Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: June 19, 2009
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 175 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
106
Mixed:
47
Negative:
22
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JW.Jun 21, 2009
This is what we want from hollywood. An entertaining comedy not their political views on things promoted by movies. Critics are a waste of time as well. Critics by and large are in the business of promoting their name recognition and have This is what we want from hollywood. An entertaining comedy not their political views on things promoted by movies. Critics are a waste of time as well. Critics by and large are in the business of promoting their name recognition and have nothing in common with fly over American values. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayneC.Jun 21, 2009
Loved this film, laughed all the way through it. FANTASTIC!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lauriW.Jun 21, 2009
Loved this movie. Well-directed, well-acted. Every scene was a gem that made me laugh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhyllisS.Jun 22, 2009
My husband and I really loved this movie. It was funny and a joy to watch. Did not remind me of another movie when I was watching it. Usually if the critics don't like a movie,,,,,,I do. One that I could watch over many times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
chochoFlyApr 8, 2010
Very fast and refreshing, not like some slow dull romantic comedies I have seen. The chemistry is strong. One of the best. Love it!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NatashaJJul 1, 2009
Extremely funny, and not overly sappy, like some romantic comedies can be. Great performances from Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tristancAug 26, 2009
Funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobinC.Jun 19, 2009
Love it, they are so good together, and Betty White is great!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlaDJun 29, 2009
Very funny and well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
gm101Nov 28, 2010
While I am no fan of chick flicks, I still loved this movie. I loved how they mocked the U.S. immigration problem, and Betty White is back (before watching the movie, I was actually watching reruns of the Golden Girls)!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LondonTrueloveNov 17, 2010
Sorry but it's beyond me how some of you losers can rate this movie so low. I was gonna give it a 9 but now I'm gonna give it a 10 just to piss you haters off. This was a damn good film. Bullock and Reynolds play off each other great and itSorry but it's beyond me how some of you losers can rate this movie so low. I was gonna give it a 9 but now I'm gonna give it a 10 just to piss you haters off. This was a damn good film. Bullock and Reynolds play off each other great and it was an all around fun and enjoyable movie. Very much worth watching Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
KSNYDZFeb 6, 2016
This movie is very funny and enjoyable to watch. The cast plays off each other wonderfully and Ryan Reynolds, Sandra Bullock, and Betty White are hilarious. The script is wonderfully written.The soundtrack to this movie is fun and makes theThis movie is very funny and enjoyable to watch. The cast plays off each other wonderfully and Ryan Reynolds, Sandra Bullock, and Betty White are hilarious. The script is wonderfully written.The soundtrack to this movie is fun and makes the movie even better. It is a movie I can watch again and again and I highly recommend others to watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ArchilBJan 21, 2010
Margaret Tate's Soul - conciliates to friendship, Appearance - attracts, Mind - provokes respect. Conclusion: Her Spirit
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
luisR.Jun 19, 2009
Hilarious harmless fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadSJun 25, 2009
This Movie was alot better than the Hangover which is WAY OVER RATED. I Hate to say it but this movie sucked me in, yes it is a bit predictable but the two leads are great...Ryan Reynolds especially. I laughed and at one point nearly teared This Movie was alot better than the Hangover which is WAY OVER RATED. I Hate to say it but this movie sucked me in, yes it is a bit predictable but the two leads are great...Ryan Reynolds especially. I laughed and at one point nearly teared up. So ignore the critics go see it if you want a nice, funny and well acted film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdrianFJul 2, 2009
I Love it!!! It's so funny, entertaining... the chemical energy between the incredible Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds are amazing and their acting was good... It's almost perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JessicaM.Jun 19, 2009
This movie had everyone in the theater laughing... They do great with each other... Definitely a chick flick even guys can stand! =)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
virginialJun 28, 2009
Sure it was predictable but so what. Good acting, good timing, The boy got the girl. What could be better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EvanJul 6, 2009
