Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 15, 2006
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 310 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
224
Mixed:
33
Negative:
53
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JondoeMar 2, 2009
great movie. anyone who disagrees is a blind fool. it shows how real men take care of their kids. also a great movie on learning how to be a father and getting to know your kid. i don't even want to get into the motivational and other great movie. anyone who disagrees is a blind fool. it shows how real men take care of their kids. also a great movie on learning how to be a father and getting to know your kid. i don't even want to get into the motivational and other aspects of the movie. great acting jobs all around. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
10
SteveDec 22, 2006
I'm surprised with the negative comments. This was a fantastic movie, dare I say the best movie I've seen all year. Seldom do movies capture the essence of the importance of life with such heart. I loved everything about it and I'm surprised with the negative comments. This was a fantastic movie, dare I say the best movie I've seen all year. Seldom do movies capture the essence of the importance of life with such heart. I loved everything about it and highly recommend it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BcApr 6, 2007
Much better than average. I liked the determination, motivation, and committment Gardner shows. Yup, it was predictable, and also a little bit too long, but that doesn't take away from the story. It's great to see a movie that Much better than average. I liked the determination, motivation, and committment Gardner shows. Yup, it was predictable, and also a little bit too long, but that doesn't take away from the story. It's great to see a movie that isn't full of sex, violence and profanity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StevenS.Jan 5, 2007
The acting in this film outshines the film itself. Which means a lot considering this was a good film. It nearly rises to the level of great but falls short. Will Smith gives a performance that will surely get recgonized by Academy voters. The acting in this film outshines the film itself. Which means a lot considering this was a good film. It nearly rises to the level of great but falls short. Will Smith gives a performance that will surely get recgonized by Academy voters. The only thing that dragged this film down were its lighter moments in which everything seems normal. Will Smith's son gives a standout debut as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AllyF.Feb 8, 2008
It's a great movie It inspire me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidL.Jan 2, 2007
It was a good film with a fine performance by Will Smith. How ironic that the story about the grueling experiences of a down on his luck loser could also be one of the most inspiring films in quite some time. Here is hoping that Will Smith It was a good film with a fine performance by Will Smith. How ironic that the story about the grueling experiences of a down on his luck loser could also be one of the most inspiring films in quite some time. Here is hoping that Will Smith gets an Oscar nod for his understated performance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YolandaP.Jan 4, 2007
This is what the world of father's need to see, this is one of the main problems going on in America. Men not stepping up to the plate and being the father that children need. This is a true example of a father.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackG.Feb 4, 2007
This movie is a perfect example of how anybody can get back on their feet. I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BitBurnFeb 8, 2007
Good stuff. I enjoyed this movie a lot. Congrats Will Smith! Although the ending was a bit disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JSApr 30, 2007
One hell of a good movie, and makes me appreciate my life so much more. Its a story about a guy who had a dream, went staight after it, and got it in the face of overwhelming odds. I was also expecting that this would be another picture One hell of a good movie, and makes me appreciate my life so much more. Its a story about a guy who had a dream, went staight after it, and got it in the face of overwhelming odds. I was also expecting that this would be another picture portraying all whites as bad people, but it wasn't like that at all. In fact, while the people from his own neighborhood largely rejected him and kicked him out, it was a bunch of rich white guys in suits who ended up giving him his chance (after he worked like crazy to make it happen). It was an ironic twist to a wonderful film. I am also no Will Smith fan, but he was perfect in this role. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatC.Jul 3, 2007
The lack of subtlety is distracting in some scenes. Also, the father and son operate in a vacuum oblivious to the importance of others. Otherwise, fine show, true-to-life, both realistic and upbeat, with valuable lessons. Time well spent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GloriaC-HAug 17, 2007
This was a great movie. It made my husband cry. Will Smith did a great job and I now no only see him as a comedian but also a great actor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KielL.Apr 23, 2008
The Story is great! Chris Gardner work so hard to get a job! The Funny Part is when he said "I Cant Spell Happieness"and he got hitted by a car! Story is about the on and off-homeless salesman-turned-stockbroker Chris Gardner and his son The Story is great! Chris Gardner work so hard to get a job! The Funny Part is when he said "I Cant Spell Happieness"and he got hitted by a car! Story is about the on and off-homeless salesman-turned-stockbroker Chris Gardner and his son Christopher! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertS.Jul 16, 2008
Some serious acting from Will Smith. This and I am Legend show off his skills well, and if you find it boring, then maybe you should try to appreciate the achievements a bit more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeggyB.Dec 19, 2006
I loved it. It was a story that I have seen in front of my eyes before. I have a friend that is going through hardship, but has determination to make it through. It was beautiful to see smith react with his son. Oscar nod should be a I loved it. It was a story that I have seen in front of my eyes before. I have a friend that is going through hardship, but has determination to make it through. It was beautiful to see smith react with his son. Oscar nod should be a definite, oscar win a great possibility. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MariaB.Jan 15, 2007
It was a great movie. Will Smith had an outstanding performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StoptheH.Jan 19, 2007
The movie is great. EVERYONE in here that gave this movie less than 5 stars must either a) hate their own life and situation, or b) hate the fact that there ARE people like this out there- that don't give up. It makes me sick that the The movie is great. EVERYONE in here that gave this movie less than 5 stars must either a) hate their own life and situation, or b) hate the fact that there ARE people like this out there- that don't give up. It makes me sick that the bulk of the criticism boils down to - it's unbelieveable (even though it's true), or why should anyone succeed because there are so many people suffering. That mindset is not only idiotic, it's dangerous. I bet if it depicted rich white people losing everything and winding up in the streets, they'd give it a 10. stop the hate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarolG.Jan 2, 2007
This is a wonderful movie and so nice to FINALLY see a show that has some good moral values! Will Smith is a wonderful actor. It is so good to see a self made person and to know that determination pays off. This story is about Chris This is a wonderful movie and so nice to FINALLY see a show that has some good moral values! Will Smith is a wonderful actor. It is so good to see a self made person and to know that determination pays off. This story is about Chris Gardner's life, not a made up fairy tale. This man is a very successful broker and recenty sold his brokerage firm and is using his monies to help others. Not just people here in the US, but other countries as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErinRJan 2, 2007
I have been in pursuit to find a great movie, one that evokes emotion, intelligence and one that is worth the cost of movies these days. I was Happy to find " The Pursuit Of Happyness". The most compelling part is when Chris Gardner tells I have been in pursuit to find a great movie, one that evokes emotion, intelligence and one that is worth the cost of movies these days. I was Happy to find " The Pursuit Of Happyness". The most compelling part is when Chris Gardner tells his son to pursue his dreams no matter what. It was inspiring to see powerful positive words used to overcome the darkest shadows that the world can cast. It embodied my thoughts on how I would react in that type of situation, it is a true story, one that takes a strong sense of character to live through. This movie was beautifully told, a strong movie that allows one to think beyond the surface, to think deeply with our hearts. Something the world is lacking at the present time. The Pursuit of Happyness will make you think, and feel, for we all have dreams, and most importantly this connects all of us, for everyone is in pursuit of happiness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaxW.Dec 3, 2007
A wonderful movie that leaves a lasting impression; one of the best I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CandaceTFeb 11, 2007
I enjoyed this movie a lot. Not only did I think the acting was great, but it's nice to see movies about something for a change. Biography type movies make you remember that not everyone who is doing well for themselves was born with a I enjoyed this movie a lot. Not only did I think the acting was great, but it's nice to see movies about something for a change. Biography type movies make you remember that not everyone who is doing well for themselves was born with a silver spoon. And in watching this movie it allowed me to research a very respectable and decent person, in which this world is running short on. I thought Will and Jaden Smith did excellent jobs on portraying their character and not just being "that actor" in "that movie". For those of you who make opinions with basis, you are completely entitled to your opinion, but you shouldn't make comments without all the facts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamieH.Feb 8, 2007
A very good movie. I'm not sure why all the negative comments, especially from some people who haven't even seen the movie!! Will Smith does a very good job, and his son is a natural. By the end, I forgot I was watching Will Smith. A very good movie. I'm not sure why all the negative comments, especially from some people who haven't even seen the movie!! Will Smith does a very good job, and his son is a natural. By the end, I forgot I was watching Will Smith. He completely became his character. I think this movie will resonate with anyone that has had to make a hard decision in trying to make a better life for themselves or in chasing down a dream. It makes you really care about the main character and root for him to succeed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SaraApr 20, 2007
I give this movie a 10 because it teaches a life lesson about motivation, and how Chris was motivated to become a stock broker. It is a good movie for someone to watch that needs motivaton.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jdkjhdfdApr 20, 2007
This is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Yes, it's not a happy, cheery, little elf film, but it all turns out in the end, everything turns out fine. If you have even a shread of soul, this movie will warm your heart. I want This is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Yes, it's not a happy, cheery, little elf film, but it all turns out in the end, everything turns out fine. If you have even a shread of soul, this movie will warm your heart. I want everyone to see it now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PnArdyPnArdyMay 13, 2007
Great emotional drama with Will Smith about a father who loves and cares about his young son in spite of all the difficulties of the Great Depression in America. Should have got an Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnonDec 7, 2008
Powerful and (near) perfect
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisE.Mar 2, 2008
This movie was great. Will Smith shows his emotional side of acting in this well made movie about never giving up hope, and to never give up on fighting for what you want. I enjoyed this movie the whole way through. I thought that 117 This movie was great. Will Smith shows his emotional side of acting in this well made movie about never giving up hope, and to never give up on fighting for what you want. I enjoyed this movie the whole way through. I thought that 117 minutes in length for this type of film would be to long, but i was proven wrong, this movie was worth the time. I think that this was Will Smiths best performance ever in a movie. If you haven't seen this movie then you should its definitely worth the money to buy the dvd. I think it deserved more than a 64, but i don't care what the critics say, i give it a 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RheicelR.Mar 23, 2008
The best movie that I have ever watched. Effortless but the message is clear. Nice one, Will Smith!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomaszMay 3, 2009
I agree with Jon doe, It's amazing. A 9 because it as sooooo sad in parts and hard to watch. But it gets you on your feet in the end. A heartwarming, inspiring story, movie, and performance by Will Smith. I'm happy this was a true I agree with Jon doe, It's amazing. A 9 because it as sooooo sad in parts and hard to watch. But it gets you on your feet in the end. A heartwarming, inspiring story, movie, and performance by Will Smith. I'm happy this was a true story, just GREAT. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MitchM.Dec 16, 2006
This movie shows you why America is the greatest country in the world. And why those with integrity, compassion, and commitments to their families can succeed with hard work and drive. Smith is incredibly good. I haven't been touched by This movie shows you why America is the greatest country in the world. And why those with integrity, compassion, and commitments to their families can succeed with hard work and drive. Smith is incredibly good. I haven't been touched by a film in this way in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobR.Dec 16, 2006
The movie is indeed an incredible story of mans will to pursue his right for happiness, and to take care of his son. The amount of work and determination exerted is phenomenal and can be greatly admired in the film...I thought the film was The movie is indeed an incredible story of mans will to pursue his right for happiness, and to take care of his son. The amount of work and determination exerted is phenomenal and can be greatly admired in the film...I thought the film was slightly redundant however and lacked to really hit home emotionally except in a couple occasion. Overall good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SW.Dec 17, 2006
Will Smith's performance deserves an Oscar!...what a refreshing job of acting! Since this is a true story, we know the outcome, but how the character was built is the core of the movie. I agree with a previous post that Wall Street is Will Smith's performance deserves an Oscar!...what a refreshing job of acting! Since this is a true story, we know the outcome, but how the character was built is the core of the movie. I agree with a previous post that Wall Street is about greed and that men of color are discriminated...and I'm almost certain that in real life, Gardner himself was the victim of racial discrimation. The 80's was an era of social transformation when racial discrimination was coming to a serious frution within society, which wasn't completed until the late 80's-early 90's. I believe Hollywood wanted to make this a "feel good" movie rather than show the harshness of our society. Sadly, it only showed "money" is the "pursuit of happy-ness"...it was a very sad story that made me shed tears, but it also made a false impression. I've worked as a trader and find stockbrokers to be fast-talking self-centered ego-maniacs...but that's the nature of their job. I also find it hard to believe that Gardner's wife left without a hitch knowing she worked double shifts to keep her family alive when Gardner wasn't pulling his load. The story was quite riveting and inspirational, but it was also filmed in Hollywood-style, where stories are embellished without question. With a background in law and financing, I presume there is more to Gardner's real life, which was probably cut from the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GLDec 20, 2006
all these people who are complaining about this movie being too hollywood... WHAT DID YOU EXPECT??? the acting was phenomenal! i dont care how outlandish this movie was, the acting made up for every bit of absurdity contained in the script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelL.Dec 23, 2006
I cannot believe how many negative comments were posted for this movie. The movie captures the BIOGRAPHICAL events that one man endures in order to gain status and, more importantly, happiness in a world that is against him. Hollywood did I cannot believe how many negative comments were posted for this movie. The movie captures the BIOGRAPHICAL events that one man endures in order to gain status and, more importantly, happiness in a world that is against him. Hollywood did not try to spruce up the plot because there was no need. The story actually happened! How can one say that the movie is 'unbelievable' when the events actually took place? I feel that Hollywood did a fantastic job of capturing the essence of the "American Dream": through diligence, strife, and dedication, one can achieve great things. The actors in this movie were very plausible. I was easily able to empathize with each of the main characters, while still maintaining a consistent sympathy for Will Smith's struggle to the top. For those out there who are looking for a well-developed, self-made man type of movie, look no further. As stated before, this movie is based off of ACTUAL events. If the viewer keeps this in mind, I see no reason why one could not enjoy 'The Pursuit of Happyness'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelM.Dec 26, 2006
This is a really great movie! This guy had a dream and he pursued that dream with intelligence, hard work, integrity, and persistence. He saw something that he could be talented in and that he could finally succeed in! Some people don't This is a really great movie! This guy had a dream and he pursued that dream with intelligence, hard work, integrity, and persistence. He saw something that he could be talented in and that he could finally succeed in! Some people don't seem to like that it looks like he is selling in to materialism and he's chasing a capitalistic dream. However, he could have been pursuing success in any form. This well made movie tells the story of man's triumph over hardship (i.e. Shashank Redemption) so don't talk about unrealistic! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielKDec 28, 2006
I do not do this very often, but this was a flawless film. It is not great entertainment. In fact, it was grueling and (to quote my teenage son) stressful to watch. I am also a self-made man who has endured many hardships for the sake of my I do not do this very often, but this was a flawless film. It is not great entertainment. In fact, it was grueling and (to quote my teenage son) stressful to watch. I am also a self-made man who has endured many hardships for the sake of my family, so this was an especially poignant film for me. Will Smith is at the top of his game. The writing was inspired, as was this man Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterJ.Nov 24, 2007
Will Smith and his son put on one of the best acting performances I have seen in a long time. Very touching film as well, especially since it is based on a true story. Watching this movie puts things in perspective, as I bet none of us had Will Smith and his son put on one of the best acting performances I have seen in a long time. Very touching film as well, especially since it is based on a true story. Watching this movie puts things in perspective, as I bet none of us had to work nearly as hard in our pursuit of happiness. Bring on I am Legend Will! Dec 14th! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveS.Apr 15, 2007
This was an uplifting, motivating, heartfelt movie. I thnk some of the reviewers here missed the point completely. It's all about believing in yourself and doing what it takes to get to where you want to be. Was the acting, pacing or This was an uplifting, motivating, heartfelt movie. I thnk some of the reviewers here missed the point completely. It's all about believing in yourself and doing what it takes to get to where you want to be. Was the acting, pacing or dialogue the best of the year? No, but it didn't have to be to get its message across. Bear in mind, too, that the dialogue was based on the true story and the amount of repitition in the movie was used to convey what we go through in real life. I got it and I think a lot of people do, hopefully Hollywood will deliver more movies like this and fewer like 300. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrendanApr 17, 2007
I personally don't watch to many dramas or enjoy them for that matter but I very much enjoyed this film. Will Smith gives a great performance and makes sure you feel his pain and suffrage. You realize how poverty really effects people I personally don't watch to many dramas or enjoy them for that matter but I very much enjoyed this film. Will Smith gives a great performance and makes sure you feel his pain and suffrage. You realize how poverty really effects people and makes you want to help him as soon as you can. You want him to win and you can;t help but smile when he finally does. I hope that everyone gives this film a try because it surly deserves everyone's attention. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChiliF.Jun 17, 2007
It's a very good movie. It was very inspiring to see him keep his clothes clean even when he had to live in filth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaxPFeb 17, 2008
One of the most beautiful contemporary films I have ever seen. Ignore the bad reviews. Watch this film and you will not be disappointed. Will Smith plays an absolute blinder - the only time you will hear different is from pretentious so One of the most beautiful contemporary films I have ever seen. Ignore the bad reviews. Watch this film and you will not be disappointed. Will Smith plays an absolute blinder - the only time you will hear different is from pretentious so called "film buffs" and people with a complete lack of culture. 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NathanL.Dec 15, 2006
Will Smith gives the performance of his career in this inspirational story of a man who overcame poverty to become a stock broker at Dean Witter Reynolds Brokeridge. This movie may beat you up for a good hour and a half, but you will come Will Smith gives the performance of his career in this inspirational story of a man who overcame poverty to become a stock broker at Dean Witter Reynolds Brokeridge. This movie may beat you up for a good hour and a half, but you will come out with the belief that if this man can make it anyone can. And that's good enough for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Dec 15, 2006
Things didn't come easily for Chris Gardner(Will Smith), and "The Pursuit of Happyness" has the patience, and more importantly, we have the patience, to sit through all of this man's ups and downs. The film does an excellent job of Things didn't come easily for Chris Gardner(Will Smith), and "The Pursuit of Happyness" has the patience, and more importantly, we have the patience, to sit through all of this man's ups and downs. The film does an excellent job of engrossing us in Gardner's failures(even Chris' hiring at Dean Whitter is played as a downer), because in a film like this, they're only delaying the inevitable. We know how it's going to end. At times, "The Pursuit of Happyness" doesn't feel like it was made by a major studio: case and point, the scene between Chris and Christopher(Jaden Smith) at the subway station. This movie isn't afraid to go nowhere. It meanders(in one scene, father and son end up at a shelter, only to be redirected to another shelter) a little. "The Pursuit of Happyness" feels, pardon the cliche, real. The rapport between both Smiths radiates a sense of actual familial love which nimbly transcends the potential for sentimentality. This is a feel-good movie in the very best sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Dec 19, 2006
I have seen all of his movies but Ali; with that said, this is his greatest role. He truly was Chris Gardner. I have never been so touched by or thrilled for a character in my life. Kudos, Mr. Smith!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinY.Dec 19, 2006
If you do not believe in the american dream then stay at home because you will not like this movie. This movie is about the lost values of most americans. I found the message refreshing but I must admit the hardships seen can be overwhelming If you do not believe in the american dream then stay at home because you will not like this movie. This movie is about the lost values of most americans. I found the message refreshing but I must admit the hardships seen can be overwhelming by the end of the movie. Then again, to get the payoff of the ending you have to sit through some hard times, much like the main character. Who said good things come easy? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DawnMDec 26, 2006
Better than the book -- and I almost never feel that way. It could have been shorter (the middle dragged a wee bit), but aside from that, it was excellent. A tearjerker, for sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JShizzleDec 29, 2006
Unbelievable, you have to be ruthless to give this movie anything less than a perfect 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CourtneyG.Nov 13, 2007
I thought it was a great film ...one of the best I've ever seen!! two thumbs up for will and his son they did fantastic!!! im even doing a a movie project on this movie!! great job!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
UsamahNov 12, 2010
The movie was wonderful,yes,emotional,yes,depressing,yes,dull,no,long,no,and definitely not at all bad...Smith's performance was truly a highlight through out and Jaden Smith also played his part brilliantly...AS a result i was able to spotThe movie was wonderful,yes,emotional,yes,depressing,yes,dull,no,long,no,and definitely not at all bad...Smith's performance was truly a highlight through out and Jaden Smith also played his part brilliantly...AS a result i was able to spot this certain connection between the two that felt really good.Apart from the acting,the rest was also pretty good.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mcharltonFeb 27, 2011
Will Smith has been used to playing brainless roles in big dumb action movies. It's a nice change to see him playing a more serious role for a change. The whole movie was about acting. There were no special effects, no bells and whistles,Will Smith has been used to playing brainless roles in big dumb action movies. It's a nice change to see him playing a more serious role for a change. The whole movie was about acting. There were no special effects, no bells and whistles, it was Will Smith's acting ability and the genuine bond with his real son that made Christopher so believable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
VaiKellyMar 24, 2011
I gave this movie 8 out of 10, for the simple reason and premise that it is based upon a real story, and that the performances are strong and true to its overall content. Will Smith is NOT the revelation of this movie, it is his son, Jaden.I gave this movie 8 out of 10, for the simple reason and premise that it is based upon a real story, and that the performances are strong and true to its overall content. Will Smith is NOT the revelation of this movie, it is his son, Jaden. Strange irony for me to say this, because Smith is one of the most talented actors/performers alive and is a personal favorite of mine. Director Gabriele Muccino hasn't done anything extraordinary, but has simply made an ordinary, real-life story extraordinarily uplifting. And he has his actors as well as Andrea Guerra's moving background score to thank. Probably disrespectful for me to say this, considering that a movie's success/failure depends entirely on its direction and concept. So let me retract my earlier line about the director! Smith's Chris Gardner might probably be the unluckiest guy in the world, as he runs around with what could safely be described as 'an object from outer space,' but does so with such urgency that even his own wife, played horribly by Thandie Newton, thinks it's a useless idea. Funny she should think that, considering she moved in with Chris in a new house because the objects (portable bone density scanners) once seemed highly potential for their future. Newton's Linda Gardner is a bit too unnatural and hurried for me. If she had reasons to be so cross and frustrated with Chris and their normal life, she probably could have done with a few more scenes, either shadows or memories from the past or even the present. But Linda felt a bit too hyper anxious and helpless. Jaden Smith doesn't disappoint in his movie debut - the kid can act! And what's more, he does it seemingly effortlessly. I wonder if Smith was just stunned and speechless during the outtakes, because sometimes, Junior Smith can be so impeccably natural. What moved me equally was the beautiful score by Andrea Guerra - it was just the foundation that the movie needed. It was calm, subdued, powerful, and emotional. When, in the scene where Chris is told that he's got a job and he gets out of the office to enjoy a rare moment of sheer happiness and even personal vindication, the background emphatic score lifts the spirit up as much as Smith's precise and wonderful performance does. All in all, it was a wonderful movie in life lessons. And lastly, before I forget, I enjoyed the Happyness part, the graffitti on the wall that Chris Gardner was so conscious and expressive about. Funny he should be so insightful and verbal about such typos when his own life was a train wreck going downhill! This is the magic of the movie - it is the painful irony of life, and the eventual joy of true hard-earned satisfaction in the pursuit of real 'happyness.' Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StevenFMay 28, 2013
The film is always in the pursuit of great things, and we are always tasked with feeling depressed or emotional when the story unfolds, and lead character Will Smith and his real life son Jaden give is so many reasons to feel this way afterThe film is always in the pursuit of great things, and we are always tasked with feeling depressed or emotional when the story unfolds, and lead character Will Smith and his real life son Jaden give is so many reasons to feel this way after watching The Pursuit of Happyness.
Based on a true story, Smith plays Chris Gardner, a smart and traditional family man, but also a down on his luck individual who is late with his rent, his childcare payments and and must fund these essentials through the sale of bone density scanners, a luxurious spin on X-ray machines, and that exact point is just what makes these things so hard to sell, a pointless luxury.
As Chris is tempted by the perks of being a stockbroker in the 1980s, his wife Linda (Thandie Newton) has had enough of Chris' lack of deliverance on the family front, and decides enough is enough. The punch here, however, is that Chris is desperately trying to provide for his family, he just doesn't know how.
When Chris decides to pursue the stockbroker prospect, he gets accepted onto an unpaid internship lasting six months. As Chris delegates over what his future prospects are, he must think about the present, and of course his son.
Will Smith delivers an awe-inspiring performance as the unlucky man in San Francisco, we see his anger, frustration but love for his son all at play, and he must put up with many people he simply don't understand. Smith's son Jaden also performs brilliantly in his debut performance as Chris' son Christopher, he's just a kid who wants to have a normal life, but also seems to understand what his father is going through, and shows flashes of his dad's intelligence which creates a wonderful father/son dynamic, even when a night spent in a public toilet just for warmth brings them closer than ever.
But what has been sacrificed in an otherwise flawless film is the notion that even if the real story of Chris Gardner isn't familiar to the viewer, there is rarely a downbeat moment where we believe there isn't going to be a happy ending, the constant talk of happiness and how it may be misinterpreted are giveaways throughout the film, leading to a predictable, but still satisfying ending.
A touching and happy story is told, with inspired performances from Will and Jaden Smith that works on the father and son dynamic of being a team and always sticking around for each other.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
csw12Feb 13, 2013
A movie of severe suffering and unbelievable perseverance. The Pursuit of Happiness is a triumphant of a film of one man's struggle. Brilliantly executed coupled with Will Smith giving an acting performance of his career.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJan 2, 2017
An undeniably inspirational story, The Pursuit of Happyness is a good film that, even if flawed, is a good film that provides great entertainment. Largely well-written, the film stars Will Smith as Chris Gardner. A man who is coping with hisAn undeniably inspirational story, The Pursuit of Happyness is a good film that, even if flawed, is a good film that provides great entertainment. Largely well-written, the film stars Will Smith as Chris Gardner. A man who is coping with his wife leaving him, raising a son, and being homeless, Chris partakes in an internship program to become a stock broker. A real life fairy tale, The Pursuit of Happyness shows the American dream coming true with Chris working hard and being rewarded for this effort. While it is sentimental and safe along the way, it is hard to deny that the film is often incredibly powerful and thoroughly engaging throughout.

Pairing Will Smith with his son Jaden in the lead roles, one of the greatest assets of the film is the father-son relationship. In the role of the son, Jaden Smith is adorable. With childish jokes and innocent confusion over their situation, he turns in a shockingly solid performance here that makes you both smile and fight back tears at times. Yet, the true powerhouse here is Will Smith. Expertly portraying the down-on-his-luck Gardner, Smith is incredible in this film. Turning in a determined and emotionally vulnerable performance, Smith shows that he is more than just an action hero. He certainly does utilize his natural charisma in the film, but at all times, his performance feels achingly authentic and realistic. He may be charismatic, but you know that a broken man is just below the surface.

As has been said before, the film's plot greatly resembles classics such as The Bicycle Thieves. Though a true story, the film's narrative and plotting fit closely to the rags to the riches formula, which makes the story itself quite predictable. When things can get worse, they do. However, the film will always wind up happy because he has to become rich at some point. Thus, the film's story represents some pretty typical writing. Fortunately, as mentioned before, the writing's greatest strength is its characters. With the father and son duo incredibly well-rounded characters, the film is elevated significantly. The wife, Linda (Thandie Newton), is not really explored, but this is also not her story. She is a supporting part and we never see her thought process because the film is about her husband. Thus, it is not really an oversight of the film. As such, as a character study, The Pursuit of Happyness is incredibly successful as it creates characters that are easy to root for and then it drops you inside their mind. As a result, significant pathos is evoked when seeing a man who works so hard to try and better himself and his child suffer mightily.

