Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 374 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a future America devastated by crime and overcrowded prisons, the government provides a 12-hour period once a year when all criminal activity (including murder) is legal. A man attempts to protect his family from an intruder during one such period.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 33
  2. Negative: 10 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Jun 4, 2013
    83
    The Purge manages to be smart, scary, and subversive.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jun 5, 2013
    67
    The Purge clearly has a lot on its mind, but it never really manages to express it.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Young
    Jun 1, 2013
    50
    What should be a clammy exercise in claustrophobic, queasy tension becomes, in the hands of writer/director James DeMonaco, an underpowered compendium of over-familiar scare tactics and sledgehammer-subtle social satire.
  4. 50
    So, fans, gear up for rock-em-sock-em action, yet don’t be disappointed if much of the goonery seems a bit tepid and, dare I say, staged.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    May 31, 2013
    40
    The film doesn't develop its one good idea so much as stumble around in the dark with it for 85 minutes, crashing noisily into the furniture.
  6. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Jun 7, 2013
    38
    Instead of being a creepy B-movie about the necessity of suppressing one's animalistic urges, The Purge is just an uninspired film.
  7. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Jun 6, 2013
    20
    The Purge is one of those unimaginative horror flicks that depend on skreeky music and sudden appearances to startle, but never actually frighten, the audience. The characters are undeveloped, the twists clumsily telegraphed and unsurprising.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 143
  2. Negative: 52 out of 143
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    I don't feel that the low user score is warranted. The movie deserves an 8/10 for originality alone. A great concept with some really qualityI don't feel that the low user score is warranted. The movie deserves an 8/10 for originality alone. A great concept with some really quality acting, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie which leans more towards the more extreme portions of the human condition but is nonetheless a thoroughly entertaining flick (unless you're a pacifist or bleeding heart liberal) which is certainly worth a watch Expand
  2. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    What is wrong with people? Purge is exactly what the audience wants. Action,horror,suspense and blood. How people didn't like it? The plot mayWhat is wrong with people? Purge is exactly what the audience wants. Action,horror,suspense and blood. How people didn't like it? The plot may sound silly and some people may not like it I accept that) but it is original something that most horror movies nowadays aren't. I also don't understand how critics like The Cabin in the woods which is a movie and they didn't like the Purge which was a scary intense film. Lena Headey was a big surprise to me as I've only seen here in Game of thrones where she is excellent as "the bad guy" and she was even good playing "the good guy" and the mother who protects her daughter and son. In overall there is suspense and The Purge it has a good original plot that many people will like and others will not. I like the Purge and I consider it as one of the best horror-thriller movie that I have seen Thumbs up! Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2013
    7
    The movie was great. I loved it. I really keeps you on your feet the movie but the movie is very short. But I would recommend seeing it. It'sThe movie was great. I loved it. I really keeps you on your feet the movie but the movie is very short. But I would recommend seeing it. It's a whole new paradigm. The movie has a bit of that horror feeling and jumps but it won't leave you with nightmares but only the illusion that keeps you wondering...could this ever happen.?? Expand
  4. Jul 24, 2013
    4
    this movie has an original story and it's well done, but the thing is that the movie doesn't have anything to do with te trailer, the moviethis movie has an original story and it's well done, but the thing is that the movie doesn't have anything to do with te trailer, the movie was too short an the end just doesn't have sense, and it doesn't go with the movie, and this movie didn't scared me at all. I just dont recommend it. Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I watched the Purge this weekend and I gotta say I wasn't even in the least bit impressed. Before I continue, I have to say that this is the dumbest concept for a movie ever! So let me get this straight, in this movie, people are contempt with being able to commit a crime only on one day an that just basically stops crime? What about serial killers? Beyond that apparently, everyone just kinda excepted this Idea as there were no talks of people standing against the purging. To make matters worse this is in 2022 and according to the movie it started in 2017 just five years later and everyone celebrates a purging like it's the Super Bowl. Hell, they literally have a Purge TV. In other words I already Hate these people right off the bat. .By the way another huge problem with the concept is that it isn't explained how it works. During the broadcast you are allowed to use weapons except for class 5 and above. So, no rocket launchers? You also can't hurt Class 10 Government officials I think. So Don't kill the president and his cabinet? Also medical aid/police stations/fire stations are suspended. So what happens if you have a heart attack? What stops you from killing all cops? That is the main problem with the concept it doesn't go into details with the rules. But I digress. The next problem is the movie starts a pointless plot point that goes nowhere. We spend about 20 minutes on the boyfriend explaining that he would talk to the girl's father, only to be axed early and almost completely forgotten. We could use this time to explain the rules and reason for the purge, but nope, completely wasted.Something else annoying is this movie isn't scary in the least, but tries with a couple hundred jump scares. JUMP SCARES ARE NOT SCARY! There are alot of annoying things that appear in the movie so as to say this is a plot point, you stupid monkey". Like when you see a burnt up baby toy with wheels and a camera. Geez, I wonder if this is important. The reason for this is that one of the main producers is Platinum Dunes. If you don't know what that is, does Micheal Bay ring a bell? Nuff Said. In the story the family locks themselves in there house for protection against the aforementioned Purge. BTW is it me or is the only reason the purge exist in this movie, an excuse for the plot to happen. It is just there so the home invasion movie can happen for a contrived reason. When the son lets a wounded homeless man in his house cause he's a dumb ass. The man is followed by a gang of youths who are trying to kill him. To bring the movies message deeper they make the youths from an affluent neighborhood and mostly white while making the man Black, homeless and a veteran. This is a cheap way to gain sympathy for the character, that really isn't needed. The youths tell them that they need to find the man, so they kill him just for being poor. If they don't, they will be killed with him. At this point the movie becomes a hunting movie with nothing happening until he is found and we are shown why we shouldn't like the characters in the movie. however the family for no reason completely out of nowhere decide to save the man and fight. At this point it becomes a home invasion movie as the youths move in to kill them. Yes it is like you walked into a different movie. A bunch of people die and there is a trifecta of Deus Ex Machinas. I won't spoil the ending except to say that the movie ends without being climactic and just comes off strange yet hilarious. And what was the point there was no change nothing was improve, making this movie COMPLETELY POINTLESS! It is sad cause this movie had great actors in it(except for the main villain), but they had nothing to work with. This movie is a 4/10 to me, it's just meh. You'll forget this movie after watching it. Hell I had to look up some thing to write this review. A stupid plot, pointless filler, uneven pace, and generally crap atmosphere. I might be being nice but I am going to leave it at that. Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2013
    3
    Le film montre ce qu'est l’Amérique avec leur désire de nettoyer la vermine... Le film est vraiment null en particulier les enfants. Je donneLe film montre ce qu'est l’Amérique avec leur désire de nettoyer la vermine... Le film est vraiment null en particulier les enfants. Je donne 3 mais j'ai voulu donné 0... Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2014
    0
    Watch this movie. Watch this movie if you like the feeling of anger pulsing through your bloodstream because you gave Ethan Hawke anotherWatch this movie. Watch this movie if you like the feeling of anger pulsing through your bloodstream because you gave Ethan Hawke another chance. Because you thought the plot sounded cool, because you wanted to see rich people die.
    If not, leave this one alone, because it is one of the most infuriating movies I have ever had the opportunity to see.
    I wish there was an annual "purge" (like that fairy tale BS would fly in any country) so that I could legally execute the talented individuals who brought us this film.
    Expand

See all 143 User Reviews

Trailers