Surprisingly good from something that I had expected not to like. Sandra Bullock still has good comedy timing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TerriC.Jun 19, 2009
Loved it. Betty White was charming. More laughs than I expected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanaMJun 28, 2009
This movie was surprisingly funny and well done. Especially after reading the reviews I felt I was taking a chance. But as usual the reviews are misleading. Based on the positive reviews, we went to see "Hangover", which was very This movie was surprisingly funny and well done. Especially after reading the reviews I felt I was taking a chance. But as usual the reviews are misleading. Based on the positive reviews, we went to see "Hangover", which was very disappointing. "The Proposal" gets metsa reviews from the critics and we found it very funny and worth seeing. Yes, its predictable, but it's very entertaining and well worth the ten bucks to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
shayladNov 28, 2009
Very funny! Bullock and Reynolds chemistry was undeniable. Some parts seemed rushed or edited wrong but we could still convey what was going on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CambridgeJun 24, 2017
As a publishing professional I absolutely loved this movie. It had me laughing from A to ... not quite Z, but W. - Whoever made the movie knew how to put in the in-jokes for 'bookpeople', and any office workers under a fearsome boss. I lovedAs a publishing professional I absolutely loved this movie. It had me laughing from A to ... not quite Z, but W. - Whoever made the movie knew how to put in the in-jokes for 'bookpeople', and any office workers under a fearsome boss. I loved the comedic timing, the great visual jokes and lines that you couldn't see coming. I also loved the reversal of roles throughout, showing up ridiculous, hurtful, minionizing ... behaviour by letting ladies act out such typical bad male behaviour and thus helping us with a bellybursting laugh to act on our instincts and agree that none of that behaviour is worth striving for. The last 15% of the film became more wearisome, but I was very glad of a happy romantic ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DwayneMJul 6, 2009
I hate girl movies but this was pretty dang funny.....SHe was a riot and what a nude seen,,,she gets an A for working out....The whole cast was hysterical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayH.Oct 7, 2009
I don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelCJun 27, 2009
I'm usually not the biggest fan of romance movies, but The Proposal definitely was one of the best. Admitted, there were some areas that could have had better acting involved, overall it was interestingly funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillJJun 29, 2009
I went with a friend. it was much better than I thought it would be. The ending was the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZachF.Aug 2, 2009
The movie was surprisingly good for looking like a "chick flik". The comedy was as great, but the plot seemed like you could see everything coming.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
VaronL.Jun 19, 2009
I'd really come close to giving this movie an 8.5, but there are a few things that keep it from being a 9. If creepy male strippers bother you, there's about 3 minutes of the show you should just close your eyes or look away. I'd really come close to giving this movie an 8.5, but there are a few things that keep it from being a 9. If creepy male strippers bother you, there's about 3 minutes of the show you should just close your eyes or look away. It's somewhat cliche but honestly, what romantic comedy isn't? You know from the get-go the guy's going to get the girl, somehow, someway, the fun in the experience is seeing how it happens, and the two main actors deliver this experience perfectly, and the comedy is great. It could have used a little bit more of a reason as to how things changed for the two of them, but it looks like it's going to be the only chick flick that isn't going to be rated R this summer, and the only one so far, so if you're looking for a good chick flick this summer, this is it! (unless you can get her to watch transformers or star trek ;-)...all in all a solid movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrennanM.Jun 20, 2009
WOW. I'm a guy, and I really don't like that many Romantic Comedies, mainly because the romance is always cheesy and overdone. This movie however, despite having a very weak plot, was absolutely hilarious at many moments, and was WOW. I'm a guy, and I really don't like that many Romantic Comedies, mainly because the romance is always cheesy and overdone. This movie however, despite having a very weak plot, was absolutely hilarious at many moments, and was careful to avoid oh so many cliches. Seriously, every time the movie started droning on or falling into mediocrity, there was suddenly some unexpected twist or event that just made the theater crack up laughing. Also, the chemistry between the two was a great mix of puppy love and humor, thus the relationship never got old. Good stuff, I would recommend seeing it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful