90s, I recently revisited this film, and it still has the same impact. The chemistry between Mathilde and Leon is palpable (if a little creepy at times, from her point of view). As we follow Leon's change as he takes Mathilde under his wing, we are witness to probably the greatest roles played by the three main-players - Jean Reno at his easy best, Natalie Portman as one of the best child actors of all time, and Gary Oldman... wow what a powerful part for him. He was at his best when he played villains. A worthy addition to any collection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews