Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 339 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a future America devastated by crime and overcrowded prisons, the government provides a 12-hour period once a year when all criminal activity (including murder) is legal. A man attempts to protect his family from an intruder during one such period.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 33
  2. Negative: 10 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Jun 4, 2013
    83
    The Purge manages to be smart, scary, and subversive.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jun 5, 2013
    67
    The Purge clearly has a lot on its mind, but it never really manages to express it.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Young
    Jun 1, 2013
    50
    What should be a clammy exercise in claustrophobic, queasy tension becomes, in the hands of writer/director James DeMonaco, an underpowered compendium of over-familiar scare tactics and sledgehammer-subtle social satire.
  4. 50
    So, fans, gear up for rock-em-sock-em action, yet don’t be disappointed if much of the goonery seems a bit tepid and, dare I say, staged.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    May 31, 2013
    40
    The film doesn't develop its one good idea so much as stumble around in the dark with it for 85 minutes, crashing noisily into the furniture.
  6. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Jun 7, 2013
    38
    Instead of being a creepy B-movie about the necessity of suppressing one's animalistic urges, The Purge is just an uninspired film.
  7. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Jun 6, 2013
    20
    The Purge is one of those unimaginative horror flicks that depend on skreeky music and sudden appearances to startle, but never actually frighten, the audience. The characters are undeveloped, the twists clumsily telegraphed and unsurprising.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 136
  2. Negative: 51 out of 136
  1. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    I don't feel that the low user score is warranted. The movie deserves an 8/10 for originality alone. A great concept with some really quality acting, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie which leans more towards the more extreme portions of the human condition but is nonetheless a thoroughly entertaining flick (unless you're a pacifist or bleeding heart liberal) which is certainly worth a watch Expand
  2. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    These reviews are all a little off. I don't think the writers were going for any awards with this one, they just wanted to entertain. You shouldn't expect thoughtful characters or realistic scenarios in a movie about a nation that knowingly disregards crime once yearly. What I expected was suspense, and plenty of situations that would scare me if imagining myself in that scenario. If characters were realistic or made good decisions in any horror movie, the horror would quickly end. Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2013
    7
    The movie is a breathe of fresh air with a new idea which is out of the ordinary for Hollywood now a days and welcomed by the audience. The story moves at a relativity adequate pace without to much being tied down in a romance story that holds a lot of movies in this class. The movie only slows down and even gets lackluster in the end. The stories conclusion is very simple and easily seen coming even minutes into the open. The simple write can draw in those who are new to cinema but those who have seen a few thrillers will not be impressed or shocked by the ending and even disappointed that they chose such a pedestrian reason for such a great stories conclusion. Expand
  4. Jul 28, 2014
    4
    It's a pity such an interesting idea was wasted on making a home-invasion horror flick. The genre is not the problem, though. It's how its creator decides to present his film. He wants a profitable horror film that follows cliches and aims at horror film audiences alone. He wants nothing more than violence and scare jumps. It is a pity this premise is not exploited at all. It feels like every single remark on social issues is a matter of luck. A great disappointment when you have been captivated by Universal's intriguing marketing campaign, but shows potential that can be fulfilled in sequel films. Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2013
    3
    The problem is that The Purge has a powerful plot and ideas that are never used before, what happens here is that it is turned into a tired, cliché ridden, low budget slasher horror film, that could have been great and thought provoking. Lost opportunity. Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2013
    3
    Le film montre ce qu'est l’Amérique avec leur désire de nettoyer la vermine... Le film est vraiment null en particulier les enfants. Je donne 3 mais j'ai voulu donné 0... Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2014
    0
    Watch this movie. Watch this movie if you like the feeling of anger pulsing through your bloodstream because you gave Ethan Hawke another chance. Because you thought the plot sounded cool, because you wanted to see rich people die.
    If not, leave this one alone, because it is one of the most infuriating movies I have ever had the opportunity to see.
    I wish there was an annual "purge" (like that fairy tale BS would fly in any country) so that I could legally execute the talented individuals who brought us this film.
    Expand

See all 136 User Reviews

Trailers