Sweet and sentimental, The Pursuit of Happyness is not a great film. It is an easy watch that is guaranteed to move you as a result of Chris Gardner's story. Will Smith brings charisma and emotion to the role, while bringing along a great relationship with his son Jaden to the film. Together, the duo help to elevate the film above the Hallmark/Lifetime trappings of the story into a very successful and entertaining piece of entertainment. While cliched and predictable, the film never ceases to be engaging and rise above the cliches through the aforementioned acting and great characters.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jfrotylpe532Jan 3, 2013
A very inspiring tale based on an inspiring true story of Chris Gardner who roamed the streets after events of failing to pay rents,taxes,etc. Will Smith does a great job at being a very smart and talented person might do if they were in aA very inspiring tale based on an inspiring true story of Chris Gardner who roamed the streets after events of failing to pay rents,taxes,etc. Will Smith does a great job at being a very smart and talented person might do if they were in a situation like that. Jaden Smith is just flat out cute. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
diogomendesMay 8, 2015
Love this movie so much. Will Smith and even his son (whom I think he doesn't have a lot of talent with acting) did a great job. The story which is based in real life couldn't be any more heartfelt and the direction is slick. Very good movie,Love this movie so much. Will Smith and even his son (whom I think he doesn't have a lot of talent with acting) did a great job. The story which is based in real life couldn't be any more heartfelt and the direction is slick. Very good movie, all in all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
keve16Mar 26, 2015
8.8/10................................................................................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gossetaimeeApr 11, 2015
The director of the movie is Gabriele Muccino, the main actors are will Smith and Jaden Smith.
I think the movie is great because we can see two characters, the dad and his son fighting to have a better life. for me, it's moving because the
The director of the movie is Gabriele Muccino, the main actors are will Smith and Jaden Smith.
I think the movie is great because we can see two characters, the dad and his son fighting to have a better life. for me, it's moving because the dad fights for his son, for his future. If you like true stories, you must go and watch The Pursuit of Happyness.
It is a very good movie !
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
goudamandoJun 1, 2015
One of the most amazing and motivated movies I have ever watched, when you are hapless you can watch this movie, some of the previous reviews spoke about that the movie take long part with suffering and so on, but I told the more you sufferOne of the most amazing and motivated movies I have ever watched, when you are hapless you can watch this movie, some of the previous reviews spoke about that the movie take long part with suffering and so on, but I told the more you suffer and fail, the more you learn and feel the success.
I recommend for all who watch the movie to read the book also.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoDec 6, 2015
"The Pursuit of Happyness " is a very moving and interesting film that always leaves us a lesson of life , and as always well demonstrated by Mr. actor Will Smith.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeApr 13, 2016
The Pursuit of Happyness (Yes, it's incorrectly spelled on purpose) brings us the difficulties of Chris Gardner incredibly done by Will Smith. While Jaden Smith plays fine as his well along with a few others, there's nothing like seeing aThe Pursuit of Happyness (Yes, it's incorrectly spelled on purpose) brings us the difficulties of Chris Gardner incredibly done by Will Smith. While Jaden Smith plays fine as his well along with a few others, there's nothing like seeing a title with a popular goof that was done on purpose. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Suzana98Jul 26, 2016
Both Will Smith and Jaden Smith did an amazing job. This movie gave me the feels. Beautiful, indeed. I don't understand why this movie only got a score of 64 while **** like Boyhood got a perfect 100. Makes absolutely no sense. What so ever,Both Will Smith and Jaden Smith did an amazing job. This movie gave me the feels. Beautiful, indeed. I don't understand why this movie only got a score of 64 while **** like Boyhood got a perfect 100. Makes absolutely no sense. What so ever, this movie is a must watch Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews